Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 106 49.3%
  • No

Votes: 109 50.7%

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/837c46a7610376295f87ac6cead66eb9

November 1, 2013 9:26am
TITANS coach John Cartwright's assistant Steve Murphy will ink a $600,000 deal with Parramatta after chief executive Graham Annesley yesterday sacked seven staff in a mass shake-up of the Gold Coast.
Eighteen months after a $25 million debt nearly crippled the club, Annesley has presided over a major restructure in a cost-cutting exercise to safeguard the Titans' long-term future.
$600K? What?

You are kidding. That is one f**king intelligent beast. It is pretty amazing that a gorilla has the knowledge to know that shit is generally considered offensive to humans, he knew exactly what was going to piss them off. He worked out how to sling shit a fair distance, and was smart enough to realise that he had to clear the fence or it was pointless.

If that wasn't smart enough, he knew he had to get the f**k out of there once done so that the humans wouldn't know who was responsible. How many animals would even think that what they were doing was considered bad behaviour.

That is one smart primate.
Right idea, bad execution.

He’s already one are ahead of BA!

IFR33K

I was a bit bored so I thought I'd have a look at the differences in coaching staff from last year (and the year before) compared to this year. I think the biggest changes were having Gentle as forwards/defensive coach to no one, I believe BA took on the role essentially but no specialised coach was there until Kidwell came along. And having a contact/tackling coach in Brett O'Farrell, I'm unsure if he was replaced.

Many will say the difference between Ron Palmer and Lachlan Wilmot, but that position was filled so imo isn't as drastic as completely getting rid of a position.

We all have our different opinions on why the team isn't performing at their peak, I'd say it's to do with lack of spending to the football department.

It’s easy to say admin never offered BA the staff he required, but he should never of attempted to take on additional roles.

I’m also sure I’ve read somewhere where BA stated he didn’t require any help.

Joshuatheeel

Is the coaching really the problem?

Laurie Daley made a good point the other morning, that BA can coach but he has probably got as much as he can from the current group of players, so we need 8 or so new players.

And BA has the ability to do that, make some changes to the roster.

Also I reckon injuries need to be factored in. Yeah we lost the first 6, but then as we suddenly got 2 wins we are hit we injuries - it really killed any chance we had of turning the year around. Then add some bad luck which always happens when you are struggling!!

Obscene Assassin

It’s easy to say admin never offered BA the staff he required, but he should never of attempted to take on additional roles.

I’m also sure I’ve read somewhere where BA stated he didn’t require any help.

He was the one who brought the staff into the club. Do you think if he didn't believe he needed them in the first place they would've been brought in?

I just find it odd that we had coaches to fill these positions, brought in by BA, and then when Max comes in saying he's going to cut the spending of the football club all of a sudden the assistants are gone and aren't replaced.

It's easy to say that BA shouldn't have taken on the responsibility but do you think an employee is going to come out and say that their employer won't give them money to fill the positions required, especially one that is as proud as BA?

IFR33K

He was the one who brought the staff into the club. Do you think if he didn't believe he needed them in the first place they would've been brought in?

I just find it odd that we had coaches to fill these positions, brought in by BA, and then when Max comes in saying he's going to cut the spending of the football club all of a sudden the assistants are gone and aren't replaced.

It's easy to say that BA shouldn't have taken on the responsibility but do you think an employee is going to come out and say that their employer won't give them money to fill the positions required, especially one that is as proud as BA?

It’s all hindsight now, but only so much one human can do.

It’s just one fcking bizarre scenario. It’s not like this is under 8’s footy.

Going by what you’ve said, about max cutting spending, why the sudden change of tune and allowing kidwell in? One minute BA is good enough, then all of a sudden someone deemed he isn’t? Or did he have a dummy spit damanding help?

Obscene Assassin

Going by what you’ve said, about max cutting spending, why the sudden change of tune and allowing kidwell in? One minute BA is good enough, then all of a sudden someone deemed he isn’t? Or did he have a dummy spit damanding help?

Going by the softening of the reforms to the PLC board, maybe Max just doesn't care anymore and wants to go do an easier job?

Joely01

I was a bit bored so I thought I'd have a look at the differences in coaching staff from last year (and the year before) compared to this year. I think the biggest changes were having Gentle as forwards/defensive coach to no one, I believe BA took on the role essentially but no specialised coach was there until Kidwell came along. And having a contact/tackling coach in Brett O'Farrell, I'm unsure if he was replaced.

Many will say the difference between Ron Palmer and Lachlan Wilmot, but that position was filled so imo isn't as drastic as completely getting rid of a position.

We all have our different opinions on why the team isn't performing at their peak, I'd say it's to do with lack of spending to the football department.

It’s the main reason

How would you or I (or anyone) really be able to come to that conclusion beyond pure speculation? It's one of a host of things that have changed (including the injury rate, the squad etc).....it's not as if we can rewind the world and run it again. I'd be leaning more towards recruitment issues compounded by a higher than average injury toll, but we'll never know.

Joely01

Feel free to believe what you want.
Need to be careful with posts being deleted etc for saying certain things on here...
But there are serious issues from the top of the club, that’s all I can really say.
It’s not until you start to see some of the facts that you start to realize the real issues at the moment.
And once again I’ll say it, it’s not the coach

Need to be careful with posts being deleted etc for saying certain things on here...
But there are serious issues from the top of the club, that’s all I can really say.
It’s not until you start to see some of the facts that you start to realize the real issues at the moment.
Sad to hear. It's always the same thing with us isn't it? Things fall into place and everything seems to be on the up n up and then...WHAMO! Back to shitsville we go. It's like some kind of sick self fulfilling prophecy and I'm nearly over it. I'd never not support Parra but Jeezus H f**king Christ! If there is a footy god, do you think you could find it in your heart to cut us a f**king break for once please?

Thanks mate. You've confirmed what some of us have suspected.

Joely01

Sad to hear. It's always the same thing with us isn't it? Things fall into place and everything seems to be on the up n up and then...WHAMO! Back to shitsville we go. It's like some kind of sick self fulfilling prophecy and I'm nearly over it. I'd never not support Parra but Jeezus H f**king Christ! If there is a footy god, do you think you could find it in your heart to cut us a f**king break for once please?

Unfortunately the footy gods won’t be able to do much until we get the right people in certain positions.
It’s unfortunate that $$$ comes before onfield performances.
And then to see the treatment BA has had to deal with lately because of it, it’s disgusting.

Unfortunately the footy gods won’t be able to do much until we get the right people in certain positions.
It’s unfortunate that $$$ comes before onfield performances.
And then to see the treatment BA has had to deal with lately because of it, it’s disgusting.
That sux man. What about us poor suffering fools? It's a black fellas left foot. It aint fair and it aint right.

Cos we went 0 and f**kin 6

lucablight

Is the coaching really the problem?

Laurie Daley made a good point the other morning, that BA can coach but he has probably got as much as he can from the current group of players, so we need 8 or so new players.

And BA has the ability to do that, make some changes to the roster.

Also I reckon injuries need to be factored in. Yeah we lost the first 6, but then as we suddenly got 2 wins we are hit we injuries - it really killed any chance we had of turning the year around. Then add some bad luck which always happens when you are struggling!!

I think the coaching is a problem. I don’t think we’ve played an attractive brand of attacking footy since 2014. Every year after that has seen the team struggle to get over the line due to a lack of creativity. Even in 2016 and 2017 when the team was doing well it was more due to gritty defence rather than any meaningful attack. Even when we have loads of possession inside the opposition 20m zone we can’t get over the line for some reason. We’ve had the likes of Hayne, Radradra, Jennings, Gutherson, French, Norman and Moses during that time so playing talent hasn’t been the problem. In fact a lot of those players have shown outstanding individual form at different times over the years. What is your explanation then? Surely the way the team is being coached must have something to do with it.