Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

IFR33K

Bazal was referring to the claim made by ifreak that Jennings is a much better attacking player than Hayne yet refused to believe the stats that indicate otherwise.

Once again, the initial comments were centre, not player.

Gazzamatta

Hayne needs to return to Sydney now while a shred of his reputation remains. Post 2018 he will be worth even less than he is now.
Hayne had great abilities but even then his effort was restricted to a few times each game. He is older, slower and his laziness remains.
It will end in heartache should he get anywhere near our club and its evolving culture. I love Haynes highlights reel also but never forget thats all it is. Why dont they make highlight reels of lazy plays, poor discipline, arguing with referees, hiding in defence and taking forever to play the ball.
Nope. Move on Parra. The cost to our great club would be far more than how it effects our salary cap.

IFR33K

Mate, did you read what I said that on response to?

Ultimately I do think a large amount of people who do this want him back do have a grudge against him. Not all, mind you. But a lot absolutely do. And IN THIS INSTANCE I believe that to be the case based on what unfolded and the attitude a particular poster took when presented with evidence that showed his claims might not be true

You believe that to be the case? I’ve already stated I’d love a firing Hayne back for the right money, but I can’t see that happening.

The reason I won’t look too much into the ‘evidence’ provided, is because I can’t comprehend two sets of stats comparing two different types of players in different teams and structures. Not to mention how many games Hayne played in different positions. Let’s not forget MJ coming back from a knee injury, and if my memory recalls correctly, he was a little quiet post injury.

Hayne is a complete player, not doubting that, but he isn’t and never will be a specialist centre. I’m sure all you experts were jumping up and down after this years origin series when Hayne was way out of his depths. But but but, he’s a better attacking centre then MJ

Hayne played 17 games this year and scored 8 tries, 8 line breaks, 9 line break assists
Jennings played 21 games this year and scored 9 tries, 11 line breaks, 4 line break assists.

Id say Hayne's attacking stats are as good or better than Jennings (and this is ina year where Hayne was supposedly shit and Jennings was awesome).

Different positions.
Fullbacks in general have more lbas,TA,amd Line breaks

Hayne ia not part of titans plans for 2019. And they are long odds to win it in 2018.

1.2 mill is wasted. I reckon if they could wipe themself of only costing 400k and saving 800k they would.

If we stumped up 500k plus the 400k he wpuld be getting 900k. Not a bad pay cheque. And long term beneficial to himself.
Eels i doubt would pay more then 500k due to fact there not desperate at his best postition.Fullback.

I think people tend to overrate our strength at fullback because we've got two guys who seem fairly equal. And you don't have to be desperate to pay more than 500K for that position.

84 Baby

Hayne ia not part of titans plans for 2019. And they are long odds to win it in 2018.

1.2 mill is wasted. I reckon if they could wipe themself of only costing 400k and saving 800k they would.

If we stumped up 500k plus the 400k he wpuld be getting 900k. Not a bad pay cheque. And long term beneficial to himself.
Eels i doubt would pay more then 500k due to fact there not desperate at his best postition.Fullback.
There’s no way Hayne takes 900k and moves to Sydney. That’d be 300k plus difference in cost of living

Hayne is a complete player, not doubting that, but he isn’t and never will be a specialist centre. I’m sure all you experts were jumping up and down after this years origin series when Hayne was way out of his depths. But but but, he’s a better attacking centre then MJ
Well he is a better attacking centre than Jennings. Plenty of spine players and even wingers and second rowers would be better attacking centres than most/all specialist centres. The reason is that centres aren't picked for their attack any more. It is a specialist defensive position, and if they attack well it's a bonus (though it's hard to get them involved from centre - look how many carries Leilua gets from dummy half or even early ball at second receiver). I'm sure the main reason he plays centre (rather than edge forward) is so that he can play 80 minutes without having to do too much tackling.

Leilua
11.6 runs per game
10.1 attempted tackles (8.3 tackles, 1.8 missed)

He's the best attacking centre in the game but they sometimes struggle to get the ball into his hands, and he's still probably the only centre in the game who makes more runs than tackles. And that lack of tackles is related to his lack of lateral movement and probably fatigue as well. Big sluggish centres like him are a liability out wide. Coaches can't let them get isolated so their job against numbers is to simply shoot (like an extra winger) rather than backing off and marking multiple opponents, like Jennings can.

T.S Quint

What if Haynes on 700k cap wise and taka is on 250k? It allows us to sign another quality first grader.

Well then that would go some way to proving that Hayne is a better player than Taka.
For the record, I don't want Hayne if he is going to cost us too much and is the reason we can't afford to strengthen our forward pack. But if he comes at the right price and Arthur thinks he can get him playing good footy again, then I will trust his judgement.

T.S Quint

Yes it is. No he's not.

Well I guess you are correct about the first point considering we are debating it right now.

I believe Hayne is better in attack than Taka, and isn't any worse in defence (and could end up being much better with more time in the position).
Hayne covers more positions than Taka, and covers them more effectively I think.

900k is still a heap of cash. Sure he be down 300k. But if you earnt that much would it bother you as much?
In comparrison it would be like someone earning 70k for a job they love or do a job they hate for 90k.
Not everyone is driven by money. Really money just buys time right? If Hayne is happy to own his own home and has 3 mill in jnvestments what the hell else wpuld a boy who come from housing commision want. I reckon he wouldnt care so much about a fancy suit,car or watch.

Well I guess you are correct about the first point considering we are debating it right now.

I believe Hayne is better in attack than Taka, and isn't any worse in defence (and could end up being much better with more time in the position).
Hayne covers more positions than Taka, and covers them more effectively I think.

People are comparing Taka to Hayne now? FFS

Bandwagon

Taka can cover edge forward, so i reckon they're about the same in regards to versatility of position.

But of the positions they both cover,agree Hayne >.>>>>>Taka.

84 Baby

Depends how much he wants to be back in Sydney I suppose, and how much he wants to play for the Eels.
If anything, it may very well be his non--manager Beavis that is pushing the dollars upwards.
He’d have to really really want to live in Sydney

Lifestyle...... Id be 10k better of a year living in Penrith. But i moved for lifestyle.
Yeah... except we’re not talking 10k here, we’re talking 500k