Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Articles

getsmarty

womens-membership-big-screen.png

WOMEN'S RUGBY LEAGUE

Dragons Women's foundation memberships flying out the door
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 7 Aug 2018, 11:58 AM

The St George Illawarra Dragons faithful have rallied in support of the club's NRL Women's Premiership team, purchasing foundation memberships in record numbers.

Fans from across the nation and globe have signed up as NRL Women's foundation members, providing valued support for the Dragons women who will compete in the inaugural 2018 season.

"The girls and I are blown away by number of members that have signed in the past couple of days in support of the team," Dragons back-rower Kezie Apps said.

"Their support is truly valued and we can't wait to meet as many members as possible at our upcoming member's event."

Each foundation member will be part of the inner sanctum with the first 500 receiving a ticket to attend the inaugural Sydney based game.

Additionally, foundation members will receive a limited edition pin, certificate and a range of other benefits to mark their support of this historic occasion.

Memberships start at just $30 for juniors and are selling fast. To find out more, head to www.marchwithus.com.au

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...s-foundation-memberships-flying-out-the-door/

getsmarty

REPRESENTATIVE

Bazzaz, Saab selected for Australian Schoolboys
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 7 Aug 2018, 09:53 AM

St George Illawarra junior representative players Jason Saab and Jalal Bazzaz have been selected to represent the Australian Schoolboys over in England later this year.

Bazzaz and Saab – who represented the Illawarra Steelers and St George Dragons SG Ball sides in 2018 respectively – have earned yet another representative honour following their selection in the New South Wales Under-18s side.

2018---ball---illawarra---jalal-bazzaz---2273_1.jpg

Jalal Bazzaz in action for the Illawarra Steelers against Saab's Dragons earlier in 2018
Director of Rugby League Pathways and List Management Ian Millward discusses in the above video why Bazzaz and Saab's selection for the Australian Schoolboys is important for the Dragons.

2018 Australian Schoolboys squad

• Max Altus – Farrer Memorial Agricultural College, Tamworth
  • Jalal Bazzaz – Illawarra Sports High, Berkeley
  • Bradman Best – Brisbane Waters Secondary College, Woy Woy
  • Zac Cini – St Dominic's College, Penrith
  • Juwan Compain – Palm Beach Currumbin State High, Gold Coast
  • Stephen Crichton – Patrician Brothers College, Blacktown
  • Harry Croker – Taree High School
  • Tom Dearden - Palm Beach Currumbin State High, Gold Coast
  • Matthew Doorey – Westfields Sports High, Fairfield West
  • Ryan Gray – De La Salle College – Revesby Heights
  • Jock Madden – All Saints College, Maitland
  • Luca Moretti – Waverley College
  • Ratu Nanovo – Cambridge Park High
  • Tesi Niu – Marsden State High, Logan
  • Franklin Pele – Endeavour Sports High, Caringbah
  • Jason Saab – Westfields Sports High, Fairfield West
  • Tommy Talau – Westfields Sports High, Fairfield West
  • Jayden Tanner – Patrician Brothers College, Blacktown
  • Beni Teaupa – Holy Cross College, Ryde
  • Star To'a – Newcastle High
  • Bronson Xerri – Endeavour Sports High, Caringbah

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/07/bazzaz-saab-selected-for-australian-schoolboys/

getsmarty

Dragons hit reset button ahead of final month
Local Sport
r0_285_5472_3363_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

MERCURY. NEWS. St George Illawarra Dragons back in training. 11 January 2018 . Picture: Sylvia Liber.

HE can’t quite call it a best laid plan, but Dragons coach Paul McGregor admits a Central Coast getaway ahead of this week’s clash with Parramatta came at the perfect time.

McGregor and his staff scheduled a mini-camp in Terrigal six weeks ago, anticipating his side would need a freshen up for the final month of the season.

It’s unlikely they knew just how timely it would prove, with the trip coming hot on the heels of last Saturday’s loss to the Warriors – their fourth from their last five games.

The slump, and it’s mirroring of recent history, would see most sides wracking their brains searching for a fix, but McGregor has encouraged his to do the opposite away from the training paddock.

“It was planned six weeks ago, but the timing of it was pretty important considering we were coming off a couple of losses,” McGregor said of the trip.

“To get away, was great timing. Logistically its hard to get the boys together because half live in Sydney and half live in Wollongong. Post-training they sort of go their separate ways.

“We had a good gathering on Sunday and didn’t talk about footy too much. One thing about my players is they certainly care a lot and sometimes, when you’ve got time away, it can be hard to to not look at a paper, to not turn on the phone, and just rest.

“I’m not going to tell a bloke to go home and not read a paper or to turn his phone off or not go and talk to a mate. It’s entirely up to them how they choose to do things but you obviously make them aware that time away from that’s going to help the mind.

“When we’re at training we need high intensity and a lot of energy, when we’re away from training we need to turn off a few things, relax a bit and enjoy the downtime.”

The trip brought welcome respite from the pressure that is mounting on the Dragons, who risk losing the top-four spot they’ve held all season should their wobbles continue.

It’s a scenario that seemed unthinkable even a month ago, but McGregor said his side’s belief hasn’t wavered despite the recent run of outs.

“When you’re going great, probably not going as good as people say, and when you’re going bad, you’re probably not going as bad as people say. That’s how footy works,” McGregor said.

“When you create what we did, we led the comp up until a month ago and we’re the only team that’s been in the top four [all season], I understand the [scrutiny].

“It’s good because we’ve built that. No one else had built it for us, we’ve built in ourselves and we’ve proven to anyone and everyone that we can beat any side. It’s important we finish what we started, and we’re in a position to do that.”

With the slim exception of the Tigers, the Dragons remaining four games come against sides out of the top-eight running and McGregor said it’s important his side take strong form into the finals.

“The biggest thing about going into finals is building momentum,” McGregor said.

“Teams that go into the finals with momentum usually go well. When you look at last week’s game, and that’s all you look at at the minute, there were a lot of good things that came out of the second half. That’s got to be our starting base for the next month.

“For the 80 minutes [the Warriors] didn’t score a point when we had 13 points on the field and the second half we won 12-0. Although we didn’t execute well at times, I thought we played with a lot more energy and intent and that’s where it’s got to start there.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...hit-reset-button-ahead-of-final-month/?cs=302

rednwhites

I find it very telling that our captain and possibly most influential player doesn't have a thread created for him following a season ending (potentially) injury. He certainly isn't held in high regard - especially when we are losing and need a leader.

So I thought I would just stick this here. An interesting article with a classic headline, and a pot-shot at the likes of me calling for Mary's head.

Gareth Widdop possibly sidelined for six weeks as McGregor declares "I'm a good coach"

Andrew Webster12 August 2018 — 6:58pm

Dragons coach Paul McGregor took his side’s 40-4 loss to Parramatta on Saturday night so personally that he still hadn’t eaten by Sunday afternoon.

Then came the news to put every Red V fan off their appetites: five-eighth Gareth Widdop could be sidelined for as long as six weeks after dislocating his shoulder in the heavy loss to the second-last Eels.

Injury to insult: Gareth Widdop is escorted off the field.

Photo: AAP
“Gaz has had some initial scans but he will have more on Monday and we will know more,” McGregor told Fairfax Media. “At this stage, it’s looking like three to six weeks.”

McGregor, of course, will be hoping for the best-case scenario. He needs every one of his marquee players on the field as his side performs its traditional pre-finals faceplant.

The Dragons have lost five of their last six matches. They have stepped out of the top four and allowed Penrith to walk straight in. They have three matches, against the Wests Tigers (away), Bulldogs (home) and Knights (away), to U-turn a season that promised so much until it hit the wall of State of Origin.

The loss to Parramatta was so mortifying some Dragons fans immediately called for McGregor’s sacking, wondering out loud through the bravery of social media and talkback if he has a premiership in him.

Which is interesting because some are linking him to the vacant Penrith job. Which is interesting because some have linked disgruntled Manly coach Trent Barrett and unwanted Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett to McGregor’s current job. Hang on. Aren't they also headed to Penrith?

With delicate negotiations for the sale of the Dragons still brewing, the payout of the first-grade coach who has one season remaining on his contract is highly doubtful.

“I know I’m a good coach and I have the right players that I want and I know how well the club is going,” McGregor said. “We are on a smooth run here. There’s been some tears and joy along the way. It’s been a lot of hard work and it’s about finishing it off. I want to win one [a premiership] here and I don’t want to do it with anyone else. That’s why I am hurting so much now. As a leader, you take it personally because you are the boss. If anyone thinks I am not hurting, they are wrong.”

Hurting and hungry.

The Origin period knocked the Dragons’ off their run at the premiership.

The club provided four players for the victorious NSW side but none of them were affected like Queensland halfback Ben Hunt, who unfairly wore all the blame after the game-two loss in Sydney.

Pre-Origin, the $6 million the Dragons paid him to leave Brisbane was considered money well spent. Now, some are questioning it. Hunt’s confidence appears to be rock bottom. He needs to find it again in Widdop’s absence.

“It will sound like an excuse if I say something negative about Origin,” McGregor said. “But our form going into Origin was a lot better than coming out of it.”

More worrying for McGregor is the form of the players who didn’t play Origin. Fullback Matthew Dufty and centres Euan Aitken and Tim Lafai are shadows of the players they were earlier this season.

“But there's no reason why we can’t regroup and get it going again," McGregor said.

The next three matches, starting with the Tigers at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday night, are critical.

If the Dragons can finish in the top four, and Widdop comes back earlier than expected, and prop Paul Vaughan returns from his ankle injury afresh, they have the roster that can challenge for the premiership.

That’s the optimistic viewpoint.

Weary Dragons fans fear a repeat of last season when their side gave away a top-eight finish with a diabolical second half and eventual loss against the Bulldogs in the final round.

To pin the trend on McGregor, though, is unfair. In 2011, under Bennett, the Dragons lost six of their last seven heading into the finals.

“The noises around the past I can understand because expectations get so high because of the quality of football this team plays,” the coach said. “When we don’t sustain that on a weekly basis, people get disheartened.

“I speak to the players about it. We are the same team, coached by the same staff, when we were unbeatable. That’s all the same. At the moment, we have to find a way to get back there. We can make the top four.”

The four sounds much better than a faceplant.

dragonhysteria

I find it very telling that our captain and possibly most influential player doesn't have a thread created for him following a season ending (potentially) injury. He certainly isn't held in high regard - especially when we are losing and need a leader.

So I thought I would just stick this here. An interesting article with a classic headline, and a pot-shot at the likes of me calling for Mary's head.

Gareth Widdop possibly sidelined for six weeks as McGregor declares "I'm a good coach"

Dragons coach Paul McGregor took his side’s 40-4 loss to Parramatta on Saturday night so personally that he still hadn’t eaten by Sunday afternoon.

Then came the news to put every Red V fan off their appetites: five-eighth Gareth Widdop could be sidelined for as long as six weeks after dislocating his shoulder in the heavy loss to the second-last Eels.

“Gaz has had some initial scans but he will have more on Monday and we will know more,” McGregor told Fairfax Media. “At this stage, it’s looking like three to six weeks.”

McGregor, of course, will be hoping for the best-case scenario. He needs every one of his marquee players on the field as his side performs its traditional pre-finals faceplant.

The Dragons have lost five of their last six matches. They have stepped out of the top four and allowed Penrith to walk straight in. They have three matches, against the Wests Tigers (away), Bulldogs (home) and Knights (away), to U-turn a season that promised so much until it hit the wall of State of Origin.

The loss to Parramatta was so mortifying some Dragons fans immediately called for McGregor’s sacking, wondering out loud through the bravery of social media and talkback if he has a premiership in him.

Which is interesting because some are linking him to the vacant Penrith job. Which is interesting because some have linked disgruntled Manly coach Trent Barrett and unwanted Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett to McGregor’s current job. Hang on. Aren't they also headed to Penrith?

With delicate negotiations for the sale of the Dragons still brewing, the payout of the first-grade coach who has one season remaining on his contract is highly doubtful.

“I know I’m a good coach and I have the right players that I want and I know how well the club is going,” McGregor said. “We are on a smooth run here. There’s been some tears and joy along the way. It’s been a lot of hard work and it’s about finishing it off. I want to win one [a premiership] here and I don’t want to do it with anyone else. That’s why I am hurting so much now. As a leader, you take it personally because you are the boss. If anyone thinks I am not hurting, they are wrong.”

Hurting and hungry.

The club provided four players for the victorious NSW side but none of them were affected like Queensland halfback Ben Hunt, who unfairly wore all the blame after the game-two loss in Sydney.

Pre-Origin, the $6 million the Dragons paid him to leave Brisbane was considered money well spent. Now, some are questioning it. Hunt’s confidence appears to be rock bottom. He needs to find it again in Widdop’s absence.

“It will sound like an excuse if I say something negative about Origin,” McGregor said. “But our form going into Origin was a lot better than coming out of it.”

More worrying for McGregor is the form of the players who didn’t play Origin. Fullback Matthew Dufty and centres Euan Aitken and Tim Lafai are shadows of the players they were earlier this season.

“But there's no reason why we can’t regroup and get it going again," McGregor said.

The next three matches, starting with the Tigers at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday night, are critical.

If the Dragons can finish in the top four, and Widdop comes back earlier than expected, and prop Paul Vaughan returns from his ankle injury afresh, they have the roster that can challenge for the premiership.

Weary Dragons fans fear a repeat of last season when their side gave away a top-eight finish with a diabolical second half and eventual loss against the Bulldogs in the final round.

To pin the trend on McGregor, though, is unfair. In 2011, under Bennett, the Dragons lost six of their last seven heading into the finals.

“The noises around the past I can understand because expectations get so high because of the quality of football this team plays,” the coach said. “When we don’t sustain that on a weekly basis, people get disheartened.

“I speak to the players about it. We are the same team, coached by the same staff, when we were unbeatable. That’s all the same. At the moment, we have to find a way to get back there. We can make the top four.”

Yet another disgusting where the he gets a free ride! f**k!!!!

BLM01

Hurting and hungry.

The problem is the media have short memories and Webster is a long time Dragons supporter like us.
The fans are not calling for his head just for what happened this season, but the media forget conveniently the build up of frustration for many years of mediocrity except when they decided to go outside the red and white bleeding walls and bought in David Waite and Wayne Bennett. They are the only times we challenged and one 1 premiership in the past 20 years.
McGregor has had 4 years and whilst I will admit he has some qualities as a coach in regards to getting them going in season he and his team, and club management have had many deficiencies and can not see where filling vacancies from internally just like a govt department has been its problem and thinking our leaders have to be culture first orientated and that will spill on to the field. That has not worked for any club at that level.
McGregor's conservatism, lack of confidence to go outside the square with player selection, making ones accountable for form with the attitude "she'll be right mate", narrow simple game plans has washed thin as did Dessie's, McGuire's and others. Excuses for failures last 4 years have also washed thin. The following words echo what I have just said.
The next three matches, starting with the Tigers at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday night, are critical."
He should of said that following after Round 11 or 12. Why do we just flick a switch and start now, what is going to change for that to happen? It hasnt in the past 4 years and wont now!
Have a look at Bellamy's press conference after their narrow loss to a good game, how he was pissed off and likley calling for some heads to roll, "calls it for what it is"

Sorry all, rant over. I am just as frustrated like anyone else with the blinkers our club and media wear.

BTW Webster, when we lost 6 out of 7 in 2011 it was after 3 years of being at the top and included a premiership the year before. We also still finished 5th after sports betting agencies tried to derail our premiership by telling the world they were paying out on us winning the minor premiership halfway through a season. And also our coach announced in April of that year he was leaving.
They are real excuses.!

getsmarty

Chokers! The stunning graph that highlights St George Illawarra’s big problem
Dragons
simon_brunsdon.jpg

87904624271bd4b9b926223f5cd9b599

The Dragons' worrying trend of choking.Source: FOX SPORTS
“CHOKE” is the taboo word inside the four walls of Dragons HQ, but there’s no denying the reputation St George Illawarra is building.

The club looked like the best thing going just a couple of short months ago when they led the NRL. They looked a sure thing to take out the minor premiership, and bookies had them at short odds to win the title in 2018.

Fast forward to Round 23 and the Red V are tumbling down the ladder, now sitting outside the top four and struggling big time.

Round 23
A 40-4 loss at the hands of competition also-ran Parramatta on Saturday is their lowest point … so far.

In the space of six weeks they have slumped from first to fifth on the table. Now their five-eighth Gareth Widdop is injured — possibly out for the season — and their halfback Ben Hunt is on the ropes.

But there’s a sense of deja vu about the place.

Because put simply, the team IS choking. Again.

Fox Sports Lab stats show the amazing trend at St George Illawarra of sliding further down the ladder as the season goes on.

Going back to 2014, when Steve Price was sacked mid-season and replaced by now-coach Paul McGregor, the Dragons’ formline tends to drop away after the halfway point of the draw.

10c748d1e366347e9f1183824ade7227

Dragons' ladder position per round, for the past five NRL seasonSource: FOX SPORTS
In 2015 they spent 10 weeks inside the competition’s top four, before falling to as low as 10th and only just scraping into finals. They lost the first final and were bundled out.

The following year was a write-off and they failed to play finals, having only spent two weeks in total inside the top eight.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...m/news-story/20aa65fd1123579c9d5d50d5f121d2ab

In 2017 they amazingly spent the first 18 weeks of the season inside the top eight, holding top spot for two rounds early in the year, before dramatically falling away on form.

Their slide was so bad last year they fell out of finals contention altogether.

Their reputation as chokers was well and truly set after that dismal 2017, but no one expected it to be quite so bad this season.

This year the Dragons have sat in first place for 14 weeks in total. They momentarily dropped to second for one round, before reclaiming the number one spot and staying there for three weeks post-Origin.

But their decline over the past two months is stark, and worrying.

“Choke” is the best way to describe it.

693541_640x360_large_20180813120357.jpg

Dragon unfazed by thumping?

0:28
STORY OF THE SEASONS

Here is the ladder position of the Dragons, in order from round 1 to the end of the home-and-away season, for each of the past five seasons.

The trend is clearly when they start the season well they slide down the ladder towards the end.

Steve Price was ruthlessly sacked from the coaching chair after a few losses in 2014, replaced by the man who now wears the crown.

Season 2014 (Steve Price sacked mid-year): 3rd, 1st, 1st, 1st, 6th, 9th, 6th, 9th, 13th, 13th, 13th, 13th, 13th, 13th, 12th, 11th, 12th, 10th, 11th, 11th, 11th, 11th, 11th, 11th

Season 2015: 12th, 15th, 12th, 11th, 8th, 3rd, 2nd, 2nd, 3rd, 2nd, 1st, 4th, 3rd, 4th, 4th, 7th, 9th, 10th, 7th, 7th, 8th, 8th, 8th, 8th, lost first final

Season 2016: 9th, 13th, 13th, 12th, 14th, 14th, 13th, 9th, 11th, 7th, 10th, 10th, 10th, 10th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 12th, 11th, 11th, 11th, 11th

Season 2017: 6th, 3rd, 3rd, 2nd, 1st, 1st, 2nd, 2nd, 5th, 5th, 3rd, 5th, 6th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 8th, 8th, 9th, 9th, 9th, 9th, 9th

Season 2018*: 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st, 2nd, 1st, 1st, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 2nd, 4th, 4th, 5th

1dd62665ea95ca17d5efa67777950255

Fox Sports Lab highlights the drop off in Dragons' run metres differential during games this season.Source: FOX SPORTS
FORWARD FAILURE

It’s hard to pinpoint the reason for St George Illawarra’s ability to get worse as a season drags on.

But this graphic (see above) from Fox Sports Lab highlights a disturbing trend for the team this season.

The run metres differential has dropped off significantly from the start of the year to Round 22.

Ben Hunt copped his share of flak for Saturday’s loss to Parramatta, which was warranted, but these numbers show the forward pack just isn’t up to scratch.

Considering it boasts Origin players Tyson Frizell, Tariq Sims, Jack de Belin, and international James Graham, the form of this Dragons pack leaves a lot to be desired.

At the start of the season they were racking up 400 metres more than their opponents. On Saturday they gave up more than 600 metres to the Eels.

The halves will shoulder a lot of the blame, but the forwards must also come under the microscope.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...m/news-story/20aa65fd1123579c9d5d50d5f121d2ab

getsmarty

clarkt-h1_rc2_0540.jpg

DRAGONS

From a short fuse to leader: Teina Clark's hard road to the top
Author
Alicia Newton
Timestamp
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:13 AM

St George Illawarra recruit Teina Clark is aware people in the women's rugby league circle may know of her story.

It was five years ago Clark was involved in an incident with former professional boxer Lauryn Eagle during a club match in the Illawarra competition.

The NSWRL handed down a six-month suspension to the then 25-year-old, who was just 24 hours out from flying to England in preparation for a World Cup debut with New Zealand.

Clark won't go into detail of what exactly happened but maintained her regret as she battled a long road of self-discovery.

"The hardest part was accepting it, I won't forget what I'd done and why I did it," Clark tells NRL.com.

"I let my Kiwi Ferns teammates down. I still have my 2013 jersey, the only thing I haven't done is worn it.

"It took me down a dark path where I didn't care about footy, I didn't care about anyone – myself and family included. I was silly then, had a short fuse. I was pretty bad."

Clark's parents had had enough of her immaturity at the time and demanded her to reach out for help.

She stopped playing the game following her suspension to focus on herself.

"Both Mum and Dad are strict but supportive. Dad is the main mentor, critic – pretty honest though," Clark said.

"My doctor was really good, he said to me whatever has happened in the past has done for my own good.

Harvey Norman Women in League Round - Annette Busch and Alan Tongue

"You can use that in any context as a positive or negative in life. I used that as I didn't get to go to England so that must have been a sign.

"It changed me in a way where it made me grow up a bit. It opens your eyes that there are consequences for your actions. That was the biggest learning curve that I've experienced in my life."

After serving her suspension, Clark got into coaching to share her knowledge with young female players coming through the system in Sydney's west.

"We had some rough girls coming through in that team, but just to get them away from their family troubles and off the streets for a couple of nights a week was good," Clark said.

"I tell the young ones that are rough like me that you don't want to be like old me. There is a balance you need to adjust to. Everyone thinks that I am tough. When I play I can be rough but when it's over, I'm soft off the field."

At 29, Clark admits she may be past her prime, but the NRL Holden Women's Premiership has sparked a new fire in her belly.

Introducing the Women's St George Illawarra Dragons

She made her debut with the Jillaroos in 2007 but was eligible to switch allegiances to New Zealand for the 2013 World Cup.

"I think I peaked early in my career, very early," Clark said.

"Back then we had nothing, we had to pay to play. I feel like a veteran now. We've come a long way to the day we had to pay for our own bus trips.

Greenberg talks Harvey Norman Women in League Round

"I'm grateful to be back in the mix, down for the ride."

Clark's belated dream of representing the Kiwi Ferns could come to fruition with a Test match against the Jillaroos likely to happen in October.

She'll use her stint at the Dragons as a stepping stone for higher honours.

"Hopefully I do well this campaign and pull that black jersey on," Clark said.

"If I am successful it would be my parents' dreams come true. It would be an honour and bring relief. I would make up for lost time."

And this time if successful, she'll use her last five years of life experience to make sure it happens.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...-to-leader-teina-clarks-hard-road-to-the-top/

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Sorry GS,

Just found this .... hope he’s going to Penrith and not us.

Ali’s Latest NRL Rumours

2 hours ago

BREAKING NEWS!

NRL 360 co-host Paul Kent is reporting that Manly Sea Eagles coach Trent Barrett has walked out on the Manly Sea Eagles. He is set to walk away from the club before the end of the season.

Very similar to the Anthony Griffin situation but he hasn't been sacked, he has reportedly walked away from the club.

https://www.facebook.com/alislatest...1825.367450246618271/2173035656059712/?type=3

ViceVersa

Here it is:

St George Illawarra considering move for former coach Wayne Bennett as Broncos exit nears

WAYNE Bennett is on the Dragons’ coaching radar with the besieged Broncos mentor closing the door on the prospect of working with Phil Gould at the Panthers.

The Courier-Mail can reveal Dragons coach Paul McGregor is on shaky ground and could be jettisoned to make way for Bennett’s resurrection with the famous club he steered to the 2010 premiership.

Influential figures at the Dragons have privately discussed a Bennett comeback, possibly as early as next season if the NRL’s greatest coach is sacked by Brisbane in coming weeks.

McGregor is off-contract at the end of next year but an internal faction has questioned whether the former NSW Origin centre can emulate Bennett and take the Red V to the holy grail.

The Dragons are currently mired in a worrying form slump that threatens to derail their premiership push, amplifying pressure on McGregor in his fourth full season as St George Illawarra coach.

The announcement of the Dragons’ CEO successor to long-serving Peter Doust is imminent.

A new ownership structure is also expected to be unveiled this month and Bennett — the joint-venture club’s only premiership coach — has been targeted as part of a fresh strategic vision.

While Bennett’s preference is to coach the Broncos until 2020, the 68-year-old is ostensibly a dead-man walking at Red Hill.

Broncos chairman Karl Morris and chief executive Paul White are keen to enact a succession plan, paving the way for Sydney-based NRL rivals to launch a poaching bid for Bennett.

While the seven-time premiership coach has been linked with Penrith, The Courier-Mail understands Bennett has no genuine interest in the Panthers post, mindful of the potential political friction with supremo Gould.

Bennett will be selective with his next move. There are only a handful of other NRL clubs he is interested in coaching. The Dragons are one of them.

Bennett was on the verge of a return to the Dragons in 2014.

Coaching Newcastle at the time, Bennett held high-level talks with Doust and was planning to drive to Sydney to ink a deal when the Broncos swooped at the eleventh-hour, sacking Anthony Griffin to accommodate the super coach.

Bennett initially left the Dragons in 2011, just 12 months after delivering St George Illawarra’s first premiership.

However, he retains a strong affinity with Dragons fans and the departing Doust, whose ties with Bennett were strengthened by the club’s 2010 title triumph.

The Illawarra faction of the joint venture will fight for McGregor, a Steelers legend, but if the Dragons are bundled out of the finals this season, the door of opportunity will swing open for Bennett.

Broncos players believe Bennett will not be in charge at Red Hill in 2019 and the veteran coach insists he will be honest about his retirement age.

“I feel I know how long I can go on for,” he said.

“I have a huge responsibility as a coach for a whole lot of things within a club. I have never lied to myself so I am not going to start now.

“I am not going to stay a year too long. I am going to be like Billy Slater and go out at the top of my game, but it’s not now.

“I want to be at the Broncos, but I want to continue to coach. Everyone knows that, so let’s see where it all goes.”