Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best pubs to watch this Saturday's triple-header - help please!!

Perth Cowboy

Question for Sydneysiders. I'm not from Sydney but I'm spending this coming weekend there and am mega keen to watch the Saturday triple-header from 3pm at a pub, what's the best option? Basically just after the biggest crowd and best atmosphere. Cheers folks!

Wherever you go - when you buy a beer make sure you pull your pants and undies right down around your ankles.
Then bend over and spread your arse cheeks as wide as possible and prepare yourself to be financially raped.

Saint Doc

I've always felt Sydney lacks a real rugby league pub. I mean...every pub has the league on, but nowhere really owns it. There is a market there if a pub wanted to design itself with rugby league memorabilia on the walls etc and advertise itself as "the place" for rugby league.

That said
- Vic on the Park
- The Dolphin Surry Hills
- Beach Road Bondi
- Coogee Bay sports bar
- Northies Cronulla

Would be some suggestions, depending on where you're staying.

You could also hit up a leagues club or the casino

Desert Qlder

Wherever you go - when you buy a beer make sure you pull your pants and undies right down around your ankles.
Then bend over and spread your arse cheeks as wide as possible and prepare yourself to be financially raped.

Sydney isn't that bad to grab a beer.

I was able to have a schooner at the Great Northern in Lane Cove for $5.50 on the morning of the GF. Perfectly reasonable if you ask me.

Melbourne? Forget it. Not only can you not get a schooner but a pot will set you back about the same as Sydney.schooner. Melbourne is second only to London for the cost of beers I reckon.

Parra

It's OK. He is from Perth. More than used to this level of being fleeced.

OVP

Vic on the park at enmore or the Norfolk at Surry Hills are two of Sydneys best pubs.

I used to regularly frequent the Norfolk back in the 90s as i lived very close. It was pretty famous for its jazz bands and good company. It wasn't really famous for rugby league viewing. I take it times have changed.

Cronulla RSL
Awesome view
Reasonably priced beer
Smokin hot Cougars

Chippendale hotel in town is pretty cool
Good beers

Beach road at Bondi is entertaining

Or just off at central and start walking
Up the hill
You'll find s million pubs

Balmain has heaps

GW.

GW here,
First and foremost, the answer to this depends on where you are staying and how far you want to roll.
I assume it's in the city area so I'll suggest;
Casino
Marlborough at Newtown.
This is assuming you want a big screen.

Other than that, you could go anywhere and it ultimately decides on what else you want out of it?

Cheap beer? Bowling clubs.
Tail? The rocks
Class? The sheaf at double bay.
Trash? Retro.

What kind of a guy are you

I used to regularly frequent the Norfolk back in the 90s as i lived very close. It was pretty famous for its jazz bands and good company. It wasn't really famous for rugby league viewing. I take it times have changed.

It has been purchased by the dine and drink group (essentially some high achieving hipsters) fully renovated and is a great pub with character, awesome food, a mad buzz and no pokies or TAB. Chicks everywhere. The small front bar is sports themed with 1970s baraphenalia and well placed big screens.

DSC_7195.jpg

Reactions: OVP
I've always felt Sydney lacks a real rugby league pub. I mean...every pub has the league on, but nowhere really owns it. There is a market there if a pub wanted to design itself with rugby league memorabilia on the walls etc and advertise itself as "the place" for rugby league.

Northies in Cronulla, the beach road in Bondi, Huxleys at Caringbah, The Golden Barley in Newtown all have Rugby League memorabilia on the walls and offer a great viewing experience, particularly for big games.

Starkers

Go to the Henson Park Hotel. Anywhere in Newtown like the Town Hall, Bank or Marly Bar.

City has Cheers bar, The Windsor or maybe head to the Wooly Bay.

Clovelly in the east is the pick.

OVP

It has been purchased by the dine and drink group (essentially some high achieving hipsters) fully renovated and is a great pub with character, awesome food, a mad buzz and no pokies or TAB. Chicks everywhere. The small front bar is sports themed with 1970s baraphenalia and well placed big screens.

DSC_7195.jpg

Thanks for the update. Yeah that pub always has hot chix there. Back in the day, the girls used to walk up to the Norfolk from Bar Cleveland when they wanted to chill out from the doof doof music and chemical overindulgence lol. Good to see that part hasn't changed.

Love the pics of Fairfax and Beetson.

Parra

GW here,
First and foremost, the answer to this depends on where you are staying and how far you want to roll.
I assume it's in the city area so I'll suggest;
Casino
Marlborough at Newtown.
This is assuming you want a big screen.

Other than that, you could go anywhere and it ultimately decides on what else you want out of it?

Cheap beer? Bowling clubs.
Tail? The rocks
Class? The sheaf at double bay.
Trash? Retro.

Lalor Park Hotel has all that covered and more.