Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News George Williams quits Raiders

nick87

There was nothing under valued about his contract
He was given very good money for a guy who hadnt been tested in the NRL and plays a position that typically ESL recruits fail miserably in.

As for a realistic out. They've given him one, all he has to do is go in and sign the papers and he and his partner can be home by mid June. There are reportedly clubs willing to sign him in the ESL for the remainder of 2021 and clubs lining up to ink him long term... now that money is going to be less than he's earning here... but there is very easy outs for him and his family to get home, earn good money and rid themselves of the mental anguish caused by being so far away from their family network in this terrible pandemic.

It's not going to be a fun 2-3 weeks to things sorted to ship anything they'd like to take with them home, or to have it disposed of. But moving is annoying regardless of where it comes.

There was nothing under valued about his contract
He was given very good money for a guy who hadnt been tested in the NRL and plays a position that typically ESL recruits fail miserably in.

As for a realistic out. They've given him one, all he has to do is go in and sign the papers and he and his partner can be home by mid June. There are reportedly clubs willing to sign him in the ESL for the remainder of 2021 and clubs lining up to ink him long term... now that money is going to be less than he's earning here... but there is very easy outs for him and his family to get home, earn good money and rid themselves of the mental anguish caused by being so far away from their family network in this terrible pandemic.

It's not going to be a fun 2-3 weeks to things sorted to ship anything they'd like to take with them home, or to have it disposed of. But moving is annoying regardless of where it comes.

he just wants everything on his terms
just a typical millennial

skeepe

Dunno about nothing - Made the Grand Final 2 seasons ago (which you could have easily won), and the Prelim last year and in 2016. With Furner CEO / Stuart Coach. Before this, The Raiders hadn't reached the prelim final stages since way back in 1994.. (aside from Super League).

In 2019 - the Raiders had their highest average home crowd in their history..

Canberra Raiders - Seasons - Rugby League Project

From an outsiders perspective, I don't think that's achieving "nothing" under Furner.

Going back a few season before that - the club had indeed some lean years - fits and starts with horrible seasons and the odd finals appearance under Elliott, Henry, and David Furner. They also had enormous trouble attracting any players. I also I recall hearing/reading stories supposedly from high level NRL sources as to why the Raiders were even in the comp....

This season has imploded for reasons whatever.

But your coach and ceo are the same guys who got you to a GF and 2 x prelim finals. What's different about the Raiders now from then is some of your playing roster. I couldn't see how a CEO/Coach would drastically change their approach that achieved such results in the last two years.....

Yeah I’m not on board with the whole sack Furner thing. I think he’s done a tremendous job on the business side.

Now, if we were talking about maybe bringing in a Director of Football type figure, that I could get behind. Leave Furner to keep working the magic that has crowds up, sponsorship up and the Raiders one of the best performing clubs in the league, financially speaking.

betcats

Furner seems like a bigger f**kwit than Ricky which is saying something. He’d be nowhere near that job if not for his dad. 12 years as ceo hahah what a f**king joke.

1 GF
2 prelims in 2 years

23K members

financially a powerhouse & theres no other way to describe the Raiders which is impressive for a small regional club in a govt town with no corporates

yeah , I'll have that F wit any day over the other 15 ceo's thanks dopey.

betcats

1 GF
2 prelims in 2 years

23K members

financially a powerhouse & theres no other way to describe the Raiders which is impressive for a small regional club in a govt town with no corporates

yeah , I'll have that F wit any day over the other 15 ceo's thanks dopey.

The fact that you are mentioning prelims shows how little the footy team has achieved in his 12 years. The only thing that counts is premierships ive heard that many times since Penrith lost the GF last year, and he did not make them a financial powerhouse, they already were so really he has kept the status quo while achieving f**k all in the football department.

skeepe

The fact that you are mentioning prelims shows how little the footy team has achieved in his 12 years. The only thing that counts is premierships ive heard that many times since Penrith lost the GF last year, and he did not make them a financial powerhouse, they already were so really he has kept the status quo while achieving f**k all in the football department.

With all due respect, you’re talking out your anal orifice

You know the worlds gone crazy when Slothfield is having a go at Kent for being disrespectful to players lol

betcats

With all due respect, you’re talking out your anal orifice

No, Queenbeyan Leagues is wealthy, the canberra raiders would be going broke without the the TV money just like the rest of the nrl clubs besides brisbane.

and
No, Queenbeyan Leagues is wealthy, the canberra raiders would be going broke without the the TV money just like the rest of the nrl clubs besides brisbane.

NRL grant makes up around 40-50% of revenue for most clubs. Its only so high as the game has done such an appalling job of turning interested people into attending active supporters. Clubs that have traditionally relied on pokies have between $1-5million a year gap that is topped up by the pokie dens they have.

betcats

and

NRL grant makes up around 40-50% of revenue for most clubs. Its only so high as the game has done such an appalling job of turning interested people into attending active supporters. Clubs that have traditionally relied on pokies have between $1-5million a year gap that is topped up by the pokie dens they have.

That is cause footy and pokies go together like cocaine and strippers

Fkall in the football dept ??
they didn't play in a prelim final from 1998 to 2015
17 years ...
Under furner they've played in 3 in the last 5 seasons & one GF , I'd say thats NOT F all dopey

& they went from financially stable when furner took over , to a powerhouse , under his watch.
they are litterally rolling in assets & coin now.

know something before you post something.

hahahaha... going broke without tv money ?
OMG
you're a moron

one deal .. just one , & they have made heaps of these types of deals in recent years ...
they bought a warehouse at seven hills in 2012 for 28 million dollars

they sold it last year
for 56 million :)

again
know something before you post something

betcats

hahahaha... going broke without tv money ?
OMG
you're a moron

one deal .. just one , & they have made heaps of these types of deals in recent years ...
they bought a warehouse at seven hills in 2012 for 28 million dollars

they sold it last year
for 56 million :)

again
know something before you post something
Seriously? Furner is ceo of the Canberra raiders not the Canberra district rl football club, they are not the same thing you numbskull.

That money was paid to the raiders trust which was set up by Queanbeyan leagues and cdrlfc, don furner had nothing to do with it crediting him for that is so far from truth we should call you James hopper. Do you even know who owns the raiders and how it is set up?

Seriously? Furner is ceo of the Canberra raiders not the Canberra district rl football club, they are not the same thing you numbskull.

That money was paid to the raiders trust which was set up by Queanbeyan leagues and cdrlfc, don furner had nothing to do with it crediting him for that is so far from truth we should call you James hopper. Do you even know who owns the raiders and how it is set up?

he is the CEO of the COMBINED organisation running
THE RAIDERS GROUP

consisting of the licensed clubs
their property arm
their district competitions
their junior reps

&

their NRL club

you complete F stick

you continue to astound with how much

you don't know hahahaha

betcats