Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XVIII

oldmancraigy

Hineyrulz: you know Watmough plays Seffas position right??

Are you also aware that Seffa played because we had nothing better??
How is improving one position, while still keeping depth, a bad thing?
Please enlighten us?

For what it is worth, Seffa seems to do a bit on the church speaking side of things. A number of the young blokes are involved in churches. Young guys in first grade can make dumb choices. What is wrong with keeping around a mentor they can look up to?

I hope Seffa doesnt play firsts ever again for us. But I can see how he could be a good locker room influence

Seph re-signed?? Not sure why TBH.Surely he would demand over 150K? And surely he isn't in our top 17 with Manu fit and watmough signing.

Obscene Assassin

I'd play Sefa in the halves with Matto for Wenty. This means that Matto would be getting the ball more often than not on the last tackle which will actively force him to work on his kicking game and 5th tackle options. It also isn't bad to have Sefa as a back-up lock/half. As you've said Hindy111 he wouldn't command too much money as no other club looked interested. Plus 2 years ago Gould said he wished he had kept him at Penrith, so there's that.

Joely01

Yeah i really love this club being a laughing stock :?

Honestly if you think squad has any chance of being a threat next season you are kidding yourself. Honestly how can anyone who is a fan be happy we have re-signed Paulo??? On two years no less. I think BA did a great job this year and am excited about some of the young blokes coming through but lets be honest our recruitment has been laughable so far. Watmough is exactly what we need but for 4 years???? i have no doubt we threw massive overs to get him to come over. Takarangi is a good first grader but i fail to see anything else to get excited about especially after we have lost the best Parra player in a generation.

The rest of the squad are risks, gambles, also rans and injury prone hacks. Yay team!!

That is exactly the point i am making, how are we a laughing stock? shows you are set on how we were a couple of years ago and not prepared to move on.

I don't rate Seffa, but i can also understand why he has been re-signed, why is it so bad having a fist grade player in Wenty putting pressure on our forwards? All good clubs have guys in reserve grade who can step up when asked.

The Watmough signing, he is an international rep player, if he lasts the 4 years awesome, if not even if we get 3 years out of him he is still a very good signing and exactly what our club needs, i'm not sure how you can't see this. On his $$$ do you know what he has signed for?

In terms of replacing Hayne, if you think we will try and directly replace him you are kidding, the guy is the best player to have played the game since Johns and arguably on par or better.
We will not be playing the same style as this year, we will adapt and play to our strengths which next year is going to be our forwards, Sandow was good this year, off the back of our pack next year he will go close to winning the Dally M.

Mickyd39

That is exactly the point i am making, how are we a laughing stock? shows you are set on how we were a couple of years ago and not prepared to move on.

I don't rate Seffa, but i can also understand why he has been re-signed, why is it so bad having a fist grade player in Wenty putting pressure on our forwards? All good clubs have guys in reserve grade who can step up when asked.

The Watmough signing, he is an international rep player, if he lasts the 4 years awesome, if not even if we get 3 years out of him he is still a very good signing and exactly what our club needs, i'm not sure how you can't see this. On his $$$ do you know what he has signed for?

In terms of replacing Hayne, if you think we will try and directly replace him you are kidding, the guy is the best player to have played the game since Johns and arguably on par or better.
We will not be playing the same style as this year, we will adapt and play to our strengths which next year is going to be our forwards, Sandow was good this year, off the back of our pack next year he will go close to winning the Dally M.

:clap::clap::clap:

Brillant, well said.

gustarny

Bugger me. We have just signed about 8 new players and already all i have been reading on here is negativity.I myself am totally happy with these signings.We have recruited exactly the areas we needed Experience,Toughness,Speed and Winning culture and what more a lot of these players are on one year deals,perform or you are gone.
The player i am most excited about other than Watmough is DannyWicks anyone bagging this guy definately didnt see too many of his games at the knights.Im tipping this fella to be one of our best next year and not at Wenty either in our top 17in the NRL.

gustarny

I also do think their is still one big fish to be caught and if this happens this should negate the Hayne factor.

Hineyrulz: you know Watmough plays Seffas position right??

Are you also aware that Seffa played because we had nothing better??
How is improving one position, while still keeping depth, a bad thing?
Please enlighten us?

For what it is worth, Seffa seems to do a bit on the church speaking side of things. A number of the young blokes are involved in churches. Young guys in first grade can make dumb choices. What is wrong with keeping around a mentor they can look up to?

I hope Seffa doesnt play firsts ever again for us. But I can see how he could be a good locker room influence
i know Seffa plays Watmoughs position, that's why it's absolute lunacy to offer him any sort of deal. Surely we are well stocked for people in that posistion???

Mentor??? He's a symptom of our failures the last 5 seasons.

spiderdan

that's the thing people seem to be missing. you could maybe put 4 other players in the same class as hayne. inglis, smith, thurston and slater (maybe foran and evans at a stretch), none of which are available.

any other fullback replacement i don't think would offer more than hopoate, and i think chamion and takarangi are very good centres.

our top 17 plus next few players are very strong for next year and i think with a more experienced forward pack we will see sandow go up another level.

I think in second row/lock we probably need some depth,keep in mind we have used gower and terepo and lussick there in the last few years... but why have we signed so many props?

TBH if we get plenty of go forward from our forwards-Seph would create havoc.The games he played well was when our forwards made yards and bent the line.When they didn't and he was asked too help out you could say there where better guys at doing it than him(the hard yards)
As far as adding something different he does do that.He is a decent defender and id say made the most tackles for us last year?
Averaged 32 tackles and 62 mtrs and not too many errors...

Lets just say there are better guys at going forward and bashing guys in defense.If he doesn't have to doo that maybe he will offer some attack off the bench

that's the thing people seem to be missing. you could maybe put 4 other players in the same class as hayne. inglis, smith, thurston and slater (maybe foran and evans at a stretch), none of which are available.

any other fullback replacement i don't think would offer more than hopoate, and i think chamion and takarangi are very good centres.

our top 17 plus next few players are very strong for next year and i think with a more experienced forward pack we will see sandow go up another level.

Thurston-Cam smith-Slater have had better careers mate......Haynes had a great half a year in 2009 and a great 2014...The rest have been flashes here and there.Like benji marshall....Seriously get over him.At his best he was the best.But too many games he was quiet.2014 was the only year he had some sort of actual consitancy to his game....2009 was more like ben barbas 2012 .everything tried turned to gold.Hayne tried same things for the next few years and it more often than not turned to mud.

For hayne to be the greatest he would of needed to produce what he did in 2014 for the next 3-4 yrs

oldmancraigy

i know Seffa plays Watmoughs position, that's why it's absolute lunacy to offer him any sort of deal. Surely we are well stocked for people in that posistion???

Mentor??? He's a symptom of our failures the last 5 seasons.

So Seffas off field antics have been the reason we played poorly????

That will do me. Well done on a convincing argument....

Are you not aware there is a massive difference between lifestyle advice and playing footy??

I reckon our signings are done, Craig.

Allgood
Champion
Crooks
De Gois
Edwards
Fa'aoso
Faraimo
Folau
Goodall
Gower
Hopoate
Hunt
Lavaka
Lussick
Mannah
Matterson
Ma'u
McPherson
Moeroa
Morgan
Mossop
Nelson
Norman
Pauli
Paulo
Paulo
Peats
Pritchard
Radradra
Robinson
Sandow
Takairangi
Terepo
Toutai
Watmough
Wicks

That's 36 merkins.

Wiki reckons our "squad" is

Allgood
Champion
Crooks
De Gois
Edwards
Fa'aoso
Faraimo
Folau
Gower
Hopoate
Hunt
Kelly
Lussick
McPherson
Mannah (c)
Matterson
Ma'u
Moeroa
Morgan
Mossop
Nelson
Norman
Pauli
Joseph Paulo
Junior Paulo
Peats
Pritchard
Radradra
Robinson
Sandow
Takairangi
Terepo
Toutai
Watmough
Wicks
Coach: Arthur

So Seffas off field antics have been the reason we played poorly????

That will do me. Well done on a convincing argument....

Are you not aware there is a massive difference between lifestyle advice and playing footy??
I'm talking about his on field influence, how many bonehead lazy plays have we seen from this bloke??? How many times has he refused to cover up on the inside and allowed a break that lead to a try??? How often does he like to do the tough hit ups on his own 20m line???

Honestly what advice could he offer off field??? Pamphlets for Hillsong??? Signing this bloke offers no upside whatsoever, with Hayne gone we can't even use the excuse to keep our best player happy.