Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

Tigers Tale

You make a good point Old Time Tiger. I think the way Lovett dealt with this may mean the club has some sort of right to dismiss him for breaching his contract....not necessarily what he had in his possession but how he failed to report it etc etc. Lovett's pay would be loose change really and I am stunned like most that we can still be in trouble with the cap.

I think the way club keeps saying to us supporters (about the cap) is a way of saying don't count on us holding onto all four (Teddy, Moses, Woods and Brooks) as we have no money...I wish they would finish the sentence by saying "through our continually shafting player or mismanagement and paying huge amounts for good former players to be playing against us."

BrotherJim05

I think a lot of our cap troubles stem from a number of players being on semi-back ended deals (e.g. Brooks and Moses) and that we are still paying players to play at other clubs (Farah and Sironen).

Tigers1986

Our cap troubles will be solved when we stop paying for Farah. That's 750k that can be split 3 ways to top up the contracts of Teddy, Woodsy and Moses. Brooks hasn't warranted big money just yet.

I think a lot of our cap troubles stem from a number of players being on semi-back ended deals (e.g. Brooks and Moses) and that we are still paying players to play at other clubs (Farah and Sironen).

I don't think we are paying Siro much if anything. Manly wanted him pretty badly for some reason. Agree with everything else though.

Shredder

I would be very very surprised if any of our players (or any players in general) dont have a clause in their contract about bringing the game into disrepute.

It would be terms for instant dismissal.

I suggest the club may have been trying to do him a favour, but the press leaked it.

Hes done. Will sit on the sides or play in the UK for 2 months then come back.

Shredder

Its a strange one - I suspect we underestimated how much Farah's salary we are carrying will effect us - simply bad management.

BrotherJim05

I hope its a rumour but that will suck if we lose Simona. I'm not saying Simona is a world beater, but he is a solid First Grader. Apart from what Idris could potentially be he is our best centre.

I really wish we would get a better centre so that Simona can move back to wing. He IS a world-beater at wing...that much is certain

Tiger Ted

It better b a damn rumour coz our depth in the 3/4's is poor.

Supercoach Taylor won't b concerned if we lose Simona as he will find someone with Lovett's speed & agility to slot in @ left centre !

we need simona for this season at least. our back up centers will be mck (who is better suited to the back row) or ryland jacobs (who missed the second half of nyc and never stood out anyway)

our side is forward stacked. whilst i like them both either ava or grant should be shopped around before simona.

I can't accept that Farah's salary is to blame here.

Whatever we paid Idris probably is and I think it's fair to say, we paid overs, because, well, thats what we do.

BrotherJim05

I can't accept that Farah's salary is to blame here.

Whatever we paid Idris probably is and I think it's fair to say, we paid overs, because, well, thats what we do.

I reckon it is just one of those "wtf is this the bill?" situations like when your at a restaurant. We are likely playing overs for all our main players, not enough per player to cause alarm but when you total it together....

Ron's_Mate

Meet the mystery man who could hold the key to Wests Tigers' future
Adrian Proszenko
Published: February 1, 2017 - 12:58AM

This is the mystery man who could hold the key to Wests Tigers retaining their off-contract superstars.

Joe Wehbe is known in league circles as the "football whisperer", a secret mentor to a host of Tigers topliners including Aaron Woods, James Tedesco and Mitchell Moses. In a bid to retain them and fellow free agent Luke Brooks, the Tigers have opened negotiations with Wehbe about a potential role at the joint-venture outfit.

While he works with some of the biggest names in the game across a number of clubs, he is no attention seeker. Described as a "touch footy guru", Wehbe has been at pains to keep his association with players confidential, but has quickly emerged as one of rugby league's most intriguing characters. He is the father of The X Factor contestant Carla Wehbe, who made such an impression during her 2013 audition that judge Redfoo cooed, "You have what it takes to make the world happy".

The property developer is close friends with Stephen Kearney and their association has spanned club and country. Wehbe was on staff during Kearney's stint as New Zealand coach, operating under the title "peak performance coach". Kearney, a former assistant to Wayne Bennett at the Brisbane, also invited Wehbe for a series of Broncos training sessions. His stint at Red Hill – at which he reportedly gave playmakers advice which included "trust the ball" – coincided with a three-match winning streak.

Wehbe is believed to be close to influential manager Isaac Moses, who recently added Tedesco to a stable that includes fellow Tigers Woods, Brooks and Moses. Interestingly, some of the manager's high-profile clients either follow Carla Wehbe on Twitter or have promoted her work on social media.

Talks between Wehbe and the Tigers are only at a preliminary stage, but a source said, "The players love him, they would be more likely to stay at the club if he's there".

Woods and Tedesco have credited a confidant for helping them take the next step in their careers. While neither would mention him by name, it's understood they were referring to Wehbe.

"There is someone else I talk to, he doesn't want his name mentioned," Tedesco told Fairfax Media last April.

"I've been seeing him since last year and I talk pretty much every week. He's a sports psych guy who speaks to a few of the boys and players from other teams.

"I speak to him about my game and about life, he's been heaps good for me professionally.

"Woodsey mentioned it to me, him and a few other boys see him. Woodsey saw him and started playing for NSW and Australia, that sort of stuff.

"The main thing he talks to us about is playing footy and not putting too much stress on your mind about your game. When you come into first grade you think too much, about expectations, and stress yourself out. He goes back to you playing your natural game, just playing footy," Tedesco said.

"That's a big thing for me, when you think too much about what you should do, that's when you're in your head and not playing what's in front of you. He's been awesome."

The Tigers face a huge challenge to retain their star quartet. It's believed their preference is to remain together, although Jason Taylor is also off contract and it's likely a decision will be delayed until there is more clarity about the coach's future.

The joint-venture outfit is moving to secure other off-contract talent, locking in Mosese Suli on a three-year extension worth $1.3 million. It is the biggest contract ever signed by a player yet to make his NRL debut.

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...y-to-wests-tigers-future-20170131-gu22eq.html

macnaz

Whats the latest with Lovett ? His court hearing was on the 1st Feb and not a word has been said about the outcome.

macnaz

Sorry just found this from SMH website.

Police pulled him over in an area known to be used for drug deals, and noticed he was "sweating profusely" and clenching his jaw, according to a statement of facts before Downing Centre Local Court.

They found white powder in the driver's seat and footwell, and the passenger's side footwell, before taking Lovett into an alcove to strip search him.

SHARESHARE ON FACEBOOKSHARE ON TWITTERPIN TO PINTERESTLINKDrug offence: Kyle Lovett has avoided a conviction for having a small amount of cocaine. Photo: Getty Images

When asked if he had any drugs in his underwear, he said: "I'll be honest with you, I do."

Officers found a small bag of cocaine in his underpants, and charged him with possessing about 0.39 grams of the drug.

Police also found a blue and white MDMA capsule on the road under the car, but Lovett said "I don't touch that stuff."

He had a wad of cash on him, which he said was casino winnings.

Lovett, 23, appeared in court on Wednesday and pleaded guilty.

His lawyer, George Elias, told magistrate Janet Wahlquist it was Lovett's first offence, and he accepted full responsibility for his actions.

"I'd ask you to give him one chance," Mr Elias said.

"He comes before you as a person who is extremely remorseful."

Mr Elias said Lovett had to face the NRL integrity unit, and he didn't know what the future held for his career.

Ms Wahlquist said she took into account Lovett's youth, his clean criminal history, his remorse, and his early guilty plea.

She did not record a conviction, and handed down a six-month good behaviour bond.

The magistrate said everyone was treated equally in the court system, regardless of their occupation.

"Usually for young people I'm prepared to give leniency. Young people often experiment and do use a small amount of drugs.

"You should know that it's a danger, as it's quite commonly said, there's no quality control.

"I'm prepared to give you the benefit of leniency, it was a small quantity … you have an otherwise bright future."

Lovett is contracted with the Tigers until the end of 2017, but it was rumoured the club was attempting to force him out in a bid to ease salary-cap pressure.

He was supported by his parents and a team welfare officer in court, and thanked the magistrate as he left the courtroom

Tiger Ted

Lovett is a heck of a lot more disposable to WT than Simona.

If we lose Tim we will b very vulnerable on that left side as it will come down to the worst player on our roster rankin plus the defensive deficient naiqama & a few rookies vying for the left wing/centre spots.

macnaz

Id love to know what coin he is on .. he should consider himself lucky to get the minimum 100K But frankly that is over the odds.
Rolling in a Benz on the powder and little tablets under the car that werent his .. sounds like he is living on to many dollar$

Still think he is the mongrel forward we need, but dickheads are dickheads.

Bad boy Matt Lodge ready for league return with Redcliffe Dolphins
  • February 10, 2017 9:34am
  • Source: AAP
CONTROVERSIAL forward Matt Lodge is set to make his rugby league return this weekend after avoiding a US jail sentence for a violent night out in New York.

And former Queensland State of Origin rep Adam Mogg has tipped the ex-Tigers prop to soon earn an NRL lifeline after impressing at his Queensland Cup club Redcliffe.

Lodge, 21, is set to run out for Brisbane feeder club Redcliffe in their Queensland Cup trial against Sunshine Coast Falcons at Kawana Waters on Saturday - his first game back since his US arrest two years ago.

Lodge was sacked by Wests Tigers after harassing two women then assaulting a good Samaritan in New York in the early hours of October 16 2015. The QRL registered Lodge’s Redcliffe contract in October.

But Lodge only learned in December that he would avoid a one-year US jail sentence after a plea deal that included completing 200 hours of community service in Australia.

Redcliffe coach Mogg said Lodge seemed determined to turn his career - and life - around.

“Matt’s done everything possible,” he said.

e21cb5a80ec86dc06757784731eedb39

Redcliffe coach Adam Mogg at training.Source: News Corp Australia
“He’s trained really well, he’s helping out around the club.

“He’s a real asset to the footy club both on and off the field.”

Broncos scouts are expected to watch Lodge’s return in Redcliffe’s trial against Melbourne feeder club Falcons - a curtain-raiser for the Storm-Warriors clash on Saturday.

Asked if Lodge could crack the NRL again, Mogg said: “Absolutely - if he works hard.

“Matt holds his own destiny.

“But he has set himself up with a fantastic pre-season.

“He’s as fit and as big and strong as he’s ever been because he has worked really hard.

“That is a catalyst for anyone to get to the NRL.”

The US arrest was not the first time Lodge had made headlines for the wrong reasons.

He was suspended by Wests Tigers after being arrested in Kings Cross in 2015 and copped a two-game ban for being spotted in TV coverage wearing wrist tape with “c***” written on it in a 2014 under-20s Origin match.

Clifferd

Read in an article we've set aside 2.5 million to sign Teddy and Moses alone. And if we wanted to keep Woods and Brooks you'd think another 1.3-.1.5 gets chucked into that

With Brooks still yet to show much I'd offer him about 600k love it or leave it then Woods about 700-800k

So looks like about 50% of our cap will go to signing 4 players. Nice...

Personally I think we will end up losing either Ted or Mitch, Mitch seeming the more likely one.