Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst experiences/fights at the footy

Probably two stand outs for me:

Sharks/dragons at the SFS (late 90s or early 2000s). A group of us were sitting between a bunch of sharks supporters and a couple of Mongoloid dragons fans. Wouldn’t have been more than 20mins in and one of the fat wombats literally jumps over me to release a flurry of punches on this sharks fan

Sharks fan retaliates with a plastic schooner glassing, next thing you know 100 Cops are in there and everyone gets evicted

Dogs v Penrith 1997 belmore. The infamous riot game. I remember sitting there with my old man and thinking, no way we are getting out of this alive. Saw a few dogs fans get absolutely flogged that night, surprised we went back to Belmore after that

When the Dogs beat us in the early 2000s at ANZ a group of Dogs fans spat at me and my mate as we were leaving, good times

Last Week

Dogs fan shoving my ex gf into a steel fence in the mid 2000's after we beat them in some game. merkins.

2001 - Panthers v Dogs at Penrith.

An intellectually-disabled Bulldogs fan was being harassed and bullied. They took his glasses off and threw them to the ground before laughing and walking off.

Here's the twist. The fans doing the harassing and bullying were fellow Bulldogs fans!!

TheVelourFog

end of the 2012 final I ducked off to take a piss and when i got out my mate had made some chick in an Eels jersey cry

no idea what he said to her

cool story

Probably two stand outs for me:

Sharks/dragons at the SFS (late 90s or early 2000s). A group of us were sitting between a bunch of sharks supporters and a couple of Mongoloid dragons fans. Wouldn’t have been more than 20mins in and one of the fat wombats literally jumps over me to release a flurry of punches on this sharks fan

Sharks fan retaliates with a plastic schooner glassing, next thing you know 100 Cops are in there and everyone gets evicted

Dogs v Penrith 1997 belmore. The infamous riot game. I remember sitting there with my old man and thinking, no way we are getting out of this alive. Saw a few dogs fans get absolutely flogged that night, surprised we went back to Belmore after that
Was the Sharks- Dragons game a semi final in 2002? If so, I saw a good sized brawl after the match.
Some late 20 - early 30 year old St. George supporters were giving lip to some 16- 18 year old Sharks supporters. The young Shark supporters returned serve with the insults and it was on.
It was evenly numbered but the young Shark supporters belted the f**k out of the loud mouth Dragons fans.
The Dragons fans were well and truly beat and started to scatter, until there were only a few left. They shit themselves and ran anywhere to get away. One ran onto Moore Park rd and straight into an oncoming car (a taxi I think), he bounced off and kept running.

Liddell

Saw some bad stuff from the dogs fans when they used to play at the showground. A few of us used to go when they started giving out those free passes if you played. Only took a few visits to realise that was a mistake.

Saw one push over a pregnant girl after they’d roughed up her partner. The trains afterwards, you’d always see something.

I remember a dogs vs dragons? trial game, they held a minute silence for Don Bradman who’d just passed away. Few seconds in and they started a “bradman’s a wanker” chant. Classy bunch.

Was the Sharks- Dragons game a semi final in 2002? If so, I saw a good sized brawl after the match.
Some late 20 - early 30 year old St. George supporters were giving lip to some 16- 18 year old Sharks supporters. The young Shark supporters returned serve with the insults and it was on.
It was evenly numbered but the young Shark supporters belted the f**k out of the loud mouth Dragons fans.
The Dragons fans were well and truly beat and started to scatter, until there were only a few left. They shit themselves and ran anywhere to get away. One ran onto Moore Park rd and straight into an oncoming car (a taxi I think), he bounced off and kept running.

Yeh that sounds about right. There seemed to be a number of flare ups that day. I didn’t see the above but I did someone getting absolutely flogged near the Moore park road exit (closest to centennial park) after the game. The security outside the ground was piss weak at the time, people were getting away with anything

Lambretta

Never had any problems with Dogs fans.

There was a flare up between Roosters fans and Dogs fans in the mid 00's a couple of bays over from where we were sitting - but the Dogs fans in front of us (f**king massive bastards they were too) were f**king cool. We put shit on each other (and our own teams) during the game and were laughing about it

Timbo

Was walking away from ANZ in the early 2000s, I’d have been some where between 18-20. Group of Wests fans see me and start hurling abuse ‘oi Canberra, get over here merkin...’ they kept following me and throwing abuse. They were blind, and I was on my own.

Then a cop appeared from nowhere and asked me what the score of the game was, and asked if I wouldn’t mind giving him a rundown of the match as we walked towards the station. They disappeared into the night.

I’ve never been a big fan of the boys in blue, but I’ve always felt the way that bloke handled it was basically perfect. No conflict, situation resolved.

Lambretta

The second game of "football" I went to was between West Ham United and Chelsea at Upton Park in 1986.

In those days fans were heavily segregated both to and from the ground and while in the ground
The Chelsea fans arrived under Police escort, with mounted Police and trained attack dogs as well as hundreds of coppers and riot vans blocking off the high street.

West Ham fans were held back down side streets so they couldn't get at them

Chelsea had the whole South Bank terrace and West Ham had the other three sides - I was stood in the North Bank

At half time a chant of ICF (West Ham's hooligan firm) went up in the Chelsea end and it was on for young and old in the Chelsea end. The Police box was inside the ground next to the South Bank and suddenly hundreds of coppers in riot gear came flying out of a side entrance and they piled into the South Bank to drag out the West Ham fans causing the disturbance. Apparently there were about 30 West Ham in the Chelsea end (of around 6,000 fans)

The atmosphere in the ground was pure evil. The hatred oozing out of the North Bank was unlike anything I have ever witnessed. No wonder people got caught up in the moment and punched on. It was infectious.

After the game we couldn't go home as we had to travel in the same direction as the majority of Chelsea fans. We had to stay in East London for 2 or 3 hours before working our way back to Euston carefully as there were still plenty of Chelsea hanging round looking for a fight.

Mental times

The second game of "football" I went to was between West Ham United and Chelsea at Upton Park in 1986.

In those days fans were heavily segregated both to and from the ground and while in the ground
The Chelsea fans arrived under Police escort, with mounted Police and trained attack dogs as well as hundreds of coppers and riot vans blocking off the high street.

West Ham fans were held back down side streets so they couldn't get at them

Chelsea had the whole South Bank terrace and West Ham had the other three sides - I was stood in the North Bank

At half time a chant of ICF (West Ham's hooligan firm) went up in the Chelsea end and it was on for young and old in the Chelsea end. The Police box was inside the ground next to the South Bank and suddenly hundreds of coppers in riot gear came flying out of a side entrance and they piled into the South Bank to drag out the West Ham fans causing the disturbance. Apparently there were about 30 West Ham in the Chelsea end (of around 6,000 fans)

The atmosphere in the ground was pure evil. The hatred oozing out of the North Bank was unlike anything I have ever witnessed. No wonder people got caught up in the moment and punched on. It was infectious.

After the game we couldn't go home as we had to travel in the same direction as the majority of Chelsea fans. We had to stay in East London for 2 or 3 hours before working our way back to Euston carefully as there were still plenty of Chelsea hanging round looking for a fight.

Mental times

Have been to Upton park but 2004 so I feel I missed the glory days! Still, I know what you mean, even walking down to the ground I felt like it could’ve been on at any second

Lambretta

Have been to Upton park but 2004 so I feel I missed the glory days! Still, I know what you mean, even walking down to the ground I felt like it could’ve been on at any second

Who did you see play?

The atmosphere around Upton Park was always different depending on who was coming to visit that day
If it was Norwich, Watford, Southampton, West Brom etc it was a friendly family day out

If it was a big London club such as Spurs, Chelsea or Arsenal or an out of town team with a tasty firm such as Leeds or Birmingham then it was totally different. The streets would be full of evil looking geezers watching up and down the street - in case the other mob turned up and started to take the piss on our Manor. If that happened geezers would arrive from everywhere ready to do battle.

It wasn't the done thing to turn up to Upton Park and start anything and West Ham let you know it