Discussion in 'Sports Trivia' started by innsaneink, Sep 19, 2003.
Does anyone know how 5 runs is scored in cricket off one shot without the batsmen crossing ends?
If the balls hits any of the bowling teams equipment on the ground.
Eg Short Legs helmet that usually is behind the wicket keeper.
It used to go the batsman, now it goes on the sundries tally as 'penalty
You can also be pinged for various misconduct offences, which also carry a 5 run penalty.
If the ball hits some object on the field (most commonly a helmet laying on the ground), then the batting side is awarded 5 runs.
The law is there as a benefit to the batsmen who was disdavantaged by an object placed in the field.
There are some exceptions to this but thats what the law is for.
Also, a team can recieve a 5 run penalty in indoor cricket but I dont think you mean that version of the game.
A no-ball that is hit for four.
In limited over cricket?
Not sure if it applies to Test cricket.
Still, another example of 5 runs.
Its the same in all forms of cricket.
Hitting the helmet behind the wicket keeper.
No ball being hit for four
catching the ball with your hat
Since when is a no ball being hit for 4 5 runs. I dont watch much cricket lately but I am fairly sure that a no ball counts for the greater of 1 run or the amount of runs being scored off the bat. ie if you run one on a no ball, you only get the one run. I am not to sure about a no ball that goes for 4 byes though.
12. Penalty for a No ball
A penalty of one run shall be awarded instantly on the call of No ball. Unless the call is revoked, this penalty shall stand even if a batsman is dismissed. It shall be in addition to any other runs scored, any boundary allowance and any other penalties awarded.
This is the answer I've been waiting for....5 and out!
Only took a bit over a month!
Here's an interesting point.
If your caps falls off accidently and the ball touches it, it's play on. But if you knock it off deliberately, and the ball touches it - 5 run penalty.
And if the ball hits a helmet not being worn, it's penalty runs either way
Very interesting, many many years ago we lost a cricketing grand final at high school when the other school teacher brought out the rule book and showed our teacher how it did not count. Maybe i should protest :lol:
Well, of course, it's a relatively recent rule. But I'm with ya pal, you should've won!
I've only just discovered this forum too
When the sides have agreed previously that the boundary allowance shall be 5 runs.
Catching the ball with a hat, to me, is like playing cricket at school with rubbish bins as wickets, and the keeper just picks up the bin in line with a wide delivery, so the ball can still hit the bin, and the batsman is "out", bowled.
It's cheating! :lol:
catching the ball with ur hat is fun :roll: :roll: :roll:
what about the saw dust??
You can run 5 (provided ball doesn't cross the rope), or you can get 5 as a result of overthrows (in this case, even if the ball crosses the boundary),
Separate names with a comma.