Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

lynx000

Good win for your boys last night pops. They had the rub of the green but were ruthless and clinical in taking advantage of it. Back to the drawing board for us, but this is what WB gets the big bucks for. If he can resurrect our season from here and make us some sort of threat in the finals he is a coaching genius. Seems to be some cracks appearing in the team.

POPEYE

The Storm are where they are because they now have something they've never had, the best forward pack in the game, when and if the club gets it's best backs on the field the Shield will be within their grasp . . . 'ruthless' atm is their only pathway

I'm more impressed with the Eels than any other this round, Arthur is 'Coach of the Year' so far this season, the bloke deserves to be leading a new franchise to glory instead of perpetuating his frown at the grubby head of Parramatta River. The Eels were great last night, with better refereeing they could have toppled the Sharks who were at their best

lynx000

The Storm are where they are because they now have something they've never had, the best forward pack in the game, when and if the club gets it's best backs on the field the Shield will be within their grasp . . . 'ruthless' atm is their only pathway

I'm more impressed with the Eels than any other this round, Arthur is 'Coach of the Year' so far this season, the bloke deserves to be leading a new franchise to glory instead of perpetuating his frown at the grubby head of Parramatta River. The Eels were great last night, with better refereeing they could have toppled the Sharks who were at their best

I would not disagree with your assessment. To hold that place together and have them playing as well as they are with all of the distractions of this season, it is a fantastic coaching effort. I would have also have Neil Henry up there for what he has achieved with his squad.

POPEYE

We've had 3 games so far that were probably worth the exercise of turning up to, I can't remember the last game I went through a turnstyle to see so I'm only guessing what the process entails nowadays

I let the Roosters down according to my missus by only watching half the game, longnecks early in the day never used to make me fall asleep, time for a rethink. I certainly won't bother to watch a Dogs' winning replay even if the game was worthy of an admittance fee or to find out if Robbo was right

I thought the Sharks/Eels game by far the best of the six I've watched in their entirety, could have been made better if officialdom hadn't of been influenced by the 'need' to punish Parramatta. Ironic that by the end I wanted my favoured cup winner to lose this game

If the NRL had known the Raiders/Knights would turn out to be one of the three worth paying to see I wonder would they have appointed Nose & Gnome to referee . . . almost poetic

Of the rest . . . Bronco 'haters' beware, it could be your team they bounce back on . . . Titans are much better than what we saw but the Rabbitohs aren't . . . the Panthers are bereft of ideas moreso than they are of talent

We have the Seagles/Dragons left to give us a 50% pass for the round

POPEYE

Nothing worth documenting from last night, although the Dragons should be happy DCE made some shit choices in a first 40 in which that amount of possession would have won 3 games . . . score could have been anything

I could talk about the pisspoor NSW centre pairing but The State of Wank is not worth the effort . . . I am interested to see if the NRL will listen to Jabba's call for the 'normal' comp to be suspended while the creampie takes place

Speaking of Centres, there's only two places Inglis can go to resurrect his career . . . back to Melbourne where his required input has always been understood or to ESL where if Joel/Dave/Kurt/Chris are legendary he would become the new Messiah

Addendum: Great to hear Garry Jack's son has ostracised the prick . . . a 25 carat arsehole

POPEYE

Let's see what can be salvaged from this round, more I hope than from my fishing escapades. I reckon the Eels will be better with Takairangi playing, Jennings is either too comfortable or running in thongs. Robson could surprise playing alongside a fairdinkum halves partner. Ferguson and Guerra aren't setting the world on fire so the Roosters may still rock the boat

Dogs in a gunfight with the Tigers who have brought only a knife, neat trick if you know how to wrangle it . . . never know, there could be a misfire

Mansour will be a big loss but still, if the Panthers can't beat the Sharks' Reserves there will be hell to pay. I hope Zak is aware of the opportunity that awaits him, without Maloney this game should be an enthralling free-for-all . . . well done NRL

If we think a Penrith loss would be a disaster Sticky may as well be Captain of the Titanic if the Raiders go down to the Cowboy Seconds. Maybe the NRL think NQ can afford to forfeit a game because they won the cup last year or wink wink, nudge nudge . . . got to make the 8 look as though it means something

Friday night's game the only one to bet responsibly on if you're under .05

and I almost forgot, not only has Toddy made Sunday too far away he has excelled with this round's jigsaw puzzle

POPEYE

You may not think it a big deal this thread surviving the forum reconfiguration but that I'm still here is enough for me to mull over this morning . . . while there's life there's hope. I'm as computer literate as Rothfield is scary, I'll need instruction to avail myself of any decorations so what you see is all I know how to give

Excuses aside, I could talk about Felise Kaufusi to fill the void, when I first saw his name in conjunction with Melbourne I thought wtf, Bellamy really is a glutton for punishment. Having done with Antonio more than any subsequent coach could did he really need Felise on his drawing board. Watching Felise begin his career I thought of a young Blair . . . are the penalties worth it

If you think transforming NAS from a Union Bumbler into a proper footy player was awe inspiring reading that Felise is 18th man for Qld is remarkable, the bloke has stepped up every game more than I thought he would from first appearance

POPEYE

As much as I dislike getting involved in the Origin debacle I must reiterate the reason I turned traitorous against NSW all those years ago is still there to comfort my decision. Being a RL purist is the be all end all for me, there is no room for dubious agendas in sport, after years of ludicrous selections I offer no apology for preferring Qld's philosophy

Adam Reynolds may be a great player when he is online but to chose a bloke so physically unreliable in this sphere is dumb, the bookies would give odds against him finishing a game let alone starting one. F**king around with halves pairings is suicide, Qld losing Cronk with a broken arm was enough to save NSW from complete ignominity

Given that Maloney was the saviour of the Warriors/Roosters/Sharks the least NSW could do is give him someone he's familiar with as a partner. Townsend/Pearce/Bird would be a better proposition for NSW than any other 'ring-in' like Reynolds or Moylan. NSW will go into Origin once more needing luck . . . a fine State of affairs

POPEYE

All is as it should be, Robbo now has nowhere near the excuses that Arthur has, no Eeyore Foran or f**king Wink Wink Radradra who not only doesn't want to play but now will milk getting paid without playing. The Eels soon may not be playing for enough points to win a cup but Arthur is definitely playing for points to win a DM

Good job Gordon is going to the Roosters if you're a fan, Latrell can't position himself well enough to play Fullback, like Inglis his inability to turn on a dime won't matter and he'll run roughshod in the Centres

If f**kwit Cecchin's brainsnap in allowing a grounded player to be dragged in-goal had of changed the result I would never have gone to another Mardis Gras

POPEYE

The last time I was a one-eyed wanker, as opposed to being normally so, was when fully pissed I ran through a screen door celebrating Dopey John Monie finally getting a 4th cup for the Eels. Gibson couldn't take any more of Fitzy which prevented Parramatta winning 6 in a row . . . with Cronin so went I, no more one-eye madness, Rugby League itself my only god

Now that it's official the Eels are to be punished because they come from Parramatta I will not return to wearing a patch but I will defend them with as much vigour as I do Melbourne. Manly of the 70's/80's were the catalyst for needing a salary cap, denigration of other clubs the reason, preventing teams from keeping players they nurture has the NRL as nothing more than a f**king Kangaroo court

Since Parramatta has been deprived of paying Hayne what he wanted or returning Falou to where he belongs it's easy to forgive them for the one consequential 'poach' of Foran, which as it turns out meant sweet f**k all. As of today I have another reason to declare the NRL my sworn enemy, they have no f**king idea of what is necessary to remove RL from the Dark Ages of Manipulation

POPEYE

During the years Barba was off the boil I never hesitated claiming him a dud so I owe it to the bloke to recognise his resurgence this year. Flanno must therefore be the supercoach I wanted him to be so I'm happy to have ejaculated prematurely on Ben's behalf

Penrith are collectively one of the dumbest teams in the comp, I refuse to believe Hook is responsible for the last tackle displays, the Panthers appear to believe an option is for the drive home. Passing the ball consistently too far from the line didn't help to fool the Sharks who evidently followed Flannigan's instructions to the letter

Wouldn't be surprised to see Hardaker share a plane with Burgess, the conversation would go along the lines . . . "f**k that shit"

POPEYE

Sorry folks, I can't let a bucketload of irony escape that easily, woke up busting for a leak so now I have to share. Surely one of the few teams that the salary cap was designed to 'save' and now has 5 salted away for Wednesday's Dead Rubber . . . sounds like a condom with a hole doesn't it . . . must be over the top

Even though it backfired how did Toddy G know that Guru Gus's mob was going to face the premiership leaders. How did he get the scheduling so perfect so as to protect us from Flanno's Fudgers. Maybe we should have an in-depth analysis to discover how much fudging has taken place

Let's begin with Wade Graham, did the Sharks 'poach' or was he forced to leave his beloved Penrith because he was badly undervalued. We all know how much the prized Gallen is sought after by other clubs. Maloney is a mercenary granted but was he also devalued by the Roosters who were looking for a scapegoat. Jack Bird wasn't worthy of a Red V and Fifita was playing 80 minutes for the Tigers NSW Cup team

Of the players left out of Origin we have Heighington, Barba, Lewis, Tagatese, Prior, Ennis, Brown etc all grateful to find a refuge from ESL and who the f**k counted on Flannigan coming back from exile . . . irony personified

Maybe the greatest irony from last night rests with Jabba, instead of throwing around invitations to outsiders from all points maybe he should have given a desperately needed Cool Hand Luke and One Way Wade an invite to stay

POPEYE

To not have a sense of humour is nearly as bad as being a one-eyed wanker, after Penrith let me down all that was left was the Raiders to run roughshod over the Cowboys . . . 'f**k Origin' means more to me than 'Yippee Ki-yay' this round

As it turned out I could only garner a half smile, would have been none at all if Thurston had of played, he was all that was needed to have Sticky jumping up and down trying to see over the hump. I did get a giggle when the commentators told us that Canberra is now only one point behind NQ. Maybe I should learn how to text, ask the Tooth Fairy if Green's mob are really that bad

POPEYE

As long as he doesn't hit a woman and is actually witnessed giving urine samples CN could be exactly what RL needs. He'd have to be a whole lot smarter than ESL Todd and is already twice the player so can you imagine how much interest RL's version of James Dean would attract

All he need do is rub a finger over his gums and wave to the girls outside a brothel now and again, none of that canine carnal knowledge, pissing on cop cars, shitting in hallways kind of stuff . . . just remain a dubiously lovable larrikin, nothing like the dastardly devious NRL Todd

What if CN's Eels dressed in black were to play JT's Cowboys dressed in white in the 'grand' final, now that would put to shame anything Jarryd could come up with. As long as we don't let the media ruin a good thing, properly managed and with parental guidance a little anti-hero hysteria combined with the truckloads of wankers already chafing at the bit could put League back where it belongs . . . crikey I miss Terry being allowed to take Ellery out

POPEYE

So what do we have left to begin the 2016 salvage with, if Dugan hasn't choked on his Pal overnight Dragons/Titans should be an interesting game. For Mary's sake I hope we don't read tomorrow that Benji has fluked it, let his mob win without being Marshalled . . . the Dragons need to move on

Got to be a good win for the Warriors, nothing else will suffice, methinks most outsiders would rather be an eel than an eagle as distasteful as it sounds

Broncos to begin the first night of the rest of their lives, even if it is a Saturday. Souths have been without Te'o for so long now they are just about a write-off. If Benny can't get his lot up for this game England won't swing like a pendulum do

No comment on Knights/Storm, too big a risk of catching Weidlers' Disease

Penrith can't lose this one can they. I suppose if the Sharks can beat them without their 'five' the Eels can win with Corey shouting from the sideline. If so Hook will need to start shopping for back armour

Imo Latrell would be far more effective playing Centre, he and SKD could run amok in a perfect world. Since the Roosters' world is not perfect without Maloney or a specialist Fullback we'll have to presume Pied Piper Flannigan will continue on his merry way . . . even without F**kwit Fifita