Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JLT Sheffield Shield 2017/18

Incorrect

Double hungy....Welcome to our new Wicketkeeper Bancroft.

Renshaw will open Cartwright will bat 7, Bancroft 6.

It will happen.
Renshaw failed again... QLD 2 down with only 5 runs on the board....

The philosophy should be this - is Bancroft a better opener right now than he is a wicketkeeper? The answer would seem to be a resounding Yes. Is he in better form at the top of the order than the incumbent Renshaw? Again, a resounding Yes. Is his keeping better than Nevill's? Questionable at best. Hence, you would think Bancroft should get the gig as an opener

The job of the top 6 is to pile on the most runs they can. Having Renshaw in the top 6 in his current form does not really represent the best chance of doing that. So I think Bancroft should open, Cartwright at 6 and Nevill to keep and bat 7.... But I'll probably have a different opinion tomorrow! LOL... Who knows, maybe our little battler Matty Wade can score a blistering 14 or 15 in Tassie's 2nd innings and put himself right back in to calculations!!!

Incorrect

Another NSW Left armer dominating the Shield.... Good old Doug the Rug has bowled 3 over for 3 maidens in QLD's 2nd dig and picked up 2 wickets!

Renshaw failed again... QLD 2 down with only 5 runs on the board....

The philosophy should be this - is Bancroft a better opener right now than he is a wicketkeeper? The answer would seem to be a resounding Yes. Is he in better form at the top of the order than the incumbent Renshaw? Again, a resounding Yes. Is his keeping better than Nevill's? Questionable at best. Hence, you would think Bancroft should get the gig as an opener

The job of the top 6 is to pile on the most runs they can. Having Renshaw in the top 6 in his current form does not really represent the best chance of doing that. So I think Bancroft should open, Cartwright at 6 and Nevill to keep and bat 7.... But I'll probably have a different opinion tomorrow! LOL... Who knows, maybe our little battler Matty Wade can score a blistering 14 or 15 in Tassie's 2nd innings and put himself right back in to calculations!!!
Indeed but we are talking the Aussie selectors.

Not saying that is what I would do, saying it is what will be done.

2 weeks

I reckon they'll go

Warner
Bancroft
Khawaja
Smith
Handscomb
The Big Show
Neville
Starc
Cummins
Goat
Haze

typicalfan

Gilly wasn’t first choice keeper for NSW he was stuck behind Emery before going to WA. Maybe a promotion is what he needs.

Healy wasn’t first choice for his state when he got picked either. Maybe the key to good keepers are guys that worked harder behind established players

We're dumb as shit if we pick Bancroft as keeper. He's not even as good as Handscomb ffs. Pick him as a batsman, absolutely. But his keeping isn't up to state level, let alone Test matches and as a part timer his batting will definitely suffer if he's asked to keep

Timbo

We're dumb as shit if we pick Bancroft as keeper. He's not even as good as Handscomb ffs. Pick him as a batsman, absolutely. But his keeping isn't up to state level, let alone Test matches and as a part timer his batting will definitely suffer if he's asked to keep

Whilst I agree, part of me wonders if it's the selectors trying to give themselves cover to recall Wade for the second or third test onwards.

'Well, we tried and he just wasn't up to it. Back to good old Wadey'.

Whilst I agree, part of me wonders if it's the selectors trying to give themselves cover to recall Wade for the second or third test onwards.

'Well, we tried and he just wasn't up to it. Back to good old Wadey'.
Nothing would surprise me with anything the selectors do anymore.

typicalfan

I’m not advocating playing Bancroft as keeper.

Give Nevill the Ashes series to prove himself with the bat. Give Bancroft the Shield season to prove himself as the keeper. Or give Bancroft a shot as opener as a specialist batsman but I think Renshaw should get first crack. Leaning towards Maxwell at 6.

Timbo

Tassie are currently 2/394, 422 ahead of Victoria, Paine 65*.

Nothing would bring me more joy then them declaring and him not getting one final knock.

I am delirious with joy.

They now have to choices - pick a real keeper, or admit it's about jobs for the boys.

Mate. You know our selectors. There's a very obvious third option

"No one put their hand up for the spot and, as the incumbent, Matty Wade deserves our loyalty after missing out on a chance to bat in the second innings of his last shield game..."

Timbo

Mate. You know our selectors. There's a very obvious third option

"No one put their hand up for the spot and, as the incumbent, Matty Wade deserves our loyalty after missing out on a chance to bat in the second innings of his last shield game..."

Oh god. You're right.

Meanwhile, Blues win.

You know for all of this fapping Smiffy's been doing over Daniel 'Mr Potential' Hughes, nobody seems to have pointed out that Kurtis Patterson is younger, has played more FC games and has a higher batting average than him.

Front-Rower

They now have to choices - pick a real keeper, or admit it's about jobs for the boys.

The third option is to pick the 6 best bats, the best w/k and the 4 best bowlers. It’s a poor line of thinking, IMO, to suggest the w/k should be there to be score big runs or be a failsafe for when the bats fail.

As such, Nevill is the best w/k in Australia and should be picked.

The third option is to pick the 6 best bats, the best w/k and the 4 best bowlers. It’s a poor line of thinking, IMO, to suggest the w/k should be there to be score big runs or be a failsafe for when the bats fail.

As such, Nevill is the best w/k in Australia and should be picked.
Nah that’s crazy talk.

Iafeta

Our boy Doolan showing what a champion he is. Great innings son, did the LU cricket community proud.