Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield 2017

BrissyRedV

I know today's match is really just a glorified trial but I for one will be watching with interest to see what game plan Mary has in place for them to play.
It better not be the same old boring hit ups, passing cross field before the defensive line and then kick and hope on the last tackle otherwise my new TV
will not survive my anger.

Let's hope there is something about Mary today to like.
That is pretty much the definition of a "power game". That's why we have strengthened the pack and he bought a tall winger. He also said that he would allow the players to play what is in front of them. Already lining up a different line of excuses to blame the players.

Crush

I know today's match is really just a glorified trial but I for one will be watching with interest to see what game plan Mary has in place for them to play.
It better not be the same old boring hit ups, passing cross field before the defensive line and then kick and hope on the last tackle otherwise my new TV
will not survive my anger.
Let's hope there is something about Mary today to like.
Lol "something about mary"
Nice.

ALSGI

Watch Charity Shield Game Live.
For those that don't have fox or don't want to sign up for monthly packages, you can sign up for a free 2 week trial (select the sports package) and watch the game this arvo for free on your device or smart tv if it has the foxplay app.
Just don't forget to cancel your subscription before the 2 weeks are up.

You'll need data or WiFi off course.

Western red

What has this club come to ? Give these youngsters a go it's the same team as last year and look how we preformed our attack was no existencing. Mann is on the bench and playing back up centre to Lafai the guy was our leading try scorer last year and only played half the season. So the halfback race is now between field and McCrone

ALSGI

McAnchor just interviewed on 2gb and was totally underwhelming as usual.
I was pretty excited about this game until I heard supercoach talk.
He said McCrone will play 1st 40 then Field second 40. Talked about McCrones 140 NRL games and ability to lead the team around!!!!!!!!FFS.
He called McInnes a "big body" and hopes he can play 80mins, but McCrone can back up for 10-15mins. Good plan, except for the first 40. Mentioned their other hooker played last night (Havilli).
Talked about being too rigid in the past, and the new power game.......
Only positive was Mose is playing round 1 "in reserve grade"? Positive in that he's finally going to play for the RedV I suppose.
Good news was he didn't mention he got us into the finals in 2015. Any chance supercoach could be sacked tonight?

BrissyRedV

He said McCrone will play 1st 40 then Field second 40. Talked about McCrones 140 NRL games and ability to lead the team around!!!!!!!!FFS.
He called McInnes a "big body" and hopes he can play 80mins, but McCrone can back up for 10-15mins. Good plan, except for the first 40. Mentioned their other hooker played last night (Havilli).
Only positive was Mose is playing round 1 "in reserve grade"? Positive in that he's finally going to play for the RedV I suppose.
Good news was he didn't mention he got us into the finals in 2015. Any chance supercoach could be sacked tonight?
I feel physically ill.

Smack

You could build a team around Hunt, not bloody MCrone wtf

Red V for life

I think we should start calling Mary Dory as he suffers short-term memory loss. The justification for McCrone...I mean he (and Widdop) failed repeatedly last year to lead us anywhere let alone around the park.

Did he have anything to say on Mann or how he's planning on using him (or not as the case may be)? I'm starting to worry he may struggle to find his place in the top 17.

Crush

OK, nearly game time. Enough about Mary and his shortcomings, lets hope that the mighty dragons can beat the bunnies! I hate the bunnies, bunch of British backpackers and redfern scum. Cmon dragons, lets start the season with a win!

BennyV

Would be keen to see what Mann has done to upset McGregor.

ALSGI

I think we should start calling Mary Dory as he suffers short-term memory loss. The justification for McCrone...I mean he (and Widdop) failed repeatedly last year to lead us anywhere let alone around the park.

Did he have anything to say on Mann or how he's planning on using him (or not as the case may be)? I'm starting to worry he may struggle to find his place in the top 17.
Nuffink on Mann mate.

ALSGI

Would be keen to see what Mann has done to upset McGregor.
Proved him wrong last year, top try scorer by the end of the season and put pressure on supercoach after the 9's and Tigers trial. Bad move Kurt.

I feel physically ill.
Thank god I now refuse to listen to that yobo fest on 2GB.
But on the basis of what was posted about the interview I've got a bucket beside the arm chair.
As he didn't mention how long Widdop will play hopefully Mann might get as shot in the halves in the 2nd half.
As they say in the classics "May the force be with us" but unfortunately

ALSGI

Thank god I now refuse to listen to that yobo fest on 2GB.
But on the basis of what was posted about the interview I've got a bucket beside the arm chair.
As he didn't mention how long Widdop will play hopefully Mann might get as shot in the halves in the 2nd half.
As they say in the classics "May the force be with us" but unfortunately
OT, you're suggesting McIdiot is a smart coach and was keeping his powder dry?

borat

Man the whinging that goes here. I think Mary's fate will be sealed in a matter of weeks but there is nothing he said here thats not a positive. The fact that Field is getting another 40mins after playing last week is great. This would be his highest pressure game to date. If Mary is talking up McCrone then fantastic, hopefully it takes the pressure off Field to perform.

I can't stand McCrone and I reckon I was one of the very few who argued what a rubbish signing he was when he was signed. But I still want to see Field handle this game, and in particular what his kicking game under pressure is like, before he gets the reins in Rd 1.

Its a trial, and unfortunately we are in the position where we need McCrone to get some minutes.