Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'11 | R4 | Fri | Rabbitohs 32-30 Sea Eagles | Bluetongue

R4: SOU v MAN

You mean I got two :lol: :lol:

fishing-can.gif

face-plant-1.gif

South Sydney Rabbitohs v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Friday 1 April 2011, kickoff 7:30pm; Bluetongue Central Coast Stadium, Gosford
Referees: Ashley Klein and Adam Devcich; Touch Judges: Russell Turner and Ricky MacFarlane; Video Referee: Sean Hampstead

Rabbitohs: 1. Rhys Wesser 2. Nathan Merritt 3. Dylan Farrell 4. Greg Inglis 5. Fetuli Talanoa 6. John Sutton 7. Chris Sandow 8. Luke Stuart 9. Issac Luke 10. Roy Asotasi 11. Sam Burgess 12. David Taylor 13. David Tyrrell
Interchange: 14. Ben Ross 15. Shannan McPherson 16. Michael Crocker 17. Chris McQueen
Sea Eagles
: 1. Brett Stewart 2. Michael Robertson 3. Jamie Lyon (c) 4. Will Hopoate 5. David Williams 6. Kieran Foran 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Jason King (c) 9. Matt Ballin 10. Brent Kite 11. Anthony Watmough 12. Joe Galuvao 13. Glenn Stewart
Interchange: 14. Terence Seuseu 15. Jamie Buhrer 16. George Rose 17. Vic Mauro 18. Tim Robinson

From NRL Teams - Round 4: http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=20696

Lower grade sides from This Weekends Teams - April 1-4: http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=20708

natheel

well i guess manly better look out coz the bunnies saviour in Samuel Burgess is named to play. and according to their no. 1 fan Bunniesman he is the be all and end all of rugby league. and will run the 'slow and old' manly forwards ragged. because Burgess is a supreme athlete.....*

*note sarcasm

i hope manly flog them

Nemesis

well i guess manly better look out coz the bunnies saviour in Samuel Burgess is named to play. and according to their no. 1 fan Bunniesman he is the be all and end all of rugby league. and will run the 'slow and old' manly forwards ragged. because Burgess is a supreme athlete.....*

*note sarcasm

i hope manly flog them
I guess the Cowboys better look out coz the squeels saviour.... oh wait. :lol:

BunniesMan

*note sarcasm

i hope manly flog them
no worries mate, we'll do to them what we did to you. IMO Manly aren't that much better than the Eels. We'll have our best forward added to the team that beat the Eels, we'll just have too much quality in our 17 to lose to Manly.

reckless_gypsy

no worries mate, we'll do to them what we did to you. IMO Manly aren't that much better than the Eels. We'll have our best forward added to the team that beat the Eels, we'll just have too much quality in our 17 to lose to Manly.

No souffs arnt any better than the eels, they fluked a win after big ref stuff ups... yes they will have their best forward back but well underdone and he wouldnt be there if pettybourne wasnt suspended.

But you can be on your high horse till manly wipe that little bit of snugness off your face and once again you be proven to know zero about league and the team that you "support"..Oh bm out of curiosity where will you be sitting at bluetounge on fri night?

cupid

Heard Wesser and Burgess are out, both to be replaced by Nathan Peats and Kane Morgan

BunniesMan

Yep dissapoionting that Burgess isn't playing but better safe than sorry and giving him one more week to heal the shoulder.

But we won without him last week so it's no excuse for this Friday.

natheel

like gypsy said rabbits arnt that much better than the eels. yes u beat us last week but u had a bit of help and in the end our right side defence let us down.

2 of our forwards made more metres than any of the the souths forwards i believe mannah and fui topped the metre gains out of both teams...note that fui is a bench prop! and was even off for 10 minutes.....point is souths werent overly impressive up front last week. you beat us in the backs.

this week i think manly will simply be too tough for south sydney

i know youre a troll but seriously bud its getting beyond a joke when u come up with the same f**king arguments week in week out. vary it up a bit aye youre starting to look a bit silly

natheel

I guess the Cowboys better look out coz the squeels saviour.... oh wait. :lol:

mate our saviour is big charlie webb....:lol: jokes

as i said in the post you quoted note sarcasm. i think burgess is a good player but nothing to the extent as bunniesman is beating him up to be.

i think maly will win simple...im just baiting the hell out of BM its hilarious

S.S.T.I.D

Nathan Peats and Kane Morgan to debut. Two Souths lads so that is always good to see. We are going to be very inexperienced down that right flank with Farrell and Morgan. But they have played a lot together so familiarity won't be a problem.

Daddycool

The Sea Eagles should be too strong again even though I can't see this being a blow out. The Rabbits play in fits & starts and when they get on a roll, they can score points easily. But they can also go thru flat spots where they give up points too easily.

Manly will try to dominate the forward battle and having Lyon back is a big plus. Souths will try to hold their own in the middle before giving as much early ball to Inglis and Taylor.

If Souths get everything right, they're capable of pulling off the upset but I think they'll get sucked in to trying to match the Sea Eagles aggressive game plan. Sooner or later hot heads like Sandow and Luke will do something dumb and make things difficult for their team mates by giving away penalties.

It'll be another grind but Manly should make it 3 in a row.

Nemesis

This game will be far from the "cake walk" that chip stealer fans are hoping for. Recent history shows that the last 8 times these 2 sides have met,
Souths have scored a total of 159 points at an average 20 points per game for 3 wins and Manly have scored 166 at an average of 21 points per game for 5 wins.

Last week Manly took a valium in the second half against a Newcastle side decimated by injury. This was somewhat reminiscent of their 2010 2nd half performances
when they had the worst 2nd half record of any team in the NRL. Conversely, Souths who'd lost Issac Luke, scored 20 second half points in their victory over the Eels.

Manly are undefeated at Bluetongue and Souths have easily won their last two matches there.
Expect Souths to have strong support at Gosford with Manly fans sandwiched between Rabbitoh and Bears fans both baying for Manly blood.

Make no mistake there has been very little between these 2 sides over the last 4 years and Friday night will be no different.
This should be a close hard fought encounter which is likely to be won in the backs, with both sets of forwards cancelling each other out.

If the scores are close at half time I'm tipping the Rabbitohs to finish stronger and win this one.

eagles4eva

Rabbitohs v Sea Eagles preview
NRL.com Wed, Mar 30, 2011 - 4:30 PM
Rabbitohs v Sea Eagles
Bluetongue Stadium
Friday 7.30pm

A curious decision by Souths to take this game to Gosford, where traditionally the Sea Eagles garner good support and have an unbeaten record – but they won’t be too afraid given the wonderful bounce back to form from star recruit Greg Inglis last week as the Bunnies climbed over the Eels to register their first win for 2011.
You could sense the Rabbitohs players’ spirits soar as Inglis gave a master class in centre play and it’s just the tonic they need as they come up against a lively young Manly-Warringah backline – with an average age of 23.2 years, the second youngest in the NRL behind the Bulldogs (22.1).
Souths have some minor bumps to overcome though. After originally naming fullback Rhys Wesser and second-rower Sam Burgess in their squad on Tuesday they’ve been forced into a reshuffle, with Wesser out with a hamstring strain and Burgess’ planned return from his shoulder injury scuppered midweek. Consequently, Nathan Merritt looks likely to shift to fullback, with his wing replacement to be determined. Elsewhere, Michael Crocker will start the game in the second row for Burgess, who was slotted to replace Eddy Pettybourne, out with a three-game suspension following a dangerous throw last week.
For Manly, skipper Jamie Lyon returns having recovered from his hamstring complaint. Michael Oldfield, who had a sensational game at centre against the Knights with 146 metres, a try assist and three line-breaks, will probably shift to wing to cover for the likely late withdrawal of David Williams, who has been named but is in extreme doubt.
In a worrying omen for the Rabbitohs, the Sea Eagles have won all six games at Bluetongue Stadium – by the whopping average scoreline of 39-14. And fullback Brett Stewart must be destined to cross the tryline soon – he has failed to score in his past five appearances, making it the biggest tryscoring drought of his career.
His opposite, Nathan Merritt, has the opportunity to become the outright leading tryscorer against Manly by an active player. Merritt has scored 11 tries against the Sea Eagles from 12 games, and currently shares the mark with the injured Wesser.
Expect plenty of points – the losing side in the past five match-ups between these teams has scored an average 22 points!
Watch Out Rabbitohs: Anthony Watmough loves it up Gosford way – he’s played in all Manly’s wins there and has a venue record of an average 14 runs for 110 metres, with 22 tackles, four tackle-breaks and two offloads, scoring two tries to boot. Last week he ran 15 times and made 33 tackles, with two offloads.
At his best, Watmough inspires his team-mates with a combination of feisty aggression and 80-minute energy. He’ll relish locking horns with Sam Burgess.
Danger Sign: Watmough tops the NRL for runs made by a second-rower in 2011 with 45 – 15 in each game. He’s been spreading his workload evenly in each half – but if he makes five or more runs in the opening 20 minutes you’ll know he’s focussed on some serious involvement.
Watch Out Sea Eagles: Obviously Greg Inglis is the danger man, but we’ll get to him in a moment. Elsewhere though, the maroon and whites should be wary of the size and strength of David Taylor lurking on the South Sydney left edge.
Souths now have the wonderful luxury of two awesome attacking options on the left side with Inglis and Taylor. It’s a formidable combination of flair and impact. Taylor leads the NRL for offloads through three rounds with 10, and tops second-rowers for try assists and line-break assists with two apiece. His late offload for Fetuli Talanoa to score in the first half last week, after being collared by three Eels, was remarkable. Young Sea Eagle Michael Oldfield doesn’t have the experience of David Williams and you can bet Taylor will try to sucker him into making a poor defensive read before offloading to Talanoa.
Danger Sign: With six of Manly’s eight tries conceded being scored on their right side of the field, there will be no prizes for guessing where John Lang will have his troops aimed. But in saying that, he may try a sting – Souths have scored evenly across the field but actually have crossed the most in the corridor midway between the goal posts and the right corner post (four scored).
Plays To Watch: Roy Asotasi continuing his career revival with bullet-straight runs and bruising hits; John Sutton inside balls to Rhys Wesser on the trail; Inglis’s one-arm ball carry and staggered runs that confuse defenders – not to mention that fend; Anthony Watmough's intensity; Chris Sandow shoulder-charging his bigger opponents; Brett Stewart’s no-look cut-out passes to Michael Robertson; Kieran Foran taking on the line; William Hopoate running inside the Rabbitohs’ 10-metre zone.
Where It Will Be Won: In the centres. Just as Inglis tore apart the Eels last week, so too did young Sea Eagle William Hopoate rip the Knights apart. This week Lyon marks up on Inglis, while Hopoate shifts to the left side of the field where he’ll line up opposite Dylan Farrell.
They’re two intriguing match-ups. Farrell wasn’t asked to contribute much last week, but is a capable ball runner who knows his way to the tryline. Hopoate scored a determined double last week, barging through from close range before another powerful run and fend earned him his second four-pointer.
But Inglis is the man. He made more territory against the Eels (114 metres) than his return from his opening two games combined. And it was the first time since 2007 he scored, made a try assist (with two), line-break (two) and line-break assist all in the same night. His combination with Taylor and Rhys Wesser yielded four tries down the left – just the third time in four seasons they’ve banked that sort of return.
Jamie Lyon is a solid defender, although he missed nearly two tackles a game in 2010. Two missed tackles here could yield 12 points.
Elsewhere the Rabbitohs need to be wary of set plays, especially from penalties defending close to their line. Manly have an NRL-high three tries from structured plays this season, which accounts for more than a third of their four-pointers.
The History: Played 125; Sea Eagles 69, Rabbitohs 56. The Sea Eagles have won five of the past eight clashes, including a 26-25 nail-biter the last time they met in Round 15 last year. This is the first time the sides have met at Bluetongue Stadium
Conclusion: Souths were brilliant in spurts against the Eels – but not too many people are getting excited about Parramatta’s chances in this premiership.
The Sea Eagles were steely against the Roosters a fortnight ago but seemed to switch off last week amid Newcastle’s mounting injury toll. They got the job done, but were a little flat – literally – in attack.
Souths’ game plan won’t vary all that much from last week: it falls on the Sea Eagles’ defence to be up to the task of halting Inglis. Expect plenty of razzle-dazzle from both sides, but we think the Sea Eagles will out-enthuse their opponents. Manly by eight points.
Match Officials: Referees – Ashley Klein & Adam Devcich; Sideline Officials – Russell Turner & Ricky MacFarlane; Video Ref – Sean Hampstead.
Televised: Channel Nine – Live 7.30pm (NSW), delayed 9.30pm (Qld); Fox Sports – Delayed 11.30pm.
* Statistics: NRL Stats.
http://nrl.com.au/TelstraPremiership/MatchCentre/tabid/10999/Default.aspx#matchid=1210&tab=Preview