Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons In No Hurry To Sign Mary

Dragons 09

Madge is the only decent coach who may be available at season's end. The Dragons would be mad to appoint Mary over Madge.

Stranger things have happened possm (think, signing Mary in the first place!:rolleyes:) but i really can't see Madge even being spoken about within the circles of our hierarchy. It seems evident to me, that the club has embarked on a complete shift of strategy with the way our football department is going to operate moving forward.

We seem to be adopting an NFL style of operation where a core group of people are responsible for juggling finances and putting together a roster that compliments a vision of what the club believes will bring success. The coach then becomes secondary and their role is to just concentrate on preparing the team they have been given by polishing a predetermined team plan strategy (in our case, the "power game"), to exploit opposition weaknesses and with the help of his staff (assistant coaches, skills coaches, fitness and sports scientist guru's, behavioral specialists, "consultants" etc), develop the skills of the players at their disposal. This type of strategy is a bit left field in NRL circles, but if our results so far this year are even partly as a result of this, then i applaud management for their vision and willingness to admit that what we have been doing for the last 5 years simply had to change.

I think Gus had a similar vision for Penrith but he couldn't help himself and started majoring in minors and tried to micro manage everything himself.

Therefore back to Madge. If the above is the route we are going down (and everything i have seen and heard makes me believe we are), then Madge does not fit the criteria of a suitable coach under such a regime. This type of structure is all about plotting a long term vision and having "drop in - drop out coaches" that work within the vision and avoiding coaches who want complete control of the entire operation and demanding God like status.

Life's Good

Lol. Ronald McDonald is an upgrade on Mary.

Straight Shooter

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I admire your consistency and dogged determination in taking every opportunity to take a shot at the club/Mary/fellow supporters, which you are perfectly within your right to do. Heck, I have done the same(not even renewed my season ticket after 25yrs) and felt entirely justified in doing so. Having said that I have no problem conceding Mary is turning the tide and the club is getting some things right - this is my opinion, which I am entitled to. Out of curiosity, regarding your displeasure for Mary, did he:

Steal your lunch money??
Take your seat on the train??
Forget to finish painting your house??
Not pick you in a game of handball??
Sleep with your girlfriend/sister/wife??

Old Kogarah Boy 1

I reckon the Club has already got a coach in mind who is currently under contract and who's current club is happy to see him move on. No announcement as yet because neither party wants to upset the apple cart. Welcome aboard Mage - GF win in 2018.

Wow..... that one is out of left field.

It may be the case if Mary continues to do well this season, Doust will announce at a later date that an extension has been granted.

I'd be surprised if he got bumped. He'd have to have a shocking second half of the season to be flicked, you would think.

BennyV

Robinson NO. He won one GF with a team bought by his mate Uncle Nick. 3 minor premierships with no other sliver wear in the cupboard. He is an imposter of a coach.
Lol dafuq?!

3 minor premierships and a premiership in 4 years of coaching NRL...what a plank!!

Wow..... that one is out of left field.

It may be the case if Mary continues to do well this season, Doust will announce at a later date that an extension has been granted.

I'd be surprised if he got bumped. He'd have to have a shocking second half of the season to be flicked, you would think.

I'm really dismayed by people heralding baldy's sudden coaching abilities based on a handful of games. I'm convinced most of you are of school age - full of teen naiveties.

The simple question is this: can the club recruit a better coach? Universally the answer must be yes. We ALL know that Mary would be on the employment scrapheap if the Dragons moved him along. No other club would go near the bloke, despite the last 6 odd weeks.

Why should we settle for Mary when nearly anyone else is better. He's been stripped of duties and dignity, yet the baldy c#*t remains. And most of you teens are now on the half-coach bandwagon. Astonishing.

I'm thoroughly sick of the boys club and I'm thoroughly sick of settling for second best. The real world does not operate the way this club functions. The club, by relinquishing his duties, is effectively carrying the head coach, for heavens sake. Although this neatly fits into their agenda of selfishly maintaining individual roles. Nothing is for the good of the club. Even the great Mark Coyne has well and truly settled his snout in the family trough.

Straight Shooter

Crush

I'm really dismayed by people heralding baldy's sudden coaching abilities based on a handful of games. I'm convinced most of you are of school age - full of teen naiveties.

The simple question is this: can the club recruit a better coach? Universally the answer must be yes. We ALL know that Mary would be on the employment scrapheap if the Dragons moved him along. No other club would go near the bloke, despite the last 6 odd weeks.

Why should we settle for Mary when nearly anyone else is better. He's been stripped of duties and dignity, yet the baldy c#*t remains. And most of you teens are now on the half-coach bandwagon. Astonishing.

I'm thoroughly sick of the boys club and I'm thoroughly sick of settling for second best. The real world does not operate the way this club functions. The club, by relinquishing his duties, is effectively carrying the head coach, for heavens sake. Although this neatly fits into their agenda of selfishly maintaining individual roles. Nothing is for the good of the club. Even the great Mark Coyne has well and truly settled his snout in the family trough.

Straight Shooter
Are you calling most of the forum adolescents?
Bahahahaha.
From the biggest baby on here.....

Life's Good

Straight Shooter
Insightful. I fully agree there are better qualified coaches in the NRL - Bellamy, Henry, Hasler, Green, Robinson, Cleary spring to mind. Thing is, they aren't available. So with that, who of the readily available candidates eg. not currently coaching would you choose to replace Mary.

MilanDragon

Insightful. I fully agree there are better qualified coaches in the NRL - Bellamy, Henry, Hasler, Green, Robinson, Cleary spring to mind. Thing is, they aren't available. So with that, who of the readily available candidates eg. not currently coaching would you choose to replace Mary.

OV doesn't provide solutions and answers, just points out the flaws/negatives.

The Doc

Straight Shooter
So by your theory, Widdop wouldnt attract any clubs?
Vaughan is a shit player too?
I mean there last year was as bad as any so going by what your saying they are still shit and no club would go near them either?
On Mary, are you familiar with Haslers first year as coach?
Or do you think a super coach is a super coach from the get go?
No one is saying mary is a super coach, but as it stands atm, with his team sitting on top of the ladder, he isnt a super coach but HE CAN COACH.
Its time you give it a rest and give the guy some credit for the season so far!
To still bag your team when they are sitting on top of the table is laughable at dude!
Have whatever issues you want with management, but stop bagging the actually team when they are going this good.
Its moronic how you think.

but as it stands atm, with his team sitting on top of the ladder, he isnt a super coach but HE CAN COACH.

How do you form that opinion on 6 good weeks from a disastrous 3 years?!!! Even Fittler and Taylor experienced their intermittent successes.

#logicfail

Straight Shooter

The Doc

How do you form that opinion on 6 good weeks from a disastrous 3 years?!!! Even Fittler and Taylor experienced their intermittent successes.

#logicfail

Straight Shooter
If you can honestly say, that you can in no way shape or form give any credit at all to the coach for the team sitting first on the competion table then all i can say to you is
#GoF@ckYourSelf
#YourNothingButAF@ckingWanker
#DoTheTeamAFavourAndF@ckOff
You wouldnt know your head from your ass when it comes to rugby league.
Have an issue with the CEO and board all you like.
Those issues and anger are understandable.
But to bag the team and coach, when they are giving us fans what we have been craving for 5 years, thats just weak.
The board issues bother you so much? Then go do something about it!
All you do is sit and bag the team out.
F#ck off, honestly, iv waited patiently for 5 years to see my team winning games.
I dont give a f#ck who the coach is, what players are selected where, as ling as my team is winning.
And they are.
News flash sherlock, mary is the coach
Of a team that is coming first. Head and shoulders above other teams.
So far he has proven He CAN coach... thats a fact...
Anyways, your dribble gets boring.
Change your name to suicidal parrot.
That suits your persona alot more champ.
Oh when the saints... oh when the saints go marching iiiiinnnnn....
I wanna beeeee in that....
Come on suicidal parrot, sing along hahahahahahaha

OV is actually quite correct in saying that 2017 season to date does not wash away all the dirt and grime accumulated post 2010.
If Mary has found his mojo in coaching, then what was management doing lumbering him or allowing him as a rookie coach to take on all the additional duties, he has said he has now discarded?
So Bzzzz to management for that.
If Mary hadn't done all that shit could we have been in a better position in 2015 & 2016 most likely yes.
So Bzzzz Mary for being a control freak.
Anyone who thinks Mary got to this position in 2017 of his own accord is ignoring reality and the truth.
So Bzzzz all those people for harbouring foolish thoughts.
The real difference this year is that someone external had to come in and sort it out, tell Mary and the management what to do and in fact they may very well be doing his job for him.
OV's contention that there are better coaches than Mary is quite correct and it should be our mission to upgrade the coach to the highest level we can achieve. After all that is what the management and recruitment team are paid the big bucks for "to get the best possible outcome everytime".
Coaches just liike players will break contract agreements when it suits them, so the real question is, what is it we can offer that suits an elite coach to come to us?
By all means enjoy the season thus far but to ignore history is courting disaster in itself.

Crush

Isn't it convenient, the team is winning so it must be the influence of Mark Coyne and Co and Mary is still shit. So if the team starts losing will that be Mark Coynes fault or McGregors?

The Doc

Isn't it convenient, the team is winning so it must be the influence of Mark Coyne and Co and Mary is still shit. So if the team starts losing will that be Mark Coynes fault or McGregors?
Come on crush.... learn the rules mate...
If we win the grand final... we give credit to everyone but mary/CEO/board.....
If we win the wooden spoon... we give all blame to mary/CEO/board....
Rule 101 upon entering the forum...
*no credit to mary
*no credit to doust
*no credit to board (justifiable)
*all blame to mary
*all blame to doust
*all blame to board
*Whinge... sook... sulk... criticise... at all times.
*Do not be happy!
*Do not give credit where its due under any circumstance!!!
*Be negative at all times
Follow these rules and your good as gold on here champ lol

The Doc

OV is actually quite correct in saying that 2017 season to date does not wash away all the dirt and grime accumulated post 2010.
If Mary has found his mojo in coaching, then what was management doing lumbering him or allowing him as a rookie coach to take on all the additional duties, he has said he has now discarded?
So Bzzzz to management for that.
If Mary hadn't done all that shit could we have been in a better position in 2015 & 2016 most likely yes.
So Bzzzz Mary for being a control freak.
Anyone who thinks Mary got to this position in 2017 of his own accord is ignoring reality and the truth.
So Bzzzz all those people for harbouring foolish thoughts.
The real difference this year is that someone external had to come in and sort it out, tell Mary and the management what to do and in fact they may very well be doing his job for him.
OV's contention that there are better coaches than Mary is quite correct and it should be our mission to upgrade the coach to the highest level we can achieve. After all that is what the management and recruitment team are paid the big bucks for "to get the best possible outcome everytime".
Coaches just liike players will break contract agreements when it suits them, so the real question is, what is it we can offer that suits an elite coach to come to us?
By all means enjoy the season thus far but to ignore history is courting disaster in itself.
Live in the present not in the past OT.
If shits the same as it was then by all means complain...
But if its improved, and this year its improved 1000% (look at the ladder)
Then be happy with what today has given you instead of sooking about 5 years ago.
We all wanted a winning team...
WE ALL HAVE A WINNING TEAM THATS COMING FIRST...
Lets enjoy where we are today rather then sook and whinge about where we were last year.

ALSGI

#logicfail

Straig
Come on crush.... learn the rules mate...
If we win the grand final... we give credit to everyone but mary/CEO/board.....
If we win the wooden spoon... we give all blame to mary/CEO/board....
Rule 101 upon entering the forum...
*no credit to mary
*no credit to doust
*no credit to board (justifiable)
*all blame to mary
*all blame to doust
*all blame to board
*Whinge... sook... sulk... criticise... at all times.
*Do not be happy!
*Do not give credit where its due under any circumstance!!!
*Be negative at all times
Follow these rules and your good as gold on here champ lol

Can we seek to amend one rule:

If we win the grand final... we give credit to everyone but mary/CEO/board..

I'd marry my daughters to them if we f**king win the GF this year ...(if I had any !!! hahahaha)

Then be happy with what today has given you instead of sooking about 5 years ago.
Lets enjoy where we are today rather then sook and whinge about where we were last year.

Yep, well said Doc that's sort of what I was thinking originally when I read OT's post.
I don't think OT was really complaining, or sooking, rather he was being
objective and factual rather than blindly euphoric like some of us. No doubting his wisdom.
But , I reckon f**k factual while we're first, who cares right.
"There'll be time for counting when the dealings' done"

I don't know how many times this has to be stated but people still don't want to accept that this squad and coaching style are worlds away from 2015/2016! Forget this folly of another coach - Hasler and Cleary not coming and the longer we continue not only winning but playing with new found confidence,the most likely McGregor will get an extension...
How about a sensible plan. Why don't we wait till end of season and sign the best available coach.

The Doc
You need to read all my recent posts before passing such silly judgement on me.
I have been upbeat and rejoiced in the better results of this year and given praise to those whom I normally reserve scorn for.
I expressed an opinion on OV's post and merely pointed out that some of his post is essentially quite correct and indeed relevant.
Whilst you say live in the present 2016 is the immediate past and being reflective to 2011 is not exactly ancient history.
That whole period was so atrocious that people are rejoicing the start to 2017 and saying nothing before matters or has relevancy which is ridiculous.
With the way we have started and the euphoria people are revelling in a minimum top 6 or in fact top 4 finish should be the expectation after normal rounds.
If we were to fall in a hole and miss that position as has been the case previously how would we describe the events up to now?
The euphoric people will say
Oh well it was great whilst it lasted
We are on the improve
We will do better next year

Would they be willing to say
Yet another false Dawn
It was merely and ectopic pregnancy
Other teams were slow to get their shit together which we capitalised on and when they lifted we couldn't go with them so another let down.

The answer to the above will only be known later in the year so no need to ridicule those that are more reticent in their approach to the season thus far. We will only know if the leopard has changed its spots in the fullness of time.
As I said before a cock that crows too early can meet with a swift death.