Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby League World Cup 2017: Introducing rugby league's first 'FIFA window'

Vee

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sp...eagues-first-fifa-window-20171112-gzjojq.html

There's been an off-field milestone in the past couple of weeks to compare with Tonga's amazing victory over New Zealand on Saturday, but you won't have read about it anywhere. When Super League announced its draw for 2018, it left the third weekend of June without fixtures. That's the same date as the NRL rep weekend. That's right. We finally have our first "FIFA International window".

One of the reasons no-one is spruiking this is the logical implication that all NRL and Super League players should be free to fly anywhere to represent their countries, like their soccer counterparts. But NRL clubs are far from sold on that idea and even the RLPA has welfare concerns.

It's doubtful any rugby league playing country can afford to hire and fit out a Qantas jet as the Socceroos do. The clubs and players argue league is much tougher than the round ball code and so negotiations continue. "Clearly the Pacific Tests are scheduled for that weekend," RLIF chief executive David Collier said.

"What we'd like to do is work on other Tests that weekend. They are bilateral decisions. But we are very, very cognisant that there are [club] games later on in the week and we want to make sure that's feasible for everyone. We would definitely take player welfare into account but we need to find a solution so we can have the maximum number of rugby league players involved."

After drawing with Scotland and losing to Tonga inside 12 months, New Zealand coach David Kidwell is undoubtedly the coach under most pressure in the World Cup. He started his post-match media conference at FMG Stadium not by taking questions but by asking to make a statement about what he thought the Kiwis did well and what they didn't. "We're still in the quarter-finals," he said, when he did take questions.

"The path's changed but our focus hasn't. We had a really good talk in the dressing room with all the players and all the staff and we still believe in this camp and what we've built here. This one game's not going to change our mindset. We need to get back to our Kiwi footy. Full credit to Tonga, they forced us into not playing that Kiwi style. You look at the crowd out there and that's what we want for international footy. Yes, it just happened to be me [on the wrong end of the result] …"

It's been a long time coming but Tonga almost toppled New Zealand at the very first World Cup to which the Mate Ma'a were invited, the King Of Tonga fainting at Warrington as Matthew Ridge kicked a late field goal for the Kiwis in 1995. I remember New Zealand players reacting churlishly afterwards when questioned about how lucky they'd been. "You can write that if you want, mate," Ridge said to me. How much have things changed in 22 years?

More details are coming to light about the proposed Nines World Cup in 2019. It will involve 12 teams over three or four days, it will be invitational since there is no form-line for national teams playing nines and it will be played at the start of the proposed Great Britain tour of Australia.

"It works absolutely perfectly," RLIF chief executive David Collier said. "One of the things we're waiting for is the bilateral agreement to be reached [for the tour]. Then we can work through with the Nines World Cup to complement it. It would almost certainly need to be invitational. We could look at world rankings but we all know nines is different to 13s. We could look at who is eligible to play." In other words, invitations may be issued based on how good each team's likely line-up will be, a novel approach to say the least.

Vee

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sp...international-federation-20171113-gzki6u.html

NRL clubs request meeting with Rugby League International Federation

South Sydney chief executive Shane Richardson has called on Rugby League International Federation bosses Nigel Wood and David Collier to address a meeting of NRL clubs before the end of the World Cup and explain their plans for the sport.

Richardson was responding to reports in Monday's Herald about the emergence of a FIFA-style window on the third weekend of June next year, when NRL and Super League players could theoretically disperse and represent their countries as soccer stars have for many years.

He said to his knowledge clubs and the Rugby League Players Association were not opposed to such a situation – but they expected to be consulted.

"The RLIF has never addressed the clubs on anything, they just make these arbitrary announcements in the paper," said Richardson, also team manager of the Kiwis.

"Despite how this is being portrayed, my own experience is that clubs do support representative football, they do support the expansion of the sport. Just look at the number of NRL players in this tournament.

"Just look at State of Origin. Just look at the stand-alone Origin and rep weekend next year.

"I'm convinced that if they went through the matches they want to play, when, where, how and why with us, they would get a sympathetic hearing and we'd get a good outcome for the game.

"But if you're not going to pay us the common courtesy of telling us what's going on, you are going to run into a little bit of trouble because, yes, we do pay the players."

While it could be argued the RLIF's responsibility is to countries, not clubs and players' unions, the situation is unique in rugby league as two competitions and one players union provide all the high-profile stars to international matches.

The RLPA was unsuccessful in being granted an audience with the international body when it met in Sydney this month.

"I'd like David and Nigel to come and see us before they return to the UK," Richardson said. "Tell us what's planned and why. We never hear from them. The clubs are not the bad guys here."

The sport is still grappling with its international calendar over the coming years. In theory, New Zealand are going to Europe next spring, Great Britain are reforming to tour Australia in 2019 and there is also a Nines World Cup at that time.

But while you can already buy tickets to matches in the rugby union World Cup in Japan in 2019, most rugby league-playing countries don't know where and when their next match is after the current tournament.

In other news, the Australian side arrived in Darwin for their quarter-final against Samoa at TIO Stadium on Friday night.

Back-rower Matt Gillett said he supported calls for a parity of payments across the international game, although there is nothing new regarding how this might be achieved.

"We're all out there doing the same thing, there's no reason for that not to happen," he said. "Everyone deserves the same. We're all out there putting our bodies on the line for our country."

titoelcolombiano

Why do the clubs need to meet with the RLIF?

The ARLC have a seat on the board of the RLIF and the ARLC, through the commission, should be communicating back to their member clubs in the NRL, NSWRL and QRL and also communicating with the RLPA.

Why do the clubs need to meet with the RLIF?

The ARLC have a seat on the board of the RLIF and the ARLC, through the commission, should be communicating back to their member clubs in the NRL, NSWRL and QRL and also communicating with the RLPA.

Because they think they rule the world of rugby league and if they're not involved its not relevant. I suppose with the commission bowing down to them even more this year that smug feeling of self righteousness on all things Rugby League has just been reinforced.

deluded pom?

Fat Richo thinks he speaks on behalf of the clubs. They have no say in it. Get the tv guys and the RLPA around the table then TELL the clubs and their coaches what they will be doing.
In the ideal world I'd agree with you but unfortunately the NRL is where the players and the money are. The last thing we want to do is piss them off so they dig their heels in. The worrying bit for me is that Greenberg sits on both the NRL and the RLIF yet doesn't appear to have said anything to the NRL clubs about any developments.

In the ideal world I'd agree with you but unfortunately the NRL is where the players and the money is. The last thing we want to do is piss them off so they dig their heels in. The worrying bit for me is that Greenberg sits on both the NRL and the RLIF yet doesn't appear to have said anything to the NRL clubs about any developments.

No surprise there the relationship and communication between NRL and clubs seems limited at the best of times.

titoelcolombiano

Nice!

Although I'm not sure why Lebanon gets a run ahead of Fiji. Lebanon need to focus on playing their home based players against European opposition in Lebanon, not running out their Australian based side and denying Fiji a spot in the Pacific tests.

Springs09

Fiji aren't denied a spot. There are two spots left open along with two supporter bays not allocated. It's 99% likely that Fiji and the Cook Islands just haven't confirmed yet.

jim_57

Ridiculous IMO that PNG and Fiji aren't playing each other to cater for Lebanon. Lebanon can play Cook Islands, Italy, USA or Canada.

They had a good system when it was Polynesia and Melanesia squaring off but in typical RL style they change it to some random format.

Melanesia Cup - PNG V Fiji - Winner plays Australia post season.
Melanesia Shield - Solomon Is. Vanuatu - Winner plays loser of Cup post season.

Polynesia Cup - Tonga V Samoa - Winner plays NZ post season.
Polynesia Shield - Cook Islands V Nieu - Winner plays loser of Cup post season.

Then line up England V NZ and games for Lebanon, Italy, France, Wales, Ireland, USA, Canada, Jamaica, Russia, Serbia etc around that.