Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gould reviewing Dragons.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

As predicted by most of us on here complete waste of time....they dug the hole by giving The Imposter a 2 year extension.....now the excavation needs more support before the inevtible sides collapse......just backfill the hole you incompetent people, cut your losses and give us some hope for the immediate future

Yes mate, the club is built on quicksand.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

What a load of BS.
So L plate now becomes LL plate & Gould suggests a senior figure (most likely himself) to be brought in to help him.
Did the review go something like this.
BJ, “ what do you reckon Gus?
Gus, “I’m looking for another gig”.
BJ, “Welcome to the boys club”.
As for Matty Johns I can’t stand the bloke but he seems to have a good record of mentoring halves.

I think likewise of Johns.
He's a good debater to the masses.

Gus review to hire Gus..I like it and agree with most
1. It proves injuries are not the reason
2. Culture has been eroded to poor in house decisions made to recruitment in all football matters players, staff since 2010-11
3. Blaming the girls behind the scenes has upset internal mate and and boy bonds is a crock of poo .....what did they expect as naturally there would of been split factions in respect to JDB's pending charges and the girls would of had their strong opinions on the matter. What should of that had to do with playing and training good footy
4. Wingers Yes...but keep going, depth, front rower, centre, player / team selections..but if we have no money...start somewhere at least
Now what good wingers are available?
5. The club already has its values & DNA definition.
Dragons Footy...Price used to say the same thing.
Ask Mary. Our past is not our future.
6. i'd sack mary, bring in a new coach say Toovey with Flanno as his asst

We dont need an outside facilitator to define its culture from top / down. Any true fan can do it for you....but Gus would do.. Jobs for boys need to be eradicated and looking at past players to help the club out moving forward.
Although I think most of us could of done that review.
Lucky it cost the club nothing ;)...yet
Oh I think this review will cost the club plenty.
Infantile conclusions aimed at keeping this imposter in a job just so WIN corporation don't have to shell out to get rid of him.
Johnston is incompetent and should be sacked together with McGregor for even thinking about an extension let alone providing one.
Round 19 - "We can still win the Comp" - McGregor has always been delusional and thinks he's better than he really is.
Will go down in history as one of the worst coaches in the NRL which is no big deal until you realize he is coaching the once mighty St. George.
What an unmitigated disaster...

Extract from today’s Sunday Telegraph Sports - Buzz Rothfield column - Shoosh II :-

“ Which underperforming team had only 8 players turn up to their Mad Monday celebrations - an indication that all is not well among the playing group . “

Of course there is no reference as to which team he is actually referring to , but how many times of late have you heard from the media hounds that the Dragons had ‘ underperformed this season ?

So if indeed it was the Dragons then perhaps Mary’s mate Gus ‘ the human football ‘ Gould is actually on the right track and the rest of us simply don’t know what we are talking about ? ? ?

And pigs can fly !

hewi

Adrian Proszenko
September 21, 2019 — 9.48pm
  • Send via Email
Phil Gould has tabled his review into St George Illawarra, but his work at the club may not be over.

Gould and the Dragons football department have submitted their reviews following the joint-venture outfit’s 15th-placed finish, the worst in the club’s history. One of the key findings is the need to bolster the Red V brains trust to ensure coach Paul McGregor has experienced sounding boards around him. That includes creating a new ‘‘adviser’’ position, someone with the football nous and expertise to help turn the joint-venture outfit around. Someone like Gould.

NRL 2019
When the game is all-consuming, even victory is a fleeting indulgence
The need for strong foundations was highlighted when the review analysed the Jack de Belin situation. The impact of the star forward’s sexual assault charges was felt right across the club, with some of his teammates’ partners having strong opinions on the matter.

That led to some awkward situations in social settings, normally an opportunity to solidify bonds within the extended Dragons family.

The cultural issue is important, given there were no red flags raised from reviewing the Dragons’ physical performance. The injury rates over the past four years have been relatively low, while all the stats suggest the players are fit and well prepared.

The Dragons haven’t much room to move salary cap wise next year, but the need to strengthen their winger stocks was identified.

The Dragons board has now gone away to consider the review

HenryTatana

OK so we can’t pay out McPicasso. The solution is for his mate Gordon to give him his own TV show. This could be:

- a league show (he can cover the local Illawarra league)
- a home lifestyle show like the block where he can showcase his painting skills
- a boating show demonstrating his water skills
- a mentoring show like the apprentice to showcase how many players have benefited from his immense skills

The opportunities are endless. If only Gordon had an innovation dept at WIN.

If the review was fair dinkum they would have hired a proctologist to remove the Hemorrhoids and close the annul fissure that is killing our club but instead they engaged a so called expert using 3 ply sorbent to try and stop his finger nail getting shit under it as he wipes away the evidence of our coach’s real ability.

OK so we can’t pay out McPicasso. The solution is for his mate Gordon to give him his own TV show. This could be:

- a home lifestyle show like the block where he can showcase his painting skills
- a mentoring show like the apprentice to showcase how many players have benefited from his immense skills

Or the SGI Chairman and the St George Leagues Club CEO throw in the annual beer allowance to payout McGregor's contract.

18to87

Extract from today’s Sunday Telegraph Sports - Buzz Rothfield column - Shoosh II :-

“ Which underperforming team had only 8 players turn up to their Mad Monday celebrations - an indication that all is not well among the playing group . “
There are photos around and they would suggest that he isn't talking about the Dragons, particularly as these photos appear to be from weekends.

Maybe he is talking about Brisbane.

TruSaint

BJ calls Gordon after the review is reviewed ...

BJ : Hi mate, any chance of throwing in circa 3-4 mil for our new board plan ?

Gordon: Ahh, good to hear. So you have sacked Paul and need to pay him out. Well done..

BJ: Ummm, no we haven't mate. We have kept him on,but need to add Gould on a mentor role, and Matty Johns as an external consultant. So with Mary on 800k, Gould wants 500k for 3 calls a week, and Matty wants 300k for a weekly review from his podcast station. We need to find our DNA and our culture.

Gordon: "click".

There are photos around and they would suggest that he isn't talking about the Dragons, particularly as these photos appear to be from weekends.

Maybe he is talking about Brisbane.

I do hope that it is the Broncos or any other club for that matter , as the last thing we need is to take any baggage from this miserable year into the 2020 season .

TruSaint

Who said this nearly 1 year ago ?

One of the first big decisions facing the new-look Dragons hierarchy is the future of coach Paul McGregor. "Mary" is in the last year of his contract, but Gordon said there is no rush to make a call on his future.

“We certainly don’t have a lot to be down in the mouth about in terms of Mary’s performance with the team,” he said. “We also have to look at the overall market and what’s going on. Stability is the key for us right now.

“This is something we won’t jump into at this stage of the season. There’s a bit of time. We’ll focus on this coming year rather than pre-empting that, it’s a little too far forward.”

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ne...-on-vision-for-the-red-v-20181110-p50f80.html

Old Kogarah Boy 1

HT,
Surely the payout is not an issue, its the mateship between McGregor and members of the board that have clouded and required business decisions.

The club would lose more money keeping him on in first grade through fans, sponsors, etc than they would by sacking him or moving him to CC.

No, it's purely mateship and out of touch board boys club decision making.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Who said this nearly 1 year ago ?

One of the first big decisions facing the new-look Dragons hierarchy is the future of coach Paul McGregor. "Mary" is in the last year of his contract, but Gordon said there is no rush to make a call on his future.

“We certainly don’t have a lot to be down in the mouth about in terms of Mary’s performance with the team,” he said. “We also have to look at the overall market and what’s going on. Stability is the key for us right now.

“This is something we won’t jump into at this stage of the season. There’s a bit of time. We’ll focus on this coming year rather than pre-empting that, it’s a little too far forward.”

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ne...-on-vision-for-the-red-v-20181110-p50f80.html

12 months on, were as stable as ever.
Stuck to the bottom of the ladder like sh!t to a blanket. McGregor hit his target by staying stable...... Now l understand why he wasn't sacked.