Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XIX

Obscene Assassin

In other words, you're assuming he will go to the club with the highest offer.

I expect the NRL will contribute a set mount irregardless of which club it applies to.

Nah not really. Pou is saying that the NRL won't top up the contract just because he wants to go to one certain club, who may be happening to pay less. Never did he say that Folau will only go to the highest bidder. I could see the NRL putting a figure which they will pay to every club to pay for players outside of the salary cap.

Stupid, I know but they way they've dealt with things in the past I wouldn't be surprised if this actually happens.

Obscene Assassin

A quick review of his career to date would suggest that it is a more than reasonable assumption...his loyalty is up there with $BW!!!

Yeah, what a loser Folau is. Trying to earn the most money for himself and his family in a short amount of time. I'm sure that when he retires from professional sport he'll have no problem picking up a million a season.

f**k you're a dumb merkin. I just said he could take less to play somewhere more favourable (like any player). But if the NRL tops up the difference then he's not taking less at all, is he?

I expect the NRL will contribute a set mount irregardless of which club it applies to.

I hope so. But then if one club is offering peanuts (on top of the NRL's payment) I can't see him knocking back three quarters of a million from another club. I don't reckon any rugby league player in the world would accept $500k a year less to play at one club over another.

spiderdan

yeah you would think there would be a cap on the amount an individual player's contract would be topped up to lure them to nrl. it wouldn't really contribute to the level playing field if, for example, izzy went to dogs for $1m/year because the nrl lured him with another million dollar carrot.

ps. regardless - not irregardless.
#pethateofminewhenpeopleusethatwordwrong
#sameasusingofwhenitshouldbehavelikewhenpeoplewritewouldofitshaveyouarseclowns

Craig Johnston

This is the bit I don't understand. Considering that Parramatta has one of the biggest fan bases in the NRL, I don't see why we shouldn't be in a position to offer big third party deals in a similar vein to the Roosters, Broncos and Bulldogs. Why would there be any shortage of businesses prepared to be sponsors of one of the most popular sporting teams in NSW?

that would be because it's not true

What players can earn outside the salary cap:

$600,000 - Marquee Player Allowance - any or all of the Top 25 players at each club can share in payments made by club sponsors seeking to use a player's intellectual property. These may be guaranteed in the playing contract by clubs.
$100,000 - Motor Vehicle Allowance ? a maximum amount of five motor vehicles may be provided to players in the Top 25 outside of the salary cap. (Valued at $20,000 each).

Unlimited - Players can earn unlimited amounts from corporate sponsors who are not associated with the club and who do not use the game's intellectual property (no club logos, jerseys or emblems) provided these are pre-approved. These agreements may not be negotiated by the club as an incentive for a player to sign a contract, nor can they be guaranteed by the club.

Unlimited - Tertiary education fees, approved traineeships, medical insurance costs, relocation/temporary accommodation costs are not included in the cap but must be approved.

Payments for players outside Top 25
$440,000 - Cap for all players outside of the top 25 who compete in the Telstra Premiership.

http://www.nrl.com/nrlhq/referencecentre/salarycap/tabid/10434/default.aspx

One last comment, this one is for Pou. The physical stats on the Eels website have been updated. Pauli is finally 120kgs.

Cheers mate. I had stopped checking the details. Gee the NYC graduates are big boys.

Pauli 120kg
Folau 112kg
Moeroa 111kg
Goodall 109kg
Lavaka 109kg
Kamikamica 107kg
Newbigging 105kg
Matterson 103kg

Pritchard's height has been fixed but now it looks like he's underweight. Radradra is listed at a more realistic 105kg as well, and Junior Paulo at 118kg.

#'academy'

Obscene Assassin

Cheers mate. I had stopped checking the details. Gee the NYC graduates are big boys.

Pauli 120kg
Folau 112kg
Moeroa 111kg
Goodall 109kg
Lavaka 109kg
Kamikamica 107kg
Newbigging 105kg
Matterson 103kg

Pritchard's height has been fixed but now it looks like he's underweight. Radradra is listed at a more realistic 105kg as well, and Junior Paulo at 118kg.

#'academy'

If Folau is actually that weight no wonder he wasn't allowed to go to the USA. Hopefully he can get down to a 105-107, I think he'd be much better at that weight and would be able to last longer out in the centres. Good size on the rest of them though.

f**k you're a dumb merkin. I just said he could take less to play somewhere more favourable (like any player). But if the NRL tops up the difference then he's not taking less at all, is he?

really ?

which is why I said

Twizzle said:

which means he may not go to the highest bidder merkin

Excatly-And by favourable it doesn't always mean money.Maybe if he went too the roosters not only does it come with great location but when he and his family want to eat at the best seafood restruants in Sydney its free, or when they go to buy a car its at cost price.When a nice apartment is for sale that's worth 2 million they sell it for 1.7 million.There are plenty of favourable little deals or perks that they would offer.And as with any job some places are just better to be at than others.

What's the cost price of a TATA? $999?

Pauli 120kg
Folau 112kg
Moeroa 111kg
Goodall 109kg
Lavaka 109kg
Kamikamica 107kg
Newbigging 105kg
Matterson 103kg

#'academy'

#chiprollsatmadmonday more like it!

yeah you would think there would be a cap on the amount an individual player's contract would be topped up to lure them to nrl. it wouldn't really contribute to the level playing field if, for example, izzy went to dogs for $1m/year because the nrl lured him with another million dollar carrot.

ps. regardless - not irregardless.
#pethateofminewhenpeopleusethatwordwrong
#sameasusingofwhenitshouldbehavelikewhenpeoplewritewouldofitshaveyouarseclowns

Holy McHashtag.

lingard

We just don't have a network of rich/powerful supporters who can source these deals

That doesn't make sense. Parra has about the biggest fan base in the NRL. Parramatta is a thriving business centre - one of the main hubs of the Sydney metropolitan area. Why would an area like Canterbury have more rich and powerful supporters than we do?

Obscene Assassin

Why are you asking us? We have absolutely no idea. The fact is that Canterbury (I'm pretty sure Canterbury Leagues has the highest intake of money into pokies) is able to source out 3rd party deals like no one else outside of the Roosters, and Broncos.