Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why is Bob Carr always pro-AFL?

iggy plop

Since the year the Swans made the grand-final our sports hating premier Bob Carr has always put his hand up for the Swans and AFL in this city. Where was he during the Souths problem, they were his local team and everything. He also is keen to ruin many clubs via this pokie tax. And he unashamedly admits he doesn't know the difference between union and league.

Yet as soon as there's an AFL issue needing a voice he's the first to put on a poofy little AFL scarf to protest in favour of the Swans or some AFL issue.

What's wrong with this clown, is someone from the AFL pissing in his pocket?

Does he realise that Sydney is a league town?

What's the go with him?

iggy plop

I think it makes him look bad. He looked like a dickhead on the weekend with that swans scarf on.

Everyone knows Bob Carr is not a sporty bloke. If he starts "following" an NRL club, it is just going to look fake. And, as he has 10 clubs in his state, he's going to annoy fans of the other nine.

The Swans are the one NSW club. He has only got involved with them because he sees a chance to get more games into NSW along with the associated money it brings to the local economy.

Anyway, even if he were a big AFL fan, what does that matter? He has every right to watch whatever sport he wants.

iggy plop

And of course he watches AFL every week doesn't he??? He looks just as fake supporting that stupid game. He wouldn't know the the back-end of a goal-post if his life depended on it.

Fake as

iggy plop said:
And of course he watches AFL every week doesn't he??? He looks just as fake supporting that stupid game. He wouldn't know the the back-end of a goal-post if his life depended on it.

Fake as

Absolutely, but when there's a buck involved in supporting a local team, the pollies will be out. It's their job.

Moffo

Carr is a history fanatic. I Carr can follow who he wants for all i care, as i dont care what he follows!

He once said that state of origin was between NSW and VIC. I mean, that says it all doesn't??

The more important issue is the tax on pokies that he is refusing to back down on. Could well a backhanded attack on RL. A fellow member of labor tried to push through a review of the legislation but the vote went 34-34 and carr used his deciding vote to disregard it. Apparently during the motion, Carr was sitting in his chair reading a book :evil:

Moffo

Ron Jeremy

He's an AFL supporter because the other Labor scum state premiers (except Queensland) are all in AFL strongHolds!!,

I can't believe this bloke was voted in.......people who voted for him hang your head in shame......the damage he can do to RL with this tax increase could spell disaster for all the clubs!!

This shows me exactley what he thinks of RL!!

syphon

Ron Jeremy said:
I can't believe this bloke was voted in.......people who voted for him hang your head in shame......the damage he can do to RL with this tax increase could spell disaster for all the clubs!!

thank f**k you are not premier of that state because you dont have a bloody clue. NSW has 10% of the worlds pokies, and you think it is fine for these machines to be installed by the thousands and preying off the poor and addicted? oh, but it is ok, because the NRL feeds of these people with gambling problems.

the tax is a disincentive for the clubs to have pokies, and fair enough too, they are also doing the local cafe's down the road out of business with their $2 meal of the day, subsidised of course by the pokies again.

NSW would be a far better off state without any of them, and if rugby league is hanging off these machines and the money they rape off the poor, the boo f**king hoo for them.

have they, i dont know, ever considered ways of making money WITHIN the game? you know, like in crowds, merchandise, sponsors etc? or is the game reliant on outside revenue sources for its survival?

Ultima

syphon said:
thank f**k you are not premier of that state because you dont have a bloody clue. NSW has 10% of the worlds pokies, and you think it is fine for these machines to be installed by the thousands and preying off the poor and addicted? oh, but it is ok, because the NRL feeds of these people with gambling problems.

the tax is a disincentive for the clubs to have pokies, and fair enough too, they are also doing the local cafe's down the road out of business with their $2 meal of the day, subsidised of course by the pokies again.

NSW would be a far better off state without any of them, and if rugby league is hanging off these machines and the money they rape off the poor, the boo f**king hoo for them.

have they, i dont know, ever considered ways of making money WITHIN the game? you know, like in crowds, merchandise, sponsors etc? or is the game reliant on outside revenue sources for its survival?

Better to look like an idiot than to open ones mouth and remove all doubt...

The NRL makes enough money (from crowds, etc, etc) to play each club the salary cap plus a fair hit of the running costs.... BTW how does the AFL survive? What's that you say? Government grants and the exact same methods that the NRL clubs use except with full casinos as well?!?!? Did you also know that most money from pokies does NOT come from addicts? It comes from people who just put in a $20 or so dollars when they go down to the pub once or twice a week.... I would hardly call them addicts....

syphon

then why was the boss of the nrl saying half the clubs might go under??

idiot, and studies have been conducted that show roughly 60% of pokie money comes from the addicts, and something like 90% from below average income earners.

Ron Jeremy

syphon said:
Ron Jeremy said:

"thank f**k you are not premier of that state because you dont have a bloody clue. NSW has 10% of the worlds pokies, and you think it is fine for these machines to be installed by the thousands and preying off the poor and addicted? oh, but it is ok, because the NRL feeds of these people with gambling problems."

First of all take a chill pill!!, your not the premier of the state either if your language is anything to go by!!

People have the choice in there actions!!, clubs do provide help to those who feel they may have a problem.......if they do have a problem and don't seek the appropriate avenues to help them.....then that's the problem of the individual not club!!

Im a big gambler.......but i never step over the mark why??.....i choose not too!!

"the tax is a disincentive for the clubs to have pokies, and fair enough too, they are also doing the local cafe's down the road out of business with their $2 meal of the day, subsidised of course by the pokies again."

Haven't they heard of competition......i suppose your against Woolworths & know Coles Meyer for the introduction of fuel vouchers arfter spending more then $30 at these stores??, this will also drive smaller petrol stations out of business!!, so to will aldi with there cheap prices and smaller supermarkets etc!!

And last but not least your the minority..... the general concensus is that most people are against the introduction of the new tax.....even his party members are suprisingly quiet on this issue???

Ultima

syphon said:
then why was the boss of the nrl saying half the clubs might go under??

idiot, and studies have been conducted that show roughly 60% of pokie money comes from the addicts, and something like 90% from below average income earners.

If someone wanted to tax you more you wouldn't complain huh? How very noble of you.... However welcome to reality.... Also notice how I don't have to start every paragraph with an insult? It helps arguments that way....

BTW.... WTF are you here for? You have yet to do anything but bitch and complain in a few threads.... I think you were looking for www.softcocks.com.au...

PS - Please provide me a link to these studies...

syphon

i am here because i was told by someone this was an AFL site, and judging by the number of threads on AFL, its hard not to mistake it for one.

obsessed.

Misty Bee

I reckon Syphon is right. Would you rather tax pokies or see your car rego go up? Or see education or hospitals forther compromised?

I was very anti the poker machine tax until this evening. Why? because I have seen how the main beneficiaries of NOT hving a tax - ie the Rugby League clubs and players, are conducting themselves.

If League has to survive on pokies, then it can't survive on it's own merits. Clubs simply have to come to terms with it, and get on with life.

BTW, wasn't it a Bob Carr speech that compelled NSW to slaughter Queensland a few years ago?

syphon

correct misty bee. basically the clubs have a cash bonanza with having poker machines, they are 100% guaranteed to turn a profit in the long run, and they are addictive, and they feed off those who are unemployed, or on a very basic wage generally. I go down to a club and will see many pensioners pour 50 after 50 dollar note in that slot, and 5 hours later they win 200 dollars (after spending near 1000) and they are happy as larry. It really is frightening stuff.

RSL's and clubs can make money through other channels, and that is really what this tax is all about. People will complain that it taxes GROSS turnover, as opposed to profits. This is the case because if you only tax profits, they are still a financial windfall (even if the tax is as high as 70%), and they can still act as a lure to get people into the clubs and spend money on drinks etc. By taxing gross takings, it is an active disincentive to have so many of these machines, and revenue will have to be raised via other channels at the clubs disposal.

Not only as misty bee points out, could the money be used on the fledgling hospital or education system, but it has enourmous social benefits too. People with more disposable income, able to feed the kids, not having to rely on the community services like ive been involved with for problem gamblers that include free lunch at a community hall because they have no money left, or relying on organisations such as vinnies or the salvos. Poker machines in particular are designed for their addictive fast gameplay, and this community would be a lot better off without them.

poojar

Misty Bee said:
I reckon Syphon is right. Would you rather tax pokies or see your car rego go up? Or see education or hospitals forther compromised?

The problem is Misty that education has been comprimised. Not only does he increase poker machine taxes to raise more money, the Carr government is raising TAFE fee's, some by 300%, with the common increase being from a charge of $700 a year currently to $1600 dollars, upfront. On top of this he is cutting 1100 jobs in TAFE next year, mainly from student services. Meaning students pay more for less

This governments policy is to take, take, take and give back very little.

And itll take a hell of a lot more than a poker machine tax to sort out the hospital system

P.S Have been a labour voter all my life, no longer though