Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who do we need to recruit in 2018?

If woods has signed elsewhere I would piss him off tomorrow. The guy is meant to be skipper but has dragged our club through the mud and completely ruined the entire 2017 season.

Aaron Woods is worse then Glenn Morrison and Ben Teo in my books. I never want to see him in our jersey again

It was always going to be a tough sell playing the loyalty card and asking these guys to stay after what happened to Robbie in the last couple of years. I think this has been a massive factor in their decisions. If that is the way this club treats its legends its no wonder they are on a different bus.

I think everyone is agreed that Woods is replaceable as both a Front rower and as a captain, but it would hurt to watch Tedesco for the next 10 years tear it up in a different Jersey

Mate Moses and brooks shafted Farah as much as JT. Moses in particular wanted him gone as he said he never got the ball when he wanted it.

Im fine with players leaving, it's the way these self centred pricks have played it out in the media and completely used the club for their own benefit that I can't handle. Moses I'm pissed at cause the club paid him on Potential for years and let go of Austin and TMM on the basis that he was our long term 5/8. Apart from half a dozen games at the back end of last year he has been a complete fraud, then he has the nerve to throw a hissy fit and demand to be released when our other starting half is injured.

Woods 'leadership' has been beyond pathetic and not once has he said he loves the club and wants to stay but needs to consider all options. The guys is meant to be our club captain yet has derailed the entire season and is playing like a complete merkin in the process.

If teddy leaves I'd be cut but I don't think I'd be angry at him. He's the only guy who has stated, many times, that his preference is to stay but he is sick of the off field shit at the club. Plus he he getting on with it and is still our best week in week out. If he leaves I honestly don't think I could blame him.

I really hope this is true in relation to Woods. I just read a post from a Dogs supporter on Reddit and this was his comment "NNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO".

This is a big plus for us and big minus for whatever club gets him.

I should add that he is a quality prop forward. He is NRL level. He just isn't the player to chase after for big dollars and we honestly don't need the guy.

Crazyperpman

Mate Moses and brooks shafted Farah as much as JT. Moses in particular wanted him gone as he said he never got the ball when he wanted it..

I don't think anyone will ever know what happened at this time. I definitely dont think it would be out of character for Moses and it might be a convenient reason, but I would find it hard to believe he had such a say in the running of things with 20 odd first grade games to his credit.

I believe if Farah's contract was not so heavily backended he would not have got shafted. If the board had some guts and backed Potter to give Farah a 2 year contract instead of 4 he would have finished in 2016 and could have done a lap around Leichhardt, had a beer on the scoreboard and we could have retained more players with the money that has gone to pay for Farah to play in reggies and at souffs.

Hopefully these guys make their decision and we can sign some good players for next year. Woods to Matulino is an upgrade but Teddy to a Gordon is definitely a downgrade and at 35 next year we would be better off looking elsewhere.

simmo05

Mate Moses and brooks shafted Farah as much as JT. Moses in particular wanted him gone as he said he never got the ball when he wanted it.

Im fine with players leaving, it's the way these self centred pricks have played it out in the media and completely used the club for their own benefit that I can't handle. Moses I'm pissed at cause the club paid him on Potential for years and let go of Austin and TMM on the basis that he was our long term 5/8. Apart from half a dozen games at the back end of last year he has been a complete fraud, then he has the nerve to throw a hissy fit and demand to be released when our other starting half is injured.

Woods 'leadership' has been beyond pathetic and not once has he said he loves the club and wants to stay but needs to consider all options. The guys is meant to be our club captain yet has derailed the entire season and is playing like a complete merkin in the process.

If teddy leaves I'd be cut but I don't think I'd be angry at him. He's the only guy who has stated, many times, that his preference is to stay but he is sick of the off field shit at the club. Plus he he getting on with it and is still our best week in week out. If he leaves I honestly don't think I could blame him.
I would vic. We brought him through. We had to deal with 2 seasons out injured. He has shown his colours in the past signing with canberra and then reneging, lack of intestinal fortitude if you ask me. Lack of commitment too.

He has had a massive offer on the table for months now. If it hasnt been signed by now, i have huge misgivings on his future loyalty, hence i would immediatly pull it and jump straight into the market. Like someone suggested earlier, nofo kept tedesco at wing in juniors. Maybe thats why he is a shit defender.

Just one other thing, has any team with 1 player on such massive coin ever won a premiership? The successful teams i reckon have a pretty even spread of talent across the whole paddock.

Where has this talk of Gordan come from?

Remember Cleary sacked him from Penrith, I doubt he'll be bringing him to concord

RazorRam0n

Expectations on matulino is way over there top, he's a shadow of what he was and coming back from chronic injury and weight issues...more likely the next villasanti falling off the face of the earth

Trollhammaren

How many Sharks juniors were in their premiership-winning team last year? f**k all.

Bring in some blokes who are actually hungry to get out there and rip in.

How many Sharks juniors were in their premiership-winning team last year? f**k all.

Bring in some blokes who are actually hungry to get out there and rip in.

Agreed. Enough of this "nurture the junior talent" mantra that has got us near on f**king nowhere for 17 and a bit seasons, sans a premiership way back when and a couple of finals appearances since.

Roosters, Canterbury, Cronulla, Brisbane & Melbourne buy the best. That's why they regularly feature in the finals.

Shredder

100% - we need the best possible players playing for our club regardless of where they are from.

Here is another comment from Reddit from a Canterbury supporter - "Why would we care about pushing out our captain and best player for a overrated fatass?".

It's pretty funny. I haven't been this excited about the Tigers making good decisions for a long long time.

WT Unity

Dylan Edwards is your man boys, our nuffie coach is clueless
He must be contracted for next year, cos he doesn't come up on the "off Contract" list....
Do you think Penrith would be likely to shop him around and let him leave?
Is there any noise out your way to suggest that?

WT Unity

Where has this talk of Gordan come from?

Remember Cleary sacked him from Penrith, I doubt he'll be bringing him to concord
Just speculation on Gordon which will only matter if Tedesco leaves.
If he goes we will definitely need a FB replacement as it's such a specialist and important position.
There are only a few coming off contract and they include Dugan, Johnston and Gordon.
There aren't even many listed as coming off contract at the end of 2018.
Yes Gordon is getting on - he's 33 now, turns 34 after the end of this season so he would be 34 all season next year - It's an option I suppose!
And it makes more sense if it ends being the Roosters that snare Tedesco!
Yes he did move on from Penrith when Cleary was there but the issue was that Gordon wanted to play FB, his contract was coming up and he wanted FB money....but Cleary had Lachlan Coote coming through...it was probably the right decision and there may not be any animosity.
It now appears as though not hanging on to young Papenhuyzen might turn out to be another poor decision by the retention and recruitment dept...I can understand not going hard after his signature if you've got Tedesco signed...but surely the smart play there is to ensure you have Tedesco secured prior to letting the next big talent leave!

Anyways maybe some good news, it's being reported in the NZ media that Ben Matulino this morning told his Warrior team mates that he's signed with us for next year.

Tiger Ted

Just speculation on Gordon which will only matter if Tedesco leaves.
If he goes we will definitely need a FB replacement as it's such a specialist and important position.
There are only a few coming off contract and they include Dugan, Johnston and Gordon.
There aren't even many listed as coming off contract at the end of 2018.
Yes Gordon is getting on - he's 33 now, turns 34 after the end of this season so he would be 34 all season next year - It's an option I suppose!
And it makes more sense if it ends being the Roosters that snare Tedesco!
Yes he did move on from Penrith when Cleary was there but the issue was that Gordon wanted to play FB, his contract was coming up and he wanted FB money....but Cleary had Lachlan Coote coming through...it was probably the right decision and there may not be any animosity.
It now appears as though not hanging on to young Papenhuyzen might turn out to be another poor decision by the retention and recruitment dept...I can understand not going hard after his signature if you've got Tedesco signed...but surely the smart play there is to ensure you have Tedesco secured prior to letting the next big talent leave!
It quite crystal clear that Tedesco is leaving.He's had an eternity to sign a lucrative contract with us & u have the 2 most predatory Sydney clubs desperately vying for his signature.The capacity these 2 detestable clubs have for attracting TPA's is unlimited & hence we have buckleys of competing with these serpents for elite players.

What I luv is the total b/s spouted by the simpleton Tedesco that his decision won't b primarily about money.Keep reading from ur dickhead managers script u mindless gump !!

Ivan will find a capable replacement as we r now for the 1st time in yrs in a healthy fiscal position with a coach who specialises in rejuvenating teams who've hit rock bottom.

I don't dislike teddy as a player & he's the only one I would've liked to retain out of the 4 puppets but the money we were offering him is outrageous & to think he has baulked at signing goes to show the lack of integrity & appreciation he has for WT. That money will b put to better use by Ivan & Tedesco is definitely disposable ! There's only 2 players in the nrl who r currently indispensable Thurston & Cameron smith.

hard to say re Paps. hes looked great in schoolboys/matts etc but so far in nyc he hasnt stood out (admittedly in a horrible team). the guy is also tiny, theres a big chance he could be another Mullaney. either way i dont think he'll be near ready for first grade for 2 years, even then he would probably be another 2-3 away from being a real good first grader. i dont want to be paying on potential for another maybe again.

Clifferd

Dylan Edwards is your man boys, our nuffie coach is clueless

I haven't seen much of him to judge, but he was given his chance against Souffs and looked pretty stock standard imo. Still that's only one game and I'm sure he's a lot better than that and I wouldn't mind giving him a crack if we were to lose teddy

Magpie Tragic

I know 1 thing IC will withdraw,its the C next to Hillbillys name on the team sheet.
Lets face it,he was average,no intimidation,dumb as for a captain,and little impact taking the ball up.
I class him in the Mannah,Tolman class......basic props with no fear factor.

He can now buy a new cabin in Belmore for him,his missus and dog...Also get a Belmore postcode tattoo.
And.....play good footy.
100% agree Tiger Woody, I thought I was the only one who had the same opinion of Tolman/Mannah/Woods, but you forgot one thing, he can also "have a feed wiv his missus", probably a kebab