Go Back   The Front Row Forum :: Rugby League > Rugby League - Australia > St George Illawarra Dragons

St George Illawarra Dragons The largest Dragons forums online.
Click here to visit the Jubilee Avenue website.
To join Jubilee Avenue sub-forum (below):
Go to UserCP > Group Memberships > Join 'Jubilee Avenue' Group > Request is sent by PM to Group Leader(s).

Old 18-09-2008, 04:19 PM
Guest Moderator

Default Wayne Bartrim to sue Tracey Grimshaw's A Current Affair

A FORMER Queensland State of Origin player is preparing to sue the Nine Network for defamation over A Current Affair's story about the financial collapse of his gym.
Brisbane Supreme Court documents reveal Wayne Michael Bartrim is claiming the program improperly portrayed him as a conman in the 2007 story about the collapse.

Bartrim, who represented Queensland in the State of Origin between 1995 and 1998, bought Alive Gym and Fitness at Lawnton, north of Brisbane, after his career as a rugby league player ended.

He was declared bankrupt in May 2006 after the business failed.

A Current Affair - the flagship evening show hosted by Tracey Grimshaw - ran a story about the collapse of the business and Bartrim's bankruptcy immediately before the second State of Origin game on June 13 last year.

Bartrim is claiming the story was defamatory because it contained a raft of false allegations.

He says these included that he stole money from gym members, dishonestly took equipment from the gym, engaged in deceptive and illegal practices, and that he relied on his good reputation for immoral purposes.

Bartrim states the story has caused he and his wife to "suffer distress, embarrassment and public humiliation", and that it has tarnished his personal and business reputation.

Bartrim also states the story has seriously affected their mental and physical health.

Last month Bartrim sought extra time in which to formally launch action against Nine.

He said he had previously been unable to pursue them in court because he could not afford legal representation.

An extension of time was granted by the Supreme Court.

Bartrim now has until October 3 to commence proceedings.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegrap...001021,00.html
Old 18-09-2008, 04:22 PM

Default Re: Wayne Bartrim to sue Tracey Grimshaw's A Current Affair

I don't like the wanker, but if he's suing that disgrace of a show, I hope he wins. Wipe the smirk off the b*tches face.
Old 18-09-2008, 04:28 PM

That try he scored, was it in 96 against the Raiders in the semi?
Old 18-09-2008, 04:30 PM
Guest Moderator

He said he had previously been unable to pursue them in court because he could not afford legal representation.

I can only wonder how often this might happen, and that pursuing legal action against a TV network simply isn't worth it or financially possible.
Old 18-09-2008, 04:31 PM

Barto should represent himself.

A bit Lionel Hutz though.......
Old 18-09-2008, 04:36 PM

" I'll be right back... "

Next day comes...
Old 18-09-2008, 04:42 PM

Hutz: And so, ladies and gentleman of the jury I rest my case.
Judge: Hmmm. Mr. Hutz, do you know that you're not wearing any pants?
Hutz: DAAAA!! I move for a bad court thingy.
Judge: You mean a mistrial?
Hutz: Right!! That's why you're the judge and I'm the law-talking guy.
Judge: You mean the lawyer?
Hutz: Right.
Old 18-09-2008, 05:04 PM

prick cost us fitzgibon, fitzgibon left because he wanted the goal kicking duty, thats the last i remeber why he left
Old 18-09-2008, 05:39 PM

It looks like it's going to be a long off season!
Old 18-09-2008, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOYAL DRAGON
prick cost us fitzgibon, fitzgibon left because he wanted the goal kicking duty, thats the last i remeber why he left
Old 18-09-2008, 09:34 PM

I think wayne might remember Les Davidson.

I know I do... one of the funniest things Ive seen on the footy field.

Old 18-09-2008, 09:46 PM

I recall a game against North Qld up in Townsville which from memory was on a Saturday afternoon/evening. I was listening to the call on ABC radio which for some reason had the refs mike up quite loud.
It was late in the match and the good guys were losing when there was a bit of a stink involving Bartrim (amongst others). The ref called him out and was dressing him down whilst Bartrim continued to argue with one of the Cowboys. If I recall correctly, the ref was at the stage of the dressing down where they say "Mate, you've got to settle down" ... or words to that effect when Bartrim fired up at the Cowboys player and suggested that he could f**k off.
It would appear that Bartrim was at no stage really listening to a word from the ref, but the ref thought he was being told to f**k off and promptly sent him to the bin.
I vaguely recall the radio callers nearly pissing themselves laughing whilst apologising for the f word being put to air.
Old 18-09-2008, 10:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willow

I can only wonder how often this might happen, and that pursuing legal action against a TV network simply isn't worth it or financially possible.
It would be a constant situation...

Music producer Timbaland is currently suing an australian promotions company for not upholding there end of a contract for a show he was supposed to do in Sydney... he has no real legal grounds as he had himself double booked himself and never confirmed that he was ever doing the sydney show, and because of this the company had to keep ticket sales open...

BUT because of his $$$ and legal representation he is looking more and more like winning...

What a jerk...

and that would be happening everywhere... Thats why its played out in "Court"... presided by a "Judge"... its a game... a high stakes game at that...
Old 18-09-2008, 10:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOYAL DRAGON
And we got a goal kicker who missed one from in-front for the Seagulls and hit Mark Geyer in the back of the head!

With that said, anyone who gets one over any current affairs show (Today Tonight, ACA, 7:30 Report, etc) deserves a medal and a lifetime of grog. Those manipulating arseholes deserve every negative thing they get!

Last edited by Scott Gourley's Lovechild; 18-09-2008 at 10:17 PM..
Old 19-09-2008, 07:32 PM

Wayne Bartrim, the only dragon to play for qld. Boyd (assuming he gets picked) will be the 2nd.