Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final - Panthers vs Rabbitohs: Sunday 3rd October 7:30pm @Suncorp Stadium

I tend to think Wayne would have had this game worked out some time ago.

Some of the panther plays are constant, some are different.

You can make some predictions, but the team must be ready to adjust markedly from kick off. They should be agile and responsive in defence. Wayne will ensure that.

I think that would be part of his prep.

Ivan will have a lot up his sleeve and so will Wayne. Things we’ve never seen.

Cam Murray for CC. He has nothing short of a marquee outing every single game. Why other players attract immortal mutterings is irrational.

What’s hes going to do in a grand final is beyond imagination. He cannot comprehend having a factory game. He is a stranger to the ordinary.

Some of the smug fans labour under the grand delusion that Yeo is a better player. I just shake my head at this footy heresy. Its so biased it undermines everything they say.

There is no comparison.

I think Cody wants the cc too. It just comes naturally to a Burgess lol.

It’s your Clive Churchill Medal and the smugs want to steal it based on Ivans bad deeds.

They are not even worthy. The eels should have beat them but bad officials wrecked that.

They thieved their way in.

They now face justice.

Fire up lads.

View attachment 54442
Fire up boys.

People get f**king buried with a red and green flag draped on their coffins.

It’s their last wish. Their last stand on this, Gods Earth.

Get out there and show the smug arrogance the might and the power that is the Rabbitohs.

You show these inbred flogs- that so far as you are concerned, joining the comp in 1967 makes them newcomers to the game.

They ain’t done nothing.

Do you want to live forever?

f**k Smug and f**k their Ivan, f**k everything they are and what they stand for (including Ivan for mounting the Wests Tigers when the prick left).

Don’t you die wondering…not on your watch.

Now out there and you set this whole f**king forum ablaze with your support.

Every thread, you get out there and beat up the smug forumers being dickheads.

Every club forum, you gotta own it.

Round 2 Craven Mild Cup Pre-season game from 1980- Souths 31 def Penrith 15- I remember they were mostly night games as was the Amco Cup and it's variants - They were never keen to play premiership and premiership finals games at night

Oh look what the cats dragged in to Souths Lu?

They come here and dump smug trying to talk themselves up. They did this to the eels after the officials won them their match. I’ve never seen such poor sportsmanship on Lu.

The eels forum hates them.

Ivan (the human rodent) worshipping flogs.

Characterless moronic pernicious mutt faced thieves, go and echo chamber at home.

Souths are going to rip your hearts out, if you had any.

Botany Rabbit

Perhaps. Paulo can be exposed.

Shuster has the quickest hands in rugby league, and this was responsible for the first two tries. The third one was a scrum where Graham and Paulo didn't communicate at all. They weren't even on. Already looking towards next week.
the game was over, they had their minds on next week

C83059EC-075A-43B6-A26A-81C3A10B98A0.jpeg
I can’t believe @hindy111 ‘s crossed over to join their evil.

Not after they smuggled about the eels forum being nasty to his mates.

Im going to ring an ambulance for him.

I used to worship him. I hopes he’s ok.

Ivan is an evil alien rodent dressed up as a human who ratted on hundreds of thousands of West Tigers fans.

When he comes on TV, I have to usher my kids out to the back yard.

They ask why, but I can’t bring myself to tell them lest they grow up with:

a) His values
b) His conscience

You don’t stomp on the Tigers without consequences.

We have massive love on our forum for the Bunnies at the moment.

I’m only too happy to let a bunnies fan take my spot in the supermarket queue at this anxious time.

If it’s a Penrith fan, he gets an immediate challenge for pushing in ( even if she didn’t).

Fire up lads, your 21st premiership or death!

Put that elbow into the tackle with your support lads, a quick facial!

hindy111 spends more time in the Panthers forum than you do.
I left thanks to the bullying.

Its just an echo chamber now, especially with the pigs grunting away.

Souths people are a lot friendlier.

They genuinely deserve buddies from other clubs.

Plus they have the best mod on LU.

Anyway, I’m supposed to be working!!

It would be good if you abandoned smug and turned to Souths now Socky.

Made a stand against Ivan.

An act of repentance to save your soul for eternity.

There’s still time.

I lent you 50 cents for two pies when we went in and you still haven’t repaid it.

Im charging interest too.

Destroyer 267.
I used to bring my own food to the Sydney Sports Ground and away grounds as we would have bread and milk home delivered 7 days a week . So able to take fresh sangers/cake and thermos flasks of soup and cordial.

Mojo

Looking at season stats: Penrith are surprisingly high on the negatives - errors, ineffective tackles, penalties conceded and handling errors. Souths aren't fantastic either. Both teams, however, are at the top of the table for run meters, post contact meters and kick return meters. Both teams have players who are nailed into their positions. The best coaches don't chop and change; they perfect individual, specialist skills.
To me the stats show that territory - game management - is super important.
Both of the grand finalists have brilliant halves and spines. They both play very territorial, tactical games. Penrith specialise in stopping the opposition from getting near their line and, when it's under threat, their line defence really steps up. Souths specialise in engaging the line and try assists.
It's not as simple as defence or attack, star players or even discipline.
It's mainly about game control and being really well-drilled and cohesive as a team.

soc123_au

I left thanks to the bullying.

Its just an echo chamber now, especially with the pigs grunting away.

Souths people are a lot friendlier.

They genuinely deserve buddies from other clubs.

Plus they have the best mod on LU.

Anyway, I’m supposed to be working!!

It would be good if you abandoned smug and turned to Souths now Socky.

Made a stand against Ivan.

An act of repentance to save your soul for eternity.

There’s still time.
No chance of that happening mate. I've been a Panther since the 70's, Panthers till death!!

I used to bring my own food to the Sydney Sports Ground and away grounds as we would have bread and milk home delivered 7 days a week . So able to take fresh sangers/cake and thermos flasks of soup and cordial.
And the old days where a cabbage imported from Poland cost 2 rouble.

The Leningrad d was something special.

Your average comrade would have killed for a co vid situation instead of the great patriotic war.

No chance of that happening mate. I've been a Panther since the 70's, Panthers till death!!
But it’s “ tainted smug!”

But 1970s is still a bit new to many bunnies fans.

Supporting the club since the 1950s is a pass mark, unless there was descendent playing or supporting.

An exception for tender age ( below 60) might be considered provided the fanaticism is way over the top and you can name five or six players from the 1989 side.

Rabbitoh fans are seriously passionate.

callmack1

Brisbane lights up with Grand Final fever: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/09/27/brisbane-lights-up-with-grand-final-fever/

Sattler lauds history-making Grand Final in Queensland: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/09/27/sattler-lauds-history-making-grand-final-in-queensland/

Painting the Town Red & Green: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2021/09/27/painting-the-town-red--green/

Bunnies' faith in Taaffe as rookie breaks NRL Grand Final record: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...ffe-as-rookie-breaks-nrl-grand-final-record2/

‘Simply unacceptable’ Cleary error could cost Sutton GF as NRL will ‘consider implications’: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/f75bb3f532b23617f3b24e16ae269fd4

Panthers’ dilemma on 108kg beast, mystery lingers over Bunnies star: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...l/news-story/35489a7da28eeb4c4925701157c168ef

Why Bennett’s GF berth must rank as one of his greatest achievements - Hoops: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...l/news-story/cd2201c30b1dccea477fc819b9afc080

The Mole - Benji Marshall sets incredible Grand Final feat never seen before: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/the-mo...n-cleary/71aef058-d36b-4e34-b09c-a4aacac5fe41

callmack1

From Zero Tackle,

Rested Rabbitohs given edge ahead of Season’s decider

Despite lacking access to their suspended star Latrell Mitchell and having finished behind the Panthers on the competition table, both Cameron Smith and Matthew Johns believe that South Sydney will win their 22nd premiership this weekend.

Speaking on SEN 1170, the pair of competition winners stated that Souths' less brutal run to the season's decider should hold them in better stead than their western Sydney rivals come Sunday night.

“I’ve got the Rabbitohs winning,” Smith said.

“Mainly because of their run into this match and how difficult the last three finals have been for Penrith, they’ve been beaten up and again they have a handful of players that have been battled and bruised from that game against Melbourne."

Irrespective of the fact that Penrith posted 56-points on the Bunnies during their Round 12 rout in Dubbo this year, the Storm legend held the view that the previously vanquished Rabbits had drastically improved their once leaky line.

“So, they’re in a really good position the Rabbitohs, and the one thing we’re talking about defence right now, and the one thing I’ve been impressed with is their defence.

“I’ve got the Rabbitohs ahead, just.”

Johns echoed Smith's sentiments, but also claimed that with Wayne Bennett at the helm, the Redferners held a significant trump card over an opponent they have already defeated once this month.

“I’m with Cameron, Souths by a fraction at the moment,” Johns said.

“I’m curious to see how bad the injury is to Adam Reynolds, I think the extra day is an advantage.

“I think the coach [ Bennett], just about how he goes about his work gives me confidence in the Rabbitohs.

“I think, like Cameron, they’re a lot fresher than Penrith are, and that win (against Melbourne) was a really difficult game for them.

“I genuinely think they will win.”

Should Smith and Johns prove correct in their predictions, South Sydney will become the first team in the competition's lengthy history to ever finish the season as premiers after having 50-points or more posted against them.

As mentioned, Penrith raised the bat against the Rabbitohs in late May of this year just a fortnight after Melbourne skinned Souths by 50-0 in Round 9.

League fans will need to wait a further six days before finding out whether these former Origin representatives are on the money or not, with the kick-off for the 2021 NRL Grand Final at Suncorp Stadium scheduled for 7:50pm on Sunday night.

From the Daily Telegraph,

2021 NRL Grand Final - Braith Anasta and Michael Ennis split on whether Souths or Penrith win

While the names of Reynolds, Walker and Cook grab most of the headlines, Fox Sports expert Braith Anasta believes it could be the form of an unheralded trio that gets Souths home on Sunday.

With the Rabbitohs to face off against the Panthers for this year’s premiership, Fox League’s Michael Ennis and Braith Anasta give us their early predictions.

BRAITH ANASTA

SOUTH SYDNEY to win

Souths know exactly what they have to do to beat Penrith - just follow the same blueprint they used to upset the Panthers in the first week of the finals.

Their line speed and intensity in defence helped them get in Penrith’s face and throw them off their game. It took away their time and space and denied the Panthers any attacking opportunities.

So once again, the key for Souths is to worry Penrith out of the game and intimidate them. Jai Arrow was enormous off the bench and he got right up in their face and they niggled them out of the game.

They have to put pressure on them, hurry them up on the last tackle and Wayne Bennett has so much experience in grand finals he’ll have them ready to do just that.

It’s interesting to hear Wayne speak after South Sydney’s losses this year - he understands that more often than not, when Souths lose it’s because they beat themselves. They’ve won so many games now they know what it takes, they’re a close team, they know what works best for them and what doesn’t and what doesn’t is errors.

THE RIVALRIES

Played 97 times with South Sydney winning 51, Penrith 44 and two draws
They have played three times already this year with Penrith winning twice.
South Sydney won in the opening week of the finals 16-10 after Penrith beat them 56-12 in round 11 and 25-12 in round 23

Wayne Bennett v Ivan Cleary

Played 24 times with Bennett winning 15, Cleary winning nine
Cleary has won five of his past six games against Bennett coached teams
Bennett won his first 10 of 12 matches against Cleary

When they do make errors they compound them and they kill their own chances. That’s why the emphasis this week will be on themselves.

Their forwards have really lifted since Latrell got suspended and they’re the unsung heroes of this Souths team.

We all know how good Cody Walker and Adam Reynolds are, and Reynolds can still be really effective even if he’s carrying an injury, but guys like Tom Burgess and Keaon Kolomatangi have been in great form and Cam Murray has been playing like Superman.

I’m leaning Souths - the Panthers-Storm prelim was ferocious, and one of the best games I’ve seen in a long time, but I fear it might have taken some juice out of Penrith.

Souths know how to attack them and with Reynolds, Walker and Benji Marshall running them around the park they can stop the Panthers premiership dream from coming true.

MICHAEL ENNIS

PENRITH to win

Penrith have fought their way to the grand final via three absolute wars - but that just means they’re battle-hardened for the clash against South Sydney.

The win over the Storm shows they’ve learned their lesson from the disaster of last year’s grand final and their resounding effort in defence is something that will give them enormous confidence.

The way they came out and didn’t hesitate, they didn’t wait to see how Melbourne were going to be, they attacked with their aggression and their line speed and that’s what’s most important to them this week.

They know where they went wrong against Souths last time and have been through two really tough games, and while their attack might not have been at their best, defensively their resolve has been incredible.

Against Melbourne, even though it wasn’t raining points, there was a real attacking arrogance back in their play and I love that from Penrith. They didn’t hesitate to move the ball, especially to that left side to Viliame Kikau and Matt Burton.

When the game was in the balance, they had the confidence to do that and that’s when Penrith are at their best.

They’re coming up against an attacking juggernaut next week and for Penrith to unlock their own attack, while Nathan Cleary is vital, Jarome Luai and Api Koroisau are the ones who give them a point of difference and stop it from just being Nathan all the time.

Luai wasn’t quite back to where he was early in the season, but against the Storm he stepped up and took his moments.

The fact the Panthers have had a look at grand final week, which can be really daunting, means they’ll be a lot more settled.

I think Penrith get it done.

Wayne Bennett will have Souths primed, and you have to tip their hat to them, but the defensive resolve in Penrith could really frustrate Souths and if their attack starts to find it’s gears, and given their experience from last year, I think they get home in a tight one.