Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Warriors ISP Cup 2017

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/06/11/_isp_match_report_se.html

The lowly-placed Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles have handed the Vodafone Warriors just their second loss of the season in today's 14th-round Intrust Super Premiership encounter in west Sydney.

After bolting to a 24-6 lead at halftime, the Sea Eagles prevailed 30-12 to register just their fourth win of the season.

The Vodafone Warriors were off their game throughout, especially in the opening 40 minutes when the Sea Eagles laid on four tries.

The match was just two minutes in when wing Peter Schuster had the first of his two tries.

It seemed the Vodafone Warriors had settled into their work when a Mason Lino kick wasn't covered, presenting wing Paulos Latu with a touchdown. Lino's conversion had it locked up at 6-6 and the scene was set for a slugfest.

It never eventuated as the home side scored three tries in the space of 15 minutes through wing Maliko Filino, second rower Jarrad Kennedy and Schuster again. Jackson Hastings was in the groove converting all four to leave a score-line which belied the relative ladder positions of the 11th-placed Sea Eagles and the second-ranked Vodafone Warriors.

There was no immediate improvement after the break for the Vodafone Warriors. They held firm for the first 15 minutes as they sought to grind their way back into it.

Instead the Sea Eagles went further ahead when ex-Vodafone Warriors Jonathan Wright scored and Hastings converted for a 30-6 advantage.

All the Vodafone Warriors had to show for their efforts in the second half was a late try to second rower Isaiah Papali'i.

They have the first of their byes next week.

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles 30 (Peter Schuster 2, Maliko Filino, Jarrad Kennedy, Jonathan Wright tries; Jackson Hastings 5 conversions).

Vodafone Warriors 12 (Paulos Latu, Isaiah Papali'i tries; Mason Lino 2 conversions).

Halftime: 24-6 Sea Eagles.

Vodafone Warriors | Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad; Paulos Latu, Junior Pauga, Semisi Fotu, Manu Vatuvei; Sam Cook, Mason Lino (c); Charlie Gubb, Jazz Tevaga, Ligi Sao; Bunty Afoa, Isaiah Papali'i; James Bell. Interchange: Toafofoa Sipley, Chris Satae, Patrick Sipley, Manaia Cherrington.

Just going to whack up the report now. Horrible horrible pitch. Was ruined and then the locals at halftime putting the divits back lol

Guess who carved up for us in the 2nd half????

Rich102

You know I reckon a lot of our squad have talents they aren't allowed to demonstrate. A lot of the skill is coached out of them.

Hey Guys
Went along today, not the best game but we will bounce back. Wrote up a report. Have a squiz and a feedback

Fan In The Stand
10 mins ·

Hey team

Wow what a week if you were a Warriors reserve grade supporter. There were highs and lows everywhere. Firstly last week was the comeback 18-18 draw against Newcastle, then on Tuesday the high of seeing Manu back and named in the team, then the low of finding out resident hitman Tof Sipley will be taking his talents to Manly next season. That a massive low. But there was a game being played today so The Fan In The Stand running on minimal sleep after finshing work at 7am packed up the family and jumped in the car to head out to Blacktown to see the juggernaut continue against the Manly Sea Eagles reserve grade team. After last nights first grade team putting on a clinic against the Titans, all Warriors fans must be happy and i was buzzing about this game.

On the way out i was thinking about the presence Manu would have on this team. Hes on the comeback trail after a couple of injuries, and with the first grade wingers kicking ass it looks like he will have to fight his way back into the team starting with todays game. Manu is a icon at the Warriors and have to remember no other NRL player in the history of the game has scored 10 or more tries in 10 seasons of first grade. So Manu will pose a threat in any team hes in. Manly who play under the Blacktown Workers banner have a few familiar names in their team in Ex Warriors Shaun Lane, Pita Godinet and not everyones cup of tea Johnno Wright. We have some late changes with Sam Cook going from hooker to standoff, Charlie Gubb is starting with Tof back to the bench and midweek signing Manaia Cherrington also on the bench.

Get to the park about 20 minutes before kickoff and see that the field is in absolute shithouse condition. Its bogged and puddles all in the middle. We have had some decent rain this week in sydney but this field is poos. Even the adjacent field that the boys are warming up on is torn up with their warm ups. Also it has no covered stands and out seats are drenched. The boys are currently sitting 2nd on the ladder and Manly 2nd last but with these conditions im thinking it will level things out with our gun backline used to carving up in dry conditions. The teams are getting set for kick off and Manu is on our side of the field, sheesh he looks lean, fit and trimmed and most importantly keen. Pretty good ground announcer today, only stuffed up 1 name in the team sorry Ofahighkigh???? its Ofahiki idiotdick. But sometimes when he started talking to the people next to him he forgot to turn the mic off haha reminded me of the old Papa Ruru days from Rotorua Radio.

So Manly kick off and Ligi Sao hits it up strongly but looses it in the tackle. Oh boy!!! Scrum to manly and they hit it up and we are penalised on their 1st tackle. They take the tap and we are penalised again on the first tackle FFS!!! They tap it again and 4 tackles later they spin it wide and their winger Peter Shuster dives over for a try which Jackson Hastings converts. So after 2 minutes we have had 1 error, been penalised twice and are down 6-0, worst possible start ever. 2nd set much better as Charnze takes a great bomb, Manu then hits it up and we get a penalty and get out of trouble. Couple of sets later we are hot on attack but Isaiah Papalii spills a tough pass which the conditions didnt help. Soon after we get another penalty and Ofa Ogden makes a strong hitup with an awesum offload to Tevaga who also produces another awesum offload creating 3rd phase play but CNK knocks on. Looks like the boys are playing to their strengths in the bleak conditions. Another attacking set sees us throw a lot at them but Manly hold out and a great chip by Mason sees Jackson Hastings gather and save a try. When Manly have the ball we force an error then get a penalty due to backchat from one of the Manly players. We march down field and earn a repeat set with a nice Lino kick being forced in goal.

Ligi SAo has been working his ass off with 2 hitups in the last 2 sets of 6 and making good metres to. After his last play the ball we put on a backline move which sees it spread and Mason takes it to the line and gets away a chip which sees Paulos Latu score our first try after a couple of Manly players dived and missed. Mason coverts and its 6-6 after 23 minutes. No one really takes notice of Lino doing the conversion as there is a guy on his Harley doing donuts down the road hahaha good ol Blacktown. Tof Sipley has now come on to cause havoc and tear shit up with Gubby having a break. We are on attack again after a couple of minutes and James Bell comes up with a great run helped by a quick play the ball and Sam Cook bombs for Manu who dives but jusssssssstttt misses out. Got his finger tips, would of been try of the year if had come off. 20m restart Manly. Unfortuanitly Manly march upfield and put on a backline play and have a 3 on 3 move but Manu flies in off the wing and they skip the centre and the winger goes over for a try in the corner. AGain Hastings converts 12-6 23 gone. Couple of sets later Ogden does another awesum offload creating more 2nd phase play. Next set Manly make a break down our right side and chip ahead for Peter Schuster to score his 2nd try. Even though i hate Manly that was a good long range try. Hastings convert 18-6.

After we kick off Papalii forces an error and dives on the loose ball and the Manly player smacks him with a swinging arm. I blow up but no penalty and Tevaga runs in and grabs the guy and he gets penalised. Kefs!!!! What about the swinging arm. Tevaga is replaced pretty much after that and debutant Manaia Cherrington comes on and in the following set makes a great blind side dart and unloads to Semisi Fotu but he cant handle and possible try bombed. Next set Tof Sipley monsters up and has a mass collision with with Manlys Everett Vaurasi and gets up heaps dusty and groggy, Lino forces a goal line dropout and from the kick Chris Satae runs straight for Vaurasi and runs over him and hes KOed, TAXI!!!! Play is stopped while he gets helped off. We cant score but again produce good 2nd phase footy from Manu and Bell. But just on halftime Pita godinet makes a line break and they score another try which Hastings convert so at halftime we are 24-6 down.

Halftime Thoughts

* Even though we down 3 tries i dont see any panic from the boys although in this crap field its going to be hard. They are the comeback kings

* Pat Sipley still on the bench????

* Ball handling is letting us down a little again due to the conditions

* Manly have made some concerning line breaks which sees them score a couple of long range tries

* Papalii has made about 1000 tackles, Manu up and down but being contained well. Tof Sipley is making HUGE collisions, James Bell very busy, Ogden great offloads

* Manaia Cherrington has made a huge difference

* CNK being nullified due to the conditions

* Theres about 100 people here and a good sprinkling of Warriors supporters. Jerseys, polos caps and scarfs everywhere

2nd half sees us have a great first set with Ofa Ogden tackled 1m out from the line for a handover. Next set again Cherrington sees an opening and goes for it but a slow play the ball halts momentum but Mason makes a line break but a slick ball to Paunga goes down with the line wide open. Scrum Manly but we are penalised 2 tackles later for holding down. Manly elect to take the 2 but Jackson Hastings misses his easiest kick of the day. Good cos hes acting like a dick like Mr look at me im the man kind of dick. Yeah your an ok player but your mouth is shit. Pat Sipley is on and his first hitup is a good one. Sam cook settles things down with a great touch finder 10m out. We have a couple of sets attacking but cant get through or around them. Manly meanwhile get the ball have a good set and force a dropout. 4 tackles later they spin it and Sam Cook misses the tackle after slipping over and the man of the people Johnno Wright scores and Manly are up 30-6 with 24 to go. If we need a comeback it needs to be now. Ive noticed in the last 5 minutes Gubby is back on and hes playing 2nd row and on the edge. Manly make another break and spin it wide with the centre chipping through but a Warriors player snatches out of mid air and its our boy Charlie Gubb. Wow. Def saved a try.

The last 2 sets of ours has seen heaps of pressure heaped on Mason with his last tackle options. They are offside but not getting called. Ligi Sao back on gets penalised for a high shot but 3 tackles later Manly have an error so no harm done. Our set see Pat Sipley have the best hitup of the match makes a line break gets tackles 3m out after dragging 4 defenders. We spin it wide but a bootlace pass to Manu sees us cough up possesion. Then we get penalised 1 tackle later. We again hold out and we are on attack and Mason produces a great last tackle kick but Junior Paunga cant gather and Manly ball. Again another Manly error from a forward pass and again we get penalised. This first 20 minutes of the 2nd half is really turning into a bludger of a game. Error penalty error penalty error penalty. The penalty count must be at least 46-39 to Manly. Finally an offload of ours sticks and its started by Gubb running out wide. Couple of plays later Papalii scores and Lino converts, 30-12 down with 17 to go. COMEBACK ON!!!!.

We have some momentum and are playing catch up footy. James Bell this time with a great offload sees Cherrington make a mini break, Manu chases the kick but great defence sees us not score. Ligi Sao this time has some stinging defence in the last couple of sets as things are starting to get niggly. Heaps of high shots but not getting penalised. Gubb has made another great run out wide. Then he does his custom grass cutter tackle and Bell comes over the top and smashes the Manly guy when hes falling with a awesum hit but gets penalised. With only about 7 minutes left the game is gone but the boys are still trying hard. Gubb out wide again does a magical offload to CNK who was supporting Gubb hard out after hes starting to get his arms free in the tackles makes a break but again we are tackled just short. Then with 2 minutes left Manly make a line break and chip ahead to score but no shit out of know where Gubb comes in and gets back there to ground the ball and save a try. So that was the game set match pretty much after that play. Dissapointing getting a loss.

Post Match Thoughts

The conditions didnt suit us at all. Our dangerous backs were nullified becos of it. There were some defencive lapses out wide that will be addressed and fixed no doubt but our forwards were solid as always in the middle.
Even though we lost we created heaps of opportunities to score, it was either scrambling defence or the last pass that was letting us down. Heaps to work on but no panic at all. The boys didnt look flat or anything which is also a good sign. I just think it was the fact that they have played 14 hard games in row and now they head into bye week with a chance to rest the niggling injuries, recharge the batteries and mentally switch off for a week.

Players of note

Manu was contained well. Mason was pressured alot but chose his moments well and made a couple of nice breaks. Ofa Ogden was very good. Excellent offloads. Sipley bash bros played well but also contained. Ligi Sao was strong. While Papalii and Bell very very busy in the middle. Tevaga didnt get much minutes possibly injured????

But my players of the match were Manaia Cherrington and Charles Gubb. Cherrington made an instant impact after probably having 1 maybe 2 training sessions with the team. He ran when it was on and backed himself while his service from dummyhalf was spotless. Great pick up.
Gubb was quiet but came alive in the last 20 when he went to the 2nd row and played on the edge. Great offloads and chased the ball everywhere. Supporting in attack and defence.

So i headed home dissapointed but not unhappy. Always things to work on. As i mentioned above good support for the boys out there from the supporters, who seemed to outnumber Manlys supporters. Heard Very loud and proud, also seen her rocking the Reserve Grade jersey, Hook us up Vera!!!!!! Also ran in to Blair another longtime supporter, good on ya champ. Toni Lewis hubby and kids were there as always cheering along. Will def come up and say hello next time

So its bye week this week but there next game is against the Panthers in Auckland on Saturday 24th June at 1pm. Get along and support as im sure its a stand alone game with the 1st grade playing on the Friday Night before. Just sum quick stats heading into this round Mason Lino is the highest point scorer in the league with 101 points and Junior Paunga is 2nd equal on the try scoring list in the league with 10

Enjoy the bye week guys

Fan In The Stand from a soggy and shithouse HE Laybutt Sports Complex in Blacktown Out

Blair

Cheers R & S, this is bloody good grassroots reporting.

How easy would it have been to just stay home today instead of heading out to that very underwhelming 'sports complex'? It's a long way from the glitz and glamour of Robina, isn't it?

I noticed our 'B-side' never gives up, they were playing the last three minutes like it was 12-16 and not 12-30. There wasn't any 'gassed', 'bewildered' 'hands on hips' when the numbers weren't running our way. Contrast that to first grade. I'm now of the firm belief that, if we have a 'culture problem', then it's a first grade thing.

Those Sipley's and Ogden, gee, we won't be waiting too long for some physicality in first grade. Sure, Tofs gone for two years from 2018, but he may be available for the rest of this year, and Patrick's just as good, if not better, and definitely more hairy! Ogden is very young but let's hold on to him, ay?

Great to see the great man up close, in what's more or less 'park footy'. Manu that is. He was try-less today and had half his jumper dirty, the other half bright white. I said to him, "that clean half of your jumper is your try-scoring half!" He got that, with a big Manu smile.

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/06/20/_isp_and_nyc_teams_s.html

INTRUST SUPER PREMIERSHIP

VODAFONE WARRIORS v PENRITH PANTHERS

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

1.00pm, Saturday, June 24

VODAFONE WARRIORS

1 ZAC SANTO

2 SAM COOK

3 JUNIOR PAUGA

4 SEMISI FOTU

5 MANU VATUVEI

6 MAFOA’AEATA HINGANO

7 MASON LINO (c)

8 TOAFOFOA SIPLEY

9 MANAIA CHERRINGTON

10 LIGI SAO

11 OFAHIKI OGDEN

12 ISAIAH PAPALI’I

13 JAMES BELL

Interchange:

14 JAZZ TEVAGA

15 CHRIS SATAE

16 PATRICK SIPLEY

17 DANIEL PALAVI

18 JOHNNY VUETIBAU

COACH | RICKY HENRY

Cold Roses

New signings Manaia Cherrington and Zac Santo will have their first outings at home when the Vodafone Warriors face Penrith in their 16th-round Intrust Super Premiership clash at Mount Smart Stadium (1.00pm kick-off).

Ex-Wests Tigers and Cronulla hooker Cherrington and former North Queensland and Canberra fullback Santo are both in the starting line-up to face the Panthers.

Cherrington made his debut from the bench in the 12-30 loss to Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles in west Sydney on June 11 while Santo had his first match for his new club in the 18-18 draw with Newcastle in Cessnock on June 3. He left the field early with an injury and missed the defeat by the Sea Eagles but now returns following the team’s first bye.

The Vodafone Warriors remain in clear second place on the ladder four points behind Wyong which had its 13th win of the season last weekend.

Meanwhile, the Vodafone Junior Warriors will be seeking back-to-back wins for the first time this season when they take on Canterbury-Bankstown on Friday night (5.45pm kick-off).

They picked up their second success of the season with a gritty 20-18 success against Gold Coast ahead of last week’s bye.

They welcome back experienced wing Lewis Soosemea while co-captain Chris Sio eyes a milestone night making his 50th NYC appearance.

Cold Roses

http://www.warriors.kiwi/news/2017/06/24/_isp_match_report_ru.html

Penrith staged an outstanding comeback to rein in the Vodafone Warriors in a 22-19 victory in today’s 16th-round Intrust Super Premiership clash at Mount Smart Stadium.

The home side was seeking to give the club three-from-three for the weekend after last night’s NRL and NYC successes over Canterbury-Bankstown.

And the Vodafone Warriors were well-placed for their 10th win of the season when a converted Bunty Afoa try had them stretching to an 18-6 lead after 55 minutes.

The Panthers, though, weren’t about to be denied in a thrilling closing stanza to the contest.

A Michael Oldfield try converted by Darren Nicholls had Penrith right back in range at 12-18 with just under 19 minutes to play.

Then in the 68th minute Jarome Luai’s touchdown and another Nicholls conversion had this one all tied up at 18-18. Game on.

The Vodafone Warriors regained their composure and worked themselves into one-point territory for the ever-cool Mason Lino to oblige and give his side a 19-18 edge with five minutes to play.

They couldn’t close the match out, though, as the Panthers worked a magical match-winner through wing Mason Cerruto to leave the Vodafone Warriors stunned and forced to stomach their second consecutive defeat following a loss to Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles two weeks ago.

Penrith had opened the scoring through Wayde Egan in the 34th minute but the Vodafone Warriors then strung together three unanswered tries either side of halftime.

The first came through a big break by interchange forward Chris Satae who put new signing Zac Santo over for his first try for the club in the 38th minutes.

Three minutes after the break Lino collected his own kick to score and Afoa followed a strong tackle-busting carry by turning up soon after to hit a hole for a good try.

MATCH DETAILS
Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

Vodafone Warriors 19 (Zac Santo, Mason Lino, Bunty Afoa tries; Mason Lino 3 conversions, field goal).

Penrith Panthers 22 (Wayde Egan, Michael Oldfield, Jarome Luai, Mason Cerruto tries; Darren Nicholls 3 conversions).

Halftime: 6-6.

Vodafone Warriors | Zac Santo; Lewis Soosemea, Junior Pauga, Ofahiki Ogden, Semisi Fotu; Sam Cook, Mason Lino (c); Toafofoa Sipley, Manaia Cherrington, Ligi Sao; Bunty Afoa, Isaiah Papali'i; James Bell. Interchange: Jazz Tevaga, Chris Satae, Patrick Sipley, Daniel Palavi.

Blair

Is it no coincidence that since the Lino/Hingano halves pairing has been split up we've suddenly stopped winning in Reserves?

Cold Roses

Is it no coincidence that since the Lino/Hingano halves pairing has been split up we've suddenly stopped winning in Reserves?

I think the influence CNK was having from fullback would be up there as well. This has always been Lino's team. He has been in and out and on the wing recently.

Cold Roses

And on another note, another week without the ISP game on tv. I really hoped for more from Foxtels dedicated League channel than just constant replays of the Matty Johns show. I understand how small some of the grounds are that some of these matches get played at. And especially when it's not the curtain raiser. But still disappointing.