Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anzac Test (2009) Australia v New Zealand

Pistol

F7s ANZAC TEST MATCH 2009
The F7s Anzac Shield

New Zealand Kiwis v Australia Kangaroos

logo_kiwi_NZ.jpg
v
logo_kangaroos_aust.jpg

Game Thread:
• Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game-related posts can be made here. Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
• Captains must post their entire team (including reserves) before posting and only those players listed may play this round.
• Only original marked articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

REP Match rules:
5 posts per team.
Teams allowed 3 reserves each.
Total (including reserves): 8 players per team.

Rules of play: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php
Full Time: WEDNESDAY 6th MAY at 9:00PM (SYD TIME)

Venue: The Front Row Stadium
ground_tfr_1.jpg

REFEREE: TBA
**The Referee Blows Game On!**

LeagueNut

Looking forward to this match ... good luck one and all :)

Kiwis.jpg

FORUM SEVENS KIWIS 2009

LeagueNut (c) (Panthers)
Hallatia (Eels)
Jesbass (Warriors)
byrne_rovelli_fan82 (Rabbitohs)
rayroxon (Warriors)

Reserves
Dragon_psa (Dragons)
madunit (Panthers)
MKEB... (Warriors)

The mighty Roos hop into formation, and are ready to take back the F7s Anzac Trophy.

Good luck one and all. :thumn

logo_kangaroos_aust.jpg

1. Willow (Bluebags) (c)
2. Azkatro (Panthers)
3. Titanic (Titans)
4. Dubopov (Dragons)
5. Amadean (Titans)

Res:
6. Non Terminator (Easts)
7. miccle (Rabbitohs)
8. griffo346 (Cougars)

LeagueNut

Righto everyone, let's get this show on the road!

_44231684_haka416.jpg

RINGA PAKIA

UMA TIRAHA

TURI WHATIA

HOPE WHAI AKE

WAEWAE TAKAHIA KIA KINO!

KA MATE KA MATE
KA ORA' KA ORA'
KA MATE KA MATE
KA ORA' KA ORA'

TENEI TE TANGATA PUHURUHURU
NANA I TIKI MAI WHAKAWHITI TE RA
UPANE UPANE
UPANE KAUPANE
WHITI TE RA!

HE!!

LeagueNut

LeagueNut bursts forward with a hit-up, ball in one hand, cigarette in the other ...

Kiwis.jpg

LeagueNut - Kiwis

==============================================

Lies, damn lies and statistics

It hasn’t been a good year for Rugby League off the field. We all know about the alcohol related dramas that have provided plenty of hyped-up headlines and controversies. We all get sick of hearing about the latest moron to disgrace themselves, and we all grow accustomed to the same old excuses … “it’s not his go”, “it’s a society problem”, and other wonderful clichés.

The statistics show us that no matter how hard the NRL tries, they’re always going to have some pissheads running around in their competition. A recent alcohol survey in Australia showed that 15% of adult males have drunk to a “high risk” level within a one year period. If we take the 272 NRL players that run out for the 16 teams each weekend, that means we can expect 41 of them to drink themselves into a mindless stupor at least once a year. It looks like we’re going to have a few more pissheads coming out of the woodwork before the season is through …

So if alcohol problems facing society are just as rampant within the NRL, what other society trends should we be seeing in our code?

Mental health is another society problem that the NRL can’t escape from. Mood disorders such as depression and bipolar disorder affected 6.2% of people in Australia aged between 16-85 years. That means there are 17 players from last weeks teams that suffer from a mental illness. Cory Paterson “outed” himself recently, how many more are suffering in silence?

The statistics also show us that we’ve got another 14 players with Andrew Johns-levels of substance abuse in the ranks at the moment. This covers harmful use or dependency on alcohol or other drugs. Statistics can’t lie, surely … ?

But that’s not all – approximately 30% of Australians are smokers, so I guess that means we’ve got 81 players sneaking off for a half-time puff every weekend. Imagine how that would look coming through on the Fox Sports dressing room cameras! Luckily for players, smoking isn’t illegal (yet) so even in a worst-case scenario they shouldn’t find themselves getting arrested for a sneaky durry out the back of the training sheds.

A United Nations survey found that “a massive 17 per cent of the adult Australian population was functionally illiterate or unable to read basic instructions”. Does that mean 46 players can’t even read their contracts? No wonder we’ve got so many salary cap problems, no-one knows what they’re signing. Some of that 17% must be lurking in the management of various clubs as well, based on some of the unusual signing decisions made in recent times.

According to some Phil Gould research, the average length of an NRL career is a mere 4.2 years. When you consider that the average life expectancy of an Australian man is 77 years, that’s a hell of a long time to find something else to do when the League income dries up. No wonder Steve Price wants to keep playing, he’s going to have about another 40 years left in him when he finally hangs up the boots.

One option may be to turn to religion. Only 18.7% of Australians do not identify with a religion, which works out to only 51 of the 272 players from last weekend. Apparently 2.1% of Australians are Buddhists – so 6 of them must have hit the NRL fields last week, and by the law of averages there should have been 2 Hindus there too.

On a different tack, a “Sex in Australia” survey showed that 1.6% of adult men identified themselves as homosexual. That works out to 4 of the 272 players that ran out last weekend. Who wants to take some guesses? Whoever they are, they’re doing a good job of keeping it to themselves. Why can’t the pissheads do the same??

As a wise man once said, “Statistics are like mini skirts – they give you a rough idea but hide the best bits”. There’s no doubt NRL players would be under-represented in some of these stats and over-represented in others, but the stone cold fact is that we shouldn’t be surprised in the slightest when some of these stats start to shine through. Granted, we’re more likely to come across another player on a drug-fuelled bender before we see the first retired gay illiterate smoking Buddhist – but either way, it’s only a matter of time before one of the two emerges.

==============================================

749 words in the official word counter

Sources:
http://www.australian-news.com.au/statistics.htm
http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/abs@.nsf/Lookup/4102.0Main+Features30March%202009
http://smoking.ygoy.com/smoking-statistics-in-australia/
http://www.saltshakers.org.au/html/P/9/B/288/
http://www.livingin-australia.com/interesting-facts-about-australia.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religion_in_Australia
http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/abs@.nsf/mf/4832.0.55.001/
http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/lhqnews/were-lucky-to-have-locky/2009/05/02/1240982460305.html?page=fullpage#contentSwap2

byrne_rovelli_fan82

byrne_rovelli_fan82, for the great Kiwis!

~~~
Repeat Performance

This weekend the New Zealand Kiwis and Australia Kangaroos will come face to face six months after the World Cup Grand Final where, on the biggest representative stage the Kiwis finally walked away with the glory and spoils over their bogey team. If there was a better time to beat Australia that was the game and the New Zealanders were able to achieve that feat.

So was that only a one-off occasion?

History shows that once in a while the Kiwis will come out and spring a surprise on the Kangaroos and international league; and the World Cup glory was a perfect example. It followed on from their Tri Nations victory of 2005 also at the hands of the Kangaroos.

Regardless, in the one-off tests’ in mid-April the Kangaroos have come out on top every time and should start as favourites for this game. They know how to play the big games and know how to win, whereas the Kiwis, in the past have been questioned over their ability to overcome the daunting prospect of beating Australia and even over their loyalty to wanting to play for their country. When taking into consideration the amount of times the Kangaroos have badly beaten the Kiwis in un-flattering score lines it is understandable how much of a turn-off the games are to viewers and even the players. If the Kangaroos aren’t challenged they don’t need to put much effort into winning and when the Kiwis don’t, they’re left embarrassed and criticised from all aspects.

The timing of this test has been under scrutiny for years, where the Kiwis have struggled to find fit and healthy players who didn’t suddenly ‘pick up mysterious injuries just a week before the test’ and fighting with NRL clubs over the available of their best players when NRL clubs have found excuses not to have their stars availability for the Kiwis and are willing to allow their Aussie counterparts play.

One of the worst moments undoubtedly was back in 2000 when they suffered a 52-0 thumping in Sydney, the night before their rugby union counterparts the All Blacks took on the Wallabies.

Now is the time for the real Kiwis team to stand up and be counted. They are the World Champions yes, but their victory will mean nothing from last November if they are unable to back it up this weekend. Much is made over the lack of time to organize the team, and the availability of players although that area has improved in the last three years but it’s still an issue for those based on the other side of the world. When the Kangaroos were World Champions what made their dominance so powerful had nothing to do with winning the world cup all the time, but it had everything to do with their consistency on the field for a full 80minutes. Unlike the Kiwis, the Kangaroos don’t dish up a once-in-a-while surprise victory they bring their A-game plan to every test match and this one will be no different. While revenge is something they’d like it would be more important for them to deliver what they do best a victory as a team.

While losing for the Kiwis doesn’t mean the end of the world it will once again showcase the gap of performance between the two sides. World Cup Champions or not the Kiwis won’t be on the same level as the Kangaroos in terms of consistency and that is the gap that needs closing. The only way to do that is to repeat their performance from their world cup campaign where it wasn’t always about winning and losing a game but stringing solid consistent performances to remain competitive and to show they are no-one-hit wonders.

To beat Australia on the biggest rugby league stage in the world was a magnificent accomplishment for New Zealand but that was six months ago time has moved on, the players have learnt their lesson on both sides and it will mean absolutely nothing if the Australian put a 50+ trashing on New Zealand, and the only way to stop that from happening, is for the New Zealand team to step out of the shadows and prove the World Cup was no fluke and they are more than capable of showing this game isn’t about a team of brilliant individuals but individuals within a team.

Repeat the grand final and the Kiwis will rule the roost for a long time to come.
~~~

746 words between '~' according to official word counter.

Azkatro

Aust_jersey_040718.jpg

Azkatro for the Kangaroos.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Demand and supply

In politics, the media tends to be the main driving force behind action being taken to fix a problem. Almost every night you can watch the 6 o’clock news bulletin and see the microphones bustling for position in front of the politician being grilled. Answering questions the media thinks the public want the answer to. The pollies see them coming, and they prepare and react in kind. Demand and supply.

Well it seems as if the NRL has officially become a demand-driven organisation.

What I mean by “demand-driven” is essentially what you see in politics – the hot issue is at any given time is what all the attention must be focused on, in order to minimise potential damage to public perception.

This became painfully evident to me on Saturday night, when Newcastle hosted Brisbane in a round 8 fixture. A severe thunderstorm hit the ground, and at half time, there was a blackout. What followed was no less than complete chaos. Fox Sports commentators debated what might happen if the match couldn’t continue. Cameras followed the officials as they ran around like headless chooks, wondering what to do. I also wondered what would happen. I have seen situations in the past in both rugby league and other sports, where the referee at the ground was in charge of making a decision on whether to delay or abandon the match. I assumed Tony Archer, who was officiating in his 188th NRL match, would have a clearly defined set of guidelines on what to do in such a situation.

Instead I saw him desperately looking for a mobile phone, with other officials following him like lost sheep, as he contacted NRL chief operating officer and former referee Graham Annesley. Archer didn’t know what to do. Here was a man who is currently considered our number one referee. In 2008 he refereed the entire State of Origin series as well as the NRL grand final, and probably will again this year. He is supposedly the best at knowing the rule book inside out. Maybe we need to start introducing mobile phones for the referees on the field!

Seriously though, what a complete an utter embarrassment for the NRL.

And we still don’t know what would have happened if the match was unable to continue. Apparently Annesley was asked this during the week and refused to provide a clear answer. In fact, we don’t even know what the guidelines are for determining whether a match is to be called off or not. Not that we should need to know. That should be for the referee to decide. The sad thing is that it seems they don’t know either.

When looking at the rugby league schedule for the 2009 season, it is clear why Graham Annesley doesn’t have an answer for that question. The NRL’s only slim hope of rescheduling a match is if the two teams involved happened to have a bye on the same weekend. In the case of Newcastle and Brisbane in 2009, they don’t.

Under normal circumstances, there would be at least one "bye" weekend set aside. This gives an ideal avenue for matches that may have needed to be postponed, or weren’t completed, to be played. It would surely rank as one of the most basic requirements in preparing the schedule for any football season, at any level. It happened in 1989, when a match between St. George and Gold Coast was postponed, and in the 1997 ARL season for a Newcastle v. South Sydney fixture. In both cases, the match was able to be comfortably rescheduled on a weekend during a split round.

The reality of the situation is that if a match was postponed it would have to be played midweek. This should be a simple proposition, but the prospect clearly scares the heck out of the NRL. It seems obvious that demand is the reason why the schedule is so packed. Television deals are where the real money comes from, and the more games that are televised, the more advertising revenue there is.

It is clear that the scheduling of the rugby league season is far too oriented towards the demands of television and the league competition.

Something needs to be done.

It almost makes me wish that the Newcastle v. Brisbane game was called off last weekend. Now that the NRL is a demand-driven organisation, something major has to go wrong before action is taken to fix the problem.

---------------------------------------------------------------

747 words. Liftoff!

dubopov

undaunted by the Haka and the huge crowd, Dubopov wades into the Kiwi front line....

GRANNY GRIMM

Granny Grimm had lived a life littered with hardship, misfortune and heartache. Her family lost everything in the Great Depression before gradually getting back on an even keel prior to the outbreak of World War II. Her love of horse racing and rugby league saw her through the hard times, culminating in the wins of her beloved St George Dragons and 10/1 shot Skipton in the Melbourne Cup in 1941. She was on top of the world. A world she almost fell off on Christmas Eve when her mother received news that her father Frank had been killed in combat.

A similar pattern followed the next Dragons’ Premiership in 1949 when, within a year, news came of her brother being killed in Korea. Luckily, when the Mighty Dragons marched on their way to 11 straight Premierships, none of her immediate family were enlisted and life was great. She married a former St George lower grader, Phillip Grimm and gave birth to their only son Phillip Jnr. She finally got to Grandma status in 1979 when Phillip was coerced into naming his first-born Robert Stone Grimm. A year later the twins, aptly name Jakob and Wilhelm, were born. They were the Grimm brothers of fairytale fame, and Granny’s fairytale was about to begin.

About to begin.....Fate dealt another mortal blow within a year when the family’s Ford Pontiac careered off the road and plummeted down a ravine just outside of Newcastle, killing the three occupants – Phillips' Snr and Jnr and Ethel, the young mother. Granny avoided death because she was babysitting her three grand-children; something she would do for the best part of the next 30 years. Despite her age, Granny took to her task with relish and helped the boys reach their peak in their chosen fields. The twins became top class rugby league players and the less co-ordinated Robbie, a referee.

Even though she loved them, the twins became unbearable when they started to piss their substantial NRL earnings up against the wall. Nothing riled a veteran of the Depression more than wasting money. She decided to cut ties with the wastrels, hatching a plot which would bring instant wealth to the family, thus allowing her to regain her independence.

With the aid of the retired ref turned Accountant Robbie, the canny Granny masterminded a betting scam which would leave the likes of Newman and Redford’s Sting in the shade. Robbie had to organize the offshore betting agencies while Granny convinced the twins that the $$$$$ were worth the risk.

"It’s all rather simple boys. We stand to win $4 million if you follow the script. A dropped pass here, a missed tackle there and we clean up. Remember, you are the playmakers and you can make it happen."

"Why not go for a draw Gran, it pays $26 ? "

"Too greedy Jake .. a draw at half-time and at the end of regulation is all we can risk. We can’t afford to attract undue attention."

"You’re right Gran ", the usually reticent Willie concurred. "Even them dumb bastards runnin’ the show might see that."

"Like I said boys it’s up to you. I’ll sort the Refs, you sort the players. See you at the Caxton about 6."

The boys did the right thing and ensured, as expected, that the scores were locked at 6 all at the break. The second half followed the script as well. A missed tackle on the line allowed a try. A forward pass denied one. An intercept levelled the score. Full time 10 all. The scene was set for the scripted extra-time finale where Jake missed a tackle in the last minute and Willie scooted through to win the game for the $7 underdogs. It happened !! The boys were jubilant. Until the Ref drew a box and looked to the heavens.

"What the f**k !" Willie muttered to Jake as they shook hands.

"NO NO NO NO NO !" shrieked the commentator. Obstruction ruled.

Despondently the twins trudged off, meeting the Video Ref, Lexus, on their way.

"You got down here quick."

"Nah. I was crook at half time. Must've been a reaction to the pumpkin scones your Granny gave me before the game. Luckily your brother was there to fill the void."

A few blocks away an old re-modelled Ford Pontiac cruised towards Eagle Farm Airport.

"Put the foot down Robbie .. we don't want to be late meeting our money in the Bahamas."

rayroxon

Rayroxon for the Kiwi's starts yelling in consonants for no apparent reason.

*****​

AEIOU and sometimes Y.

Yells, cheers, jeers and groans are all sounds of the footy fan. Although plosives play their part when a parochial part of the pitch project “twinkieh” and other pronounal projectiles toward players, it’s safe to say that the greatest weapon in the footy fan’s arsenal is the vowel. A vowel is pronounced with an open vocal tract so there is no build-up of air pressure above the glottis. As you can imagine an open vocal tract helps most fans greatly, except for perhaps Sharks Fans who prefer choking. Useful examples of open tracts are, when drinking copious amounts of beer, sharp intakes of breath at critical moments and of course yelling in unison. Nothing says togetherness like seeing a whole section of a stadium all clutch their heads at the same time and sigh an ahhhh in appreciation of a near miss or stand, shout and scream a perfectly formed Oh when their team scores the match winning try two minutes into golden point.
So, without further adieu, here is the footy lovers guide to the vowels.

A as in booking online and finding out that Category A tickets are how much? Stuff that I’d much rather sit in the obstructed view seats in category C.

A as in running into a scalper. “A, you over there, wanna buy some tickets?” In answer to your question, not really as I think I can find my way to the ticket booth myself but you keep those tickets you’ve printed on tissue paper for another day good sir. More importantly, why do all scalpers have English accents?

A as in “The A defender has rushed out of the line and put pressure on the B defender” Does anyone actually know what that means or is it an attempt to make Laurie Daley look knowledgable?

E as in “E’s kidding himself! Get em back the 10!” Heard at suburban sports grounds everywhere.

E as in Vitamin E, the choice of after party pick me up in Newcastle. I’ve heard they’re going to call it Nwcastl on account of Andrew Johns eating all the E’s in town.

I as in use them ref. Both of you refs use both sets of them or so help me football gods I’ll come down there and kick you in another pair.

I as in “I yae yae! How could he drop the ball with the line open yet again?” Apparently this call is big for followers of league in Mexico.

I as in there is no I in team. Something Joel Moon and his hero complex would do well to remember

O as in “O yeah!” Explained earlier - an expression of joy.

O is in that OO sound that seems to resonate within fan chants. From Toooooks (Mark Tookey) through to Foooi (Fui Fui Moi Moi) and a throwback to Shooooe in reference to former Samoan International and Newcastle Knight John Schuster, crowds seem to love their long and languid O chanting.

O as in “Get us a beer, you O us the next round”.

U as in “Row U? These obstructed view seats are rubbish. We’re getting Category A tickets next time you tightarse”

U as in “U a Warriors fan?” Oh, is that what I’ve been wearing for the past 15 years? Thank you for your assistance in helping us out with that puzzle.

U as in “U wanna buy any tickets to next weeks match?” No scalper with your scouser accent. I really don’t.

As mentioned in the title, Y is sometimes included in the vowel family. For footy fans the use of Y occurs several times a week.

Y as in “Y is he in the squad again?”

Y as in “Y did I bother travelling all this distance to watch them lose again?”

Y as in “Ref, I rooted your Wife” although liberties will need to be granted as it’s combining the consonant with the vowel.

Melbourne fans score a bonus use of Y this year as they can refer to Wairangi Koopu quite simply as “Wai” – a luxury Warriors fans have had since 1999.

As we draw to the end of the guide, please take home with you this most perfect example of the use of the Vowel at the footy.
“A, E & I O U”
“Y?”
“U bought us the last round”.

So, clear your glottis and give the guide a go even if it does leave those who know you asking y.

*****​
750 words between *****'s​

Amadean

Amadean strides out proudly for Australia with 750 words below the bar.

Aust_jersey_040718.jpg

Better Ways to Spend a Day

Today began as any other workday. Being a good office blob, I arrived only a few minutes late, loaded up the laptop, used the facilities, went out for a smoke with the bloke who just walked in, came back in to make some coffee, drank it whilst leaning against the door of someone else’s office whilst discussing last night’s game, sat down at my desk, loaded up the morning's newspapers/blogs/agglomerations/forums and had a quiet read.

I know how the rest of the day will progress: a few meetings, a couple of emails, a presentation to prepare. Nothing out of the ordinary. There is, for instance, virtually no risk of being carried of by a roc like Sinbad was. I do not expect an oozing xenomorph to leap from my chest as with those poor buggers in Alien. The odds of a lifting spear tackle cracking one of my favourite ribs and/or vertebrae are minimal.

This can only be a good thing, right? Well, perhaps not. The tales of Sinbad the Sailor, Warrant Officer Ripley and the Brisbane Broncos are vastly popular for a good reason: vicarious excitement is still exciting. This a palpably blatant truth, one proven every time my wanders along the blogotubes encounter realistic depictions of amorous couples in compromising positions, depictions often referred to as pornography.

Where pictures of poorly-clothed young ladies are (ahem) titillating, fast sports are thrilling. I can gasp, groan, wince and cheer during highly-charged set pieces, and with footy too.

So, yes, whilst I’m pleased that acid creatures aren’t going to eat my face today (probably), I’m also disappointed by a probable lack of shuddering ball-and-all tackles, and by a lack of League.

Currently I’m not currently engaged in the world’s most thrilling job, but it’s not all bad either. Our drive to work along Mumbai roads would leave the majority of BASE jumpers ashen-faced and anyone eating street-food over here is embarking on a journey of risk and excitement enough for anyone.

Yet Billy Slater may miss Friday night’s Test Match after rolling an ankle in training. Yeah, I’m definitely jealous. It isn’t that I overly envy the pain of a sprained ankle; after all I can replicate that to some degree of accuracy using only a tortoise, two packs of butter and a nylon wig. Or a staircase. No, it’s the emotions involved that I envy.

Douglas Adams once said “A crowd that has just watched a rather humdrum game experiences far less life-affirmation than a crowd that believes it has just missed the most dramatic event in sporting history.” Melbourne’s Billy was chosen at fullback and is still odds-on to play, but now there’d be the tiniest sliver of doubt in his mind: a thrilling fear that he may not play.

Although an experienced Kangaroo, he still would’ve received a rush of excitement when he received the call. The anticipation of walking out before 70,000 fans, combined with the pride of selection would, I imagine, add up to a decent rush of adrenaline.

From this high, the crash of hobbling off the training park two days before the game and the fear of watching from the grandstands. Of course, he’d know the ankle sprain is a minor injury and that he’s still likely to play… but I doubt he’d be feeling fantastic right now.

He will feel amazing later.

When he’s cleared to play on Friday afternoon the doubts, fears and worries the sprain created will be completely erased in a flood of relieved joy. That’s why I envy the ankle injury: Billy Slater will get two rockets of Kangaroo selection emotion. Just as Adams' crowd were raised to the rooftops by thoughts of a game they didn’t witness, so will Slater be dragged to despondency and then thrilled to the core by an unimportant injury.

My day is unlikely to bring anything similar, which is a shame. I’d be far happier facing either the threat of destruction or the lure of salvation (or both) than merely the promise tomorrow will be kind of similar to today.

This is why I will stop the car on my way home tonight, get out, order two mutton samosa from the bloke on the corner who has never knowingly washed his hands, take both home, wolf them down… and wait. I’ll either have eaten an enjoyable meal, or will be spending the next 8 hours staring at the toilet door.

Its not Kangaroo selection, but its close.

Titanic

Aust_jersey_040718.jpg
Titanic for Australia (750 OWC including the title) hustles on to the field, still smarting from the sneering Kiwis who spied him, through a hole in the wall between the dressing sheds, pulling his ‘athletic support’ on back-to-front. Chastened by the venomous sledging from the opposition, turns to them and shouts…

=====================================================================================
Rex-Mossop_w250.jpg

A “call” to arms

I am totally over it: chicken wings, drumsticks and the whole litany of ridiculous terminology that has emerged as our great game wrestles with the image transition from sport to entertainment medium.

For crying out loud, this is a game built around mateship, courage and doing the oftentimes brutal necessities. Many readers may well be thinking; “ho-hum, here comes some more sentimental slop about the Anzac tradition” but they will be wrong… and yet a little right.

I staunchly stand for those values. I revel in the celebration of those fading, paling ideals that have meant so much, to so many on both sides of the Ditch. In fact, I feel so strongly in support of them that I am making my stand right here, right now. No longer will I let the commentary of our game wallow in the squalor created by media fat cats. Those unholy brigands hell-bent on turning every couch potatoes’ heaven into some facsimile of a KFC order… without fries.

I demand a return to the old order when men were men and women walked tall; two meters behind and one to the left. A time when playing the game was as ferocious as a hooligan brandishing a loaded Enfield and a premiership was a blood-splattered badge of courage. Oh yes, bring it all back!

Bring back the family blanket. Return the Hill to its slouch hat glory and let it reverberate once more to the cadence of rugby league. No more grapples. No more “separation”. No more pink shirts and no more “corporal stripes” on our beloved logo.

Hush now. Be-gone the sounds of the vacuous new millennia, I renounce you. Hark, a new sweet swelling chorus heralds the triumphant recall of rugby league’s inner soul. Alleluia! Like the charge of the Light Horse, rugby league must unleash its suppressed character now.
Smith scurries from dummy half, ducks under a high shot from Eastwood, spies Lockyer and delivers the bayonet.
bayonet: a sharp crisp pass, deflected by neither bone nor gristle.
Oh, Gus and Wazza, Fat Marne and Ray, Sterlo and Rabbits… yield now or be banished to the sullen echoes forever. Roll back the new-speak, latte-league language v20.09 and let’s live it with the pride and passion of the Diggers of old… in the words of the irrepressible Rex “Moose” Mossop[1]:

"I don't think the male genitals or the female genitals should be rammed down people's throats … to use a colloquialism." Vintage, vintage, vintage. If it’s long enough and straight enough, then it’s bloody good enough.
Mannering’s clear, he’s over the 40, he’s over the 30, he’s going all the… oh my goodness, Laffranchi has come from nowhere and chopped him down with a merciless daisy-cutter.
daisy-cutter: a vicious anti-personnel device designed to deflate the tallest poppy.
The ramblings of the vocally challenged have replaced the dulcet tones of the great broadcasters of yore. Scripts have been ‘enhanced’ by preprogrammed modulations and emphatic stress variances. The spellbinding spontaneity of a commentator’s pent-up emotion has been replaced by the maniacal meanderings of ‘professional’ sportscasters and their supporting bands of merry men.
Folau magically catches the ball on his fingertips, skirts a tiring Vatuvei and Gallipoli-gallops down the sideline.
Gallipoli-gallop: a fleet-footed dash, reminiscent of the latrine sprints at Anzac Cove.
Fans of the traditional and enemies of the contemporary alike, unite! We must not accept the platitudes of hip hop, the inanities of the NBA or the ‘snowclones[2]’ of the X Generation. We must put the balls back into football and crush the nuts who are against.
Asotasi looms up ready to deliver a bomb but Thurston throws a furphy, runs into a hole, loops an inside pass to Boyd who puts the game beyond doubt.
furphy: a feature of the popular 1915 publication “Passes for Dummies”.
Our game has been desensitized, neutered by media moguls mesmerized by the lure of the almighty ‘mullah’. Turn back the clock; turn it way, way back. Back to the era when an equalizer meant a game was headed for a draw.
The game turns nasty and Gallen the serial nuisance has grabbed hold of a protesting Marshall and is giving him a short arm inspection.
short arm inspection: a meaningful moment shared between players when one player takes a firm grip of another player’s ‘hopes and aspirations’.
Anzac Day is the time to salute those who paid the ultimate price so that we who come after can freely protest. Lest we forget.

=====================================================================================

[1] “The moose that roared”, Mossop, Rex (1991)
[2] A snowclone is a type of cliché and phrasal template originally defined as "a multi-use, customizable, instantly recognizable, time-worn, quoted or misquoted phrase or sentence that can be used in an entirely open array of different jokey variants by lazy journalists and writers."
http://www.nzherald.co.nz (May 06, 2009)
http://www.diggerhistory.info

Information for the referee:

Interchange for Australia
Out: Willow has lost his locker keys.
In: Non Terminator makes his debut for Australia. :clap:

Non Terminator finds himself taking a wrong turn and somehow making his way onto the field from the bench a bit late into the game. With an orange in the belly and a pep-talk from the skipper, let's see what happens.
Aust_jersey_040718.jpg

743 words under the stripes.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Thrown Into The Deep End

The Trans-Tasman test match, Australia up against New Zealand, there aren't many other occasions that bring out the passion like this one. We all hold our hearts as we sing or scream our anthems, and let everyone know which side we're on.

We make every step count, we aren't doing this for the fans anymore, we are doing this for the countrymen, our fellow Australians or New Zealanders.

The Green And Gold up against the Black And White, the Kangaroos versus the Kiwis, whatever it becomes, it is something we all awaited with longing expectation. This is a match laced with expectation as we enter the first representative match for 2009.

Of course, I could right now be talking about the NRL test match being played at Suncorp Stadium in front of over 50,000 paying viewers live, or the Forum Sevens test match being played at the Front Row Stadium in front of LeagueUnlimited's many keen eyes.

Both matches hold similarities for me, for one, I've yet to taste a visit to either of these venues. I can see the audience watching with judgmental eyes, for possible errors or amazing plays. The obvious other similarity, we're doing this for our countries, we represent the nation that we love, and all of the people in it.

The 2009 Australia-New Zealand clash in the Forum Sevens is anticipated, to see who can crack that extra mile, and the opposition (along with their defensive line).

Willow, like Darren Lockyer, will lead out the Green and Gold.
An admired veteran of the game, he embraces his home crowd as he intends to endulge them in an trademark performance. We all follow him out to the ground, pat each other on the back and prepare for the upcoming battle ahead.

LeagueNut, like Roy Asotasi, leads out the Black and White.
Another veteran of the game, and one to be feared. He knows the crowd is against him, but still intends to cause waves. We trade glances with our enemies, from first site of the first sight of them.

Well, of course, along with the big names of the event, there is me, Non Terminator, standing out there, practically wetting myself.

Keen to give the game a go, yet, already instantly under pressure to perform. Two games into a career and already brought into face a group of the people I instantly admired before and during my short career.

If I was to be matched against someone, if right now I needed someone to draw inspiration from, I would pick Parramatta Eels back Krisnan Inu.

On the 7th of April in 2007, Inu had a dream come true, to play first grade. He wore the number 23 for the Eels, coming in as a replacement for international Timana Tahu, if that wasn't already enough pressure.

Yet, Inu impressed, and after New Zealand Warriors star Brent Webb succumbed to injury, Inu was the next man on the wishlist of the New Zealand selectors. A lot of the people in the league world still didn't even know who this guy was, we all worried it could be too soon for him to be put under the kind of pressure of the kicking game of some of the greatest men to play the sport of Rugby League, in the names of Darren Lockyer and Johnathon Thurston.

Like a test player should be, Inu was everything he needed to be to make a solid debut. History might tell you that Australia were giant winners of that particular match by 30 poins to 6, but Inu landed himself as a genuine player, and a new ray of hope for the Parramatta Eels.

After the test match, people started to realise the impressive talent of Inu on a full-time basis, he had earned the respect of his peers and the experts of the game. I wonder if this article will reach the same pattern for me, the new boy in this Australian side. Only time will tell.

I will sit back and await the referee to give me the hopeful green light on this particular and definitely memorable occasion. No bigger nerve than this one! There would be no bigger honour for me right now than to get those much required points to send Australia into the winners circle, enabling the trophy to be shared in the hands of more than twenty million Australians.

Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi!

Jesbass

tri-series-kiwi-jersey.jpg

After a destructive Kangaroo hitup, Jesbass rips into his fellow Kiwis to fire them up, before launching a counter attack of his own...

What It Means (721 words including title between the stars)

My first is in centre and forward but not in back;​
The heart of a try when hot on attack.​

Rugby League World Champions. That's quite a title. But the wider effect it has had on league in Aotearoa, and especially how it is perceived by the New Zealand media and public, is far more impressive. Officially or otherwise, the thirteen man game has turned a corner in the shaky isles. It has been less a gentle curve and more a sharp hairpin, filled with potholes and a camber as uneven as a roller coaster, but it has been a worthwhile bend to navigate.

My next is in tackles and suspensions appealed,​
And is found at the halfway mark of the field.​

Ever since the Warriors made a strong finals run at the back end of 2008, toppling minor premiers Melbourne 18-15 in the last throes of their finals match and subsequently knocking out the Sydney Roosters just five days later, a palpable change has occurred. But it is in the wake of the Kiwis defeating Australia in the World Cup final to gain the title of World Champions in the process, that the biggest shifts have been evident.

My third can be found in hitups and scrums;​
Not in a league ball but in a barnstorming run.​

Such is the impact of the Rugby League World Cup on the previously neutral public of the Land of the Long White Cloud, that the immense size of this victory must be considered: the Kiwis, having not beaten Australia in a World Cup match since 1985, and paying $6.25 in their own country's betting agency, put to the sword a Kangaroos side that was on an eight-match winning streak and had been widely commented on as the greatest Australian side of all time. Not a bad effort, considering the average score between the two sides from the previous three years had been 33-10 in favour of the Kangaroos.

Props and positions begin with number four,​
Approaching the goal posts to improve the score.​

People suddenly value the game. It's no longer the joke in the media and beside the water cooler that it once was. It's supporters and volunteers are no longer jokes, either. And, on the back of widespread discontent with the lacklustre rugby union in the nation's favourite code, the tide has turned towards its poor cousin. “State house rugby”, as one media personality has labelled it, is moving into the mansion.

My fifth is in underdogs and beating the odds,​
While ignoring all input from footballing gods.

Explaining to anyone outside of New Zealand how major this paradigm shift has been is probably something akin to expressing the colours of a rainbow to a blind man. If it were comedy, it would fit into the “you had to be there” mould. In short, the magnitude of change in New Zealand is nigh on unfathomable. And yet, it is almost palpable.

Locks but not hookers are where you'll find six,​
In the middle of rucks to score under the sticks.​

Critics of rugby league have grown mysteriously silent – or, at least, they bear a more muffled tone nowadays. Former stalwarts of rugby union, from media observers to former All Blacks, have publicly stated their growing disappointment in their tiresome sport and a gradual preference towards watching a code without line outs or mauls.

My seventh and last is in an ankle tap;​
At the birth of a touch judge who gets a bad wrap.​

This is what it means to be World Champions. It's not just about winning an important match. It's more than just a name on a piece of silverware. It's a new dawn for rugby league in New Zealand. It's about shaking off the years – nay, decades – of being treated with disdain. It's about beginning to overcome the inability to get rugby league into more than a handful of schools throughout the country. It's about tolerating the regular snubs of the past from the national sporting awards despite great achievements on the field. It's about no longer being viewed as rugby union's poor cousin and being treated accordingly. But above all, it's about one seven letter word.

If this little riddle hasn't been clear enough,​
Read the first letter of each paragraph.​

Hallatia

Hallatia with a late dash for the Kiwis

[FONT=&quot]ЖЖЖЖЖЖЖ[/FONT]
Opportunity Cost

Opportunity cost is the value of the best alternative forgone. Generally, we are prepared to forfeit an opportunity cost now for a higher return later. It has always bothered me in university how they talk about our education in this way. Perhaps the majority of university students are there to get a job in X amount of years (some are there because they have got nothing better to do with their time, but let’s not talk about them). In economic terms we would generally say that the greatest salary one could be earning instead of going to university is their opportunity cost; that we are willing to forego this opportunity cost now because of a return we expect in the future. The reason this bothers me is because in my opinion value is not just a dollar amount and any knowledge I gain studying at university is far more valuable to me than the HECS debt it accumulates.

Now, look at professional athletes. A career as a professional athlete lasts one to two decades tops. Of course, most professional athletes will outlast their careers. Yet unlike university students they do not have a dollar value opportunity cost first up and they do not have a job in X amount of years. Rather, professional athletes have jobs for X amount of years. Let us now focus on Rugby League. The longest career in Rugby League was twenty years and that was an outlier, but even if all Rugby League careers lasted for twenty years (we have to consider that they are still getting paid top dollar to play in England/elsewhere, so maybe twenty years is fair), one is generally considered part of the labour force for fifty years of their life.

This leaves thirty years. A lot of the big name players can find work easily; however, there are over 450 guys who play first grade every year. We know that the ‘Men of League’ exist to help out former players who fall on hard times. However, you do not have a career as a professional athlete; take your super than look forward for some help from an organisation. Ideally you would have to consider what you are giving up and what you can do outside the game once you are over the hill athletically.

For young guys this can become a real issue. Pursue your passion as football player, or get an education/trade and build up for future? A professional sports career can build up very nicely for your future, but as a starting player there are no guarantees. Even after a year or two you cannot always say where a career is headed, we have seen so many examples of this *cough* Tim Smith *cough*. If you are great your football career builds for your future, but you just cannot guarantee greatness from such an early stage.

So the opportunity cost from pursuing the Rugby League profession often comes in the way of not having much else outside the sport. Any aspiring talent is faced with a real problem, pursue their passion, or take the safer option. For this sort of decision, I would always say passion. A friend of mine once told me “it is better to do what you ‘feel’ is right, and be wrong for it, than to do what you ‘think’ is right, and be wrong for it. – It is what we feel that makes us human, it is our feelings that best define us, they are universal, and they unite us as one, in the long unbroken chain of humanity.”

However, listening to feelings does not pay the bills and one needs to feel comfort in knowing that they have something outside the game to turn to after their professional career is over. We cannot just advocate ‘follow your heart’ because one’s future is their future and decisions about it have to be more or less rational. Therefore, unless a player can open up some post-career options from playing professional Rugby League, that same career could come with a huge opportunity cost.

What is promising is that in the recent past we have seen players start to take initiative for their futures, studying various courses part time so they can have something to fall back on once their playing days are over, it is good to know that some are able to think about pursuits to earn them a living once their footy skills stop being able to do so.
[FONT=&quot]ЖЖЖЖЖЖЖ[/FONT]
749 words

Jesbass

Well done to both teams! 5 v 5 is ideal for a great clash! :clap:

Oh, and err...I'll volunteer to fill that available referee spot! :D