Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 Round two :: Panthers v Warriors

joshie

Forum 7s - Round two - 2012

jersey_panthers_1.gif
-V-
jersey_warriors_1.gif

Match Preview: Both sides suffered defeats last week and they will be looking to bounce back! More interesting is the fact that 'retired' star Madunit suited up in last weeks clash, but no on knows whether or not he will do so again for the 52nd consecutive time. The Warriors will be feeling the pinch after their poor return to the action, but their is no doubt they can do it.

Game Thread:
* This is a game thread only. Only game posts can be made here - team lists, substitutions, and articles.
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Naming Teams:
* 5 -V- 5 (+ 3 reserves for home sides; + 2 for away)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named

Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php
Official Word Counter: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/wordcount.php

Kick Off: Monday 26th March 2012 (6:00pm AEDT)
Full Time: Sunday 8th April 2012 (Fulltime is at midnight)
Referee: gorilla
Venue: Centrebet Stadium
ground_penrith_1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Robster

WARRIORS TEAM!!

Robster (c)
defence
Half
Russel Crowe's Band
Sicknutter

Spence
Rich102

So they are playing are they Robster?

Anyway, built like a tank yet hard to hit. RCB charges into the fray for the Warriors.

750 words from the count between the ***** things

word_counter_2.gif

Happy Easter!

Planning an away trip to the Raiders this Easter weekend?

Firstly, drive safely everybody. Stop Revive Survive.

Now, as a local here’s a few tips that can make your day at the footy fiscally advantageous, meaning more Easter Eggs for your hunt.
Canberra Stadium is a unique venue. Combining all the amenities of a ground like the Sydney Football Stadium, with the total lack of nay saying, yellow vested kill joys that make those places less fun than standing on the Hill at Kogarah, Leichardt or Shark Park.

You can attend Raiders games incredibly cheaply if you know how. Here are a few tips to keep that bank balance healthy. I should know, I have been a Canberran for the entirety of my twenty three and a bit years.
Always buy your tickets online or at a Ticketek outlet not at the stadium. Firstly buying in advance means you don’t have to line up at the ticket booth in the cold/wet. Secondly, and more importantly buying online or not at the venue means you can purchase cheapest possible ticket to the game and use that to get in.

Canberra Stadium employs very little security or ushers and these employees rarely check anything. In nearly 20 years of attending games at Canberra Stadium I have never had my ticket checked. If you are heading out to the game with pre purchased junior general admission ticket ($17) you are ahead.

Devious? Probably.

Genius. YES! As long as you are capable of inserting the barcode into the scanner successfully who exactly is going to know that you are using a ticket you are 12 years too old to use?

Once you have your junior ticket, its game time. If you do decide to drive, don’t pay for parking. The game day parking at Battye Drive is $5 and sometimes difficult to exit after the game given that it is the one road in and out of the AIS/Canberra stadium precinct. Save you’re hard earned by parking at the Bruce CIT car park. Turn off Haydon Drive onto Purdie Street and follow the directions to the main car park. It’s approximately a ten minute walk from your freely parked car to the front gates on the Western side.

Catching public transport? Action Buses run free buses to and from the Raiders that drop you outside the gates of the Eastern Grandstand. Just show your already purchased junior ticket to hop aboard free! These are designated buses that run between the major bus interchanges Belconnen, Civic, Woden and Tuggeranong.

So now you are in the grounds with your junior ticket for the back of the North Terrace but you would rather sit in the Grandstand under the roof?
You are in luck. As Canberra Stadium is sparsely patrolled by any sort of authority, it is incredibly easy to get a seat in the Gregan – Larkham Grandstand (East). The Stand is accessible by two concrete ramps on each end and two stair cases at the back of the grand stand. Not only have you saved on general admission but now you’ve upgraded to prime seats under the roof!

Up for a challenge? Scramble up the rock wall at the back of the stand, climb over the railing and you have just bypassed the ramp security. Not advisable in wet conditions but adds a Mission Impossible” element to it.
Don't worry; there will be plenty of seats. The Raiders pull the same 12-13 thousand each week, and they’re 0-2 at home this season.
So just how much have you saved?

Let’s look at a comparison assuming you drive to the game.
Grand Stand tickets - $33
Child General Admission ticket - $17
Saving -$16
Official game day parking - $5
Bruce CIT car park – Free
Saving - $5

That's a saving of $21 before a ball is kicked.

Buying the Grandstand tickets and paying for parking you would spend $456 on Tickets and Parking if you attended all 12 home games.
Parking for free and sneaking into the grandstand for a superior view with junior tickets costs $204.00

That’s a saving of $252 across the season. That’s a lot of these bad boys!

cadbury-creme-egg-39g.jpg

By a comparison an Adult Gold (reserved grandstand seating) membership is $365 when you first join. Of course if you are a Raiders supporter you should probably be a member anyway.

So if you are visiting Canberra for the game following these simple tips can save you your hard earned. Happy Easter everyone.

Sources -
http://www.canberrastadium.com.au/ticketing/costs.php
Authors note. These costs are OLD. the price is now $33 for an adult general admission ticket for the bowl seats. The Junior Ticket remains the same. i payed 33 on monday NOT following by own tips.
https://www.action.act.gov.au/raiders.html
http://www.raiders.com.au/default.aspx?s=membership-portal
http://cit.edu.au/about/organisation/maps/bruce

sicknutter

Sicknutter, playing for the Warriors. Official word count: 746.

Loyalties and Legacies

We are now at that time of the season when rugby league fans are starting to turn their attention to representative footy. First up, on the 20th of April is the VB test match at Eden Park in Auckland between the four nations champions the Australian Kangaroos and the world cup champions the New Zealand Kiwis. Then, on the 23rd of May, Game one of the Harvey Norman State of Origin series between New South Wales (NSW) and Queensland will be played at Etihad Stadium in Melbourne. The question I want to touch on in this article is which one of these two events is the bigger occasion?

If we were talking about most other sporting codes, there would be no question that it would be the first of these two events! An INTERNATIONAL sporting event - two teams representing their respective nations, and what's more the two top rugby league playing countries in the world, versus a DOMESTIC event, with two teams representing their respective states within one of those two countries. However, rugby league seems to buck this trend. It very much appears that in the eyes of many - players, fans, the game's administration, television officials (if only driven by ratings, which comes down to the view of the fans) - the State of Origin series remains the pinnacle of representative rugby league in Australia, with a Maroon or Sky Blue jumper apparently held in higher esteem by many players than the Green and Gold jumper of Australia (in fact, there has been a few cases in recent years of players playing for Australia BEFORE playing for their state, for example Jamal Idris, Jharal Yow Yeh, and Daly Cherry-Evans. What's more, despite playing for Australia in last years VB test match against the Kiwis, Jamal Idris was initially UNWANTED for the Blues). This seems rather strange, as the Australian team is surely selected from the best players from NSW AND Queensland, and so an Australian jumper should be harder to get. And MOST definitely, time and time again players have turned down the opportunity to play for another country to chase the dream of playing State of Origin (although I am heartened by recent news that NZ born Jason Taumalolo from the Cowboys has bucked this trend and pledged his continuing allegiance to the Kiwis - having previously played for the Junior Kiwis - despite being approached by Queensland officials). This is one contributing factor to a weakened international competition - Australia hold most of the aces with the alluring carrot of State of Origin to dangle in front of players.

I think there is probably a combination of factors to consider when asking why many players regard State of Origin as the pinnacle of representative rugby league, ahead of international league. Almost certainly it has something to do with the strength of the international game. Origin is typically a tough, evenly matched affair (I certainly think this is the main reason that it is more popular with the fans). On the international scene, despite the occasional upset by the Kiwis over the Kangaroos and the even rarer threat from England, there is typically daylight between Australia and the chasing pack, and then even more daylight between NZ and England and everyone else. This was extremely evident in the formatting of the last rugby league world cup, with Australia, New Zealand, England and Papa New Guinea all in one pool which provided three of the competition's semi-finalists. However, if this is a reason for players that are eligible to play for other nations opting for the chance to play State of Origin instead they are then making the situation even worst, creating a vicious, self-perpetuating cycle as a number of the potentially best players for not only NZ, but also the other Pacific Island nations (ala, Feleti Mateo and Jarryd Hayne) opt instead for the carrot of Origin.

However, I also believe there is another, possibly more important reason for many players holding State of Origin in higher esteem than international league: Legacy. The legacies of some of the true legends of the game (for example, Meninga, Daley, Lewis, Lockyer, Langer and Johns) have far more often been forged in the cauldron of State of Origin than playing for Australia. And perhaps it is the hope of one day being mentioned in the same breath as some of these greats that is perhaps the biggest driving factor of all for current and future generations of players!

Big Mick

Panthers Team:

1. Big Mick
2. Madunit
3. Leaguenut
4. [furrycat]
5. The Piper

RES:
6. Abpanther
7. Maelgwnau
8. Broncoman

LeagueNut

LeagueNut takes a hit-up and smacks Robster with a wet fish on his way past...

150px-Penrith_Panthers_Logo_1991.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Do you see what I see?

“I tell ya mate, this is the greatest invention I’ve ever seen!”

You know those times in school when someone would bring something they weren’t supposed to have? Everyone would huddle around hoping to get a glimpse while half the crowd would be nervously keeping watch for any teachers trying to bust their fun. Well this was exactly the scene at the latest gathering of NRL club CEOs.

“Bob” (name changed to protect his identity) had a few of the CEOs huddled together in a corner during a lunch break. He wasn’t supposed to be there but had snuck in under some pretence.

“They’re just a pair of normal glasses right? Now watch this!”

Bob pulled out a picture of Jamal Idris – it was a pretty flattering action photo too, not the hideously floppy man-boobs picture of recent times. “Would you sign this man?”

“Who, Jamal? Yeah he goes alright, big strong guy, already made a few rep teams. I’d probably offer about four hundred beans a year.”

“What about you?”

“Nah, I don’t reckon he goes that well to be honest. A bit lazy, not a real team player, one of those high maintenance ‘stars’ who think they’re all that.”

Bob’s eyes lit up. “See, already you both have different opinions on this guy. But there’s no real way to tell how he’ll turn out – do you sign him and see your money get flushed down the toilet, or pass him up and watch him become a superstar somewhere else? It’s always a gamble – but now the odds will be firmly in your favour. Put these glasses on and look at the picture again.”

Both CEOs took turns putting the glasses on and looking at Jamal once more. They both had to peer over the top of the glasses a few times to make sure they weren’t hallucinating. The look of amazement and disbelief on their faces grew stronger as they realised what was going on.

“Jamal looks only three years old!”

“Exactly!” cried Bob. “These glasses show you what you’d really be getting. If you signed Jamal, you’d end up with a precocious child who’d demand all your attention and play with the impact of a king-size pillow!”

It slowly began to dawn on them just how powerful this little invention could be. “This is amazing - give us another picture!”

“How about this guy?”

It was a shot of James Maloney lining up a kick at goal. The concentration was evident as he stared up at the goalposts, ready to move in and strike.

“No way – sure he’s got a bit of spark but he goes missing too often, a lot of talk and not much action really.”

“Are you kidding? I’d sign him up – he organises, he’s a leader, he kicks goals, he’s got great vision – he’d be perfect.”

Both CEOs were talking as fast as excited schoolkids now – they just wanted to get those glasses on and see who was right. As they each slid the frames onto their wearied faces, their eyes grew wide with the sight that suddenly lay before them.

“He’s wearing a bloody Superman cape!”

Bob knew he’d convinced them by now. “Don’t you see – these glasses mean the end of dodgy recruitment decisions! No more signing on faith, or getting sucked in by quick talking scumbag player managers – the power rests entirely within your own judgement, which will be flawless once you get a pair of these beauties!”

“I’ve been loaning them out to other CEOs for years. That’s why within a few weeks the Tigers went cold on signing Willie Mason but then turned around and signed Braith Anasta – all thanks to these little wonders.”

“Have you got a picture of Sonny Bill?”

“Oooh yeah, what happens with him?”

Bob lowered his voice. “You see, the reason he hasn’t been signed yet is because the glasses showed something extremely big – in fact it was so big, we don’t know what it is yet.”

“So he could be extremely good – or extremely bad?”

“Exactly – we’ve managed to capture the new image and we’ve got guys working on it to ‘shrink’ it into something meaningful – it’s just taking a bit of time.”

Meanwhile, in an office basement across town, a handful of IT geeks were furiously working on the SBW image to try and decipher exactly what it was – and all was about to be revealed.

“I’ve got it guys!!”

“Well I’ll be goddamned. It’s … it’s…”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It's ... exactly 750 words in the word counter.

madunit for the Panthers

The Great Debacle

For many years it was believed the touring Maori of 1908 arrived at Sydney expecting to play Rugby Union, but an impromptu team meeting saw them reconsider, opting to play Rugby League instead. This was easily shown to be false, but it was an easily believable anecdote, given the events of the tour.

The Maori set sail for Sydney aboard the Moana on May 25, 1908, arriving 4 days later, with a squad of 26 players and 4 Maori chiefs.

Sydney referee Tom O’Farrell was assigned to teach them how to play the game. He was soon elected team secretary.

The first game against New South Wales saw a crowd of 30,000 flooded through the turnstiles so quickly, that NSWRL president Henry Hoyle authorised the opening of another gate. He failed to notify the Maori team management about the extra gate takings.

A gentlemen whom Hoyle had the utmost confidence, had looked after the takings on the newly opened gate, yet the Maori never received any takings from it. They went to inspect the counter on the gate only to find it was missing. Asher believed his team had been cheated by Hoyle and Giltinan.

The huge gate takings saw Mr Robert Jack attempt to recoup monies he believed he was entitled to, for assisting with the tour organisation in 1907. No agreement was settled upon by Asher and Jack.

During the third game against Metropolis, Giltinan left the grandstand where he was spectating to remonstrate with the referee about alleged foul play by the Maori. Before the fourth match against Newcastle, Asher selected Aubrey Welch as referee. Giltinan overturned the decision, stating Asher must choose one of the four officials whom he had personally chosen, which didn’t include Welch.

Asher refused.

Welch travelled to Newcastle with the Maori, and with no time to organise a replacement, Giltinan agreed for Welch to officiate, however the Maori had to pay his wage.

As the tourists travelled to Queensland, Jack took the Maori management to the equity court, successfully obtaining an injunction against 18 Maori players the day the Maori were to play in Toowoomba.

The NSWRL assumed the tourists were not to receive any monies until the case was settled, contacted the Queensland Rugby Association and told them to withhold all gate takings.

Asher decided to leave 10 players and 3 entertainers in Sydney to reduce travel costs before departing Newcastle. After the first game against Queensland, Giltinan learnt there was no Maori providing off-field entertainment so he sent the 13 Maori in Sydney to Brisbane and forwarded the travel bill to Asher.

The first game against Queensland angered locals when they learnt the referee was George Boss, the newly appointed Maori business manager. The tourists won 13-5.

Game two against Queensland saw the Maori off-field complications show on the field. Prior to halftime, Asher, frustrated with referee O’Connor’s officiating, ordered his team off the field. They eventually returned and won 6-5. A similar incident happened in the fourth meeting at Toowoomba, when a violent clash saw fans storm the ground attempting to attack the tourists, who fled.

The Maori returned to Sydney to play their final games. A splendid display against Australia saw the Maori lose a tough contest 20-10.

Against Metropolis, they trailed 13-0 at half-time, before their best performance of the tour in the second half, scoring 34 unanswered points. The improvement of the Maori saw a hastily organised second match against Australia. There were even plans to play an extra game, in Melbourne.

The morning of the second game against Australia, Asher informed the NSWRL they wouldn’t play because the League was withholding money from players whom there was no legal injunction against.

A shambolic match between the Maori (now renamed the New Zealand Natives) and Metropolis was organised. Metropolis’ team contained some of the touring Maori players, one of whom wasn’t even wearing shoes. The Maori won easily.

After this game, Giltinan set sail for England and Horrie Miller was appointed NSWRL Secretary. Miller immediately paid the fares home for the Maori team.

In 1909, the Maori returned to Australia and Asher returned to the courts to end the legal wrangle with Robert Jack. Jack claimed he was owed £213 and issued a court order against Asher until the monies were paid.

When the NSWRL heard Asher had been arrested, they immediately settled the Maori debt with Jack so that Asher could be released to play that afternoon.

Talk about drama!

749 words, including title, according to OWC

Robster

about_sports_nrl.gif

THE GREATEST DRAWN RESULT

5th of August 2007 is a date that I will always remember. It was the best game ever in my generation. Warriors alongside Roosters both winning the past 3 games would suggest all Rugby League fans were in for a real treat. Below are details of what happened in my lounge room for the 90 minutes.

Pre kick off – I shamefully predict the Roosters to defeat the Warriors. Reasons being from past experience that when a news reporter asks “HOW GOOD ARE THE WARRIORS?” the new Zealand bred team usually somehow play below-standard Rugby League and lose convincingly by possibly becoming too confident. Roosters on the other hand had more to play for and now don’t sound so cocky without Brad Fittler taking the control stick.

7 minutes – Don’t have a strong feeling about this game with Joel Monaghan beating the Warriors lacklustre defence to score a simple try in the corner.

13 minutes- Joel Monaghan scores a simple try again through slack Warrior defence as I slam the table and rubbish my excitement before the match started. I hated to admit it, but the Roosters were on fire and looking good to win this match.

20 minutes – I curse and question to myself whether or not I should play Yahoo Pool for more entertainment. The Warriors defensive line is so bad that when Ashley Harrison scores a dolly I slam the lounge table in disgust.

25 minutes- Okay maybe Yahoo Pool can wait as Wade Mckinnon proves why he is the number 1 fullback in the competition after he breaks from a Lauaki offload and races to score under the black dot. Mckinnon does his one finger I’m number one celebration as I hope for a Warriors come back.

28 minutes- Here comes the classic Warrior fight back. The Warriors have gone peow peow to inject themselves back into the match. Michael Crockett awesomely beats Aubusson and races down the side line and passes to Jerome Ropati to score a sensational try. The conversion by Michael Witt is successful. Suddenly I’m not so angry and pissed off; my eyes are excitedly glued to the television.

32 minutes – What a stunning fight back from the boys - three tries in 8 minutes. Lauaki storms past the defence to grab one for himself. Conversion successful and the Warriors have the lead 18-16. Suddenly, in the space of 8 minutes, I have gone from depressed to overly excited and happy!

Since then for most of the rest of the match the Warriors were outplaying the headless chocks and had a lead of 30 points to 18. Leading until the 68th minute as Simon Mannering was sent to the sin bin for a disagreeable professional foul. Having only 12 men for the remainder of the match proved costly as the Roosters went bang bang to level the scores at 30-30.

It was the 78th minute which I my heart sinks in worry and shock as Braith Anasta sealed a drop kick to put his team in the lead. Though my heart rate soon turned into surprise shock as Michael Witt sealed a drop goal on the last play of the match.

The New Zealand Warriors and Sydney Roosters both missed field goal attempts in golden point extra time to draw a thrilling National Rugby League match 31-31.

This match stands out for me as it was what you call a Rugby League Roller Coaster. It had ups and downs, the pathetic and the immortal brilliance. I certainly believe in my heart and head that Michael Witt is under rated and deserved a lot better praise for his overall career which saw him leave early in 2009. One of the greatest matches for a Warriors fan indeed!

Warriors 31
: Tries: Lauaki (2), McKinnon, Ropati, Vatuvei. Goals: Witt (5). Drop Goal: Witt.

Roosters 31: Tries: Monaghan (3), Harrison, Wing. Cons: Fitzgibbon (4), Roberts. Drop Goal: Anasta.

--
654 words.

Big Mick

Big Mick Posts for the Panthers:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Commercialism of Loyalty​

Loyalty is defined by the Oxford dictionary as the faithful adherence to a sovereign, government, leader or cause. In sport that cause is the club that a player is affiliated with. Loyalty is a buzz word that has caused considerable conflict amongst fans, professional players and owners alike. Rugby League is moving away from the concept of loyalty.

The NRL still have the odd player reaching the coveted milestone of the “one club” player like the soon to be retired Nathan Hindmarsh, but the increasing need for parity has unfortunately resulted in the concept of the “one club” player being diminished every year.
This trend in the NRL has been increasingly prevalent as the players are sought after as big money free agents are scouted by not only Australian clubs, but Internationally through Rugby Union and the English Super League.

On the administration side, the NRL has allowed players to change clubs at will due to the striving of parity and equal footing spreading the talent across all sixteen clubs. As clubs, CEO’s will move on from a veteran player as they are seen as a liability and will instead bring in a younger player to replace a hardnosed veteran.

Loyalty with regards to players is often summed up in who pays the most for their services. Hold on a minute, wait, that’s not loyalty? Well yes of course it is! It is self loyalty. In this day and age, the culture we live in is dictated by the get what you can while you can attitude. Largely this attitude has been fostered by player agents who control the game and its talent.

The issue of loyalty is a sore point with many NRL fans and all sports fans in general. It is a topic that also has a lot of hypocrisy. If a player is young and in his prime and leaves to generate further income for his family, he is labelled a traitor to the team, but if a player is old and his skills are diminishing fans mostly don’t have the same loyalty and are demanding the player be released.

What we have witnessed in recent times at various NRL clubs makes a mockery of the true meaning of the word loyalty. Club loyalty should be a two way street. If a club has nurtured, developed and financially rewarded a player over several years it should be that player’s duty to stand by the club that has developed him and not look for greener pastures elsewhere. However, if players have provided loyal service over many years and have even declined offers repeatedly from other clubs, sometimes to their financial detriment, they should expect not to be placed on the scrapheap by their club at the whim of club management or new coaching staff.

What has happened to players and clubs in Rugby League in this day and age? Unfortunately Rugby League has turned loyalty into a commercialised commodity. Rugby League is now a gun for hire league where even the subtle hint of loyalty is met with scepticism and laughter.

But club loyalty is certainly a two way street. But whichever way loyalty is broken, it is the fans that lose out. If a player leaves, supporters need to buy new numbers for their jersey, or children’s hearts will be torn up due to their favourite player not wearing the jersey they wear so proudly in the stands.

At the end of the day the creation of the salary cap has expedited the prevailing lack of loyalty. Our hunger for parity has resulted in a change of culture in the game where old school values and tradition are traded for business and parity.

The administration has allowed this growing trend to continue by not addressing the need for salary cap compensation for loyal players in order for the “one team” player to go back to its former glory prior to the salary cap era. While parity is required for the good of the game, there needs to be greater compensation for loyal players to remain at their chosen clubs.

In the end, the good old days of the triangular relationship between club-player-fan no longer exist and while the players benefit from higher salaries and clubs benefit from increased grants - it is us, the fans, that are the ultimate losers…but then again…it’s only business …right?

731 Words

WarriorDefence

749 words, just in the nik of time

ON THE PUNT

I would have to say that my first ten years on the punt didn't go too well. I wasn't placing big bets and still don't but it would be fair to say my combined losses in this period reached into the thousands.

Then i got a job working in a tab which also had pokie machines. in the next two years i picked up a few tips. Some where handed to me by professional punters while others were learnt through the ancient art of observation. So for any budding punters out there i thought i would share my years of experience in the industry ( well one year and ten months to be honest ). You can take it or leave it. I'm by no means a professional gambler. Maybe i've just had a couple of lucky years but i can say in all honesty that since i started following a few basic principles my luck has taken a turn for the better.

Don't bet on the pokies. These machines are programmed to takes your money. They can also take your car, house, family and job. You may have the occasional windfall but if your betting on the pokies over an extended period your on a hiding to nothing.

Unless you know a jockey or trainer i would also recommend you stay away from the horses and dogs. Without inside knowledge the odds are stacked heavily against you.

Stick to what you know. I decided to stick with sports betting for one simple reason- i know a lot about sports. I've been involved with sports my whole life and still follow them religiously. Rugby League in particular. I watch every game, every week, visit forums and talk to others who i know are heavily involved in the sport. That's why when it comes to the punt its my sport of choice.

Decide on your bankroll and manage it. If you plan to punt on a regular basis you should set aside a certain amount of money which is known as a bankroll. Make sure its an amount that you can afford to lose. A common strategy for managing your bankroll is to not bet more than 5% of your bankroll on any one particular bet. For example last year i set aside $500 for betting on the NRL so the maximum i would spend per bet was $25.

Never chase your losses with bigger bets. Often when people lose they will start to place bigger bets to try recover what they have lost. Betting while emotional is known as betting on the tilt and inevitably leads to bigger losses.

Bet against the media. A journalist is trying to sell articles and papers and always have an angle while all a punter wants is to collect. The tigers were the golden boys of the media in the off season but i wasn't buying into the hype- i posted this in the NZ warriors forum in the off season.

"I've been thinking the tigers might struggle. they still have a mean side but they lost fifita and Gibbs, both quality props who both bought something different to the side. Simon dwyer had to be deregistered. Sheens and Farrah had a fall out and apparently Farah is offside with his team mates too. They haven't settled on a halfback or fallback- pretty important positions. And if Marshall starts the season the way he finished the last one they won't be winning many".

The price makers obliged by installing the tigers as favourites and I have spent the first few weeks collecting.

Don't just bet on who you think will win. Place a bet when the odds don't seem justified. If you think a team should be paying $1.20 and the T.A.B are paying $1.50- take that bet. Likewise if you think a team should be $2 outsiders and they are paying $2.40- take that bet.

The majority of punters are uneducated and generally back the favourites and for this reason the favourites tend to become hotter favourites as the game draws closer while the outsiders will tend to drift further so if you want to get on the underdog its better to wait till closer to kick off while if you fancy the favourite the best odds are often the first ones posted.

and above all- never, never, never bet while on the drink, there is a reason why they hand out free drinks in vegas.

Big Mick

Thanks Gorilla.

Thanks to Madunit and Leaguenut for playing.

Thanks to the Warriors for the game. Congrats.

gorilla

WARRIORS

RCB
Greatly subversive. Simple and, as a gueruilla seater myself, welcome advice.

Sicknutter
Straightforward and simple case for State of Origin status.

Robster
A peppy match report with some balanced one-eyed reporting.

Warriordefence
Fair advice, which I’d take if I bet. Mixed grammar and spelling throughout.

PANTHERS

Leaguenut
Cute idea - a well-told expose.

Madunit
A veritable saga of administration; a bit disjointed but covered extensive detail, which appears a research feat. Character summaries or introductions would have helped.

Big Mick
Steady examination of loyalty between the NRL triangle: clubs, players and fans.

RESULT: Warriors (334) def. Panthers (259)
POTM: RCB (92) and Leaguenut (92)