Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks stories in the Tele today

King Ben

The Sharks have found a replacement for veteran forward Chris Heighington who is retiring at the end of the season. The Cowboys’ 22-year-old Kiwi forward Braden Uele has agreed to join the premiers from 2018. He weighs 112kg and previously played in the Cowboys’ Holden Cup team and for the Mackay Cutters.

A $28 million centre of excellence and an all-weather Shark Park for both NRL and A-League matches is the bold vision for newly appointed Cronulla chairman Dino Mezzatesta.

In his first interview since taking over from a crestfallen Damian Keogh last month, the highly regarded Mezzatesta has revealed his goal to drive stability and ensure repeated NRL premiership success on the field, while off it, securing the Sharks future for another 50-years.

A $28 million centre of excellence and an all-weather Shark Park for both NRL and A-League matches is the bold vision for newly appointed Cronulla chairman Dino Mezzatesta.

In his first interview since taking over from a crestfallen Damian Keogh last month, the highly regarded Mezzatesta has revealed his goal to drive stability and ensure repeated NRL premiership success on the field, while off it, securing the Sharks future for another 50-years.

SHIRE BOY
Appointed as the chief operating officer of The Star Casino last November, Mezzatesta has key connections to Sydney’s top end of town while his phone book also stretches internationally having previously spent 11-years as the CEO of Accor Asia-Pacific.

The 49-year old father of two daughters was born and bred in the Sutherland Shire and attended a traditional rugby league school, De La Salle College Cronulla.

“I’ve always been a Shire resident, a Cronulla supporter,’’ Mezzatesta said.

“One of my best friends is John Gibson (Jack’s youngest son) and that family is renowned for rugby league.

“Andrew Ettingshausen was a couple of years above me at school and people like Jason Stevens and Brett Kimmorley are close friends and I’ve always had a love of the game.’’

KEOGH
Mezzatesta was an original member of Keogh’s ticket which saw a complete clean-out of the previous board in the wake of the ASADA scandal almost four-years ago.

Ahead of Sunday’s important home-clash with Manly, Mezzatesta never envisioned standing where he is today — chairing the club, following Keogh’s resignation as a result of an illicit drug charge.

“You just can’t ignore the contribution that Damian has made to the Sharks,’’ Mezzatesta said.

“He certainly should be congratulated for his contribution. He was pivotal to the club’s position at this point in time and he’s always welcome back to the club.

“Now, it’s all about stability. We’ve had our little ups and downs and now it’s all about focusing on the remainder of the season.

“It’s about focusing on the future, focusing on our developments, making sure we build on the foundations that have been laid for the years to come.’’

NEW STADIUM
Cronulla are approaching the third stage of a $750 million development on the land they own adjacent to Shark Park.

Once the residential phase is complete, construction of a retail precinct, described as the Shire’s answer to Barangaroo and connected to the Leagues Club, is slated to begin at the end of this season.

Further, Mezzatesta said the Sharks have recently applied for a slice of a promised $40 million in NSW government funding put aside for club’s to develop centre’s of excellence.

The Sharks also want to invest in plans to rejuvenate Shark Park into an all-seated stadium.

“The centre of excellence is about looking after our football club in the future, but it will also have extremely positive implications for our community,’’ Mezzatesta said.

“We need to get through the development stage and then we’ll look at the retail stage and not too long after that we’ll be looking at the stadium.

“We need to make sure it’s sustainable long-term. But we’ve certainly got an appetite to have more undercover seating.’’

ROUND-BALL
In a rare position of owning their land which overlooks Botany Bay, CEO Lyall Gorman has spent the past six months working in conjunction with the Sharks board on a pitch to the FFA.

The goal? To see a new Southern Sydney A-League team call Shark Park home.

“To use our asset well we’d like to think that maybe we’ve got more than just a football team running around on our ground,’’ Mezzatesta said.

“The A-League continually talks about another franchise and we’d welcome the opportunity to look at that.

“It seems like a logical fit (given record soccer participation numbers in the Shire), but at the same time we’re focusing on rugby league at the moment.’’.

CENTURY OF SHARKS

Sitting third on the NRL ladder, Cronulla are in the middle of celebrating their 50th anniversary.

Mezzatesta said that while the re-signing of club leaders Paul Gallen and Luke Lewis were immediate goals for the footy department, ensuring the club remained a game leader in a further 50-years was the board’s ultimate ambition.

“We’re committed to making Cronulla the powerhouse it should be as one of the top NRL performers,’’ Mezzatesta said.

“But also at all levels, not just football, but also game-day experience, our digital space and our work within the community.

“I’d like to think we’ll lead that charge, that’s our ambition and passion.’’

lolesi

Understandable that all seated stadiums are the only way forward but I would very much miss standing at the games.

Puts down violin.

Arnold

They said it will start after all apartments and retail... that's atleast 3 years I reckon.

The ground improvements if in a large scale will be another couple and we will have to play away?

snout

"Connections to the top end of town?".......

Does that mean we can now operate under a Rorts/Broncs salary cap?

Eion

Understandable that all seated stadiums are the only way forward but I would very much miss standing at the games.

Puts down violin.
I don't mind standing, but now with young kids it is actually a chore to take them to the game because they just can't see. You've got to go to the family hill and try to find a place to sit on the wet grass, because you're no chance buying a few seats together.

Then you have those friggen speakers blasting you in the face, making conversation impossible and obscuring view. Doesn't matter what they do for game day entertainment, face painting, etc, it's a bit of a bludger of an outing.

To move forward the club absolutely needs more seating and just has to sort out the sound. It's mental.

shaggs

My daughter loves the hill. I hate it. Shit place to watch and zero atmosphere. Everyone is quiet and respectful.