Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Ballin

Front-Rower

Not even close;

Lee Murphy
Terry Hill
Adam Blair
John Morris
Jason Moodie (Mk 2)
Ryan O'Hara
Jamal Lolesi
Owen Craigie
Terry Lamb

Do I keep going?

I still reckon Ballin is our worse signing even comparing those names. He basically hasn't been seen on the field. I should add that I definitely don't hate the guy. Craigie had a blinder the night my daughter was born. We were down by a tonne and he led a massive comeback. Hill had some great moments for us.

Tiger Woody

He is heaps worse than those two. Blair was good once he was moved to the middle of the park. Anasta was terrible but he played for us. Ballin has done nothing.
Totally agree...
Worst ever...At least the others PLAYED GAMES.
Does anyone know how many mitutes hes actually played for us?????
Madunit,get on the case...lol

BrotherJim05

Ballin was definitely the biggest lemon buy. He literally had like 20 minutes of game time in 2 years + a spastic coach who didn't want to play the SOO hooker in his place

I can't see how anyone thinks he wasn't the worst buy of all time. All I hear about is his mentoring abilities. He is about as useful as the merkins life coach.

sensesmaybenumbed

Not even close;

Lee Murphy
Terry Hill
Adam Blair
John Morris
Jason Moodie (Mk 2)
Ryan O'Hara
Jamal Lolesi
Owen Craigie
Terry Lamb

Do I keep going?

To be fair to J Mo, it's not his fault Sheen's kept on playing him at 7. He was a very handy utility.

I can't see how anyone thinks he wasn't the worst buy of all time. All I hear about is his mentoring abilities. He is about as useful as the merkins life coach.

He wasn't the worst buy of all time because unlike Blair, O'Hara or Anasta he didn't spend seasons onfield stinking it up.

How can't you understand that?

He wasn't the worst buy of all time because unlike Blair, O'Hara or Anasta he didn't spend seasons onfield stinking it up.

How can't you understand that?

I can understand exactly what you are stating. I think your opinion is wrong.

All those players you mention had some good moments for us. Ballin hasn't had a good or bad moment. He is like the waterboy that you employ except he has done less on the field than the waterboy.

sensesmaybenumbed

I can understand exactly what you are stating. I think your opinion is wrong.

All those players you mention had some good moments for us. Ballin hasn't had a good or bad moment. He is like the waterboy that you employ except he has done less on the field than the waterboy.
So you'd prefer someone to be out there playing terribly instead of off the field.

OK.

Clifferd

Difference is Ballin took a cheap contract so there was hardly any risk - plus he has benefited the development of our 2 current hookers

Basically feels like he's a hooker coach unfortunately signed on cap money

Whereas Blair took 500-600k a season, did 4 hitups a game and ran

Blair replaced Gibbs and Fifita

and produced half the work of those two.

A lazy defender as opposed to Gibbs who was one of the best in the NRL defensively.
Had poor post contact metres as opposed to Fifita who was one of the top 15 in the NRL at the time in this area.

Das Hassler

Hey Peter Brock.....try to look at it this way...Balin is ACTIVE in the development and specialised education of our two young hookers while hes not playing and not up the cross every second night getting frisked...he's GIVING SOMETHING for the 200K.....MM in particular has shown ability that wasnt seen at his previous clubs...in fact i'd be very happy ( for numerous reasons) if Balin took on an assistant coach role after officially retiring.

sensesmaybenumbed

Anasta is hands down our worst signing, the only positive about him signing was that because he did nothing, Brooks had an opportunity to showcase his talent.

Ballin is a lemon but was still playing reasonably good footy before he blew his knee out at Manly. Anasta was persona non grata with his efforts, or rather lack of. Then has the hide to lay the toe into the club in his media career because one of his TPA's fell through.

I normally have a firm belief that players should be left alone when out and about on personal business, but if the chance arose with Anasta, I'd stroll up to him, casually drop a bottle of gatorade on the table and say "There you go, poor dear."

Then send an invoice to the Wests Tigers and bitch and moan on national TV about the fact you didn't get you $4 reimbursement from the club.

rupertpupkin

Not even close;

Lee Murphy
Terry Hill
Adam Blair
John Morris
Jason Moodie (Mk 2)
Ryan O'Hara
Jamal Lolesi
Owen Craigie
Terry Lamb

Do I keep going?

As mentioned above, Hill didn't play too many games, but, when he did, he usually went great. Also mentioned was that Morris was a fine utility... as for being halfback, well, the poor bugger was destined to cop it, as he had to fill Prince's shoes. One thing he shined at doing was defence. How long has it been since the Tigers had a halfback who was a great tackler? J-Mo looks better by the day, in hindsight, IMO. Wasn't flash, but was a tough cookie. Could use some of that.

Front-Rower

Hill didn't play too many games, but, when he did, he usually went great.

He didn't have his heart in it playing for Wests Tigers. He couldn't wait to get back to Manly. Also, he should never of ever been bought back to the club after his Western Suburbs days.

On John Morris, the guy agreed to come here and play half-back. He is partly to blame. It's not like he was bought to play hooker and was forced to play out of position.

What's Bomber going to say? Oh you've offered me the best money but nah I'll knock you back because I'm not a halfbacks arsehole?

Sheens is the spud who placed him in the wrong position. He should have identified that Morris was struggling there but like Sheens was he was a silly stubborn merkin and kept him there to the detriment of the team. no surprises that Morris went on to play some of his best footy at the Sharks at hooker.