Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 (2008) Ninjas v Titans

Forum 7s - Round 2 2008
CHUCK NORRIS TEXAS DEATH NINJAS v GOLD COAST TITANS
jersey_ninjas_1.gif
-v-
jersey_titans_1.gif

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.
Naming Teams:
* 5v5 + 2 reserves each
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named
ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wednesday 9 April 2008 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: Willow
Venue: RELIANT STADIUM
**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

Robster

GOLD COAST TITANS F7s TEAM:
titan.jpg

1 Amadean
6 Titsandtans
7 Titans_Uranis
9 Robster (c)
11 Titanic

Reserves
8 GC_Gladiator
13 Show_Pony

paulquinn49

CNTDN team for Round 2

paulquinn49 (c)
Titties (c)
jamesgould (vc)
Freddo (vc)
Halatia (vc)

Raider Azz (vc)
Edambomb (c)

Robster

*Robster leads his team out for Gold Coasts first ever f7s Match*
-------------------------------------------------------------
Samoa – The Next Heavy Weight of Rugby League.

samoanzy7.jpg

For years fans and critics alike have described International Rugby League as a complete “joke” because there are only three high profile nations that totally outshine the rest. Outside and far behind we have always had France, except in the Fifties, with the rest of the minnows being streets apart. As much as readers may think I’m complete bollocks, I will put my neck on the line and say “Samoa will be contenders for the 2008 Rugby League World Cup”.

If Samoa even come close to beating either New Zealand, England or Australia then this will be regarded by many as a Rugby League miracle but in my view this goal is not only not impossible but it also evolved into a Rugby League dream climaxing with Nigel Vagana lifting the World Cup for his Samoan tribe.

You might think that there’s more truth in between a toilet seat than me talking Samoa up but look below, take note of the mighty Samoan starting 17 as I see them and feel the power:

1- Malo Solomona (Warriors).. Solmona plays for New Zealand Warriors. Yet to make his his NRL debut however with his qualities he brings to the Warriors Under 20’s team along with his speed and ability under the high ball, fullback will prove to be the correct slot for this tyro.

2- Francis Meli (St Helens). Born in Apia, Samoa. This Jonah Lomu-like player will provide the guts of the Samoan fierce backline. Along with his speed, power and his high try-scoring ability, Francis will be a weapon of mass destruction for his nation of birth.

_44144015_talau203.jpg

3- Willie Talau (St Helens). Willie is renowned for his physical strength and clinical finishing. Very much a center version of his teammate Francis Meli, he adds massive experience which will prove vital for his home tribe.

4- George Carmont (Wigan). The former captain is like a rock on the field, and although you won’t see Carmont doing anything spectacular, fans will always go home happy with the solid overall structure he brings to the game.

5- Matt Utai (Bulldogs). Aka in the NRL as the “pocket rocket”. He has been compared by many critics to the former Melbourne winger ‘Marcus Bai’. His strong darts, strength and pace make him a truly effective finisher.

6- Nigel Vagana (South Sydney). The cult hero and rallying force on which his magnificent tribe is hinged. Nigel brings huge ‘mana’ and pride into his beloved Samoan team along with his world class skills and brilliance in attack combined with his punishing defense.

tony_motu_hull_d.jpg

7- Motu Tony (Hull FC). Solid player who will never let you down. Cheeky runs and a good passing game will be the core of the Samoan’s attack.

8- Joe Vagana (Bradford). Experienced, strong and powerful. Everything a team looks for in a prop.

9- David Solomana (Bradford). A hot player who can run cold at times. However when he plays ‘hot’, he can be the most wonderfully skilled player in the world. Despite his inconsistencies, his defence makes him a vital key to this nation

10- Evarn Tuimavave (Warriors). The unsung hero of the New Zealand Warriors. Evarn is a hard effective forward who has tons of stamina and a solid goal kicking game.

11- Tony Puletua (Panthers). World Class second rower. Great in attack and more importantly, strong in defence.

_40517569_ali203.jpg

12- Ali Lauititi (Leeds). The world’s most destructive second rower who will always break the line. He can hold a football like a tennis ball and is perfect player for this Polynesian team.

13- Harrison Hansen (Wigan). A “can do no wrong” type of player who will always will rack the stats with tackle counts.

Iafeta Paleaasina (Wigan). The “rampaging bull” will be effective coming off the bench against a tiring opposition.

Kylie Leuluai (Leeds). Brings a lot to the bench with his strong build; the perfect forward interchange.
Setamata Sa (Sydney City). A world class centre playing from a minnow country’s bench would suggest this nation is a Rugby League World force.

Frank Puletua (Penrith). Very much like the rest: huge, strong and clinical in all areas of his game.

There you have it - my Samoan weapons of destruction. Don’t worry about fireworks, a little islander flare could steal the RLWC then you may hear the battle cry:

Pe tipa i le lo
Pe tuli fao.
Sua le anefe,
Ta le alogo.
E ula i le i‘a tui ogo

--
749 words.

Titan Uranus

Titan Uranus strides confidently on to the field for his debut, resplendent in arse-hugging shorts to the delight of all female spectators. 749 words below the line (including title) --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

League%20headhunt.jpg

Intelligent Footballers, an Oxymoron?

Sport stars are universally regarded for their athletic prowess and largely derided for their lack of intelligence. This is unsurprising as any teenager offered a decent amount of money to play sport rather than study is obviously going to take it. It’s also more than likely that they have not earned such a choice as a result of having their heads in a book 24 hours a day. Of the many sports in the world one that seems to be frequently chosen as the best example of the idiocy of sportsmen is rugby league. Why might that be the case?

It might be summed up in two words, “big lumps”, for that is what league players are often perceived to be. They are rarely credited with supreme intelligence. The players take some serious hits without padding, which cannot be good for their health. However, it doesn’t stop there. What other sport has had a player take such delight in serving as an amateur proctologist? Furthermore, holding an exalted position while being at the peak of physical fitness, results in many an unsolicited proposal from female fans of negligible morals. What’s wrong with that you might ask, you’d be mad to turn down such offers. True enough, even if there aren’t enough fans to go round and you have to share one with your teammate. If you’ve been raised to be a gentleman and to share, what do you do? Simple, toss a coin – heads or tails – and get on with it. What do you not do? Simple again, when asked about your predilections by the press you should realise your activities won’t be to everyone’s liking and therefore play down the allegations. You should certainly not reply that it is ok because that’s the culture. Just because something’s in the culture doesn’t mean that it must be accepted by all. For example, consider Papua New Guinea.

PNG is a country where, until recently, headhunting was commonplace. Some say it still exists. It doesn’t mean that we should have to accept it. Headhunting may well be the prime example of how backward a culture can be. Some parts of the country have given up their “pagan ways” and found religion, relinquishing their desire to headhunt in the process. Unfortunately some have not quite grasped the concept of what an all-powerful deity should be like.

Consequently there is an area of PNG where the people worship Prince Phillip as their God or at least the personification of God. This is a man who is only famous for two things, being a German queen’s Greek husband and saying an astounding number of stupid things.

In the last RLWC held in England the entire PNG team went AWOL. Where were they found? In a brothel. In Hull. Speaking as someone who has been to that city I can safely say that paying for sex with the local women has got be one of the stupidest things you can do. What has all this got to with rugby league? Well, as I’m sure most of you will know, PNG is the only country in the world where League is the national sport. With all the evidence stacking up it would seem that rugby league players may well be the dumbest of a dumb bunch.

However, it is not necessarily so. They are fearless, calculating warriors. The tonnes of Kevlar that American Footballers sport are eschewed, deemed to be for nancy-boys. Yet when you have a hundred plus kilos of bulk charging in your largely unprotected direction you need to have your wits about you if you are going to last any length of time in the game. Players are not stupid for indulging in carnal delights with fans and openly admitting to it, they simply no know fear, declaring to the world “We are the pinnacle of existence and this is what we do. Your views are meaningless.”

What of those headhunting, Prince Phillip-worshipping Hull brothel-visiting league lovers? Rugby league has not made the situation worse, but better. Instead of chasing the heads of their opposition they simply chase a football, it’s even a similar size (pre-shrinking). They know now that if there’s any Hull local they should like (or even worship instead of Prince Phillip) it should be Sir Clive Sullivan and not some rough hooker, indeed why pay for it at all, just do what the Super League boys do.

Rugby league – a civilising force.

Titanic

Titanic rumbles on to a short ball from Titan_Uranus at full warp speed, steps right then left, twists out of a feeble attempt to tackle and .... wakes up and realises that he's late for his debut at Reliant Stadium.

Disclaimer - any resemblance to any character(s) whether fictional or real is purely coincidental.

NRL%20Creation.jpg
750 words including the 2 pics and the title/text between the stars

The Immaculate Perception

In this year of celebration, it seems appropriate to revisit those days of yore from whence our great game evolved.

Long ago, far away, in a barren land, groups of idle youth did look out and beseech the Almighty with cries of “oh Lord, why hast thee forsaken us?” In kindness and in pity He responded and in the beginning He created the Rugby and the League.

First he stated, “Let there be an ovoid shape; and there was the Pill”. Then he said, “Let there be guidance; and there was the Referee”. When He saw the Referee, he decided that it was good: He divided the Touchies from the Referee.

Much of history has been tainted by imperfect record keeping; yet, it was obviously divine intervention that created our game. Too often, discussions about League’s origins are fraught with derision and dissention instead of awe at this work of genius.

And He called the light Us, and the darkness He called Them. And the First Half and the Second Half He called the Game.

Since time immemorial, competitiveness has been instilled as the lifeblood of our great game. Over the past century pockets of anecdotes have been found that complete the picture of the magic of League’s creation.

And He said, “Let there be firmament in the midst of the grandstands, and let it divide the grandstands from the grandstands,” and it was so. And He called the dry land the Paddock and He saw it was good.

The stage was set and the pivotal pieces were rolled out.

And he said, “Let the earth bring forth Juniors, and the fruit trees yielding fruit after his kind, whose futures are in themselves”, and it was so.

Recognition of the value of being self-perpetuating gave Junior Development a prominent position in the Maker’s overall scheme, for without sustainability his master plan may have withered on the vine. As critical was the need for a hierarchical structure.

For then He said, “Let there be Clubs to divide the Players from their Opponents; and let them be for Fans, and for Seasons, and for weeks, and years”. With no respite He made two great Teams; the greater to rule the South, and the greatest State to rule the North. He made the Stars also. And He set them as Legends to give light to the Competition.

Once the luminaries had been featured, the real fun began.

And He said, “Let the waters abundantly bring forth slow moving creatures that have life”, and He called them the Pack, and Backs that may fly above the earth.

The complexity of this project should be lauded. Even in this century of nanotechnology, the ongoing debate about size of the competition, players’ payments and rule changes keep hundreds in jobs. Imagine the juggling act at the very beginning.

And He said, “Let us make the NRL in our image, after our likeness: and let it have dominion over the Sharks and Eels of the sea, and over the Sea-Eagles and Storm of the air, and over the beasts of the earth, Bulldogs and Panthers and Tigers and Broncos after his kind, with Cowboys and Raiders and Knights and Warriors and Titans after their kind, and everything that creepeth upon the earth including Dragons and Roosters and Rabbits”, and it was good.

Even doubting Thomas’s who cry that “the game has been ruined by money” can be refuted by history and I quote, “I have given every green herb for meat and so it was”, which is clearly a reference to the almighty greenback and its ability to sustain life. The tale continues with many references to the modern game and it is through these links to the robed combatants of the past that we now celebrate the Centenary of Rugby League.

In reflection, I feel a certain connection to those days when men were men. I can almost smell the barbecued lamb and incense wafting across the Paddock. I can imagine the cheers of a vast host as a try is scored. Shouts of “Hosanna” to the victors and “the Referee is Beelzebub” from the losers – some things will never change, and it is good.

And it came to pass that on the seventh day, after He had duly rested, He did venture forth to the Game, and so it was, that one balmy Middle Eastern afternoon, He did bear witness to His only begotten son playing halfback for Jerusalem.

Evolution.jpg

tits&tans

tits&tans rushes on the pitch, full of energy, full of vitality and full of silicone jelly. He dashes up the pitch, pivots, ducks, hops, steps, jumps and ...... drops a BOMB ...

748 words below the line (including the 6 words on the pics)

Undisputed Dominion

Whilst we celebrate the Centenary with characteristic League energy, I’d like to contribute to the festivities with incontrovertible proof that League is, quite simply, the only sport to play and/or watch. All of the following pretenders to the throne deserve nothing more than utter contempt from us here in the League World.

Existing since William Ellis’ apocryphal handball incident, Rugby Union still divides many rugby-playing nations. Considered by the Free World as (how do I say this kindly?) a "friggin’ toff’s" sport, and let’s be honest it is barely a sport, Yawnion continues to spread its poisonous tentacles around the globe, something akin to a “sexy transmission disease”! Consider the “major” events of 2008: Wales displacing France as Six Nations Champions in a less than awe-inspiring performance before an unenthusiastic crowd in Cardiff, the US still the reigning Olympic Gold medal holders (albeit since 1924), and rugby-behemoths Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan and the Arabian Gulf competing in the inaugural Asian Five Nations Tournament. Hardly orgasm-inducing stuff!

yawnion.jpg

Yet another poor replica of League, Rugby Sevens is a stripped-down version with, rather simplistically, only seven players per side. Matches are short, between seven and ten minutes per half, resulting in a frantic and hysterical atmosphere. Traditionally played in a loooong two-day tournament format, Hong Kong has proven that a 3-day event is equally uninviting. This was perfectly demonstrated by the Kiwis’ recent win at this year’s lackluster Hong Kong Sevens.

Developed in Canada during the 1970s for athletes with quadriplegia, Wheelchair (or Quad) Rugby is now a Paralympics sport. Originally known as Murderball, this overly aggressive game combines elements of League, basketball, football and ice-hockey, and seems to just be a blatant excuse for a full-on fight. The apparent object of the game is to carry the (volley)ball across the opposition’s goal line, and although violent wheelchair contact is permitted and indeed encouraged, contact between players is not. Most team members seem to ignore the rules completely and simply play Dodgems. Though Murderball is played in over 36 countries worldwide, anyone who claims that it may challenge League’s supremacy (dare I say it) hasn’t got a leg to stand on. At only 8 minutes per quarter, the whole match comes to an abrupt end long before it has even got started.

murderball.jpg

A derivative of League, Touch Rugby (or Six Down) is often played informally or used as a warm-up session. Although there are set rules, a multitude of bastardised versions have still been spawned. However, the universal rule still applies: no tackling, only touching. Originating in Sydney during the 50s, the game has become popular amongst those who aren’t able to handle a real sport. Last year’s World Cup in South Africa saw few nations compete, and this year’s keystone events include the European Championships in Paris and the launch of England’s official National Touch league. Hmmm … grass growing anybody (legally)?

As a cousin of Touch, Tag has thankfully been thankfully overshadowed and remains an antiquated training tool or, more often, a game for kiddies. Each player wears a belt with two Velcro tags attached, and instead of being tackled or even touched, players are “tagged” (their Velcro tag is pulled). Tag has become particularly popular in, where else but, Ireland.

As with all other sports in the US, the Collegiate Rugby scene is overflowing with hype, scandal, money and noise, well, off the pitch anyway. Clubs exist on most campuses, but competition between them is pitiful. By spending the most money, University of California has won 23 of the 28 Division I championships since 1980 and (equally-rich) Stanford University has completely dominated the last five years. Other teams have yet to make their mark. The interest level seems minimal, but it’s difficult to gauge with a sport that most Americans have never heard of.

The less said about Gridiron the better. For any Americans that may have stumbled across this article, should you ever wish to watch a real sport, remove your padding, armour and your helmet and head down to Skilled Park on any match day. America, welcome to the world of men!

Finally, I refuse to even mention AFL. D’oh! I just did.

Having irrefutably demonstrated that League is the superior sport and does indeed hold undisputed dominion over all other rugby-esque sports out there, I feel entirely justified in ripping into a Fourex, scoffing down a Yatala pie and dreaming of this year’s Origin.

Hallatia

Hallatia for the Ninjas charges off a Titans dropped ball

♠♠♠♠♠♠♠
Scapegoating
As league fans, losses generally hurt and we often need somewhere to lay the blame when our team does poorly. The referee is an easy target and is often blamed for results, however, this is unfair as referees are consistently shocking, and therefore, fans and players alike need to look beyond them. When our teams lose we spend time trying to analyse what went wrong and where to put the blame.

Roosters fans in 2005 are a perfect example, after making the grand final 3 years straight, 2005 was an incredible lull for the 2002 premiers. The fans needed somewhere to lay the blame, enter Brett Finch. Whilst some fans embraced Brett Finch, many saw him as a scapegoat for the Roosters' problems (after he left they found someone else to blame, until they realised that the major source of their problems was their lack of ability to adjust post Freddy). The point is that it appeared that fans of the once great club were almost willing to embrace their losses so long as they could put the blame on Finch.

Most fans do this, as much as we love our teams, we all have parts of the team that we do not like (often fellow fans, but as they will not illustrate my point there is no point in my discussing them here). We can criticise management and coaches as much as we want, they make the important decisions behind the scenes, and therefore the poor performance of a team reflects worst on them. However, no matter what they do, at the end of the day, the game is what we see and the men on the field either win or lose but it’s the result we care about.

Prior to last Saturday’s game, many Raiders fans had ill feelings toward outgoing coach Neil Henry and issues with young half Todd Carney, further, the inexperience mixed with pivotal positions of both make them easy targets. As a result of a loss, the fans could easily vent their frustrations, in the direction of these targets.
Message to Dave Furner: Carney is not a No. 7
NOW f**king GET THAT MESSAGE TO THAT DICKHEAD THAT CURRENTLY COACHES THE CLUB.
FFS I wish I could just have a few weeks with Carney and I'm sure I could make him a far more effective player.
He has all the skills .. kicking, passing, stepping, speed ... just needs a specialist coach to round off those rough edges.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/sh...43&postcount=1

In my research for this article I took the liberty of browsing LU to see comments made by fans of teams that lost on the weekend. It turns out some fans can be graceful in defeat, I guess that depends on who you lose to and by how much. It also depends on whether you already had someone to hate on or not. I tuned in to the Raiders game against the titans this weekend and although the scoreboard showed otherwise, I thought the Raiders were the better team of the night, it just so happened that they scored less points and in the game of rugby league and most games for that matter, whoever scores the most points wins, doesn't matter whether it is deserved or not. From a Raiders perspective; it's a loss that means that there is something wrong in the formula.

Wagon
49 mins
1 run (6 metres)
16 tackles (1 ineffective and 2 missed)
0 tackle breaks
Wagon you are a joke!!!!!!
how can a pro footballer make 1 hit up in 49 mins
source; nrlstats.com
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/sh...66&postcount=1

I am an Eels fan and I hate seeing them lose, but the truth is that it is much easier to accept defeat when it is partly due to lacklustre performances from people who I believe to be overrated and overpaid. I am not saying that we cannot aptly analyse our teams' performances as whole, I believe that we can. I don't believe Daniel Wagon cost us the game on Saturday, I believe that it must be recognised that his game on Saturday is not the game a first grade lock should be having; that he should be sacked and; that Saturday's game was good in helping other people see that.

Scapegoats play an essential role in a team, they are often useful to vent our frustrations on and to prevent us from hating the team as a whole.

♠♠♠♠♠♠♠
740 words

Amadean

Amadean turns up for the Titans’ second half, refusing to answer questions about any sort of confectionary whatso-bloody-ever.

746 below the jump and including text in the image

not%20the%20same.jpg

Rugby League is not like Fairy Bread

Rugby League is a game of adrenaline, pride, speed and power. Fairy Bread is a delicious snack made with bread, butter and 'hundreds and thousands' sprinkles. Rugby League is a highly competitive sport played by large men with interesting surgical scars. Fairy Bread is a vital part of every good toddler’s birthday party.

Yet League and Fairy Bread share an underlying structural pillar: when enjoying either, the aim is to maximise your net enjoyment. With Fairy Bread this pleasure maximisation is simple. All you have to do is not screw up the ingredients and you’ll have a scrumptious snack. Put enough butter on soft white bread, sprinkle liberally with 'hundreds and thousands', cut into triangles and enjoy.

Some may suggest the bread be cut into squares. These people are heathens, who will be the first against the wall when the revolution comes. Ignore them.

Maximising your League benefit is trickier. Obviously, the way to get the most out of the game is to play it. To play in Origin, before a hundred thousand screaming fans. To play with a close-knit team of mates. To run, pass and tackle breathlessly. To take that other bastard ‘ball and all’, when he runs straight at you. To smell the grass, sweat, blood and adrenaline of League. These riled senses and pure emotions are the pinnacle of the game.

They are also only available to those actually playing the game at the highest level. Given you are currently reading this, instead of being kicked out of a Kings Cross club, we may assume playing for the Maroons ain’t an option.

How then to ensure you get the most from the game?

The different methods of gaining close contact from the sport can be dealt with as a continuum of proximity to the sensory overload of the pitch.

Playing
[FONT=&quot]↓[/FONT]​
Being at the game
[FONT=&quot]↓[/FONT]​
Watching the game at the pub
[FONT=&quot]↓[/FONT]​
Watching the game at a mate’s place
[FONT=&quot]↓[/FONT]​
Watching the game at home with your spouse
[FONT=&quot]↓[/FONT]​
Reading live update scores on the internet whilst in China

Given these potential participation levels, our aim becomes to try and shift each variable space one step up the pyramid.

The truth is, by watching League we are trying to drive our minds and endocrinal systems to the same level as a players. We must seek to fool our bored little brains into believing a Paul Gallen just smashed us to the ground, scragged our open wounds and dragged us over the sidelines.

Being at the game is good. You partake in the emotion of the crowd, argue with strangers, hear the clashes of flesh on bone and drink the over-priced beer of victory. “Rats’ coffins” taste their best at the footy and we cheer loudest when we know we can be heard.

But it’s not like playing. You miss out on the violence, speed and pure mateship. You miss out on the sporting challenge. Therefore, to move one step up the ladder, I recommend sitting in the Bulldogs supporters’ section of the ground and loudly noting the reason Folkes is leaving is because his supporters (biblically) knew their own sisters.

Watching the game at the pub is good. The beer is cold, the pies are hot. There are strangers and mates, all fixated upon the screen. There is competition and pride. There are the smells of excitement, stale piss and smokers leaning against windows.

But it’s not like being at the game. The atmosphere is calmer and the players can’t hear you shout. Therefore, I recommend going over to where a group of Bulldogs supporters is sitting and loudly noting the reason Folkes is leaving is because his supporters (biblically) knew their own sisters.

Watching the game at a mate’s place is good. There is camaraderie, petty rivalries and pride. There is the smell of sausages and the knowledge your girlfriend won’t get antsy about the carpet.

But it’s not like being at the pub. The beer runs out and the screen is too small. You sit crammed onto a couch with four front-row mates. Your mate always buys cheap snags. Therefore, I recommend going to a Bulldogs supporter's house and loudly noting the reason Folkes is leaving is because his supporters (biblically) knew their own sisters.

If at home, go to your mate’s place.

If in China, suck it up.

And never, ever, eat Fairy Bread whilst playing Rugby League.

paulquinn49

Posting via Proxy for Freddo*

Putting the control back in your remote control

With the introduction of subscription television, we the viewers have a choice of which live game we watch on a Saturday night. Those lucky enough to have Foxtel also have sports active, a function that allows you to do a few cool things like change the camera angle, bring up stats and even turn that dribbler Gary freeman off so you can just hear the crowd, to get the feeling of being there live at the game.

In this age of endless technology advances the video referee can still get the call wrong, leading to many arguments at home, at the pub or at the game. Other influences also have an affect on the game, such as the coach bringing off a player to early, leaving a player on too long, etc.

How often have you sat around and heard this little gem of a quote. “We would have won if…” But what if we, the fans of Rugby League had a chance to become a part of that “IF”

Imagine if a new feature added to the NRL games gave the “Average Joe” the chance to have their say or opinion included in any game. In the future this could be the way we watch our footy, by using the power of the remote.

The only drawback is having any yob having a say, so maybe implement a strict testing schedule with examples, perhaps by scoring over 90% you can apply and receive the remote to be able to participate. However you can only apply once a year, so if you fail to reach the 90% you have a whole year to read up on the game and more properly understand the rules and the game as a whole. With these changes you becomes more than a fan of the game, you would become the 18th man, the referee, the touch judge, the video ref, the coach, a tactician. It goes on and on.

When the video ref gets a call wrong, it is human error, annoying human error but human error nonetheless. I don’t deny there wouldn’t be any human error by handing control to the fans, but no more than usual.

Imagine a player has just crossed the line in the corner, the corner post is bent, there is doubt on the grounding, and even so it may have been grounded on the dead ball line. The referee looks around all confused and signals to…you, the video ref.

remote.jpg
You now have a 90 second window in which you choose which angles to watch, where to zoom in and record your choice.

Your options are:

Red/No Try
Green/ Try (includes benefit of the doubt)
Yellow/Refs Call
If you select try, your journey ends are you now have to wait the remainder of the 90 seconds to see if the people agree with you.

If you select No Try you will receive a list of possible solutions

Red/Dropped Ball, 20 Metre tap
Green/Made contact with sideline
Yellow/Ball grounded on side/dead ball line
Blue/Penalty for infringement prior to scoring

After the 90 seconds has ended the majority decision will be awarded. So the majority of the fans will be happy.

If that wasn’t enough for you, the coach now wants to make an interchange taking off Lincoln Withers. Again you have been called on to find his replacement.

Red/Ryan Hinchcliffe
Green/ Nigel Plum
Yellow/ Michael Weyman
Blue/ Dane Tilse

The results get communicated to the NRL official at Canberra Stadium who in turn slaps Nigel Plum on the arse and says “Get out there son, the people want you!” This could be great in giving a player confidence knowing the people voted for him, or fire up the remaining players on the bench who have to sit back and wait for their chance.

Accepting crushing defeats is quite hard, especially when the game has a long way to go, instead of switching channels why not use the remote to access “Cheerleader Cam” seeing what the ladies are up to, perhaps making use of the zoom function you used earlier.

For a lot of people watching the NRL at home or live at the venue is as close as they will ever come to being apart of the game, imagine a fan being able to put the control back into the remote control, with other people’s opinions and thoughts, all watching the game we love, but in a new light.

747 words

jamesgould

State of Residence

State of Origin is an antiquated notion, which has no place in the game of rugby league in 2008.

Abuse me all you like, but the more I think about it, the more the above sentence makes sense. Now, I’m not one of those negative people who is going to tell you things like “in my day Origin was a much better spectacle”. That’s crazy talk! The aspect I have the problem with in State of Origin is the final word. Origin.

State of Origin was famously devised back in 1980 because inter-state football had become a joke. The flurry of players deserting the sunshine state to play in the NSWRL meant it was virtually impossible for Queensland. They hadn’t won a game since 1975, and a series since 1961!

These factors are almost no longer relevant. There are now three Queensland-based NRL teams. It is rare indeed that a NSW player is selected from one of these, and it is becoming increasingly infrequent that a Queensland player is selected from a NSW based side.

My proposal is that you play for the state that you are currently playing NRL football in. This would solve such a host of problems that I can’t believe it hasn’t been discussed more.

First of all, I would include Melbourne in Queensland. The bulk of Melbourne representative players are currently Queenslanders, and it makes sense to give them one more side to select from.

This means that for game three last year, only Nate Myles and Steve Price would not have been in the Queensland side.

Steve Price plays for the Warriors, which is a tricky one. My ruling is that if you have previously played origin, then moving to the Warriors does not impact on which side you represent. So now Nate Myles is the only odd man out.

It is such a trend that players are staying in their state of representation that this “Origin” prefix no longer seems necessary. Players who are forced to switch clubs would usually have no problem finding another club within their state.

The fact that players would never be on the same side, barring for Australia, would only add to the clash. Wasn’t it always weird seeing Broncos stalwart Michael Devere playing for NSW? The two sides would genuinely only see each other as the enemy.

And now for the reason I think this is a great idea. Overseas players are eligible. Provided they have played junior football in Australia. It makes no sense whatsoever to me that a player like Sonny Bill Williams is allowed to play for his state throughout junior football, but not once he hits seniors. It cannot go both ways - either they are allowed to play both, or neither. And I say both!

Who wouldn’t love to see Sonny Bill running out for the Blues? This would cease the current controversy over players choosing between Origin and country, and would be great for the game.

New Zealand-based players would not be eligible, unless they qualified through the stipulation of having already played for NSW or Queensland. This would ensure that the Warriors were not disadvantaged in recruiting players. The only possible downside I can see is New Zealand players may shift countries to ensure they play junior football in Australia, thus making them eligible for interstate football. This would weaken local New Zealand junior football, but it seems unlikely to me that young player’s families would be willing to make such a sacrifice.

Introducing this rule overnight would be problematic indeed. Suddenly Peter Wallace would become another in the current line of brilliant Queensland halfbacks, and Neville Costigan would be packing down with Nathan Hindmarsh. So we would need a three to five year amnesty on all players. Once this is over, you play for the state you reside in. Plenty of time for players to find another club and switch states if so desired.

This raises yet another benefit – players have more incentive to stay with the same club. Sure, they can find another side within the same state, but any small deterrent to the player roundabout we currently see isn’t to be sneezed at.

Well, that’s about it. I think it’s a great idea, but I doubt the games current administrators would ever take such a risk. There is one final thing to ponder, though, something that really has me licking my lips for a real grudge match …

Imagine if a player switched states!!!

paulquinn49

PQ for CNTDN
The PQ Story (Part 1)

When: 1991
Where: Picturesque Sutherland Shire
Why: Fate
Who: A legend

My journey to becoming a league great started the same as most kids. It was a Saturday morning and I was enjoying breakfast but was told to hurry, as we had to be somewhere quite important. I considered faking sick because I thought it was the dentist, but it was something that would cause much more pain in the future.

The drive seemed relatively short, and it was, about 3-4 minutes, in which I saw the people I would be representing for the next 6 years of my life. Win, lose or draw these were the people that I would have to face in times of triumph and in times of bitter demoralising defeat. Had I have been older than 7 this prospect may have scared me.

Arriving at Sutherland Oval, the first home ground of the Cronulla Sharks, I took the long walk to the clubhouse. Waiting in line I still didn’t piece any of it together, my father spoke my name to a complete stranger and at that moment, as if they were hiding under the creaky floorboards, a crowd of children emerged in football jerseys, I then realised what the whole morning had been leading up to, my ticket to stardom was only a small registration fee away and once this was paid I received my first jersey. In return for the jersey, I wouldn’t let them forget my name.

My first ever game was a trial against Engadine Dragons, our sworn local rivals. The game is remembered to this day as the most brutal under 7’s game played. I have fond memories of this game including seeing one of my team mates asking the coach if they could go to the toilet in the middle of the game, a great covering tackle by myself to save a certain try and scoring a try of my own by using my pace, skills and good looks to bamboozle the Dragons.

Such was the performance in my first ever game I was asked to boost the numbers for the 8’s game and play in a different age group, against children with more experience and strength. I soon boasted figures of 2/2 as the under 8’s ran away with the game, my involvement was not as prominent but the experience I took back to my younger team mates would prove invaluable.

However the grind of week-to-week football took its toll on the team who were now battling to keep up with the standard of football I demanded. Our famous trial victory was a distant memory in a season that offered heart-breaking near misses, embarrassing defeats and zero regular season victories.

Outside of the trial the only victory was against Cronulla Caringbah in an exhibition game played during half time of a Cronulla Sharks home game. It is in this game where a crowd of 7,136 (http://rugbyleagueproject.com/matches/NSWRL_1991/Round_16/) saw Cronulla defeat Newcastle, but more importantly the talents that I didn’t have a chance to showcase, due to the performances of my team.

Before the game the coach gave us a rev up but told us to have fun and enjoy it. Some might think they were great words of encouragement, for others like myself I though it to be rather weak and nonchalant towards the result.

I wanted to win, so I did what any great player would do and that was taking control of a game. What the crowd witnessed changed their attitude towards junior league. That night I treated the crowd to 3 classy tries and memories they could take home forever.

The first try was thrilling combination of passes in excess of 4cm and a simple 20 metre run. The second try was much the same, but probably 25 metres this time. By now the crowd had realised I was a talent and not wanting to disappoint I set out to score the third, with the crowd cheering every time the ball got near me. They didn’t have to wait long, mostly because they game was over and done with within 10 minutes.

To this day I still lay claim to the best strike rate on Shark Park with 1 game and 3 tries, making it 300%. You can add Steve Rogers and ET’s strike rates combined, the two greatest players to play for Cronulla and yet you wouldn’t get close, such was my display of dominance.

And this was only the beginning.

Raider Azz

Game Breakers

A game of football is 80 minutes of end-to-end athleticism but for all those minutes it can fall apart with only one mistake, from any player on the team.

The back three players are expected to make big meters from kick returns, if they take the ball with anything less than 100% the result could be the forwards having to get back an extra 10 to 15 meters. A dominant tackle puts the whole team on the back foot straight away, giving the defence the perfect opportunity to create a mistake.

Running from dummy half, taking pressure off the forwards is also an integral part of their job, a poor display in this puts more work on the forwards to pick our the slack, then in turn making them more tired, leaving the middle of the field vulnerable, especially with the 10 man interchange.

The Centres in today’s game are basically wide running second rowers; they are bigger and faster to their pre NRL brothers. Such are their importance to getting a role on, most teams now carry a player that can work in the centre position swell, adding pace to their forwards, yet strengthening their back like defence structure.

The halves today are less organising more field position today, their failure to kick a 40/20 seems to mean they generally lose. Their size has gone from little and zippy, to strong and tall, meaning the running game is essentially useless.

Our front men are the hard workers, they cart the ball forward, and they take the hits and do the hitting themselves. It is essential that each of these players be on song because they each play pivotal role. Props are the guys who crunch the metres and make the hiatus. Props have a very pivotal role because they make most of the metres upfront and provide the go forward for the team and thus their team's momentum. Ineffective props means no go forward, this can completely unhinge the team. The hooker is the creative mastermind of the forwards. He can make or break the side, it's his job to control the ruck and he often choses the direction of play, he is the dummy half and he starts most plays. Poor decisions from a hooker can undermine any play from the team and thus undermine any set plays.

The hooker must also be creative on his own; it is his creativity, which often produces opportunities. If a hooker lacks creativity he and in turn his team will get hammered continually doing the same thing.

Our back rowers (second-rowers and locks) are our most important defensive players; they make most of the tackles and are the first line of defence. It is the role of these men to be the enforcers. When we have back rowers missing tackles and/or making ineffectual tackles the defence is drastically weakened. We depend heavily on our back rowers to make the difference in defence, when they do this well; they stop any momentum from the other team and give greater opportunities for their own team.

Once they can out muscle a team in defence, they destroy the oppositions scoring opportunities, thus making their team two-fold beneficiaries. However when back rowers are complacent or lack lustre, they let the other team in and their team will suffer greatly as a result, they can lead directly to conceding points which destroys their team two-fold.

Any player can lead to the downfall of their team.

clock_0.gif

NB: Not the official time piece... officially full time is at 9:00pm on the forum time clock (Syd time).

Raider Azz

been trying to post that article for the last 10 mins but the paragraphs kept screwing up, only just got it posted properly then. looks like i missed the deadline :(

Hallatia

I had to sign in several times before my article would post this afternoon, so frustrating but I knew if I complained someone would tell me to just make LU sign me in automatically and I didn't want to do that on uni computers, if it happenned to me this close to time I would have lost it.

Now that the clock has been posted, I can express my criticism of Amadean's article, Amadean, your article is fundementally flawed, fairy bread is made better by using Nutella instead of butter and your lack of ability to recognise that undermines your entire article. Ref, please take this into due consideration, if you have not realised this on your own, test what I am saying. You will come to one inevitable conclusion, Nutella makes fairy bread better!

Titanic

Halatia, I am sure that the Ref has not fallen for your "dummy" - Nutella may well be delicious on bread sprinkled with "100's and 1,000's" but Nutella does not feature in any of the traditional Fairy Bread recipes. A little research will highlight that Nutella is a USA 1940's product http://www.nutellausa.com/history.htm whereas Fairy Bread dates back as far as writer Robert Louis Stevenson http://www.lone-star.net/mall/literature/rls/FairyBread.htm referred to in his poem of 1885 plus it is a culinary icon of Australia, New Zealand and the UK. www.zdesign.com.au/eva/food/fairy-bread.html

Hallatia

Halatia, I am sure that the Ref has not fallen for your "dummy" - Nutella may well be delicious on bread sprinkled with "100's and 1,000's" but Nutella does not feature in any of the traditional Fairy Bread recipes. A little research will highlight that Nutella is a USA 1940's product http://www.nutellausa.com/history.htm whereas Fairy Bread dates back as far as writer Robert Louis Stevenson http://www.lone-star.net/mall/literature/rls/FairyBread.htm referred to in his poem of 1885 plus it is a culinary icon of Australia, New Zealand and the UK. www.zdesign.com.au/eva/food/fairy-bread.html
you appear to have missed my point entirely, what's his name said that the recipe for fairy bread cannot be improved and is best kept the way it is, but that was a lie, as using nutella instead of butter makes fairy bread at least 10 times better

Titanic

lol - improving one of the senses is a matter of opinion and cannot be substantiated even in a LU 7's Forum - good try, good game, better luck next time.