Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Team 2017

There's talent but I think he's at the very top. Only reason I wouldn't pick him is just because of his age but other then that he should be given a go.

I mean, what other left centres running around are better then him?

His defence and consistency need a lot of work. He's a superstar in the making but he hasn't made it yet.
At this point it would be like picking Jamal Idris back in 2009 or whenever it was.

I never remember who plays left/right. Not that fussed on it really, last year Latrell was a fullback anyway so it's not like he's a specialist, but:
Croker
Leilua
Josh Morris
Bird
Hayne
Peachey
Dugan
Ferguson
Jennings
Walker

all more likely this year.

I'd be picking Jack Bird and Jarryd Hayne as my centres personally.

His defence and consistency need a lot of work. He's a superstar in the making but he hasn't made it yet.
At this point it would be like picking Jamal Idris back in 2009 or whenever it was.

I never remember who plays left/right. Not that fussed on it really, last year Latrell was a fullback anyway so it's not like he's a specialist, but:
Croker
Leilua
Josh Morris
Bird
Hayne
Peachey
Dugan
Ferguson

all more likely this year.

I'd be picking Jack Bird and Jarryd Hayne as my centres personally.

Personally I think he's better then all those guys besides Hayne and that's IF he can get back to his best.

I'd go with Hayne on the left side and Ferguson on the right because I don't like Ferguson on the wing. But having Latrell maybe on the left wing next to Hayne wouldn't look too bad.

Personally I think he's better then all those guys besides Hayne and that's IF he can get back to his best.

I'd go with Hayne on the left side and Ferguson on the right because I don't like Ferguson on the wing. But having Latrell maybe on the left wing next to Hayne wouldn't look too bad.

I wouldn't pick Ferguson at centre, imo he's a bit overrated by selectors. But he tends to do the job well enough.

My backline right now is

1 Tedesco
2 Dugan
3 Bird
4 Hayne
5 Ferguson

But we have a lot of options. Fair few of the centres i list above can play wing. As well as blokes like Tommy Trbo. Pity Josh Mansauce is out.

I wouldn't pick Ferguson at centre, imo he's a bit overrated by selectors. But he tends to do the job well enough.

My backline right now is

1 Tedesco
2 Dugan
3 Bird
4 Hayne
5 Ferguson

But we have a lot of options. Fair few of the centres i list above can play wing. As well as blokes like Tommy Trbo. Pity Josh Mansauce is out.

Ferguson set up the match winner last year with that line break, give him some space and he can be devastating.

I wouldn't mind something like:

1. James Tedesco
2. Latrell Mitchell
3. Jarryd Hayne
4. Blake Ferguson
5. Tom Trbojevic
6. Matt Moylan
7. James Maloney

Clifferd

Who the f**k is Paul Crawley? Lol

Gotta be some special tard to think all of moylan, Tedesco and woods won't be in the team

I reckon Bulldogs team is more accurate

Id Fifita isn't your first prop picked you need to throw your team in the bin, give yourself an uppercut, and try again.

JUST IMO

I don't understand so much hype around Tom turbo, I'd have Lattrell Mitchell over him any day if the week.

RazorRam0n

I don't understand so much hype around Tom turbo, I'd have Lattrell Mitchell over him any day if the week.

they've both been great, but TT was great last year as well whereas mitchell was inconsistent.

like old mate chook fan said, he needs to prove consistency and defence. not 2 odd games of form

Mitchell is raw whereas Tom is more refined and consistent. Only thing holding back Tom is his physical developement and he's got a huge frame left to fill out. But yeah down the line I'd back Mitchell to become the better player of the two, he looks like a once in a generation type player.

DiegoNT

Id Fifita isn't your first prop picked you need to throw your team in the bin, give yourself an uppercut, and try again.

JUST IMO
Amen!
Fifita needs to start. He has been used off the bench in the past but it's unsuited to him. Most good props can go on 25-30 nowdays, Fifita is the best in that 10-25 minute period. He gets better as his stints goes. It's like he just getting a feel for the game as he goes and whether to offload or just tuck the under or what not. He is still good in that first 10 minutes, but the longer it goes the better he gets. Ditto for his return stint later in the game. The problem off the bench is that he is brought on to late in the half that it's halftime before he gets effective.

DiegoNT

Tedesco
Ferguson
Dugan
Bird
Trbo
Moylan
Maloney
Fifita
Wallace
-
Cordner (c)
Graham
Merrin

Peachy
Frizelle
-
-
The other 3 props is to hard to pick right now. Has to be one of
James, Boyd, Vaughan, Woods, Tamou, rcg, Klemmer

mozza91

Sounds like Pearce will get yet another shot.
Whats that old saying 'Fool me once shame on me. Fool me
16 times can somebody murder Laurie Daley and his dumbass selectors'?

RazorRam0n

Sounds like Pearce will get yet another shot.
Whats that old saying 'Fool me once shame on me. Fool me
16 times can somebody murder Laurie Daley and his dumbass selectors'?

pearce isn't the only common denominator, others are:

qld have 4 future hall of famers in their spine
nsw pick rubbish on form - buhrer walker etc..
nsw keep making wholesale changes to their team.

the game today is far too easily influenced by armchair critics and rival clubs that have club interests before state.

i remember when the blues dynasty was thriviing, the team selected itself. we'd have no issues putting fittler at lock to accomodate daley at 6 or daley at 4 and johns or toovey at 9 for kimmorley at 7 etc...back then it was picking the best from the state and sticking with them.

pearce is the best halfback in the state by a long way. he's not the reason we lose. if another player can prove himself better, he will make the test team etc like moylan,

i 100% agree with anasta pick the best players and let the side pick itself

mozza91

He's not the only reason we've lost but he's a massive part of it. He's been picked 15 times and is yet to have a good performance, his decision making and kicking have been deplorable. He's had way too many chances and doesn't deserve any more.