Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 v Roosters

R&WTILLIDIE

We could not even get any attack down their half. When we did we take the 2.
Our attack metres from our own end are still woeful
They were missing Tedesco, JMOZ, and were down to 2 reserves and they still outplayed us. We had them on the ropes. But the curse of the McTeflon half time speech hits again. Yet the board raves on about sticking behind this merkin but don’t listen to us supporters who have wanted to see the back of his bald head for years now

Forbes Creek Dragons

He showed our overpaid halves how a half should play
He’s without question the best half in the comp. Was already very good at Souths. As was Teddy at Wests put a whole team like that together and even when they are missing players it doesn’t matter because the rest of the team all become better having played with players like that.

Dragon David

100% Roosters played 2 men down and managed to have 8 players run for over 100m. 4 running over 200m... They always seemed to have 2-3 in every tackle. Very well drilled, composed and confident side. Everything we're not unfortunately.

Now this is what the Dragons need to try and do but unfortunately, they have Mary. All that is needed to be done, which I know is easier said than done, is to watch all games played by the Roosters from rounds 3-7, which the Roosters won, to see how they defend and attack. Yes, I know that their players are much better than ours, but as a learning curve, it will help us out for the future against other teams.

The Roosters get their men don't they? Losing Mitchell and Cronk and for this game lose Teddy, J Moz, then Radley and Verrills with injuries but have game winners in Manu, Morris and the best of them LUKE KEARY.

Keary is the champion of the halves. He has absolute vision in his game and a match winner. He has nous and skill and without him tonight, we would have won.

We resorted to the same old rubbish in the second half-one off running with no passing.So easy to defend against. The rorters forwards seemed to be able to always pass the ball when theyre getting tackled.Our forwards show no intention of doing this.you can see it by how they run. Surely any coach could see this yet its the same every week

BLM01

They were missing Tedesco, JMOZ, and were down to 2 reserves and they still outplayed us. We had them on the ropes. But the curse of the McTeflon half time speech hits again. Yet the board raves on about sticking behind this merkin but don’t listen to us supporters who have wanted to see the back of his bald head for years now

Dont worry just listened to his press conference. Our middle are young and still learning..
hang in there supporters...nothing to see..just another Mary rebuild..as long as the effort is there...all is good. Who needs a W anyway

When we follow a Flanno / Shepherd playand made that good break in the 2nd half up the middle after 2nd phase and it did not quite work out..intercept..but...what we do
Tuck it under our wing and try nothing from then on. That is Mary's footprint all over the team right there.

I had to laugh when a reporter tries to put words in his mouth about the change and form of Dufty...like where has this passing game and play been and offered to him...."have you told him to do this blah blah""

Cmon media..as if Mary has woken up after 6 yerars and thought lets try this and has been trying to get Dufty to do it for 2-3 years.
We all know. Dufty has learned more of the outsiders than McOnePlan and the shackles are off
But its the new innovative "inside / outside shape in attack" game style that he likes...whatever Mary :rolleyes:

Dragon David

When are they going to learn? Hardly any second phase plays, lack of off loading skills. Our players have no idea how to attack - just take it up the middle for 5 and then kick. Our players lose their way a lot in defence. They just cannot read the plays well and allow the opposition to sniff weaknesses to exploit and score.

The coach for years has not learnt anything.

The other thing is, we just do not have the cattle to out muscle and out play the better teams.

BLM01

We resorted to the same old rubbish in the second half-one off running with no passing.So easy to defend against. The rorters forwards seemed to be able to always pass the ball when theyre getting tackled.Our forwards show no intention of doing this.you can see it by how they run. Surely any coach could see this yet its the same every week
Yes any coach could see this...you are correct.
But what we have is a Bellamy wanna be trying to now copy his dummy spit attacks walking in and out of view in the box

It was 'having a dig' but that's all it was and that should be a given anyway. Full marks to Dufty for his two nice passes. The bloke has major deficiencies in his game but you cannot argue with his talent or footy smarts. ATM he's the only player capable of creating a line break. The way he's starting to use the ball he might even be worth a crack in the halves before too long.

That was the good stuff.

– There is no quality to anything we offer structurally in attack. Passes are behind the man, not out in front. The shifts are sluggish, there's no width to any of the passing. It's like pass the parcel, left and right. No switches of play, run-arounds, anything remotely resembling football.
– Not enough vigour or footwork in the forward running. Too many of them stop and turn into tackling bags, happy to take their 7m. Where is the mongrel? There never seems to be anybody prepared to wind up for a really big run anywhere on the field. No Saints forwards in the top 10 for run metres.
– That goes for coming out of our area too. Not enough second phase support play. It's all one out. They seem afraid to link up with one another.
– No imagination in set play or with last tackle options. Boring and ineffective. We must be one of the few teams who still put up bombs with the view to them being an old-fashioned lottery. Rarely to we see 'attacking' kicks. There is no plan to get the ball back and no support when we do. Other teams have players jumping in pairs and sweepers wrapping around in support. We are flat out just getting one guy into the contest.
– Defensive line looked like a dog's hind leg all night. Blokes rushing up, others staying still. Saab had a shocker but you can't throw the kid away after one hit-out. JP and Ravalawa have been forgiven for more than one stinker. Show some faith.
– We have one of the most 'static' middles in the game, there's just no line speed in there apart from the skipper. Watched and waited for JWH, Cordner et al to get to the advantage line all night. Could not stop their momentum at any point. Constantly failed to wrap up the ball and kill off the tackle. 17 offloads to the chooks. Some poor second efforts from defenders generally not working in unison.
– Worst team in the comp for pressuring kickers. It was non-existent tonight. Miss Tariq here.
– We are never in control of a game, even when in front we play like we are behind. No plan, discipline or composure.
– Don't know what's wrong with Hunt but he would be well served to study Keary ... forget dishing off to somebody standing flat and just get the ball and run it.
– Unfortunately Clune needs a bit more time to settle in. Can't quit on him now but I'd like to see him get more involved, particularly on 5th tackle plays and kicks. Heaps better kicker than Norman in the attacking zone and generally a better option-taker.
– Corey Norman. Two words. Park footballer.

SaintPauli

Like the look of Jackson Ford

Dufty, Lomax, Vaughan and Clune have played well.

Fuimono was very good early.

same can’t be said for Norman and Hunt.

Saab is very raw.

Not good in the air, couple of poor decisions.

The players got to see what a professional outfit looks like.

The team has improved but we are a long way short of being a top 4 team.
I see us 10th at best.

qld redvee

things I noticed tonight - Vaughan in a discussion with Dean Young after being replaced and then supercoach subs vaughan after the last try - just under 3 minutes to go ..... What could possibly be the point of a 3 minute replacement ( apart from supercoach giving valuable game time to a player ???

Thought Lawrie had a decent game but we need more passing / 2nd phase play from the forwards
Norman fades in and out of games and can only hold his position as he has been given the 5th tackle clearing kick duties
ford needs more game time as does kerr .... merrin needs to offload not dance.
Supercoach needed to change the attack when easts lost the 2nd player we needed to attack and run them around but supercoach hasnt got it in him.... Notice fox didnt show flanno in the box all shots showed supercoach only .. You have to feel sorry for young on the sideline when mary screams into the 2 way - poor dean will be on workers comp with a hearing problem !!!

now for the raiders !!!!!!!!!!!!

Dragonslayer

Sobering though is that the Roosters were already without Tedesco and J. Moz. They then lost Radley and Verrills as well as Isaac Lui (broken rib), so basically they played with 14. Both their props played 80 mins.

And they still beat us by 14.

Saab unfortunately needs a lot of work and with no CC comp, he ain't going to get it, mega schooled by B.Moz, If he really wants to go, then let him go, he adds no value having a gripe whilst trying to live up to the hype.

By the way, if you noticed, McGregor gave the half time talk, and like right on cue, we faltered soon after.

The players are confused, you can see the glimpses of some enterprising play, then straight back into normal transmission.

This situation needs resolving sooner than later.

My take aways form the game
  • Easts front rowers played 80 minutes & 76 minutes respectively and still had some left in the tank when it counted. Such effort and dedication allows an effective bench rotation even when you are 2 down for most of the game.
  • If not for Dufty's attacking input we would be in even worse shape than the diabolical mess we are already in.
  • Mc Innes now starting to show signs of fatigue as has every other back rower we have tried to get to play 80 minutes. He is trying his guts out but errors will gradually increase with the fatigue.
  • Hunt & Norman completely ruin our attack and despite changes around them they demand the ball and get it and then f**k it up. They have to be dropped for the sake of letting our attack flow and the likes of Mc Innes, Clune, Dufty (and Sailor of he is picked) to shine.
  • Dufty should give passing lessons to our halves as he is just sublime at picking the moment and then hitting the target. His ability is not just limited to the bullet like nature of the pass but also the position he delivers to in front of the player which allows that player to pick the angle of his run.
  • Hunt & Norman simply pass the ball somewhere between the knees and the shoulders and somewhere from a foot in front of the player to just behind their hip. All too slow and casual.
  • Kerr is really improving and starting to poke his nose and shoulders though the line but not a support player in sight so if we are not careful shortly he will get disheartened as his efforts are not being utilised.

redv13

OT your right about Kerr poking his nose through, just wish Dufty would trail the big fella each time as every week there’s opportunities but hey that’s dragons footy 101

Kylez3

Clune was just as bad tonight, he has plateaued !

Are you kidding? He was barely included in the game plan tonight. It's a joke how much ball Norman (dreadful player) gets compared to him. They force Clune to stay exclusively on the left side and then Hunt/McInnes just repeatedly shift the ball right. It's disgraceful and mean-spirited.

Mary was forced to pick Clune by the selection committee and this is how he counters it.

I don't know how more people can't see this.