Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs rumours, signings, injuries etc

SattlersJaw14

Mate I have Turner in there somewhere. I know it was only one game , but Turner really had a top game against Parra and I thought his best game for quite some time.

He offers pretty good speed through the middle when hitting it up and meets the advantage line quickly. I also think he is a solid defender on the edge when in the backrow. He just needs to get more involved and back himself.

Mate I really think the emergence of the young forwards has us in really good shape. The Burgi will be key no doubt. If George can get his minutes up to what Tom was producing and Tom steps it up a touch more we should be good to go in the go forward area .
Sam 160metres
Tom 140
George 120
Musgrove 120.
If we can get these 4 blokes running these numbers next year this will lay a great platform. The three likely backrowers can have real impact off the back of this type of go forward.

I think the Burgess boys can benefit if other players emerge & take the limelight a bit, i think they just need to work on their games with a bit less pressure, there was so much expectation surrounding the twins, i think it got to them a bit, hopefully they can take a back seat & just get better naturally, we have to remember that they really are still quite young

burgibigbash

I think the Burgess boys can benefit if other players emerge & take the limelight a bit, i think they just need to work on their games with a bit less pressure, there was so much expectation surrounding the twins, i think it got to them a bit, hopefully they can take a back seat & just get better naturally, we have to remember that they really are still quite young
Yeah for sure mate. George is just getting his body back to top shape after groin and hip surgery in 2016. I think the brain farts that he comes up with are part of the frustration at not being back to his full potential and probably realises that it's a time and patience thing.
The best thing that happened was him not playing in this World Cup. He will now be able to put in a good full off season and hopefully his body is back to 100% and he kills it.
I actually thought Tom was fairly solid . I think more than half of the drop balls he came up with were genuine strips.
The rise of the backrow will take enormous pressure off them and as you say they are only young and not even in their prime as yet.
I liked the way the twins went about their business in the last round game against Parra. They led the young lions well and I'm looking forward to much of the same this year.
I'm very much an optimist, but I think our top 17 looks very good and luck with injury should see us challenge for a top 8 and personally I think we are good enough to give the top 4 a shake.

callmack1

I agree re Sutto. He's well over the hill and can't keep up playing 80 minutes. However, I do believe he still has plenty to offer off the bench. His experience is very valuable and he's in the leadership group so there's no way he'll be left out of the side entirely. His running game is very strong and his defence is allgood before fatigue sets in. Use him off the bench for around 20 minute stints and he could be very effective.

Fui MUST start at that left second row spot as he is an exceptional talent. With a bit of a rest throughout the game when Sutto comes on he could be amazing too.

Tbh, I like Sam at prop next year. Murray is sensational and I believe he should start at lock. I also reckon he can play 80 minutes. Sam would still play the same role as he was kind of a third prop this year anyway so no issues there. The big upside to this is that the twins could get more of a rest and they could just focus on going hard for shorter stints, they'd make more of an impact that way imo.

I also think there is no room for a bench hooker.

8. T.Burgess
9. Cook
10. S.Burgess
11. Fuimaono
12. Crichton
13. Murray

14. Sutton
15. Britt/Clark/Turner/Talaki
16. Musgrove
17. G.Burgess

callmack1

Yeah for sure mate. George is just getting his body back to top shape after groin and hip surgery in 2016. I think the brain farts that he comes up with are part of the frustration at not being back to his full potential and probably realises that it's a time and patience thing.
The best thing that happened was him not playing in this World Cup. He will now be able to put in a good full off season and hopefully his body is back to 100% and he kills it.
I actually thought Tom was fairly solid . I think more than half of the drop balls he came up with were genuine strips.
The rise of the backrow will take enormous pressure off them and as you say they are only young and not even in their prime as yet.
I liked the way the twins went about their business in the last round game against Parra. They led the young lions well and I'm looking forward to much of the same this year.
I'm very much an optimist, but I think our top 17 looks very good and luck with injury should see us challenge for a top 8 and personally I think we are good enough to give the top 4 a shake.
Agreed mate. However I'm not sure we can push for top four as things stand. It could be a real possibility if we sign some good players.

Souths Till I Die

Mate I have Turner in there somewhere. I know it was only one game , but Turner really had a top game against Parra and I thought his best game for quite some time.

He offers pretty good speed through the middle when hitting it up and meets the advantage line quickly. I also think he is a solid defender on the edge when in the backrow. He just needs to get more involved and back himself.

Mate I really think the emergence of the young forwards has us in really good shape. The Burgi will be key no doubt. If George can get his minutes up to what Tom was producing and Tom steps it up a touch more we should be good to go in the go forward area .
Sam 160metres
Tom 140
George 120
Musgrove 120.
If we can get these 4 blokes running these numbers next year this will lay a great platform. The three likely backrowers can have real impact off the back of this type of go forward.

You're actually spot on re turner. It's all mindset for him. He has so much ability but is 100% holding back.

Yeah I think next year the Burgess twins really have to establish themselves as first grade front rowers otherwise they risk being offered good contracts. I think they still have that potential it's just all about that consistency. On their day they're some of the most damaging forwards ever. They really help us win the field position battle and that's what we want from our props.

Souths Till I Die

Yeah you're right again. Tom was only seen as poor because of how shit his brother was this season. Tom actually had quite a good season overall. I really hope George can return to his best I think on his day he is one of the best props in the game.

It's good to be optimistic as a Souths supporter it's been a rough few seasons. I'll be happy with a top 8 appearance because it shows we had some sort of consistency.

doyen

I don't think he's tall enough to play wing in the modern game doyen.

I was just having my usual dig at Cookie---back when I graced the field you hid your liabilities on the wing;the posse where softies were placed!
The other was a facetious soccer posse;"left right out"[out of the team] instead of the real posse in soccer; "inside right."

southsport

I was just having my usual dig at Cookie---back when I graced the field you hid your liabilities on the wing;the posse where softies were placed!
The other was a facetious soccer posse;"left right out"[out of the team] instead of the real posse in soccer; "inside right."

Now you cut that out doyen!.........I'm the joker on this forum remember? :)

Curns13

I agree re Sutto. He's well over the hill and can't keep up playing 80 minutes. However, I do believe he still has plenty to offer off the bench. His experience is very valuable and he's in the leadership group so there's no way he'll be left out of the side entirely. His running game is very strong and his defence is allgood before fatigue sets in. Use him off the bench for around 20 minute stints and he could be very effective.

Fui MUST start at that left second row spot as he is an exceptional talent. With a bit of a rest throughout the game when Sutto comes on he could be amazing too.

Tbh, I like Sam at prop next year. Murray is sensational and I believe he should start at lock. I also reckon he can play 80 minutes. Sam would still play the same role as he was kind of a third prop this year anyway so no issues there. The big upside to this is that the twins could get more of a rest and they could just focus on going hard for shorter stints, they'd make more of an impact that way imo.

8. T.Burgess
9. Cook
10. S.Burgess
11. Fuimaono
12. Crichton
13. Murray

14. Sutton
16. Musgrove
17. G.Burgess

8. T.Burgess
9. Cook
10. S.Burgess
11. Fuimaono
12. Crichton
13. Murray

14. Sutton
16. Musgrove
17. G.Burgess
That backrow is the future of this club. Sutto's gotta make way.

doyen

Now you cut that out doyen!.........I'm the joker on this forum remember? :)
I did detect a tad of sarcasm in your comment.
Actually Cook did some lively stuff with his speed when he played FB. TBH though,there is some hope for COOK as our No. 9 under a new coach,I suppose!! ie.a very big SUPPOSE!!!
Is our new coach prepared to give him a free rein or rein him in as Madge did??
It is obvious to me that Cook's game improved dramatically at the end of seasons when unleashed.

southsport

I did detect a tad of sarcasm in your comment.
Actually Cook did some lively stuff with his speed when he played FB. TBH though,there is some hope for COOK as our No. 9 under a new coach,I suppose!! ie.a very big SUPPOSE!!!
Is our new coach prepared to give him a free rein or rein him in as Madge did??
It is obvious to me that Cook's game improved dramatically at the end of seasons when unleashed.

Yes, it will be interesting to see how Seibold uses Cookie, the make-up of the team could go in a number of directions actually.

Griffin? You would of taken a bench hooker? We don't need anymore hookers in this squad.

Ese'ese and Watson are the only 2 players I would've been keen on but the problem is that they are relatively unproven outside of top sides such as the roosters and broncos. They are also both young and big contracts can get to their heads. The reality is is that they are taking discards from other teams, do we really want to recruit like that? I would of been keen on SKD but he hates Souths. Moga is a pretty good signing but they offered him a pretty big sum considering the broncos couldn't match it.
He can play a bit in the back row as well.....

Would've been good for depth.....

I notice someone in here said Cook as a bench utility....

That's garbage imo....

Cook needs to play 80mins.

Farah is just too slow these days.....

handyman2190

GI should be used at centre imo.....

AJ for fullback.
AJs first stint at FB was a disaster everyone wanted him gone and were after his blood 2 decent games with no pressure and he is now the saviour?
No he is a good winger and perhaps a backup FB thats it we need to wake up!! And stop fantacising, we have not bought enough quality nor forwards...next year i dont see us better...i see us worse as the teams under us have recruited much better we sit on our hands and dream.
Like we have gor the last 2 seasons.
Wake up!!!
We havent replaced our loses we use backrowers as props and it hasnt worked our depth is shit
Sorry boys reality

burgibigbash

He can play a bit in the back row as well.....

Would've been good for depth.....

I notice someone in here said Cook as a bench utility....

That's garbage imo....

Cook needs to play 80mins.

Farah is just too slow these days.....

I would persist with Cook as well , but we have Farah here so there's a good chance that he will be used.
Cooks versatility could well see him on the bench weather we like it or not.
How the new coach uses Sutto and Farah will be interesting. It will be a fairly big decision for a rookie coach to punt either player to reserve grade.

burgibigbash

Yes, it will be interesting to see how Seibold uses Cookie, the make-up of the team could go in a number of directions actually.
It will be very interesting. There are plenty of ways he could go in the backs and the forwards and the bench.
Gagai is an interesting one. He really is a gun winger. I know he was signed to play centre , but If I'm the coach I would be starting him on the wing.
I'd have Jennings and GI as my centres.

Itsamansgame

I see a little silhouetto of a man
Scaramouche,Scaramouche
Will he do the Fandango
Thunderbolt and lightning
Very,very fright'ning me
(Richo)Richo(Richo)Richo
Richo figaro magnifico
He's a shit recruiter,nobody loves him
He's just a rich boy from a rich family
Spare us our life from this monstrosity
image.jpeg

burgibigbash

AJs first stint at FB was a disaster everyone wanted him gone and were after his blood 2 decent games with no pressure and he is now the saviour?
No he is a good winger and perhaps a backup FB thats it we need to wake up!! And stop fantacising, we have not bought enough quality nor forwards...next year i dont see us better...i see us worse as the teams under us have recruited much better we sit on our hands and dream.
Like we have gor the last 2 seasons.
Wake up!!!
We havent replaced our loses we use backrowers as props and it hasnt worked our depth is shit
Sorry boys reality
I didn't think he was that bad in his first stint. He wasn't setting the world on fire but he was solid enough.
I thought it was more a case of needing him on the wing because we were struggling bigtime with no specialist wingers.
Sometimes players just have that game that kicks them on and sees them playing at a different level.
He was great on the wing when moved back there and then again when he moved back to fullback stepped it up a cog or two and played the best footy of his career IMO.
He looked more assured and confident in his ability and used his blinding speed to his advantage.
He's still a youngster but is starting to get naturally stronger and bigger and brings the ball back well. I think it's his time.

We have a core group of youngsters that are all quality young players and will get better and more confident as the year goes on . These young blokes are already having impact and will have even further impact this season. Our forward depth has built up very nicely because of this . When Sutto, Clark, Farah and Turner are no certainties for a spot in the 17 then our depth is looking pretty good in the forwards. One more depth prop and we are well and truly covered.
We have a senior group that will hopefully be refreshed with a new coach.

If we manage to throw our top 17 out most weeks we will be entrenched in the top 8.