Foxtel Now

Discussion in 'Go ahead!...ask us anything!' started by Generalzod, May 15, 2018.

  1. Generalzod

    Generalzod Coach

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    1,829
    Can you be on any broadband network to use the foxtel now streaming service????
     
  2. Pommy

    Pommy First Grade

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9,337
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Yes
     
    Generalzod likes this.
  3. Generalzod

    Generalzod Coach

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13,528
    Likes Received:
    1,829
    Thanks
     
  4. SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey Coach

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    18,538
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    As far as I know it would actually be illegal for Foxtel to restrict the service to Telstra customers only as that would be classed as third line forcing. However I think Telstra might offer it unmetered (which isn’t really relevant for fixed line broadband as pretty much everyone is on unlimited data anyway, but can be pretty handy on mobile/wireless plans).
     
  5. Pommy

    Pommy First Grade

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9,337
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    It wouldn’t make much sense for Fox to try and restrict it to one network anyway. This is essentially them trying to give a legal alternative to downloads and save their business in the process.
    They would still prefer you paid a fortune to be locked in to a big package but came to the realisation that people were just refusing to do that anymore.
     
  6. hellteam

    hellteam First Grade

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    82
    Foxtel now is a pretty poor product in my opinion. from my experience anyway. Constant stutter (mainly during live sport). Played around with all the display settings, does nothing. I have fast NBN too. Seems like a problem with the Foxtel now box.

    Never have any problems like that on the Optus Fetch Box.
     
  7. Munted

    Munted Juniors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    577
    Works great for me via Telstra tv 2 box.
    Also worked well on the original Telstra TV box.
    Have had both iinet and Telstra ,and nbn, adsl and cable and no major issues.
    The odd glitch and restart of app but that's expected.
     
  8. Pommy

    Pommy First Grade

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9,337
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    I have had to resort to streaming it via my phone and mirroring that to my Apple TV. The app that’s built in to my Samsung TV is just awful.
    Works fine the new way though although I don’t have sport so not sure on that front.
     
  9. Munted

    Munted Juniors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    577
    Pony up for a chromecast or a Telstra TV (roku) box.
    HD - ish and a decent user experience.
     

Share This Page