Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parra v Manly LIVE game day thread, March 18, 2018

If they were to use the heat as an excuse then they've got massive problems. There is no way that should come into affect. Yes it was hot but the difference was what team was prepared and the other one wasn't. Hell I remember we smashed Penrith years ago in 35 degree heat. Today was a disgusting performance from a team who would've been mentally switched on in those type of games last year. I don't know whats happened since half time last week or since the pre-season, its like they've gone backwards all of the sudden and it seems like the team isnt gelling well or something. I know its only Round 2 but really they need to improve by about 10,000% if they are really serious about playing in the finals again and based on that performance I don't know if they will. I'm sure there will be changes but I wouldn't surprised either way. Our attitude needs to change.

Chipmunk

Zero from 24? Unlikely I reckon. A bigger sample will let our quality show.

I actually think there is little between most teams on any given day this season. I expect us to win plenty of games, but Im more hopeful we will have a good season rather than confident we will have a good season

Im astounded that so called pundits have us ahead of 12 other sides on the Premiership betting. I'll give it away if were realistically any more of a chance of winning the comp than the Panthers, Broncos, Dragons, Sharks, Manly and Raiders. I expect us to have better seasons than Dogs, Souths, Warriors, Knights, Tigers and Titans, but they're still going to be competitive as a few have shown already.

Just shows that you have turn up every week and no game is in the bag.

We need to beat Sharks next week. (Der)

Fun fact: after we beat Sharks at home, they will be 0-3 and we will be 1-3 with either Cowboys or Storm.

I’m not going to throw the towel in just yet.

Chipmunk

Enthusiasm = 0

Edit: This week, last week and every so often over the last 3-5 years the players seem to be just going through the motions. They seem to lack a hunger/desire to win. I can see it in their warm ups before the game - there is no "steel" in their eyes.

The players that have it and always seem to bring it on game day are Brown, Edwards, Moses, Gower and Kritchard.
I have seen these guys at both pre and post-game functions in Melbourne and Darwin and if it is after a loss, these are the only 5 guys that want to punch a hole in the wall. The rest are MEH.

It's unusual that a team would be like that in the first two week of a season. Why do you think this would be?

That's what I noticed today manly offload straight to a player we throw it on the ground..

Why isn't French there in support?
Rooted? Just like Hayne he might not have the stamina for fullback either. Arthur talked about his fitness being what French needed to work on to cope with fullback play, not his size.

Chipmunk

It won’t! Because he’s a fullback, not a winger.

I think he's player of limited use in the NRL to be honest. He's a great.player in a team with some momentum and things going your way and a complete disaster when momentum is agaisnt you. His derence is virtually non-existent and he will become more of a target the more competitive we become. I'm not sure there is a spot in this team when Gutherson returns.

Chipmunk

No idea to be honest.
Maybe its just a job for them and while they want to win, they don't burn to win.

But surely every NRL player would be the same across the 16 clubs? Or every club has roughly the same amount of players in their club with that attitude?

I'm not even sure Manly was that great. Their opponents didn't offer much resistance.
You don't win 54-0 if you didn't play a blinder. Penrith offered f**k all against us early on last week and we invited them back into the game. Manly were clinical. They completed 35 sets FFS.

emjaycee

But surely every NRL player would be the same across the 16 clubs? Or every club has roughly the same amount of players in their club with that attitude?
Perhaps the loss to Melbourne in last years finals has had an impact.
Or Hayne coming back.
Or Kenny not being picked.

Tigers wanted it more than Melbourne yesterday.
Newcastle wanted it more than Roosters last week.
There was a hunger to win that we haven't shown.

Des Hasler? F**k me. Did you see what that merkin did to the Dogs?

Also, what if Hasler says no or you can't agree to terms, who do you go to then? You'd probably look quite desperate at this point as well given that you've already arseholed BA and don't have a back up.

I'm glad you aren't in charge, we'd probably end up with Kearney again.
But Kearney has won 2 from 2 he is a much better coach than BA FFS!!!!

So is two time wooden spoon winner Nathan Brown.

Chipmunk

You don't win 54-0 if you didn't play a blinder. Penrith offered f**k all against us early on last week and we invited them back into the game. Manly were clinical. They completed 35 sets FFS.

You dont make 50 tackle busts and 11 line breaks unless your opponents defensive attitude is shit house. Most teams whose opponents offer little resistance should be clinical in essentially what is little more than an opposed training run.

The coach himself admitted the team didn't have a go.

From your observations from our first couple of games do you think we look as fit as our opponents?
I think we looked more fatigued by the end of the game, but there are factors other than fitness that determine fatigue over the course of a footy match.

Chipmunk

Perhaps the loss to Melbourne in last years finals has had an impact.
Or Hayne coming back.
Or Kenny not being picked.

Tigers wanted it more than Melbourne yesterday.
Newcastle wanted it more than Roosters last week.
There was a hunger to win that we haven't shown.

Well if any of those are the case then we have some serious issues that won't be fixed quickly.

Assuming it actually happens, I would employ a measured response based on the particular set of circumstances that lead to this currently hypothetical situation.

Its still early days. I'm not writing off our season just yet.
As fans we won't be privy to all of those circumstances so we will just blame the coach.

He will be if BA doesn't seek some help which I fear he is ignorantly avoiding.
Yeah, 'seeking help' - that's the way to retain the confidence of the players. He knew how to coach last year, why would he not know how to coach this year?

Maybe he's forgotten heaps of shit like Des Hasler?