Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Jamie Lyon at Parramatta?

Do you want Jamie Lyon back in the Blue and Gold?

• Yes

Votes: 57 52.3%
  • No

Votes: 29 26.6%
  • Depends on the circumstances of his return

Votes: 23 21.1%

jayman

if you were jamie.. and u were going to any other club bar parra... why would u bother going to the effort of smsing parra players and talking to management....unless u were srs about it...

if he was just trying to boost his value up.. u wouldnt txt players.. and piss them off further by using them as a tool..u dont want people like hindy and cayless looking for you on a footy field

saying that.. the paper does say 8 clubs are after him.. so i dont think its a barganinig tool.. he could easliy go to canberra and play around with them until manly put in a sizeable figure..

the fact hes talking to hagan and the players.. is a good sign..esp if there saying come back.. all is forgotton..

were gonna have a gun side next year .. lyon mixed with young talent plus the exp players we got now... our defence of our title looks set next yr..

Bigfella

Guys, I have a feeling that we are setting ourselves up for more disappointment here ...

Can you imagine how much Manly will be laughing at us when JUly 1 comes and they announce the amazing, unpredicted last minute signing of Jamie Lyon to the Eagles?

Bigfella said:
Guys, I have a feeling that we are setting ourselves up for more disappointment here ...

Can you imagine how much Manly will be laughing at us when JUly 1 comes and they announce the amazing, unpredicted last minute signing of Jamie Lyon to the Eagles?

and that might well happen...and guess what?? the reputations of both Manly as a club and lyon as a player and person will be tarnished for the rest of their existance, it's almost impossible to negotiate, draw up a contract and agree as well as sign, hours after the deadline passes..

but your right it might happen.

Bigfella said:

All is not well at Manly my friends. Hasler for one will not be there in 2007.

Kornstar

Suitman said:
L.A.M.E. No. 2.

Back on the subject.

I'm interested to know whether those that voted No would support him when he runs out for us in 2007?

I said no, not because i don't like him, because i like Delaney, Hayne and Inu, if he signs with us he will have my 100% support as i don't really hold any grudges against him.......he is human after all

yy_cheng

Say Dan Anderson gets the gig at Canberra, Lyon could actually head that way considering that Dan is currently coaching him and letting him do what he wants to on the field.

yy_cheng

http://www.smh.com.au/news/world/gospel-of-judas-found/2006/04/07/1143916664322.html

In his own words: Judas the betrayer was really Judas the chosen one

judas-text.jpg
Gospel truth ... Caravaggio's take on Judas's betrayal, left, and Judas's gospel. Scripture image courtesy of Dr Charles Hedrick

Related coverage

By Linda Morris, Religious Affairs Reporter
April 7, 2006

A 1700-year-old papyrus manuscript suggests history has misjudged the greatest villian of Christianity: Judas was under orders when he betrayed Jesus.

The only known surviving copy of the lost gospel of Judas portrays the treacherous disciple as a loyal deputy acting at the behest of his leader.
In fact, Judas sold Jesus out as an act of obedience not treachery, thereby fulfilling his theological destiny. Key passages from the third or fourth century Coptic manuscript were released by its publisher, the National Geographic Society, last night, a week before Easter, the holiest time of the Christian calendar.

The society, which is rumoured to have purchased publishing rights for more than $1 million, plans magazine articles, television specials and book deals amid concerns about the ethics of ancient acquisitions.
The society's panel of scholars has submitted the document to radiocarbon dating, ink analysis and spectral imaging and has declared it authentic.
The gospel of Judas is believed to be the work of gnostic Christians, a stream of Christian thinking declared heretical by early church fathers. It is a companion text to ancient scriptures unearthed in 1945, which have formed the basis of some assertions in Dan Brown's controversial bestseller The Da Vinci Code.

Australian biblical scholars said the document would be likely to provide a window on early Christianity, but did not threaten Christian teachings because while it was old, it did not date to the time of the Bible's Gospels.
"The text bears witness that to some people Judas was a misunderstood character," said Dr Malcolm Choat, a specialist in early Christianity at Macquarie University. "It fills in the picture but it doesn't make the picture."
But the Coptic Orthodox Church dismissed the document as "non-Christian babbling resulting from a group of people trying to create a false 'amalgam' between the Greek mythology and Far East religions with Christianity … They were written by a group of people who were aliens to the main Christian stream of the early Christianity," the church's theological leader, Metropolitan Bishoy, told the Herald.

"These texts are neither reliable nor accurate Christian texts, as they are historically and logically alien to the main Christian thinking and philosophy of the early and present Christians."

The Judas gospel is a third or fourth century Coptic manuscript discovered in the desert near El Minya, Egypt, in the 1970s. It was sold to a dealer in illicit antiquities and languished in a safe deposit box in the US before falling into the hands of a Swiss foundation.

The Bible says Judas betrayed Jesus to the Romans for a purse of 30 pieces of silver in the Garden of Gethsemane. He later hung himself.
According to limited extracts of the gospel of Judas offered to the Herald, Jesus explains Judas his role in the crucifixion: "You will exceed all of them.

For you will sacrifice the man that clothes me."

In other key passages released to the public, Jesus confides: "Step away from the others and I shall tell you the mysteries of the kingdom. It is possible for you to reach it, but you will grieve a great deal."

For his role Judas would be despised by the other disciples: "You will be cursed by the other generations and you will come to rule them." The gospel ends: "They [the arresting party] approached Judas and said to him. 'What are you doing? You are Jesus's disciple'. Judas answered them as they wished. And he received some money and handed over to him.

As well as the gospel of Judas, the newly discovered 66-page document also contained a text titled James, a letter of Peter to Philip, and a fragment of a fourth text scholars are provisionally calling Book of Allogenes.

parralight

parra pete said:
Suitman said:
Sorry Suity, I just can't get over what he did to the Club. I was wrapped in him as a player..He is fantastic, the best no doubt about it. But football, to me, is more than skill on the paddock.
He LET HIS MATES DOWN and that is unforgiveable. He allowed people like Ray Hadley have a FREE shot at the Club and its coach.
How could you see Lyon next to a champion like Nathan Hindmarsh - a bloke who keeps giving and giving his 150% EVERY TIME. Jamie LOST me forever with his antics...Sorry, but I just can't forget it. Loyalty, mateship is what League was built on. He hasn't got either.
He created tension in Rugby League circles.
I was within an inch of giving the game away.In 2008 it will be 50 years since I saw Parramatta play for the first time (god I'm an old goat). I was hooked even though the team was the perennial wooden spooner. Finals success didn't come until 1962 with the arrival of Kenny Thornett (aka God)
The only thing that kept me in it (not that me going is any big deal) was a trip to Queensland for State of Origin in 2004 and the opportunity to mix with some of the best blokes the code has ever known.
It confirmed that there are GOOD blokes still involved. Blokes who gave their hearts and soul for team mates. Battled on when times were tough..and still love the game.
I am going again this year. I have a seat at the South Logan Magpie Club SOO Dinner in the arvo, and a seat in a corporate box at Suncorp Stadium that night (thanks to a very good mate who knows EVERYONE in the WORLD).
And I'll probably be at Cumberland Oval for the Souths match if it is played on Saturday, as I fly back home, from Sydney, on Sunday morning.
If Jamie does come back to Parra it will make them a better side no doubt about it. But winning with a creep like him in the side wouldn't be as exciting for me, as winning without him. Winning like that is not that important to me
Bit like kissing your sister.

Parra Pete...
Calm down mate.
I too am a long time supporter.. saw my first game at Cumberland in 1963. (then went to practically every game with the old man for about 18 years after that)
I agree with what you said but to state that you nearly gave it away??
Can you imagine life without the eels ? Seriously ?
I believe that you ,like me have the eels in your blood and will supoort them till your last breath.
Yes we like or dislike certain players but the club is bigger than the individual. always will be.
If Jamie comes back lets continue to cheer for the team, not the individual.
Its long term supporters like us , that recall the lean times that are the lifeblood of the game.

parralight

yy_cheng said:
http://www.smh.com.au/news/world/gospel-of-judas-found/2006/04/07/1143916664322.html

In his own words: Judas the betrayer was really Judas the chosen one

judas-text.jpg
Gospel truth ... Caravaggio's take on Judas's betrayal, left, and Judas's gospel. Scripture image courtesy of Dr Charles Hedrick

Related coverage

By Linda Morris, Religious Affairs Reporter
April 7, 2006

A 1700-year-old papyrus manuscript suggests history has misjudged the greatest villian of Christianity: Judas was under orders when he betrayed Jesus.

The only known surviving copy of the lost gospel of Judas portrays the treacherous disciple as a loyal deputy acting at the behest of his leader.
In fact, Judas sold Jesus out as an act of obedience not treachery, thereby fulfilling his theological destiny. Key passages from the third or fourth century Coptic manuscript were released by its publisher, the National Geographic Society, last night, a week before Easter, the holiest time of the Christian calendar.

The society, which is rumoured to have purchased publishing rights for more than $1 million, plans magazine articles, television specials and book deals amid concerns about the ethics of ancient acquisitions.
The society's panel of scholars has submitted the document to radiocarbon dating, ink analysis and spectral imaging and has declared it authentic.
The gospel of Judas is believed to be the work of gnostic Christians, a stream of Christian thinking declared heretical by early church fathers. It is a companion text to ancient scriptures unearthed in 1945, which have formed the basis of some assertions in Dan Brown's controversial bestseller The Da Vinci Code.

Australian biblical scholars said the document would be likely to provide a window on early Christianity, but did not threaten Christian teachings because while it was old, it did not date to the time of the Bible's Gospels.
"The text bears witness that to some people Judas was a misunderstood character," said Dr Malcolm Choat, a specialist in early Christianity at Macquarie University. "It fills in the picture but it doesn't make the picture."
But the Coptic Orthodox Church dismissed the document as "non-Christian babbling resulting from a group of people trying to create a false 'amalgam' between the Greek mythology and Far East religions with Christianity … They were written by a group of people who were aliens to the main Christian stream of the early Christianity," the church's theological leader, Metropolitan Bishoy, told the Herald.

"These texts are neither reliable nor accurate Christian texts, as they are historically and logically alien to the main Christian thinking and philosophy of the early and present Christians."

The Judas gospel is a third or fourth century Coptic manuscript discovered in the desert near El Minya, Egypt, in the 1970s. It was sold to a dealer in illicit antiquities and languished in a safe deposit box in the US before falling into the hands of a Swiss foundation.

The Bible says Judas betrayed Jesus to the Romans for a purse of 30 pieces of silver in the Garden of Gethsemane. He later hung himself.
According to limited extracts of the gospel of Judas offered to the Herald, Jesus explains Judas his role in the crucifixion: "You will exceed all of them.

For you will sacrifice the man that clothes me."

In other key passages released to the public, Jesus confides: "Step away from the others and I shall tell you the mysteries of the kingdom. It is possible for you to reach it, but you will grieve a great deal."

For his role Judas would be despised by the other disciples: "You will be cursed by the other generations and you will come to rule them." The gospel ends: "They [the arresting party] approached Judas and said to him. 'What are you doing? You are Jesus's disciple'. Judas answered them as they wished. And he received some money and handed over to him.

As well as the gospel of Judas, the newly discovered 66-page document also contained a text titled James, a letter of Peter to Philip, and a fragment of a fourth text scholars are provisionally calling Book of Allogenes.

Thanks ... I think :shock: :shock:

Looks like Judas may have played his last game.

Manly captain Jamie Lyon might have played his final NRL game after aggravating a hamstring injury.

Battling hamstring issues for most of the year, Lyon hurt it again in Friday's captain's run, preventing him playing in his side's 38-18 loss on Saturday evening to Melbourne.

He is considered a long shot to play next week in the Sea Eagles' final home game of the year.

"Unlikely mate, which is a massive shame for us. Whilst he'll do everything he can to get there, it's not looking great at this stage and he's devastated, obviously," coach Trent Barrett said after the defeat.

"That's something we'll have to manage and cross our fingers and toes that he can, because he's been a wonderful, wonderful player for the club and we want to send him out on the right note."

https://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2016/08/20/sea-eagle-lyons-nrl-career-might-be-over

ash411

How long until we ressurect the "New NSWRL club, The Parramatta Eels is formed" thread from 1947...