Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fitzy's league Sledge

Hello, I'm The Doctor

The ARLC need to tell 9 to f*ck right off...

First of all, they haven’t ”invested”, they have paid for services rendered. This is like saying i have invested in Macca’s because i bought a hamburger.

They are obviously trying to talk down the value if the tv rights to save some money. But i wonder what they will be saying if the NRL goes and offers the rights to 10.

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sp...raises-serious-questions-20200410-p54iwy.html

Bloody hell! Talk about a kick in the teeth. In the global history of sport, does anyone recall a broadcaster giving the administrators of the main game it puts to air such a public bashing? Channel Nine didn’t miss the NRL with the statement it released on Thursday afternoon and if you will hold them still for a moment, I’ll give it a quick burst.

“This health crisis,” a Nine spokesperson said, clearly with the imprimatur of the Nine CEO Hugh Marks, “has highlighted the mismanagement of the code over many years. Nine has invested hundreds of millions in this game over decades and we now find they have profoundly wasted those funds with very little to fall back on to support the clubs, the players and supporters. In the past the NRL have had problems and we’ve bailed them out many times ...”

As to suddenly announcing the start of the whole NRL comp again at the end of May, that’s easy. No. I tell you nothing you don’t know in saying it is so totally against the government’s diktats that it ... takes the breath away. But do consider that we are in a week where police are patrolling beaches, insisting the public stay home or face heavy fines.

But it’s OK to train, cheek by jowl by towel with another 30 players in your squad?

We are in a week where a NSW government minister is fined $1000 for travelling between his Sydney base and his Central Coast holiday home, as the official government position is that this behaviour puts the public at risk.

But no problem with players travelling to and from training and crossing state and international lines for games?

We are in a week where the most important institution in the country, the Federal Parliament, meets at only half-strength because it is important not only that they stay safe, 1.5 metres apart, but are seen to stay safe, setting the example for the rest of us.

But, full-on rugby league, wrestling, tackling, spraying sweat and bursting breath all over each other as the cameras roll? Great idea!

We are in a week, where families across the country are split up, and are frequently conversing between glass, or on FaceTime, for safety’s sake.

But the NRL wants government and public blessing to have its players train and play, and go back to their own families.

Friends, WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE?

True, the Deputy Premier John Barilaro has made risible blandishments that “the NRL is the tonic we need to get through this virus,” but for that comment and $5 you can maybe get a cappuccino.

So let’s look to the Prime Minister and the Premier. In recent weeks both have been strong in setting the tone on this, in underlining the gravity of what is at stake. If they allow this to go ahead now – which will obviously include full-on training now, not in seven weeks time – it is not just their credibility in insisting on social distancing that will be shot to pieces.

If they start up rugby league again now, while the rest of us are in veritable lock-down, it will be a blackening of the league brand they will take years to overcome.

Yes, yes, yes – I get that this is all seven weeks away, that things will hopefully have settled down by then. But if that is the government’s view, can all businesses be told and given the green light to get their crews tightly together in preparation for re-opening at the end of May?

And another thing
But the NRL has medical advice on this you say? From who specifically?

Why can I see dozens of medical professionals put their names and professional standing behind the notion that public safety demands we all stay 1.5 metres apart, while the only biosecurity experts backing the league in the public domain are anonymous? When Peter V’landys opened the competition at the start of the season it was, he told us, because the NRL's expert said it was safe. He then shut it down because the league's expert said it was not safe. Both times, by his own account, her word was law and we the public had to trust her expertise.

NRL set to return on May 28

Nine's Neil Breen has the latest from the NRL and their plans to resume in late May.

That might just pass muster if that was still the case. But now the NRL has moved on from her and found another expert to rely on, because the former expert was not on board with starting up again.

Get it?

You can’t veritably say “Trust Professor X, because she knows more about it than any of us,” and then say “We have moved on from Professor X, because we were not happy with her advice.”

As for that other virus
Dear TFF, writes Tom Chapman:

Just a thought on the opportunities that may arise with a societal reset on the cards with coronavirus ... If sport is able to rebuild post-COVID we as a society shouldn't let gambling, a toxic family wrecking virus, anywhere near it.

This also goes for pokies and casinos. This is our opportunity for a societal reset on gambling.

Just a thought. Looking for a silver lining.

AJB1102

As if footy coming back wasn't good enough, knowing how much it'll rub this dumbmerkin the wrong way is a huge cherry on top!

Might have to learn twitter to keep him updated on the ratings. If I could get figures on how much the bookies take upon the game's return too that'd get him hot under the hanky.

Diesel

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sp...raises-serious-questions-20200410-p54iwy.html

Bloody hell! Talk about a kick in the teeth. In the global history of sport, does anyone recall a broadcaster giving the administrators of the main game it puts to air such a public bashing? Channel Nine didn’t miss the NRL with the statement it released on Thursday afternoon and if you will hold them still for a moment, I’ll give it a quick burst.

“This health crisis,” a Nine spokesperson said, clearly with the imprimatur of the Nine CEO Hugh Marks, “has highlighted the mismanagement of the code over many years. Nine has invested hundreds of millions in this game over decades and we now find they have profoundly wasted those funds with very little to fall back on to support the clubs, the players and supporters. In the past the NRL have had problems and we’ve bailed them out many times ...”

As to suddenly announcing the start of the whole NRL comp again at the end of May, that’s easy. No. I tell you nothing you don’t know in saying it is so totally against the government’s diktats that it ... takes the breath away. But do consider that we are in a week where police are patrolling beaches, insisting the public stay home or face heavy fines.

But it’s OK to train, cheek by jowl by towel with another 30 players in your squad?

We are in a week where a NSW government minister is fined $1000 for travelling between his Sydney base and his Central Coast holiday home, as the official government position is that this behaviour puts the public at risk.

But no problem with players travelling to and from training and crossing state and international lines for games?

We are in a week where the most important institution in the country, the Federal Parliament, meets at only half-strength because it is important not only that they stay safe, 1.5 metres apart, but are seen to stay safe, setting the example for the rest of us.

But, full-on rugby league, wrestling, tackling, spraying sweat and bursting breath all over each other as the cameras roll? Great idea!

We are in a week, where families across the country are split up, and are frequently conversing between glass, or on FaceTime, for safety’s sake.

But the NRL wants government and public blessing to have its players train and play, and go back to their own families.

True, the Deputy Premier John Barilaro has made risible blandishments that “the NRL is the tonic we need to get through this virus,” but for that comment and $5 you can maybe get a cappuccino.

So let’s look to the Prime Minister and the Premier. In recent weeks both have been strong in setting the tone on this, in underlining the gravity of what is at stake. If they allow this to go ahead now – which will obviously include full-on training now, not in seven weeks time – it is not just their credibility in insisting on social distancing that will be shot to pieces.

If they start up rugby league again now, while the rest of us are in veritable lock-down, it will be a blackening of the league brand they will take years to overcome.

Yes, yes, yes – I get that this is all seven weeks away, that things will hopefully have settled down by then. But if that is the government’s view, can all businesses be told and given the green light to get their crews tightly together in preparation for re-opening at the end of May?

And another thing

Why can I see dozens of medical professionals put their names and professional standing behind the notion that public safety demands we all stay 1.5 metres apart, while the only biosecurity experts backing the league in the public domain are anonymous? When Peter V’landys opened the competition at the start of the season it was, he told us, because the NRL's expert said it was safe. He then shut it down because the league's expert said it was not safe. Both times, by his own account, her word was law and we the public had to trust her expertise.

Nine's Neil Breen has the latest from the NRL and their plans to resume in late May.

That might just pass muster if that was still the case. But now the NRL has moved on from her and found another expert to rely on, because the former expert was not on board with starting up again.

Get it?

You can’t veritably say “Trust Professor X, because she knows more about it than any of us,” and then say “We have moved on from Professor X, because we were not happy with her advice.”

As for that other virus

Just a thought on the opportunities that may arise with a societal reset on the cards with coronavirus ... If sport is able to rebuild post-COVID we as a society shouldn't let gambling, a toxic family wrecking virus, anywhere near it.

This also goes for pokies and casinos. This is our opportunity for a societal reset on gambling.

*this is a paid advertisement

Hello, I'm The Doctor

And another thing

Get it?

As for that other virus

Awwwww, poor Fitz. His RUnion is dying and no one cares.

Now he is forced to be an NRL journalist to be even remotely relevant. The poor thing...

taipan

It's blatantly obvious channel 9 is operating like a puppet show when it comes to bagging the NRL.
All sniping in unison like a well conducted orchestra about the NRL's financial position now, because its opportune for them and their shareholders to do so.
I give you in no order of preference the yes men:
Danny(I'm hearing) Weidler
Peter (Bandana) FitzSimons
Gus (no no nonoooooo) Gould
Andrew (Whiney) Webster
Plus an assortment of no names on their news print and electronic outlets.
And it's apparently independent views fromm each of them LOL

juro

It's blatantly obvious channel 9 is operating like a puppet show when it comes to bagging the NRL.
All sniping in unison like a well conducted orchestra about the NRL's financial position now, because its opportune for them and their shareholders to do so.
I give you in no order of preference the yes men:
Danny(I'm hearing) Weidler
Peter (Bandana) FitzSimons
Gus (no no nonoooooo) Gould
Andrew (Whiney) Webster
Plus an assortment of no names on their news print and electronic outlets.
And it's apparently independent views fromm each of them LOL
DGAQWinter2019ShotToRememberChicago10.ashx

Where were we?
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ne...gby-rebuild-link-to-fans-20200415-p54k5c.html
Ah, I remember. We were talking about the broadcaster v sport thing that is flaring up like a bushfire on a blowy January day. As witnessed with Nine and Fox Sports v the NRL, the heart of the problem can be boiled down to this: financial commitments made BP (before the plague) cannot be met simply by projected revenues AP (after the plague), most particularly when the product being sold is no longer up to the BP standard.

I am not privy to Nine's thinking – current landlords of the newspaper artists formerly known as Fairfax if you care, as I don’t – but a few things are obvious.

Much the same dynamic applies in rugby union, although I suspect it will be a lot worse, as the value of broadcast rights for a losing Wallabies side and a Super Rugby competition most had lost interest in were drifting well before the plague came along.

I think you can see where I am going with this, yes?

Exactly! Right to Fleetwood Mac!

Advertisement
Oh come on, stay with me. See, this week I got an interesting email from John Murray the stockbroker/entrepreneur who is president of Easts Rugby Club. He is one of the two blokes who bought the broadcast rights to the Shute Shield four years ago, and is half-credited with resuscitating the competition. (If anyone cares, the other half was the bloke who manages my electronic media commitments, Nick Fordham.)

In the email, Murray says the best thing to happen to rugby will be that reduction of revenue, just as the best thing that happened to the band led by Stevie Nicks and Mick Fleetwood was the collapse of music revenue through the sale of CDs and the like. In the modern world, where you can get pretty much any music you like for just about free, what did it mean? It meant that to continue to get the big bucks, bands such as Fleetwood Mac had to go back on the road and RECONNECT with fans at concerts. And not just the Mac ...

"So many bands have had to get off their collective arses and go back touring," he writes, "because there is less money selling the music – the big money is now in filling stadiums. And these shows aren’t just a couple of specks in the distance lip-syncing former hits – these are kick-arse, venue-packing, pyrotechnic events."

Fleetwood Mac’s recent tour earned $100 million in sales, KISS did much the same and even Bob Seger grabbed more than $50 million.

Advertisement
"No one was left demanding a refund," Murray wrote, "and there were hundreds of thousands of satisfied fans, repeat, satisfied fans."

Murray’s point is that because of huge broadcast revenues the football codes, most particularly rugby union, didn’t need to fill stadiums and so, bit by bit, lost that crucial connection with the people.

"Full stadiums do a few things, apart from the obvious impact on gate receipts," he wrote. "Full stadiums legitimise a sport, showing other fans they are part of something worthwhile (just as empty stadiums damage a sport). Full stadiums create an atmosphere that helps lift players to achieve exceptional things and full stadiums remind sponsors why they are involved. The final point about full stadiums is that you become the master of your own destiny – you can dictate game times and schedules. Ironically, full stadiums also eventually lead to increased broadcast rights!"

For Murray, the disaster of the coronavirus might actually be the thing to get rugby back on the right track – and by extension the NRL.

Advertisement
"If you or I had a friend whose life was in tatters because of drug addiction, surely we would suggest rehab? Difficult, brutal, depravation, but the only long-term solution. I see rugby the same way."

When rugby does come back, it could look at doing what he and Fordham did with the Shute Shield. That is, focus, above all, on giving fans a great game-day experience, and the rest will sort itself.

Murray: “Here are some radical and not so radical, ZERO COST ideas that might work:

• Remove all corporate boxes: this will force us to make sure game day is so good we no longer want to hide from it!
    • Partner with a radio network all for contra (it works) and get them (professionals) to help lift in-game entertainment. They will also promote the game in the lead-up.
    • Partner with a large bar group to show how parts of the ground can be turned into amazing bar experiences.
    • Offer the fans prizes for being at each game from sponsors offering their products. Add a members-only draw as well.
All up, Murray says, the key is to do as Fleetwood Mac did, make sure giving every fan who turns up a great experience is the primary focus, not a secondary consideration.

"Rugby is a fantastic product and represents incredible values throughout 859 clubs in Australia," he wrote. "By focusing on amplifying the resurgence of grassroots rugby, making game day the best event you’ve been to and helping bring the game to a wider audience – to quote the late, great Darrell Eastlake, rugby could be HUGE and well on the way to making a full recovery.”

I think he’s on to something.

gUt

The desperation fairly leaks through every faux-Aussie slang and attempted joke he shoehorns in there.

taipan

Where were we?
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ne...gby-rebuild-link-to-fans-20200415-p54k5c.html
Ah, I remember. We were talking about the broadcaster v sport thing that is flaring up like a bushfire on a blowy January day. As witnessed with Nine and Fox Sports v the NRL, the heart of the problem can be boiled down to this: financial commitments made BP (before the plague) cannot be met simply by projected revenues AP (after the plague), most particularly when the product being sold is no longer up to the BP standard.

I am not privy to Nine's thinking – current landlords of the newspaper artists formerly known as Fairfax if you care, as I don’t – but a few things are obvious.

Much the same dynamic applies in rugby union, although I suspect it will be a lot worse, as the value of broadcast rights for a losing Wallabies side and a Super Rugby competition most had lost interest in were drifting well before the plague came along.

I think you can see where I am going with this, yes?

Exactly! Right to Fleetwood Mac!

Advertisement
Oh come on, stay with me. See, this week I got an interesting email from John Murray the stockbroker/entrepreneur who is president of Easts Rugby Club. He is one of the two blokes who bought the broadcast rights to the Shute Shield four years ago, and is half-credited with resuscitating the competition. (If anyone cares, the other half was the bloke who manages my electronic media commitments, Nick Fordham.)

In the email, Murray says the best thing to happen to rugby will be that reduction of revenue, just as the best thing that happened to the band led by Stevie Nicks and Mick Fleetwood was the collapse of music revenue through the sale of CDs and the like. In the modern world, where you can get pretty much any music you like for just about free, what did it mean? It meant that to continue to get the big bucks, bands such as Fleetwood Mac had to go back on the road and RECONNECT with fans at concerts. And not just the Mac ...

"So many bands have had to get off their collective arses and go back touring," he writes, "because there is less money selling the music – the big money is now in filling stadiums. And these shows aren’t just a couple of specks in the distance lip-syncing former hits – these are kick-arse, venue-packing, pyrotechnic events."

Fleetwood Mac’s recent tour earned $100 million in sales, KISS did much the same and even Bob Seger grabbed more than $50 million.

Advertisement
"No one was left demanding a refund," Murray wrote, "and there were hundreds of thousands of satisfied fans, repeat, satisfied fans."

Murray’s point is that because of huge broadcast revenues the football codes, most particularly rugby union, didn’t need to fill stadiums and so, bit by bit, lost that crucial connection with the people.

"Full stadiums do a few things, apart from the obvious impact on gate receipts," he wrote. "Full stadiums legitimise a sport, showing other fans they are part of something worthwhile (just as empty stadiums damage a sport). Full stadiums create an atmosphere that helps lift players to achieve exceptional things and full stadiums remind sponsors why they are involved. The final point about full stadiums is that you become the master of your own destiny – you can dictate game times and schedules. Ironically, full stadiums also eventually lead to increased broadcast rights!"

For Murray, the disaster of the coronavirus might actually be the thing to get rugby back on the right track – and by extension the NRL.

Advertisement
"If you or I had a friend whose life was in tatters because of drug addiction, surely we would suggest rehab? Difficult, brutal, depravation, but the only long-term solution. I see rugby the same way."

When rugby does come back, it could look at doing what he and Fordham did with the Shute Shield. That is, focus, above all, on giving fans a great game-day experience, and the rest will sort itself.

Murray: “Here are some radical and not so radical, ZERO COST ideas that might work:

• Remove all corporate boxes: this will force us to make sure game day is so good we no longer want to hide from it!
    • Partner with a radio network all for contra (it works) and get them (professionals) to help lift in-game entertainment. They will also promote the game in the lead-up.
    • Partner with a large bar group to show how parts of the ground can be turned into amazing bar experiences.
    • Offer the fans prizes for being at each game from sponsors offering their products. Add a members-only draw as well.
All up, Murray says, the key is to do as Fleetwood Mac did, make sure giving every fan who turns up a great experience is the primary focus, not a secondary consideration.

"Rugby is a fantastic product and represents incredible values throughout 859 clubs in Australia," he wrote. "By focusing on amplifying the resurgence of grassroots rugby, making game day the best event you’ve been to and helping bring the game to a wider audience – to quote the late, great Darrell Eastlake, rugby could be HUGE and well on the way to making a full recovery.”

I think he’s on to something.

I tried to respond to Bandana Head's Fleetwood Mac comments, but naturally him hating union criticism, it wasn't published.
It went along the lines ,Fleetwood Mac yeah in reference to rugby union,the Fleetwood Mac's song "Go your own way" to the code's disappearing fans would be more apt.

Cactus

RECIPE

Take one self absorbed narcissistic elbow patched twat

Combine in a bowl with the most boring sport known to man

Mix in anxiety & a splash of delusion

Add one bucketful of waffle

Saute with a large volume of jealousy & spite

Serve up with a generous sprinkling of irrelevance

And there you have it…….My FitzFried Fookw!t Flambe

taipan

RECIPE

All the ingredients of a diarrhoea attack.And about as colourful.

Silent Knight

RECIPE

anigif_sub-buzz-17011-1498007914-1.gif