Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Clifferd

Friday night - Brisbane v Penrith 48k

Saturday night - Paramatta v Sharks 45k
OR
Paramatta v Cowboys 30k

Strong chance next weeks 2 games will outdraw 4 lol

Will have an all Sydney prelim atleast assuming sharks win tomorrow

Roosters v Eels would get 60kish at ANZ

Roosters v Sharks would get 45kish (sfs sellout)

footy75

This thread always goes into meltdown over week 1 crowds. They never measure up to the unrealistic expectations.

Bring on the next 2 weeks. There's going to be huge crowds in Sydney Brisbane and Melbourne for all the upcoming matches. Might shut a few people up.

This...crowds will be big now.

OldPanther

Penrith sold out 10 buses and had many more come in via other means. A bunch went to the SCG first. If Manly fans showed up properly it would have been a much better crowd.

Teddyboy

This thread always goes into meltdown over week 1 crowds. They never measure up to the unrealistic expectations.

Bring on the next 2 weeks. There's going to be huge crowds in Sydney Brisbane and Melbourne for all the upcoming matches. Might shut a few people up.
I hold you to that.

Manly averaged 13,493 at home this season, Penrith 12,922.

Why is anybody surprised? They're both in the bottom half of attendances generally and big swathes of their fanbases don't travel.

Surely the 2 clubs can both have 10k fans turn up to their last game in Sydney though for a total of 20k?

2010 - wk 1 finals 3 tigers v easts 6 - at the SFS (easts home ground) 33,315
2011 - wk 1 finals 4 tigers v 5 saints - at the SFS (easts home ground) 45,631

That 2011 game was at ANZ. If it was SFS it peobably gets 35k. It is hard to get above 35k at SFS for anything other than a prelim final or some other massive event due to members, corporates etc.

Stallion

A few things have lead to ths poor crowd last night at the SFS. 1.Penrith and Manly have no noted rivalry . 2.Poor marketing of this game in general. (No double final or tripple SFS finals game entry deal eg 3 games for $30 or whatever is a cheap price) 3. The habit of people travelling to the finals weekend in Sydney has been eroded over time but could have been promoted with intent from the start of the past week. 4. The bunker is not adding to the enjoyment of fans watching the game. In fact its detracting from the experience. Leave it to the on field officials and most can live with it without the arduous and enjoyment stunting process of the bunker (no matter how quick it is). 6 . Many casual fans were not aware it was a 'knock out' game last night.
Maybe a few more reasons but these are some reasonable points leading to last nights poor attendance.

Raiderdave

It was a f**king Eagles home game.

Would you like the raiders to play week 1 in Sydney? Of course not.

Sometimes the game must be played where it suits the more deserving team.

Get over it!

again

it was a penrith home game last year & it was played at allianz you clown
how did penrith ... deserve .. to play their final 60K's from their supporters ??
driving past ANZ to get there lol

the NRL is a circus sometimes
for Sydney teams either Allianz or ANZ can be used ... this home team . BS doesn't apply & Penriths situation last year is the precedent.

Raiderdave

A few things have lead to ths poor crowd last night at the SFS. 1.Penrith and Manly have no noted rivalry . 2.Poor marketing of this game in general. (No double final or tripple SFS finals game entry deal eg 3 games for $30 or whatever is a cheap price) 3. The habit of people travelling to the finals weekend in Sydney has been eroded over time but could have been promoted with intent from the start of the past week. 4. The bunker is not adding to the enjoyment of fans watching the game. In fact its detracting from the experience. Leave it to the on field officials and most can live with it without the arduous and enjoyment stunting process of the bunker (no matter how quick it is). 6 . Many casual fans were not aware it was a 'knock out' game last night.
Maybe a few more reasons but these are some reasonable points leading to last nights poor attendance.

hahahahaha
how could a supporter casual or otherwise not know what sort of final their team is playing in
& if we don't have video decisions & get calls wrong
supporters would just claim referees are to blame for poor crowds because of their incorrect decisions

excuses , excuses & not particularly good ones either lol

The Broncos better be nothing short of a sell-out. No excuses Brisbanites!!

The NRL needs to promote the shit out of the Eels semi to get that crowd closer to 50k. Over 50k if they play the Sharks. Whatever it f**king takes. We are watching you Greenberg.

I still go back to that Souths v Roosters' minor premiership showdown in 2013. Facts are it was a premiership match and we got nearly 60k. It was built up as a event and the people came in their droves. Many from area far from Homebush.

Anything under 50k for Parra v Sharks (if that's what happens) in a week 2 elimination semi would be disappointing. C'mon NRL. Even a Parra v Cowboys semi should get over 40k at ANZ. Parra v Cowboys got early to mid 40's for a Sunday prelim final back in 05.

Clifferd

15k for 2 Sydney teams in a finals game.

You can sugar coat it as much as you want but that is a f$&@ing disgrace.

Honestly Manly week 1 final home games have to be played at central coast. They aren't pulling 20k against anyone unless it's a big Sydney club

Raiderdave

Well we used up all the excuses, had to come up with something new. Afl across the road is a peachy lol

you don't think our already easy to decide not to go to the footy fans wouldn't have used an already busy moore park area as another excuse to stay at home
the right thing to do is play that final elsewhere taking that excuse out of the equation

Stallion

hahahahaha
how could a supporter casual or otherwise not know what sort of final their team is playing in
& if we don't have video decisions & get calls wrong
supporters would just claim referees are to blame for poor crowds because of their incorrect decisions

excuses , excuses & not particularly good ones either lol

They are valid points . And if u dont think the bunker isnt peeing off fans both at the game and tv viewers then you are way off the mark! Poor marketing is a massive part of last night's poor attendance. If you think their is a noted rivalry between manly and penrith then you are showing your lack of knowledge.

Raiderdave

Yeah I suppose gillon worried about nrl being next door when he scheduled swans final

what are you talking about ?
the Roosters NRL & Swines work all year to avoid putting games on , on the same days

but we come to finals & apparently its ok
I don't care what Jillian Mcgobbledock or whateva his name is is worried about
although maybe the Midgets final selling less tickets then last nights NRL final might give him some sleepless nights ..

Raiderdave

They are valid points . And if u dont think the bunker isnt peeing off fans both at the game and tv viewers then you are way off the mark! Poor marketing is a massive part of last night's poor attendance. If you think their is a noted rivalry between manly and penrith then you are showing your lack of knowledge.

the Bunker is just the video ref re packaged
we've had refferals for 20 years now , it aint nothing new.
Poor marketing is a furphy too , if people are true supporters then they don't need to be told whats on or be encouraged to attend. There was an appropriate level of marketing for mine.
As for rivalry .. haha.. please .. who cares who you're playing , its your season on the line
get off your fat lazy arse & get to the game.

SLRBRONCOS

What excuse will Sydney come up with?

A home final against Penrith is the absolute worst case scenario for the Brisbane crowd figure.

We should get 45k plus but it will be similar to the 43k we got against titans last year, which was heavily rain affected. Also, the nrl will price hike the suncorp final like they did last year I reckon. Hopefully not...