Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs rumours, signings, injuries etc

Peter Quinn

So no photos of her selling clothes, cars or hotels or casinos? She must have a twin sister.
Things are going to be very different for the chooks next year. I'm sure you know without Cronk, they haven't got got that second gear. Leary will direct the shots and he's pretty good. But cronk calls on third runners to get into the action.

Cockadoodledoo

Mate, the contract wasn't even offered until Coops came to Sydney. Very coincidental don't you think. And how much was that ring the nrl gave her? Was that included in the cap? If not, why not. Look, I'm not trying to bring anyone undone here. Good luck to those who benefit from footy. To be very honest with you, it's not Easts fault. Onus (Your Word) comes back to nrl. And their cap auditor should be audited.

I am convinced you don't know who Cooper Cronk's wife is, there was no ring from the NRL, that was presented to Cameron Smith's wife. There is no such contract that you are talking about, it is a figment of your imagination.

Peter Quinn

I am convinced you don't know who Cooper Cronk's wife is, there was no ring from the NRL, that was presented to Cameron Smith's wife. There is no such contract that you are talking about, it is a figment of your imagination.
Smith's wife and Cronks wife got a ring.But who cares? Good on them.

Rabbit57

Smith's wife and Cronks wife got a ring.But who cares? Good on them.
Hey guys. Let’s get back on track about signings. A lot of good discussion on Fifita and what he is worth and if he is the right fit. Let’s leave the wives out of it for a while.

I think the Taumalolo v Fifita comparison is interesting but Taumalolo isn’t on the market. Just like houses the market is made of supply and demand. If you want a player you have to pay what the market demands on a given day. Handyman 2190 makes the point well that you can only go after what is available.

You need to consider that the million per year deal that Taumalolo got was some years ago and was for a long period. It is hard to judge what he would get in today’s market

In the end we will pay overs for some. As long as we keep picking up goers like Tatola, Amone and Knight at a bargain to average things out. That is good recruiting.

callmack1

Sorry I haven't had much time lately to discuss Fifita and I still don't have much time but here's my two cents. In my opinion, Fifita is 100% worth a million a Season. Yes, he's young but I honestly believe he will become one of those once in a generation players.

Roosters and Rabbitohs battle for boom Bronco David Fifita’s services: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/8f3277ff4a1fc8f00deb2fa2f2886eea

For frick sake, of course the Roosters are after him! If Sam is to retire and we get his wage taken off the cap (and that's a big if), we'll have a battle on our hands to get Fifita but I guess the big draw card is Wayne Bennett, that'll certainly help.

Just on Sam, I'm really getting scared now and am starting to prepare for the worst. Honestly, this will absolutely devastate me if it happens. This from Sporting News,

NRL great Adam MacDougall claims Wayne Bennett has encouraged Sam Burgess to retire

Newcastle Knights legend Adam McDougall has suggested Wayne Bennett has urged Sam Burgess to retire following his injury-affected season.

The Rabbitohs captain is reportedly considering bring forward his retirement, despite having three years to run on a rich deal with South Sydney, due to a troublesome shoulder injury.

Reports surfaced two weeks ago suggesting the English star was considering hanging up the boots, after being forced to have more surgery on the shoulder injury which saw him miss a solid chunk of the season.

Burgess was also said to be considering stem cell surgery in the United States, in a last-ditch effort to revive his career.

More: Benji Marshall says Kiwis using Asofa-Solomona ban as motivation

However, as first revealed by Channel 9 and The Daily Telegraph, the Rabbitohs are prepared to payout Burgess' rich $3.6 million contract if he were to call time.

Amid rumours the 30-year-old will pull the pin, MacDougall has suggested Wayne Bennett will have more influence on Burgess' playing future than originally thought.

"The shoulder is the most unstable joint in the whole human body, and there's a high reoccurrence of injury to the shoulder joint," the former representative centre told Triple M.

"Wayne Bennett is a ruthless coach, and as great a player as Sam Burgess has been, Wayne Bennett has always been one of those coaches that taps his players a year or two earlier before they're ready to go.

"He's just found a reason to get rid of Sam Burgess.

"As much as he'd love to see a fit Sam Burgess at Souths, if there's any doubt at all about his shoulder I can tell you now, 100 per cent, that Wayne Bennett will be carrying him out of South Sydney.

"He won't be letting him hang around at the expense of his team and his own contract and his success moving forward.

"A really sad situation to see a player of his standing in, but it's the reality of our game."

Despite MacDougall's bold claim, Bennett moved to shut retirement talk surrounding Burgess down ahead of last weekend's World Cup Nines tournament.

The England coach insisted Burgess was simply in desperate need of some prolonged rest and recovery in the off-season, before a decision on his future is made.

“He needs some work done on it and we will see where it goes from there," Bennett said off Burgess' potential retirement.

“I don’t think there is anything new to be tried.

“It’s a matter of rehab, rest and a little bit more surgery.”

However, MacDougall added that Bennett is the coach he is today because he has a history of making tough decisions.

"It's going to be a very bitter pill for Sam to swallow," MacDougall said.

"But Wayne Bennett's got history on the board he makes these tough decisions and that's why clubs pay him what they do.

"He moved on Wally Lewis from the Broncos, he tapped Alfie Langer on the shoulder at the Broncos. That's why they employed him.

"Wayne Bennett's made of Teflon, he doesn't really care, it just slides off hi and that's why he's such a great coach."

Peter Quinn

Hey guys. Let’s get back on track about signings. A lot of good discussion on Fifita and what he is worth and if he is the right fit. Let’s leave the wives out of it for a while.

I think the Taumalolo v Fifita comparison is interesting but Taumalolo isn’t on the market. Just like houses the market is made of supply and demand. If you want a player you have to pay what the market demands on a given day. Handyman 2190 makes the point well that you can only go after what is available.

You need to consider that the million per year deal that Taumalolo got was some years ago and was for a long period. It is hard to judge what he would get in today’s market

In the end we will pay overs for some. As long as we keep picking up goers like Tatola, Amone and Knight at a bargain to average things out. That is good recruiting.
Exactly.

Mr Spock!

Apparently Ash Taylor was worth a million a season too.....

And let's not forget the fawning over TPJ as the greatest forward ever after one game.....

Besides do we really need 2 million dollar forwards?

handyman2190

Im with you, there is FAll on the market

Travitoh

Reasons why David Fifita isn't worth a million.
1. He hasn't even put together a complete season of form yet. All the hype is based off his late season form which ended in a 50 point defeat.
2. There are currently better edge forwards in the game who proven performers. Plenty of them and very few if any of them are worth that money.
3. Edge forwards break out every year.
Fifita in 2019, Rhyse Martin in 2018, Harawira-Naera in 2017, Coen Hess in 2016, Shaun Lane in 2015... the list goes on.
4. Souths aren't actually that desperate for an edge forward. Sua and Lowe are more than capable and if the rumours of Thompson are true, he will only strengthen the position.

The only reason i can think of in favour of paying a million for Fifita is fear of missing out.

Million dollar contracts should be given to those who will influence results on a regular basis. The elite halves, FB's and 9's, the guys who get their hands on the ball the most.

handyman2190

Tom Trbojevic who comes off contract at the same time as David Fifita.
Your dreaming if you believe you could get him, a million anyone would give him its nothing special,and he wont move without his brother,it would have to be something unrivaled like 1.5m.
And a package deal worth close to 2.7m to blow everyone off the park,its no use making offers to those 2,going nowhere,and toms become injury prone

handyman2190

1. He hasn't even put together a complete season of form yet. All the hype is based off his late season form which ended in a 50 point defeat.
2. There are currently better edge forwards in the game who proven performers. Plenty of them and very few if any of them are worth that money.
Fifita in 2019, Rhyse Martin in 2018, Harawira-Naera in 2017, Coen Hess in 2016, Shaun Lane in 2015... the list goes on.
4. Souths aren't actually that desperate for an edge forward. Sua and Lowe are more than capable and if the rumours of Thompson are true, he will only strengthen the position.

The only reason i can think of in favour of paying a million for Fifita is fear of missing out.

Million dollar contracts should be given to those who will influence results on a regular basis. The elite halves, FB's and 9's, the guys who get their hands on the ball the most.

Your not comprehending! Over the last 3 to 4 years the talent pool has become smaller, there is bugger_all available ,the market dominates players worth not what you or i think, with your attitude you will miss out on every decent player available

lynx000

Hallelujah, the voice of reason. That is an awful lot of money to pay on potential for a non-spine position.

Plus, if Sam is forced to retire, Souths don't need an edge forward, they need a middle. The move to try and secure Luke Thompson would be the correct play to replace Sam.