Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

POPEYE

Biggest problem with the Nines is that it is played too early because the NRL season is too long, only common sense is the remedy but that dam is dry. Cleary doesn't want his key players involved but like most coaches sees nothing wrong with trials, even watching the Cricket yesterday won't deter some clubs playing February in Alice, Cairns or training in the epitome of humidity, Penrith.

The Nines should be by invitation only, no need to force any player to participate and why would a 'rep' player want to if he already knows he's a rep player, enough games ahead without. I would of thought the Nines would attract players wanting to show how easy it is to play a game without being bashed by fresh forwards . . . something we all need to be reminded of

Seriously, what true Rugby League supporter would miss the Nines or the All Stars no matter who was playing, any that did surely couldn't be coerced into watching every game of a confused NRL season, so better the promoters of the Nines run it and Smith & Co concentrate on fixing something that is f**ked

Speaking of something that is f**ked, even the SMH, the thinking man's paper, has the story of Craig Field being sentenced for murder in their sport section. Since when has murder been a sport and how many people would consider the bloke a current Rugby League player. Could have been worse, imagine if 'the' terrorist once picked up a Steeden

POPEYE

Some good news filtering through the more important rubbish the media thrive on with the story on Tom Trbojevic and how he knocked back Des when in reality he knocked back SWS and who could blame him. Seagle supporters will be hoping they can nickname him Turbo as a not before time renaissance envelopes the club

No mistake, Manly is no less a satellite Rugby League team than Melbourne or Townsville, Cowboy coach Green desperately wants what the other two have, a culture born of isolation and exclusivity. Young Tom knows that once you're established a Seagle player you're entrenched in warm sand, all Des can offer is hot tar.

Finucane going to Melbourne, more good news, is great for the Storm but can't be too good for impressionable young players looking at the Dogs for a career. Seems Des is giving up on bash and barge and is going to try to win around the edges, by hook or crook. Pity Finucane missed out on beginning his career in a culture, Manly wouldn't have dumped him so readily . . . then again, I'm not complaining

POPEYE

Good to see Takairangi is getting a run with the Eels, there's something about the bloke, the right environment if he can find one may elevate him from the also rans. He is no worse than Champion and if Parramatta can have a year with a stable roster of their best players anything can happen.

Costigan to the Blackhawks is a good gig for him, Northern Queensland is going gangbusters atm and Townsville wants to rival the Pride. Won't be long and the Cowboys won't need anyone not accustomed to humidity, they certainly don't want another northern team in the NRL if they are to harvest the new crop

Shaun Johnson admitting he's not really the best player is a step up in my estimation of him, continually berating him for his erraticism doesn't mean I deny his talent or think he can't go all the way. At the moment he's a spoilt kid that needs to appreciate his toys but players like Hoffman will show the way, imo the bloke needs a 5/8 like Maloney

soc123_au

Johnson just needs a reliable forward pack. NZ pack > Warriors pack. If the Warriors can find some consistent go forward Johnson has the bag of tricks to take them all the way.

POPEYE

Wonder who's got a forward pack that needs a Johnson . . . maybe even more than a piece of Newcastle

POPEYE

The Luke Lewis use-by date was up in his last years at the Panthers, Cronulla don't need any player that isn't hands on deck most games, even Gallen will have to smarten up in that regard. The Sharks are not unlike the Titans who if they continue to pussyfoot around with fluctuating rosters will be canon fodder for f**kwits

Justin O'neill is another Lachlan Coote, most disappointing imo that they couldn't stay on the paddock long enough to establish greatness. There are a few players, Tedesco and Lewis included, that you keep your fingers crossed for the entire game but like Tony Mundine Senior it's just a glass jaw away from being the best.

Lewis has done enough in his career at international level, now is the time to let it be, even if I like to see his name bandied around when the Blues are being chosen

POPEYE

Crikey, I can't wait to see how some players handle the new season, top of the list of course is Blake Ferguson, now that he's had his nose rubbed in his own excrement and realises it does stink after all he may not want to celebrate his excellence so foolheartedly. Not sure which will be the most interesting , his pairing with RTS or Robbo

Imo believe it or not Adam Blair being let loose with a team that doesn't sanction losing is worth the wait, he'll make the same waves in a Broncos jersey as he did in a Melbourne jersey. At 28 the only way he is done is if you put him in a team that thinks structure is a humpy, I reckon he could have caused havoc in a Seagles jersey as well

Blake Austin won't have to look at the coach's box for instructions and I'm sure Sticky won't argue if what I think will happen happens. Should the rest of the Raiders players comprehend what he is doing and be ready for anything Austin will have the opposition scratching their heads. Could just as easily turn pear shaped if Stuart interferes

Imo Ennis is going to have far more profound affect on the Sharks than most people imagine, a team of discards and disadvantaged being led by a despot will be intriguing . . . Gallen will be captain in name only

I'm going to suffer crossed finger cramp every time Glenn Stewart runs out, if ever a player has flown under the radar more than this bloke I can't remember him. He's like the Teddy Bear a kid can't do without, inspiration personified and can win a game on the spur of the moment with the confidence he exudes . . . let's hope he doesn't have the stuffing knocked out

If there is a footy god, as much as I hate all religion, let Shaun Nona listen to Bellamy and become another Widdop, may he wrestle the ball away from Smith immediately after every try is scored

POPEYE

'Are you a fan of the game or club/culture?' is a most interesting thread, be interesting to compile a list not of names but variations of views. Old age has me only primarily interested in players and coaches as individuals, any disappointment must be easily relegated to elation by someone else

As I said in the thread I imagine most League 'supporters' follow a club and that seems to be the case, my mate is a 66 year old and almost fanatical one eyed one club supporter . . . no surprise it's Parramatta. I'm not trying to denigrate anyone for how they view League, he and I are good friends but have little in common in how we view the game

Naturally I advertise favouring Melbourne, by far the best way to attract attention if you want the younger generation to include you in piss taking/banter/discussion, but I feel sorry for people who miss so much by being blinkered or fall into antipathy. My mate spends the first half of most seasons in self induced optimism and the second half waiting for next year 'when it will all come together'

I'd advise anyone, no matter what age, to view the game as merely a unique set of rules that are played out by a unique group of participants, marvel at the talent on display and soak it all up. Players/coaches are real, everything else is either fantasy or bullshit.

I watch every game if humanly possible, analyse everything with my eyes alone, complain only about peripheral shit orchestrated by hangers on and most importantly appreciate the people that matter the most. No thing or no-one can come within a bull's roar of the people you see busting their guts

POPEYE

All the Mata'utia bros can't be equally talented, Matt Gidley must have other players in mind for at least one of their positions or he would have set their Mum up for life in a seaside home by now. She left Liverpool in 2000 for a reason only Blind Freddie couldn't understand and all that is needed apparently is her blessing on where the boys play

Surely Mat hasn't let his brotherly love cloud his judgement, if consideration for Kurt is an issue both need to be shown the door, not just one. There's a lot more at stake than losing three good players, a message has to be sent to future promising players that Newcastle is the place to be.

No need for brown paper bags in this case, the NRL hierarchy mightn't recognise a club's right to keep players it establishes in the top grade but the f**king insidious salary cap can't prevent Mum Mata'utia from banking a motza for a rainy day. Crikey, impressing her on the value of bringing up grandchildren in a safe environment can't be that hard even for a Gidley

May everyone on the forum stay in one piece over the festive season

POPEYE

All the grandkids full of tucker and occupied with their gifts the talk sooner or later gets around to footy and when people start to put shit on Melbourne for not 'producing juniors', whatever that f**king means, naturally I remind them that the Storm in reality is a relocated Qld team . . . incidentally NSW should also do the right thing and donate a team to Perth.

Anyway, back to the point which is the strength of the Qld Intrust Cup where Melbourne amongst others 'produce' their juniors and how important the Qld/NSW Cups are becoming. It is just as important to the welfare of Rugby League that these two competitions can be elevated substantially to be more than just feeders or depositories for the NRL

It's f**king great to sit back and marvel at what NRL quality players can do but most of us 'watchers' could only dream of emulating them. It's the non-dreamers League has to attract, giving them a desirable alternative to missing out on the pie in the sky.

There's no reason being satisfied with playing in State Cup Competitions can't be enough for the thousands of youngsters who might otherwise turn to another code. Great to have an elite NRL comp but the gap has to be closed between next best so that it can be made a dream. Rugby League needs the best Cup teams being capable of beating the worst NRL teams, no thought of relegation mind you, just sharing the dream

POPEYE

Old age is not so bad when you get the chance to sit back and listen to young wannabe wise heads argue the merits of a sport you've enjoyed for over 50 years, especially when they talk as though they've seen it all. The word 'never' loses it's value quicker than a Commodore the older I get, to hear 'the Nines will never be more than a novelty' brings back memories

To tell the truth over the years I've seen enough tackling, I now watch every NRL game because I can't get enough of players breaking the line, running lots of metres with blokes trying to catch them, 8 games a weekend is barely enough. I could easily handle the Premiership as we know it in it's manipulated form deteriorating more to where I wouldn't watch if a Nines competition was played every weekend as an alternative

As it is now a properly managed Nines comp can only get bigger and better because it can't come soon enough, the novelty would wear off if it was held mid season, much more quickly than Origin is wearing off for devotees of the Premiership. In reality the Nines is no more Rugby League than Union 7's is Union and I enjoy watching the 7's but I can't sit through the 15 man game.

As I've said before what we have now is the beginning of a new concept based on League that thrives on excitement, possibly one day will be out of the realm of all but the most agile Rugby League players and should not be confused with or threaten to replace the 13 man game. If the sponsors of the Nines make it more attractive than the dilapidated Premiership they can't be blamed if specialist players are attracted just as they are to Origin

Why is there talk of anything other than the task at hand. If players are obviously susceptible to lower body injury why play Nines. Why are people talking of Origin let alone players preparing for it before the Premiership has began. Why if Origin is supposed to be the best of the best aren't players selected because they have earned the right to play by guiding their club through a full season

People whinging about the Nines can only be doing so because they feel the Premiership is threatened by them, yet are content to see the Premiership ruined by Origin . . . like worrying about the size of your penis while knocking on a brothel door

Cloudsurfer

Have to agree with you, the Nines will become its own competition like the Sevens. The RU players in the 7s won't usually get the opportunity to be in the All Blacks (there are a couple of exceptions) and are even most likely fringe players in Super 15 (again with some exceptions) because it is a different game. Both are great as another pathway for players who can't crack it on a regular basis but have agility and speed to burn that would otherwise be wasted. 9s is the form of RL that could become the RL game to make it to the Olympics if the international side of it is promoted and gains traction - something I think that is bound to happen.

Being a Kiwi I don't get the hype for Origin because its so insular. Not saying its unimportant to those that are diehard but its hardly the pinnacle for anywhere else outside of the 2 states playing and it absolutely damages the regular season. I'll watch the games because they're on but could give 2 hoots about who wins - it's a glorified state championship imo and should be played at state level as the final to the Q/NSW comp.

POPEYE

My signature was Mascord's observation that the NRL should dictate to the media how the game is administered and not vice versa, not sure I want everything he says associated with my thinking. I reckon his attempt to justify his existence in a void is far better than his contemporaries, 'Buzz's Bullshit' ffs, but the ARLC would be foolhardy to buy into the ARU.

The ARLC has enough on it's plate already, swimming in an ocean of sports without a life preserver it doesn't need to beckon a fellow struggler to hang on. No, I reckon Mascord is just pulling the chain to let people know he's still in the building . . . like I'm doing now

There is some merit in the idea if Australia wants to win a gold medal in the Rio Rugby 7's. If the ARLC had partial control it could bring Te'o back from his sabbatical and mix him and a couple more agile hard hitters with Inglis, Tedesco, Ferguson and the like and #1 on the podium would be in the bag.

Ensuring Australia wins in Rio by using League players might attract world attention but that would only devalue Union even more, unless . . . the Sevens was replaced by the Nines and became an Olympic Games icon. Even the Yanks, suited to short spurt sport, would be attracted, the Poms would love to play League without a second half to lose in and the world would follow suit

I'm with Mascord, sensationalism for the sake of it when there's nothing else happening

POPEYE

Now is the time folks, all the so-called League experts who have the contacts and should be looking deeper into the nicer aspects of the game to try and sell stories but would rather wait for the next apocalypse are drought stricken. They'll be digging everywhere so what better time for forum dwellers to express their discontent if discontent is what the media thrive on

The sheila who sits on a tunnel and the bloke with a face beaten by a wire brush are running out of fresh powder for their muskets. The forum needs to fire up, nothing good mind you like what players are doing to ingratiate the game with the community. Follow the players around, capture them swearing, taking a piss or trying to dodge bouncers with brains smaller than their testicles, put it on social media for the vultures

I was pondering what would happen if a thread dedicated to good news alone with all negativity canned immediately was established as a sticky. How many of us would/could contribute, are we in fact as bad as the media we hate and enjoy contributing to their welfare. Anyway, have a happy new year everyone

POPEYE

Add Danny Wicks to Ferguson/Austin/Ennis/Nona/Blair/Stewart as players I can't wait to see have a great season, if Wicks has still got the speed he could do for the Eels what Lawrence has done for the Seagles. The bloke never appeared to me to be under a coach's control, not unlike Austin, let's hope any further moral indiscretion is far from his thoughts

Les Boyd went on to play more games for Warrington than he did for any other club, rising to hero status in the so doing, although I thought he was hard done by Jim Comans. With luck Wicks could be exactly what Arthur needs and vice versa, at least he gets another chance in Australia.

Maybe he won't be given the Australian Sports Medal for his contribution to Australia's standing in International Rugby League like Boyd was in 2000 but Eels supporters would love to chant his name as a replacement for Moi Moi if his potential is realised

oikee

Add Danny Wicks to Ferguson/Austin/Ennis/Nona/Blair/Stewart as players I can't wait to see have a great season, if Wicks has still got the speed he could do for the Eels what Lawrence has done for the Seagles. The bloke never appeared to me to be under a coach's control, not unlike Austin, let's hope any further moral indiscretion is far from his thoughts

Les Boyd went on to play more games for Warrington than he did for any other club, rising to hero status in the so doing, although I thought he was hard done by Jim Comans. With luck Wicks could be exactly what Arthur needs and vice versa, at least he gets another chance in Australia.

Maybe he won't be given the Australian Sports Medal for his contribution to Australia's standing in International Rugby League like Boyd was in 2000 but Eels supporters would love to chant his name as a replacement for Moi Moi if his potential is realised

I was reading your first post above on this page. (its on the top of page 5 now, i flipped over) I think we have some mumblings and grumblings by some coaches who cant see the forest for the tree's.
Cleary is one of em,,,,,,,,,,or,,,,,,,,,,or,,, he is playing games.

I can tell you one thing, and the NRL has to make sure they keep growing the nines and upping the prize money.
We all know money talks, bullshite walks.
Even Gus Gould would over-rule Cleary if say the Nines had a 3 weekend pre-season time line.
Where not only clubs could win a million dollars for 1st, lets say 500 thousand for 2nd, and 300 thousand for third.
(The rest get 100 thousand for entering)
Throw in some cash for top 3 players of the nines at each weekend. Again, lets say 100 thousand for best player, 70 thousand for second best, and 50 thousand for third). You watch the suckers go then. Nothing says try-harder than some green backs.
Add a prize for best try and best dressed, etc.

"That is for each weekend. the Prize Money, ! Not just for one weekend, each weekend has the same prize money on offer, and that is how you sell the Nines, it is all the players think about, Money, ask Falou the hungry grub. "

So with 3 weekends offering the same prize money, you tell me one club that would not be trying. ???

First weekend in Auckland, second weekend in Brisbane, and sell the third weekend to the city who bids the highest, probably Melbourne, they know the price of events to their city.
People love dressing up and having fun, "Dressed to the Nines". Again, marketing is needed.
Sell the 3 weekend series to Free to Air.

And again, this comes back to marketing, and promotion.
Our code really needs to lift it's game.
Instead of having Cleary whinge like a faking old grandmother.

oikee

P.S,,,,,,,,I am not saying pay that sort of money straight off, slowly increase the money when the event grows.
The NRL should have thrown in some extra prize money cash this year after such a successful event last year. They again failed to market this, so they are now one year behind.
I mean it would have only taken 2 or 300 thousand thousand to have the event at 3 million in Prize money.
???
You can see where i am coming from,... 3 million sounds better than 2.750 or whatever it is.
America would be all over this sort of promotion.

oikee

Arh bugger it. Anyone want to hear a interesting story. It only just happened today.
I will tell it anyhow.
I went out for a ride on my pushbike this morning, i normally go for a ride down to Queens-park here in Toowoomba, and up through the city main street for a ride.
The other day i brought home a carton of beer on the bike rack. I got plenty of looks i can tell you, as in "shite, you can carry a carton on the back of a pushbike". Yes you can.

Anyhow, i got home this morning and the Mrs is about to go shopping with her friend. We was at the front door and heard this almighty crash. I thought, wtf.
We both took off looking for what had happened, turns out the faking dining table had collapsed.

You could imagine the amount of faking books on this table to break a faking leg.
Now you are probably wondering where is this story heading.
Let me tell you.
I did not make a new years resolution like i said i was going to do, (give up drinking) what i did do was make a resolution to the Mrs that i was going to de-clutter. As in get rid of all those faking books on the dining table and all the other crap we have lying around.
:)
Funny hey, the faking dining table collapsed. Broke. (try and picture how many huge faking books i have on this table, we cant use it to eat off i have that many books on it).
I just fixed it, glued it and strapped it, and will de-clutter with new vigour having read the signs.

Funny how things work. A sign from above you might say.

Next new year's if i am pissing blood, that could be a sign. hehe

Speaking about new years, the Sydney fireworks looked like someone had accident-ly blown up the fireworks factory on TV, gee it was a mess. And the drone pictures looked like a cheap version of the original star-wars movie.

Compared to the absolute class of the Dubai fireworks display.

The best part of the Sydney fireworks was the fact Queensland had daylight savings, so i watched the new-year come-in at 11 o'clock and saved meself a hour's sleep.
That is what you call the new genY attention span. Why waste a hour of my time. :)

The NRL has to be careful they dont bore the fans as well. It's a me me me i want it now world.

Nice Beaver

Arh bugger it. Anyone want to hear a interesting story. It only just happened today.
I will tell it anyhow.
I went out for a ride on my pushbike this morning, i normally go for a ride down to Queens-park here in Toowoomba, and up through the city main street for a ride.
The other day i brought home a carton of beer on the bike rack. I got plenty of looks i can tell you, as in "shite, you can carry a carton on the back of a pushbike". Yes you can.

Anyhow, i got home this morning and the Mrs is about to go shopping with her friend. We was at the front door and heard this almighty crash. I thought, wtf.
We both took off looking for what had happened, turns out the faking dining table had collapsed.

You could imagine the amount of faking books on this table to break a faking leg.
Now you are probably wondering where is this story heading.
Let me tell you.
I did not make a new years resolution like i said i was going to do, (give up drinking) what i did do was make a resolution to the Mrs that i was going to de-clutter. As in get rid of all those faking books on the dining table and all the other crap we have lying around.
:)
Funny hey, the faking dining table collapsed. Broke. (try and picture how many huge faking books i have on this table, we cant use it to eat off i have that many books on it).
I just fixed it, glued it and strapped it, and will de-clutter with new vigour having read the signs.

Funny how things work. A sign from above you might say.

Next new year's if i am pissing blood, that could be a sign. hehe

Speaking about new years, the Sydney fireworks looked like someone had accident-ly blown up the fireworks factory on TV, gee it was a mess. And the drone pictures looked like a cheap version of the original star-wars movie.

Compared to the absolute class of the Dubai fireworks display.

The best part of the Sydney fireworks was the fact Queensland had daylight savings, so i watched the new-year come-in at 11 o'clock and saved meself a hour's sleep.
That is what you call the new genY attention span. Why waste a hour of my time. :)

The NRL has to be careful they dont bore the fans as well. It's a me me me i want it now world.

If I ever wanted to know how the mind of an insane person works, I just got my answer.

POPEYE

I wasn't sure if Oikee wasn't bellyache, he likes me to figure out by myself who he is, but neither are as dopey as they pretend to be . . . Oikee's just trying to outdo my insignificance

The best thing about the Nines is they may give the NRL the push it needs, nothing better than a new kid on the block to rock the boat that was content just making ripples