Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adelaide Trip

Anyone making the trip for the game?

Me and a mate are going and it will be my first experience at Adelaide Oval so looking forward to it.

horrie hastings

Flying to Adelaide Tuesday afternoon, have not been since 1999. Going to check out the Barossa while there and also see the pandas at the zoo. Looking forward to going to Adelaide Oval.

I've never been to Adelaide before, I'm gonna do a bit of research on things to do aside from the footy, any suggestions?

Already been told to check out Hahndorf.

Pity im only down for the weekend, would be good to get out of the city and explore the countryside and national parks a bit more.

I'm flying down Wednesday to catch up with some family during the week and then my mate is flying down the morning of the game.

Hahndorf is great if you are in to German culture/Cuisine, plenty to do and see there. Glenelg is also another one you might want to see, nice little Amusement park there if that is your thing and an easy tram ride from the CBD.

Not sure what you guys have planned in terms of a drink leading up to the game but if you are looking for somewhere to drink, watch sport and have a punt (like I am), places like that are few and far between in Adelaide. it isn't like Sydney where every pub has TAB services, the sport isn't an issue but I doubt many places will show the other NRL games.

So as a public service announcement there are 2 places I would suggest, The Rosemont hotel and the Grandstand sports bar (Casino), both have TAB services and are known as sports bars. You might have issues getting the league on at the Rosemont but the grandstand should be fine. Both are also a 10 minute walk to the ground. If all you are looking for is a drink and the league and TAB doesn't bother you, there are a heap of bars/pubs around the ground and/or in the Northern part of the CBD.

Not fussed on a TAB but yeah don't like my chances of catching the other NRL games, even in Melbourne it's an ordeal (in my limited experience. Maybe @madunit has some suggestions for Melbourne aside from the Casino but that's not relevant to this trip).

Probably won't bother anyway, unlikely to spend my short time in town watching non-Roosters NRL

horrie hastings

I've never been to Adelaide before, I'm gonna do a bit of research on things to do aside from the footy, any suggestions?

Already been told to check out Hahndorf.

Pity im only down for the weekend, would be good to get out of the city and explore the countryside and national parks a bit more.

I haven't been since 1999 but some people reckon I wouldn't notice anything different, last time I went to McLaren which has some stunning wineries. Just checking through some tours for the Barossa at the moment, would prefer to do that instead of hiring a car so I can sample some wines, Handorf I think is must do this trip and as Valheru said Glenelg is worth checking out and it is a short tram ride. I also want to go to Adelaide markets, I love checking out fresh produce places and Poh who was on Master Chef years ago has a café there. Also looking forward to seeing the pandas at Adelaide zoo.

In all honesty, the CBD region is only good for Italian food (Lygon St) and Asian food (most of the cbd).

The old Melbourne gaol is not bad and is not far from Lygon St.

Docklands has the big wheel thing. 50 bucks a pop from memory. Great views and all but f**king pricey.

Other than that, most touristy stuff (outside of retail) is outside Melbourne. Grampians are great for a long walk, as is Mount Macedon. The Marysville-Kinglake area has some waterfalls which are nice. Mount Dandenong has an awesome view of Melbourne.

Nice but small beach at Williamstown looks across the bay at Melbourne.

Black Rock and down the coast to Portsea is a nice scenic drive.

In all honesty, the CBD region is only good for Italian food (Lygon St) and Asian food (most of the cbd).

The old Melbourne gaol is not bad and is not far from Lygon St.

Docklands has the big wheel thing. 50 bucks a pop from memory. Great views and all but f**king pricey.

Other than that, most touristy stuff (outside of retail) is outside Melbourne. Grampians are great for a long walk, as is Mount Macedon. The Marysville-Kinglake area has some waterfalls which are nice. Mount Dandenong has an awesome view of Melbourne.

Nice but small beach at Williamstown looks across the bay at Melbourne.

Black Rock and down the coast to Portsea is a nice scenic drive.

Considering the game is in Adelaide, why are you talking about touristy things in Melbourne? :confused:

Haffa

I'm flying down Wednesday to catch up with some family during the week and then my mate is flying down the morning of the game.

Hahndorf is great if you are in to German culture/Cuisine, plenty to do and see there. Glenelg is also another one you might want to see, nice little Amusement park there if that is your thing and an easy tram ride from the CBD.

Not sure what you guys have planned in terms of a drink leading up to the game but if you are looking for somewhere to drink, watch sport and have a punt (like I am), places like that are few and far between in Adelaide. it isn't like Sydney where every pub has TAB services, the sport isn't an issue but I doubt many places will show the other NRL games.

So as a public service announcement there are 2 places I would suggest, The Rosemont hotel and the Grandstand sports bar (Casino), both have TAB services and are known as sports bars. You might have issues getting the league on at the Rosemont but the grandstand should be fine. Both are also a 10 minute walk to the ground. If all you are looking for is a drink and the league and TAB doesn't bother you, there are a heap of bars/pubs around the ground and/or in the Northern part of the CBD.

Asked a mate. Strathmore or Casino were his suggestions to be able to catch some real football.

horrie hastings

Weather has been good so far, did the Barossa today, small tour which went to some of the smaller wineries and really nice lunch. Yesterday did the zoo, the pandas were great to see,went to a nice bar near where we are staying called the Publisher on Franklin st, nice food,beer and wine and nice jazz band playing. Got in a bit late on Tuesday so ended up a pub called the Gilbert in the beer garden with a glass of red listening to the band. May go to Hahndorf tomorrow,worked out you can get a local bus there in about 40-50 minutes, still have Glenelg to go to too and the Haigh chocolate factory. Some great fresh produce at the Adelaide markets, got nice cheese and breads there yesterday. Really enjoying the break away so far especially with the nice weather.

Zadar

Weather has been good so far, did the Barossa today, small tour which went to some of the smaller wineries and really nice lunch. Yesterday did the zoo, the pandas were great to see,went to a nice bar near where we are staying called the Publisher on Franklin st, nice food,beer and wine and nice jazz band playing. Got in a bit late on Tuesday so ended up a pub called the Gilbert in the beer garden with a glass of red listening to the band. May go to Hahndorf tomorrow,worked out you can get a local bus there in about 40-50 minutes, still have Glenelg to go to too and the Haigh chocolate factory. Some great fresh produce at the Adelaide markets, got nice cheese and breads there yesterday. Really enjoying the break away so far especially with the nice weather.

Always good to follow your foodie travel experiences, keep updating HH.

Nealo 12

Rex Hotel in Marleston was the home of SA Rugby League when I was working there many years ago.
Huge nights on the turps !