Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Turnbull bans gambling ads before 8:30pm

King hit

It is more of this nanny state crap really. If adults want to gamble go for it.

Adults do have a right to gamble, it's a legal product and everyone of legal age has every right to do it. I feel very strongly that we have a right to protect underage kids from the lures and dangers that gambling can bring. People under 18 are not allowed in casinos, pokies rooms, TAB outlets and the like and they should have the right to have minimal connection in the family home when watching their chosen sport. My parents aren't gamblers at all so I knew from an early age that gambling was not what sport was about and I'm thankful for how they taught me that.

I'm 22 now and enjoy a bet once in a while but I know when enough is enough.

It is more of this nanny state crap really. If adults want to gamble go for it.

Yeh screw the consequences for them and others around them, let's allow them to have a few beers before driving home from the pokie den as well.

Sadly there are too many fckwits in the world to just let everyone do anything they choose to do, and even worse encourage them to do so.

f**k I hate those TAB ads. They are getting worse and worse. That latest one when all these f**kwits are rejoicing about getting 100 or so bucks put into their account is kick the television in material. Bon Jovi were shit to begin with. I hate them even more now.

T-Boon

let's allow them to have a few beers before driving home from the pokie den as well.

That is crazy. Drink driving is illegal for good reasons.

Gambling isn't illegal as it is safe provided you aren't one of the rare addicted ones. If you are then you have an addictive personality and are probably going to get addicted to something else.

Plus, I've never seen an ad for pokies during a league game.

If the government wants to make gambling illegal then I'll get on board with making ads illegal. But they don't want to do that because they love the tax. It is hypocritical to regulate it like this, especially if it is legal during horse racing broadcasts.

T-Boon

f**k I hate those TAB ads. They are getting worse and worse. That latest one when all these f**kwits are rejoicing about getting 100 or so bucks put into their account is kick the television in material. Bon Jovi were shit to begin with. I hate them even more now.

I agree the ads suck and are annoying. They all are. But they pay the bills. I just turn them off.

The last four ads before the first test match today on fox were beer, betting, betting cheese. I'll do a HT update.

Ht ad watch on fox
travel agent
Soccer
Betting
Alcohol
Cheese
Financial advice service
Alcohol
Shaver

First time I've taken much notice of what companies advertise on fox nrl. As you can see from above there was only two companies relating to betting and alcohol in the two ht ad breaks.

Life's Good

Adults do have a right to gamble, it's a legal product and everyone of legal age has every right to do it. I feel very strongly that we have a right to protect underage kids from the lures and dangers that gambling can bring. People under 18 are not allowed in casinos, pokies rooms, TAB outlets and the like and they should have the right to have minimal connection in the family home when watching their chosen sport. My parents aren't gamblers at all so I knew from an early age that gambling was not what sport was about and I'm thankful for how they taught me that.

I'm 22 now and enjoy a bet once in a while but I know when enough is enough.
Well said mate.

Knight76

I don't support a ban on gambling advertising.

The gov should be introducing plain packaging advertising. Black and white ads only, top and bottom 1/4 of the screen showing images of homeless people, Centrelink lineup, broken families etc.

Parents can explain to kids that this is what happens if you let yourself place a multi on the same game!

This won't stop the NRL coverage updating the odds before and at halftime of any game as they are not adverts, they are a segment of the actual program.

simmo05

Growing up i had a mate, lived in a housing commision joint with the family, the old man was horrendous on the punt. Bet on anything, and heaps too. Mate was always going without christmas birthdays etc. Point is, this was before the days of phone betting, advertising. If you are prone to it you are going to get hooked. Banning ads aint going to fix the problem. At least there is a social aspect to punting on sports and racing, unlike those f**king pokies. The tom waterhouse debacle was a blight on the gamebut im ok with the 30 second ads. No one watches the ads anyway

True but there is clear research evidence that the more socially acceptable and promoted something is the more people will do it. I think most people would agree that the fewer people gambling the better, the fewer people starting gambling the fewer problem gamblers, the less socially in your face gambling opportunities are the less normal it becomes. Smoking prevelance has shown all these things to be true.

When I grew up you could only bet in a betting shop, the windows had to be blocked out and there was no advertising. It seemed seedy and not something a decent person would do. I am sure that has had a lot to do with the fact I've placed about 5 bets in my life when I went to the track with some mates once. (That and I'm a Yorkshireman and hate giving my money away!)

Vee

In all seriousness I can see a shift to 8pm kickoffs for Friday and Thursday night games from next year so that they can run halftime gambling updates.

They'll come up with some random reason for it but it'll happen
I think the ads are banned from 5 minutes before kickoff till 5 minutes after full time as part of the deal.

Vee

"The gambling advertising restrictions will see all betting ads banned between five minutes before a live sports broadcast and until five minutes after the final buzzer or 8.30pm, whichever comes first." (SMH)

So they'll be allowed to run gambling ads/content during preview programs up to 5 minutes before kick-off, and no doubt during half time (which may be regarded as not a live sports broadcast especially if it is a panel situation in the studio) as well.

Expect quarters to be introduced to the game as a result.
I stand corrected. The government had half a good idea:(

OVP

This is because Google (which owns YouTube) monitors what sites you visit, and plays ads accordingly. So if you visit gambling sites, you'll get gambling ads.

I bet you use Google chrome. None of their youtube ad blockers work.