Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Squad: Gains, Losses & Re-signings.

Dragonslayer

So 10 players 'officially' departing the Dragons.

McInnes, Dufty, Norman, Clune, JP, Ellis, Beale, Williame & Brittain from the top squad of 30 and H. Lomax from the DP squad. This adds to the departures earlier of Vaughan and Merrin.

For the 9 players from the top 30, their spots are basically filled by:
Amone, Sloan, Burgess, Molo, Sua and Mbye.

Therefore we are requiring 5 signings to complete our top 30 for next year (Suli is not official as yet although I think it's 95%, which would mean 4 required signings).

Backs:
Hunt, Ramsey, Bird*, Bud, Max F, Mat F, Rava, Amone, Sloan, Lomax

10 backs, I feel we are a little light on here with Hunt, Bud and Amone basically halves. Bird, I feel will be moved into a more of a utility roll (just my opinion). Add Suli here.

Forwards:
Macca, Burns, Lawrie, Alvaro, JDB, Ford, Kerr, Maguire, Faama, Sims*, Fui, Sua, Molo, Burgess

14 forwards, only 1 hooker (recognised), 5 edge forwards still including Sims and Fui who is more of a utility forward/back and 7 props. JDB at lock.

There was no mention of JHunt in the departure lounge.

Utility:
1 in Mbye.

Looking at this, we really need:
1. A recognised back-up hooker. Yes, it seems Bud can play there as can Mbye, but both not specialists.
2. Another recognised prop (again JHunt wasn't mentioned, so he either stays as a low end prop in the top 30 or tranferred to the DS, which is already pretty full)
3. An edge forward (we only have 3 if you remove Sims and Fui)

25 signed + Suli + JHunt = 3 spots remaining.

Interesting recruitment and retention times ahead.

So 10 players 'officially' departing the Dragons.

McInnes, Dufty, Norman, Clune, JP, Ellis, Beale, Williame & Brittain from the top squad of 30 and H. Lomax from the DP squad. This adds to the departures earlier of Vaughan and Merrin.

For the 9 players from the top 30, their spots are basically filled by:
Amone, Sloan, Burgess, Molo, Sua and Mbye.

Therefore we are requiring 5 signings to complete our top 30 for next year (Suli is not official as yet although I think it's 95%, which would mean 4 required signings).

Backs:
Hunt, Ramsey, Bird*, Bud, Max F, Mat F, Rava, Amone, Sloan, Lomax

10 backs, I feel we are a little light on here with Hunt, Bud and Amone basically halves. Bird, I feel will be moved into a more of a utility roll (just my opinion). Add Suli here.

Forwards:
Macca, Burns, Lawrie, Alvaro, JDB, Ford, Kerr, Maguire, Faama, Sims*, Fui, Sua, Molo, Burgess

14 forwards, only 1 hooker (recognised), 5 edge forwards still including Sims and Fui who is more of a utility forward/back and 7 props. JDB at lock.

There was no mention of JHunt in the departure lounge.

Utility:
1 in Mbye.

Looking at this, we really need:
1. A recognised back-up hooker. Yes, it seems Bud can play there as can Mbye, but both not specialists.
2. Another recognised prop (again JHunt wasn't mentioned, so he either stays as a low end prop in the top 30 or tranferred to the DS, which is already pretty full)
3. An edge forward (we only have 3 if you remove Sims and Fui)

25 signed + Suli + JHunt = 3 spots remaining.

Interesting recruitment and retention times ahead.
Great summary mate.

Re Hooker, maybe we’re we gonna have a dip at the young Rooster we borrowed for a few weeks? Blonde fella, Looks like Gumby..

Re Prop - tough one. Maybe look at the ESL for options… maybe there’s some in the juniors?
There’s no standout up n comer I can think of. And while Woods is nowhere near as bad as some suggest IMO, I don’t see him as a solution unless it’s as a back up.

Re Edge forward…. Waikikamukau looms…not my choice but I’m getting vibes they’re gonna throw the big coin … aside from him… who knows…

Forbes Creek Dragons

Great summary mate.

Re Hooker, maybe we’re we gonna have a dip at the young Rooster we borrowed for a few weeks? Blonde fella, Looks like Gumby..

Re Prop - tough one. Maybe look at the ESL for options… maybe there’s some in the juniors?
There’s no standout up n comer I can think of. And while Woods is nowhere near as bad as some suggest IMO, I don’t see him as a solution unless it’s as a back up.

Re Edge forward…. Waikikamukau looms…not my choice but I’m getting vibes they’re gonna throw the big coin … aside from him… who knows…
Peachey has been let go, we could get him cheap. Backup hooker, lock and can play centre or 5/8. He’s probably too similar to Bird/Mbye unfortunately but he’s available and may be looked at for second row if Sims leaves.

I like Peachey… was a gun at Penrith but lost in the Gold Coast wash - not the first in that club either. I reckon he’d be a great buy and feel far more at home back in Sydney, get back to his best etc

Was he at Penrith when Griffin coached there?

Dragonslayer

Great summary mate.

LOL great reference to Waikikamuka, good horse back in the days. Maybe he's a bit of the same.

The young Roosters hooker Freddy Lussick, didn't do much imo to earn a contract. if we are to invest in a 'junior' hooker, we may as well stick with developing young Muhleisen.

As for junior props, we do have a real good one in Josh Coric, whether he needs half a season in KOE Cup to get back on the field as he was injured and of course the Comp was cancelled. So maybe prudent to give him some time in reserve grade first. Tapau, Klemmer and as you say Woods are options.

RedVDave

From the dragons Facebook all confirmed departure:
1. Matt Dufty
2. Jordan Pereira
3. Gerard Beale
4. Brayden Wiliame
5. Brad Morkos (SG Ball player signed by Canberra)
6. Corey Norman
7. Adam Clune
8. Kaide Ellis
9. Billy Brittain
10. Paul Vaughan
11. Hayden Lomax
12. Trent Merrin
13. Cameron McInnes
14. Tyran Wishart
15. Jaiyden Hunt

LOL great reference to Waikikamuka, good horse back in the days. Maybe he's a bit of the same.

The young Roosters hooker Freddy Lussick, didn't do much imo to earn a contract. if we are to invest in a 'junior' hooker, we may as well stick with developing young Muhleisen.

As for junior props, we do have a real good one in Josh Coric, whether he needs half a season in KOE Cup to get back on the field as he was injured and of course the Comp was cancelled. So maybe prudent to give him some time in reserve grade first. Tapau, Klemmer and as you say Woods are options.

Great to hear about Coric.. yeah these guys need some footy n I like Gus Gould’s idea of a summer comp for these CC players to get miles in their legs. Who knows if it’ll amount to anything though.

Yeah was wondering if anyone else remembered that nag, pretty sure it ran in the Melbourne cup one year. It’s also a reference name in NZ for “small towns”..

VodkaSaint

Hope Su'A holds his form when he comes to us......have been really impressed with him these past few weeks....hes displaying that he has a very smart footy brain....now we need one more decent prop and I know it wont happen but we need to replace AM sooner rather than later
Different Ball game her at the Dragons, we need two front rowers that can bend the line otherwise he will struggle, a lone good forward will be targeted by the opposition.

BIG RIG

1. Matt Dufty
2. Jordan Pereira
3. Gerard Beale
4. Brayden Wiliame
6. Corey Norman
7. Adam Clune
8. Kaide Ellis
9. Billy Brittain
10. Paul Vaughan
11. Hayden Lomax
12. Trent Merrin
13. Cameron McInnes
14. Tyran Wishart
15. Jaiyden Hunt
Did Jayden Hunt end up leaving

BIG RIG

1. Matt Dufty
2. Jordan Pereira
3. Gerard Beale
4. Brayden Wiliame
6. Corey Norman
7. Adam Clune
8. Kaide Ellis
9. Billy Brittain
10. Paul Vaughan
11. Hayden Lomax
12. Trent Merrin
13. Cameron McInnes
14. Tyran Wishart
15. Jaiyden Hunt
And which Facebook page is this ?

TruSaint

And which Facebook page is this ?

241176542_10158233766986190_7540499792056202208_n.jpg

stgeorge1

Just as a comparison:

Lawrie similar minutes, less than 100 run metres on average, about the same number of average tackles, 2.28 missed tackles per game.

Vaughan similar minutes, similar average run metres, similar average tackles, similar average missed tackles.

Why I think Klemmer is an upgrade is where and when he runs while making his metres. Many of Lawrie's and Vaughan's runs were later in the tackle count and Lawrie is continually turtled with a slow play the ball. Klemmer does more work right up the centre earlier in the tackle count and sets a platform with a fast play the ball.

Lawrie misses getting to marker too often and falls off tackles because he is gassed/ struggling to get to the runner due to a lack of mobility. He also gives away a lot of six agains late in the tackle near our tryline.

The thing I have noticed about Klemmer is he seems to have dropped a lot of weight and lost some of the impact he had. I think that he needs to regain a bit of the weight he lost and he would be even more effective.
Past it you are blind if you merkin see that

thebigredv

Tyrone Peachey would have been a much more effective signing than Mbye. We aren't that cash strapped on the salary cap that we only need to take off cuts. I think we missed a trick there.

Bin Chicken

Tyrone Peachey would have been a much more effective signing than Mbye. We aren't that cash strapped on the salary cap that we only need to take off cuts. I think we missed a trick there.
I’m pretty sure Peachey tried to stay with Panthers after Hook got punted . There was some commentary about him wanting to stay despite signing with Titans because of the coach but he said it was because he just bought a house in Penrith area. Rumour he and hook didn’t get on but I agree he would be a great pick up

Lindsay Moss

Big no to klemmer and woods for me Tapau maybe at the right price.