Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

stryker

Seems weird to me that Brisbane would let this guy go just after Fifita left them.
I’ve heard some bad rumours surrounding Seibold’s relationship with the players. The more I see the story of the Broncos 2020 develop, the more weight those whispers are gaining.

Ron's_Mate

Mbye bye? Star could be headed for Tigers exit as pressure mounts on Maguire

By Michael Chammas
August 12, 2020 — 12.01am

Wests Tigers skipper Moses Mbye could become the first major casualty of the club's stuttering season, with the Gold Coast Titans expressing interest in the Queensland Origin representative for next year.

Sources with knowledge of negotiations told the Herald the Tigers would be willing to pay up to half the 26-year-old's $800,000 salary for the next two years should the Titans open formal discussions.

The move could free up money for the Tigers to have a crack at keeping hooker Harry Grant beyond this season. If Cameron Smith decides to play on at Melbourne, it would trigger a free agency clause in Grant's contract with the Storm.

The Tigers are trying to free up space in their roster, shopping Josh Reynolds to the Super League in recent weeks.

The Titans, who are trying to build something special under new coach Justin Holbrook, have secured the services of Brisbane's David Fifita, Melbourne's Tino Fa'asuamaleaui and Newcastle's Herman Ese'ese from next season. Gold Coast sources confirmed Mbye has been discussed as a potential five-eighth or hooker, with Nathan Peats off contract at the end of the year.

With pressure mounting on coach Michael Maguire to end the club's nine-year finals drought, cracks are beginning to appear at the Tigers as question marks surface over his coaching methods and relationship with the players.

Maguire wants to instil a harder edge to a team he believes has become accustomed to mediocrity, and is trying to clear the decks and create salary-cap space to bring in players capable of handling his philosophy. Maguire even tried to lighten the mood at training this week after senior players told him the fun had gone out of their preparation.

The other benefit of releasing Mbye from the final two years of his deal is it provides the Tigers with money at the ready in case Brandon Smith looks to leave the Storm as a result of Harry Grant returning in the off-season.

"I don't know how it would make me feel," Smith told Inside the NRL last month when asked of the possibility of Grant returning to the Storm as their long term No.9.

"It's obviously a tough decision that I'd have to make with the Melbourne Storm. We'll have to wait for that challenge to come. Obviously it's a really tough question for me to answer but we'll have to tackle that challenge when it comes.

"I definitely want to be a No.9. It's very tough for me to answer that at the moment. I'm just trying to focus on this year and don't want to step on anyone's toes. I definitely want to play No.9. Whatever happens happens."

Maguire made Mbye captain when he joined the club in 2019, but has since added Benji Marshall as co-captain. Mbye joined the Tigers from the Bulldogs midway through 2018 and has been used in multiple positions, but hasn't managed to land a permanent spot due to his versatility.

Mbye, who has three young children, is from Queensland and still has family in Noosa, making the move even more attractive should it eventuate in the coming weeks.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/mb...essure-mounts-on-maguire-20200811-p55kke.html

Back on the bus ... with more beer: Maguire tries lighter touch in bid to reverse Tigers' fortunes
Senior Wests Tigers players told coach Michael Maguire about the need to lighten the mood and enjoy each other's company more after the weekend's heavy defeat, starting with a few extra cartons of beer on the bus back from Newcastle.

Maguire was composed after the 44-4 drubbing against the Knights on Saturday and refused to launch into one of his dressing-room tirades. He instead asked the players what they thought was needed to turn the club's fortunes around.

At least one senior player made it known COVID-19 had made it difficult for the players to socialise, and training had become a grind.

Others said they were determined to keep training as hard as ever, but wanted to better use the limited time they had together away from the field.

Knowing it was Chris Lawrence's 250th NRL game and Benji Marshall's 250th in the club's colours, some of the players asked Maguire to stock up on a few extra cartons of beer to make the long trip home more enjoyable.

Smiles were on faces again on Tuesday as Maguire kept it light-hearted with a series of games.

The usual noise about Maguire being too hard on the players has resurfaced on the back of a couple of disappointing defeats to the Knights and the Warriors.

Andrew Gray, the club's high-performance manager, has spotted no red flags with the players when it comes to workloads.

Maguire has certainly not lost the dressing room, and was said to have taken on board a lot of the feedback that spilled out from his players underneath McDonald Jones Stadium.

Prop Russell Packer said Maguire opening the floor to the players was not a sign of a coach under pressure.

"Madge has definitely not run out of answers, he's an experienced coach who has won premierships here and in England,'' Packer said.

"We're in a tough hole at the moment. The boys need to fight our way out of it. We have a must-win game this weekend against Canterbury. All our energy needs to be on this game.''

Packer said COVID-19 had taken its toll on everyone and ''the status quo changed in terms of social interaction''.

Adam Doueihi was overcome with emotion at half-time, and again at full-time, against the Knights. Packer was one of the first to console him.

"Obviously with all the stuff that happened over in Lebanon, he's proud of his heritage and he was pretty emotional during the week,'' Packer said.

"I guess it all came out with him at the end of the game. I noticed him alone, he got emotional, I didn't say anything to him, I just let him know I was there.

"This game brings out a lot of emotion in people, and it can be compounded with unfortunate events and really sad situations happening around the world.''

Maguire has rushed Jacob Liddle back into the No. 9 jersey. Maguire told the Herald just last week the hooker, who overcame a ruptured ACL, ''had been extraordinary with the way he'd gone about his rehab''. Josh Reynolds is likely to replace Liddle when he needs an inevitable spell against the Bulldogs.
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ma...-reverse-tigers-fortunes-20200811-p55kpl.html

Mbye bye? Star could be headed for Tigers exit as pressure mounts on Maguire

By Michael Chammas
August 12, 2020 — 12.01am

Wests Tigers skipper Moses Mbye could become the first major casualty of the club's stuttering season, with the Gold Coast Titans expressing interest in the Queensland Origin representative for next year.

Sources with knowledge of negotiations told the Herald the Tigers would be willing to pay up to half the 26-year-old's $800,000 salary for the next two years should the Titans open formal discussions.

The move could free up money for the Tigers to have a crack at keeping hooker Harry Grant beyond this season. If Cameron Smith decides to play on at Melbourne, it would trigger a free agency clause in Grant's contract with the Storm.

The Tigers are trying to free up space in their roster, shopping Josh Reynolds to the Super League in recent weeks.

The Titans, who are trying to build something special under new coach Justin Holbrook, have secured the services of Brisbane's David Fifita, Melbourne's Tino Fa'asuamaleaui and Newcastle's Herman Ese'ese from next season. Gold Coast sources confirmed Mbye has been discussed as a potential five-eighth or hooker, with Nathan Peats off contract at the end of the year.

With pressure mounting on coach Michael Maguire to end the club's nine-year finals drought, cracks are beginning to appear at the Tigers as question marks surface over his coaching methods and relationship with the players.

Maguire wants to instil a harder edge to a team he believes has become accustomed to mediocrity, and is trying to clear the decks and create salary-cap space to bring in players capable of handling his philosophy. Maguire even tried to lighten the mood at training this week after senior players told him the fun had gone out of their preparation.

The other benefit of releasing Mbye from the final two years of his deal is it provides the Tigers with money at the ready in case Brandon Smith looks to leave the Storm as a result of Harry Grant returning in the off-season.

"I don't know how it would make me feel," Smith told Inside the NRL last month when asked of the possibility of Grant returning to the Storm as their long term No.9.

"It's obviously a tough decision that I'd have to make with the Melbourne Storm. We'll have to wait for that challenge to come. Obviously it's a really tough question for me to answer but we'll have to tackle that challenge when it comes.

"I definitely want to be a No.9. It's very tough for me to answer that at the moment. I'm just trying to focus on this year and don't want to step on anyone's toes. I definitely want to play No.9. Whatever happens happens."

Maguire made Mbye captain when he joined the club in 2019, but has since added Benji Marshall as co-captain. Mbye joined the Tigers from the Bulldogs midway through 2018 and has been used in multiple positions, but hasn't managed to land a permanent spot due to his versatility.

Mbye, who has three young children, is from Queensland and still has family in Noosa, making the move even more attractive should it eventuate in the coming weeks.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/mb...essure-mounts-on-maguire-20200811-p55kke.html
Yep, Mbye hasn't really worked for us, has he.

Shredder

I think pissing Mbye off even if we have to pay half the freight is a good move.

1. He takes up a roster spot
2. As one of the higher paid players the Madge's hand is pretty much forced into playing him.

If hes on 800 I reckon we can get someone better for half that, so we are in front.

League WTF

Yep, Mbye hasn't really worked for us, has he.
Nope and I don’t think he’s been used properly either. He’s better suited at fullback or in the halves.

Unless it’s always been in Madge’s master plan to force him and Reynolds out, then I can’t understand why they aren’t being used to their potential.

There has to be a reason why these 2 have played in that many finals and even a grand final, right?

I don’t mind releasing them if we can buy better players. But why not use them fully while they’re here? I thought our goal was to make the finals this year?

WA Tiger

I think pissing Mbye off even if we have to pay half the freight is a good move.

1. He takes up a roster spot
2. As one of the higher paid players the Madge's hand is pretty much forced into playing him.

If hes on 800 I reckon we can get someone better for half that, so we are in front.
And we get a better captain on the field..Whoever it is he will be better

WA Tiger

Unless it’s always been in Madge’s master plan to force him and Reynolds out,
Yes it has been the plan to force Mbye and Reynolds out but until now no one has wanted them..They are both average Joes ..and if we need the $$ for a High grade player we may already have our sites on then let’s be ready for that ..Nabbing that player is near the top of the priorities esp now how we are travelling

The change will buy us a decent player.

Mbye is decent. He can also fill in a couple of spots in the team. Don't get me wrong he is a dud buy but it's not because he isn't a first grader. It's just we've paid too much. I'd keep him on 1/2 pay.

Nope and I don’t think he’s been used properly either. He’s better suited at fullback or in the halves.

Unless it’s always been in Madge’s master plan to force him and Reynolds out, then I can’t understand why they aren’t being used to their potential.

There has to be a reason why these 2 have played in that many finals and even a grand final, right?

I don’t mind releasing them if we can buy better players. But why not use them fully while they’re here? I thought our goal was to make the finals this year?

Yep. All I see is our cap getting smashed for the same time period and no real improvement. I would only pick them if they are the best options in whatever position they play but I'd be trying to use them.

If we can get rid of either of those guys and we don't have to pay a massive freight we should do it.

Trollhammaren

Mbye is decent. He can also fill in a couple of spots in the team. Don't get me wrong he is a dud buy but it's not because he isn't a first grader. It's just we've paid too much. I'd keep him on 1/2 pay.

We can't 'keep him on 1/2 pay'. Sure, Mbye is serviceable on occasion and, I assume, a good guy to have in the sheds but he is contracted for multiple more years. If another club is stupid enough to want him (c'mon Titans!!) it's in our best interest to move him on. Paying $400K for him to play for the Tits and signing a good young prospect for $400K is a good move I reckon.

Gosh, isn't Ivan such a good bloke!?

That was my point, we could buy a player for half his price that would offer better value, just gotta get the right one.
As trollhammaren said, I don’t think he will give us half his salary back.

Mbye seems like a nice guy , the problem with him is that he is on big coin for an average player who offers little and doesn’t excel in any particular position.

We can't 'keep him on 1/2 pay'. Sure, Mbye is serviceable on occasion and, I assume, a good guy to have in the sheds but he is contracted for multiple more years. If another club is stupid enough to want him (c'mon Titans!!) it's in our best interest to move him on. Paying $400K for him to play for the Tits and signing a good young prospect for $400K is a good move I reckon.

Gosh, isn't Ivan such a good bloke!?

If we can get any of those guys off our books and it's a good deal I'd take it. I don't think we will get a good deal but if we do we should jump at it.

Mbye seems like a nice guy , the problem with him is that he is on big coin for an average player who offers little and doesn’t excel in any particular position.

I reckon he is a quality squad member. He is going to do a serviceable to good job in multiple positions. The problem is you want a star for the money he is being paid.

BrotherJim05

Back on the bus ... with more beer: Maguire tries lighter touch in bid to reverse Tigers' fortunes
Senior Wests Tigers players told coach Michael Maguire about the need to lighten the mood and enjoy each other's company more after the weekend's heavy defeat, starting with a few extra cartons of beer on the bus back from Newcastle.

Maguire was composed after the 44-4 drubbing against the Knights on Saturday and refused to launch into one of his dressing-room tirades. He instead asked the players what they thought was needed to turn the club's fortunes around.

At least one senior player made it known COVID-19 had made it difficult for the players to socialise, and training had become a grind.

Others said they were determined to keep training as hard as ever, but wanted to better use the limited time they had together away from the field.

Knowing it was Chris Lawrence's 250th NRL game and Benji Marshall's 250th in the club's colours, some of the players asked Maguire to stock up on a few extra cartons of beer to make the long trip home more enjoyable.

Smiles were on faces again on Tuesday as Maguire kept it light-hearted with a series of games.

The usual noise about Maguire being too hard on the players has resurfaced on the back of a couple of disappointing defeats to the Knights and the Warriors.

Andrew Gray, the club's high-performance manager, has spotted no red flags with the players when it comes to workloads.

Maguire has certainly not lost the dressing room, and was said to have taken on board a lot of the feedback that spilled out from his players underneath McDonald Jones Stadium.

Prop Russell Packer said Maguire opening the floor to the players was not a sign of a coach under pressure.

"Madge has definitely not run out of answers, he's an experienced coach who has won premierships here and in England,'' Packer said.

"We're in a tough hole at the moment. The boys need to fight our way out of it. We have a must-win game this weekend against Canterbury. All our energy needs to be on this game.''

Packer said COVID-19 had taken its toll on everyone and ''the status quo changed in terms of social interaction''.

Adam Doueihi was overcome with emotion at half-time, and again at full-time, against the Knights. Packer was one of the first to console him.

"Obviously with all the stuff that happened over in Lebanon, he's proud of his heritage and he was pretty emotional during the week,'' Packer said.

"I guess it all came out with him at the end of the game. I noticed him alone, he got emotional, I didn't say anything to him, I just let him know I was there.

"This game brings out a lot of emotion in people, and it can be compounded with unfortunate events and really sad situations happening around the world.''

Maguire has rushed Jacob Liddle back into the No. 9 jersey. Maguire told the Herald just last week the hooker, who overcame a ruptured ACL, ''had been extraordinary with the way he'd gone about his rehab''. Josh Reynolds is likely to replace Liddle when he needs an inevitable spell against the Bulldogs.
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ma...-reverse-tigers-fortunes-20200811-p55kpl.html

If this is true (and not just a PR stunt), then it is clear Madge knows exactly what he is doing. Yes, he's a tough motherf**ker and will flog the shit out of the boys when it is needed, but he's not stupid, he's not going to flog a dead horse. It seems like right now the boys need a lighter touch to get their confidence back, and from this it might appear Madge knows how to handle that.