Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What will Maguire do to the roster?

Jesus f**king christ I never actually thought of it this way. Imagine what the players must feel.

"Madge! Nice to meet you. I wonder who will be coach next pre-season LOL.Okay cool lets get to work. Yep real important we buy into your culture and training and everything. Yep yep, of course."
Yep, get everyone on the train, the buses aren't working atm.

Das Hassler

The affect this and the cavalcade of spine partners would have had on Brooks ( to the present day) can't be overstated. ..a 7 being asked to buy into the way 5 different NRL coaches see the game over his 5 year's in first grade ....what other half has been put through that?

Who knows. Maybe nothing at all. I can't wait to see how Brooks goes next year though.

BrotherJim05

Won't be doing f**k all with the roster now...

f**king bullshit isn't it. I for one am behind Pascoe in all this

If Madge truly has to cop this then he needs to be given a pass for the year. Just let him whip the shit out of the boys, test a bunch of combinations and start planning for 2020.

simmo05

If this is the punishment we get for a crap word of mouth deal, then lets just rort the merkin out of the cap. The punishments meted out to the cheats in the last decade are no where near sufficient, if this is what happens to us. Lol at the graph the other day which shows the roosters with the same tpa as the tigers. I abolutley love rl, but if they are going to cripple my club for bullshit, whilst letting proper cheats get away with a slap on the wrist then i will hang up my membership, and watch park footy instead. F U greenberg, and your weak f**king management team

f**king bullshit isn't it. I for one am behind Pascoe in all this

If Madge truly has to cop this then he needs to be given a pass for the year. Just let him whip the shit out of the boys, test a bunch of combinations and start planning for 2020.

No, Our first 17 is in my feeble opinion a lot better than 2018's. An established hooker, a fit and decent fullback, two legitimate second rowers. All we need is Grub's hammies to stay intact and Maguire to flog the f**k out of Packer and Matulino to get their best and we'll make the 8.

We were a clusterf**k last year with injuries, loafers and an lesser quality first 17. Even with this shit, there has to be no excuses this time. I'm fed up with missing out and always having excuses. We sacked the coach, the coach walked out, a player derailed our season, we've poorly managed our cap.

It's got to end.

No, Our first 17 is in my feeble opinion a lot better than 2018's. An established hooker, a fit and decent fullback, two legitimate second rowers. All we need is Grub's hammies to stay intact and Maguire to flog the f**k out of Packer and Matulino to get their best and we'll make the 8.

We were a clusterf**k last year with injuries, loafers and an lesser quality first 17. Even with this shit, there has to be no excuses this time. I'm fed up with missing out and always having excuses. We sacked the coach, the coach walked out, a player derailed our season, we've poorly managed our cap.

It's got to end.

Agree with all of this. Last year we had 3 fullbacks, 4 5/8s and 5 hookers used. This is unheard of. In 19 we’ll be a lot more settled.

Unless we have a horrible injury run or more major offield shit go down I’ll be very surprised/disappointed if we don’t improve at least 1 spot on the ladder.

WT2K

This Article from SMH suggests Madge is considering playing benji in the centres
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/reynolds-return-may-mean-new-role-for-marshall-20190112-p50qyu.html

Josh Reynolds forked out his own money to make sure his body was in the best shape possible for the start of an NRL season where favourite son Benji Marshall could make the shock move to the centres.

Reynolds was first to admit he was disappointed with his first season at Wests Tigers last year.

The former Bulldogs star arrived on a four-year, $3 million deal, but survived just five games – essentially $160,000 a match – as he dealt with a hamstring injury followed by a broken scapula.

Twelve months on and Tigers fans will be wondering how Reynolds and Marshall will be used in the same team if both are fit.

Smh.com.au can reveal new Tigers coach Michael Maguire is considering playing Marshall as an outside back.

Such a move would allow the Tigers to have an experienced player such as Marshall on the field for an entire game, while he also presents a genuine attacking option on the one side of the field with fellow Kiwi Esan Marsters on the other.

Marshall also spent time in the centres during his time at the Broncos.

Reynolds bristled when asked if he felt under pressure in his second year at Concord, given his big-money move.

"I'm not rolling up at 6am each day hoping to get injured,'' he said. "I did my best to play through injury last year, but what do you do?

"That last year at Canterbury [in 2017] I tore my hammy twice and my calf. I'd never had a soft-tissue injury before, so I was always behind the eight ball coming into last season.

"The guys here, [physio] Pete Moussa, they all helped me and I felt sorry for them because they put everything into me and my body failed me.

"I did my hammy during the captain's run leading into round one, then I broke my scapula. Cooper [Cronk] had the same injury [in the grand final]. I'd strap it up, needle it and you'd feel good during the week, but then you'd get to the game and take a hit and you'd have a dead feeling.

"It has to turn for me and I honestly believe it will.''

Not only did Reynolds undergo shoulder surgery during the season, in September he spent two weeks at the Australian Catholic University in Melbourne working with a team who specialise in strengthening hamstrings. It was Moussa's idea. Brooks and Chris Lawrence also spent time down south.

It is understood Reynolds funded part of his own lengthy stay because of his desire to get fit.

When asked about Maguire's plans for he and Marshall, Reynolds smiled and said: "I can't tell you. We know what's going on, it will probably be what you think, and it would be silly not to use all of us. I'm not sitting around saying, 'I want to wear the No.6', and Benji isn't doing that. We all just want to rip in.''

Reynolds spent some time at dummy-half last year, but has not trained there this summer.

The Tigers have missed the finals seven years in a row and rather than settle on the simple goal of ending the September drought, Reynolds is dreaming bigger.

"If we're only here to make the eight we're not in the right head space,'' Reynolds said.

"Everyone will have their opinion about us, but the one thing I love about us is we're not just shooting for the eight. It's maybe something that has happened in the past because we haven't been there. But we have some really good leaders who have done some good things in the game and it's exciting.

"I've played in a couple of grand finals and and I know the feeling, and there's that sort of feeling about this group.''

Reynolds will have his hands full at the start of the season as he and his partner are expecting the arrival of twin boys. He's happy to miss any games if it coincides with the birth.

One teammate who has had impressed Reynolds during the pre-season is Kane Bradley, who went by the nickname "Corey Oates" because he was a back-rower who had spent a bit of time training on the wing.

"He's lean, he's big and fit and really keen on learning,'' Reynolds said.

Does "Kane Bradley" even exist ? I've never heard of him.

As for the article I can't see Benji defending in the centres but would he be any worse than Fonua ? I mean Fonua hits hard when he gets them. The problem is that he misses them as well.

WESTS TIGERS
Top 28 squad
Alex Twal, Ben Matulino, Benji Marshall, Chris Lawrence, Chris McQueen, Corey Thompson, David Nofoaluma, Dylan Smith, Elijah Taylor, Esan Marsters, Jacob Liddle, Josh Aloiai, Josh Reynolds, Luke Brooks, Luke Garner, Mahe Fonua, Matt Eisenhuth, Michael Chee Kam, Moses Mbye, Oliver Clark, Paul Momirovski, Robbie Farah, Robbie Rochow, Russell Packer, Ryan Matterson, Sam McIntyre, Thomas Mikaele, Tyson Gamble

2019 Development Players
Alex Seyfarth , Jock Madden, Kane Bradley, Tommy Talau

That's all I could find.

This Article from SMH suggests Madge is considering playing benji in the centres
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/reynolds-return-may-mean-new-role-for-marshall-20190112-p50qyu.html

Josh Reynolds forked out his own money to make sure his body was in the best shape possible for the start of an NRL season where favourite son Benji Marshall could make the shock move to the centres.

Reynolds was first to admit he was disappointed with his first season at Wests Tigers last year.

The former Bulldogs star arrived on a four-year, $3 million deal, but survived just five games – essentially $160,000 a match – as he dealt with a hamstring injury followed by a broken scapula.

Twelve months on and Tigers fans will be wondering how Reynolds and Marshall will be used in the same team if both are fit.

Smh.com.au can reveal new Tigers coach Michael Maguire is considering playing Marshall as an outside back.

Such a move would allow the Tigers to have an experienced player such as Marshall on the field for an entire game, while he also presents a genuine attacking option on the one side of the field with fellow Kiwi Esan Marsters on the other.

Marshall also spent time in the centres during his time at the Broncos.

Reynolds bristled when asked if he felt under pressure in his second year at Concord, given his big-money move.

"I'm not rolling up at 6am each day hoping to get injured,'' he said. "I did my best to play through injury last year, but what do you do?

"That last year at Canterbury [in 2017] I tore my hammy twice and my calf. I'd never had a soft-tissue injury before, so I was always behind the eight ball coming into last season.

"The guys here, [physio] Pete Moussa, they all helped me and I felt sorry for them because they put everything into me and my body failed me.

"I did my hammy during the captain's run leading into round one, then I broke my scapula. Cooper [Cronk] had the same injury [in the grand final]. I'd strap it up, needle it and you'd feel good during the week, but then you'd get to the game and take a hit and you'd have a dead feeling.

"It has to turn for me and I honestly believe it will.''

Not only did Reynolds undergo shoulder surgery during the season, in September he spent two weeks at the Australian Catholic University in Melbourne working with a team who specialise in strengthening hamstrings. It was Moussa's idea. Brooks and Chris Lawrence also spent time down south.

It is understood Reynolds funded part of his own lengthy stay because of his desire to get fit.

When asked about Maguire's plans for he and Marshall, Reynolds smiled and said: "I can't tell you. We know what's going on, it will probably be what you think, and it would be silly not to use all of us. I'm not sitting around saying, 'I want to wear the No.6', and Benji isn't doing that. We all just want to rip in.''

Reynolds spent some time at dummy-half last year, but has not trained there this summer.

The Tigers have missed the finals seven years in a row and rather than settle on the simple goal of ending the September drought, Reynolds is dreaming bigger.

"If we're only here to make the eight we're not in the right head space,'' Reynolds said.

"Everyone will have their opinion about us, but the one thing I love about us is we're not just shooting for the eight. It's maybe something that has happened in the past because we haven't been there. But we have some really good leaders who have done some good things in the game and it's exciting.

"I've played in a couple of grand finals and and I know the feeling, and there's that sort of feeling about this group.''

Reynolds will have his hands full at the start of the season as he and his partner are expecting the arrival of twin boys. He's happy to miss any games if it coincides with the birth.

One teammate who has had impressed Reynolds during the pre-season is Kane Bradley, who went by the nickname "Corey Oates" because he was a back-rower who had spent a bit of time training on the wing.

"He's lean, he's big and fit and really keen on learning,'' Reynolds said.
Benji to centre could be interesting, would solve a few positional issues as well. We are light on for centres this year, especially now that Chee-Kam may be gone.

BrotherJim05

WESTS TIGERS
Top 28 squad
Alex Twal, Ben Matulino, Benji Marshall, Chris Lawrence, Chris McQueen, Corey Thompson, David Nofoaluma, Dylan Smith, Elijah Taylor, Esan Marsters, Jacob Liddle, Josh Aloiai, Josh Reynolds, Luke Brooks, Luke Garner, Mahe Fonua, Matt Eisenhuth, Michael Chee Kam, Moses Mbye, Oliver Clark, Paul Momirovski, Robbie Farah, Robbie Rochow, Russell Packer, Ryan Matterson, Sam McIntyre, Thomas Mikaele, Tyson Gamble

2019 Development Players
Alex Seyfarth , Jock Madden, Kane Bradley, Tommy Talau

That's all I could find.

If Musgrove and Chee Kam are indeed dropped, and the salary cap penalty imposed, we are well and truly f**ked. Top Squad of 27 players with no cap space....great

We need Musgrove and Chee-Kam and we need that cap penalty sorted out quickly. if we have to somehow pay it then pay it.

Shredder

I reckon Benji to centre is worth a shot.

Gives us another kicking option on the field, he is a great runner of the ball to. Yeah his defence has been suspect but it was OK last year. I think a year with Bennett might have helped out some.

Tigers Tale

My only concern with Benji at centre is his first thoughts always seem to move sideways. At centre he will need to be going straight and it isn't in his DNA. Still, he might be alright and worth a trial at least.

super_coach

I reckon Benji to centre is worth a shot.

Gives us another kicking option on the field, he is a great runner of the ball to. Yeah his defence has been suspect but it was OK last year. I think a year with Bennett might have helped out some.

To me it is madness, we need a really strong running,strong tackling player in the centre, not a play maker who has slowed down and never a great defender. The new kid from the Chooks is the player I would be looking at...I will not attempt to spell his name..M-SKI

The Rosco

Benji at center would be just as successful as Kyle Lovett was at center
If we are looking left field for centres . . . . Tyson Gamble. Has bulked up heaps in the off season. Big frame, a turn of speed, good with the ball in his hands, and has a great short kicking game. Unsure of his D . . . but we can't let this kid get away without giving him a fair shot in our team.