What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

?? G.C. bears for 2017 ??

_Johnsy

Referee
Saw this on twitter, personally I can't see it eventuating, however as a GC resident I can't say I'd be unhappy about it.

Vic Mackey

Referee
A name change is definitely what the Gold Coast need to be successful, if only they'd thought of it previously.

Reactions: Vee

I Bleed Maroon

Referee
A name change is definitely what the Gold Coast need to be successful, if only they'd thought of it previously.

Pretty much. Why would the Central Coast ever take a risk on the GC now? The Suns have a serviceable following but nowhere near the domination the AFL were hoping for, and that is in spite of the Titans not even being a threat to them in the region. The place is truly where Professional Sport goes to die.

flippikat

Bench
Never heard of that guy. Grain of salt.

That's pretty much what I was thinking.

We've heard this before.. either rumours or people here suggesting it as a solution for any number of problems (giving the Gold Coast a more marketable brand, righting the injustice served to Norths fans, solving the expansion dilemma of having 3 strong bids -Bears, Perth & Brisbane2 yet only 2 spots if we only want 18 teams..) - but the talk has just been that, talk.

Will be interesting to see if this has any legs, but I'm not holding my breath.

Diesel

Coach
There was an article last year that wasn't dismissed by anyone IIRC and the Bears are never going to get a team on the CC now so a relocation is their only option. Can the CC Bears buy the Titans licence if the NRL was looking for a buyer of the GC licence?

Last Week

Bench