Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 20 2025 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

Round Twenty. That has a certain ring to it, sounding like we're on the final run home to the finals. This year, the Warriors are on the home straight, with a place in our sights. That's exciting.

Tonight, the Dolphins host NQ in what might be the Cowboys - and Payten's - last dance. Although, Redcliffe - and their massive 150+ f/a - need ladder points as well! So, no let up from either side.

Friday, it's tough to pick, Sharks v Roosters. Gallen, fresh from his bitter boxing match win over the former Chook, might be doing the crowing from the stands. It's Penrith easy over Souths. Gee, two legendary coaches, Bennett and Hasler, are serious 'spoon' candidates this year. Who would've believed it?

Saturday, a full round, which means the three goodies are back. Canberra v Eels, Canterbury v St George (I picked the upset here, I think the Dogs are in obvious, self-inflicted, disarray) and the 'Battle of Brookvale' in reverse (although that, hopefully, doesn't mean Adam Blair wins the fight).

Sunday, there's Benji and Dessie slugging it out at Leichhardt, Tigers v Titans. The packed Sunday arvo hill should bring the Tigers home. We close with another Warriors nerve-tingler, this time at Newcastle. Even if we win by thirty, and with the Knights missing some names you'd think we should, we won't actually relax until we've won by thirty! This run home is exciting, but I'm kind of dreading it too.

Enjoy.

Genuinely excited to go to the reverse battle of Brooky on Saturday night. I'm getting some practice in now

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

BoooooOOOOOOOOooooooOOOOOOOOOO

BOO! BOO! BOO! BOO! BOO!

Trying to settle on which one will be most effective

The Dogs St George game will be the most intriguing this weekend, I reckon (apart from ours). Galvin can't make the 17 one week, now he's their starting halfback. Let's see how he goes...I wouldn't say the Dogs are necessarily on the slide, they have lost two in the last month and only marginally to Penrith (a game they competed so hard in) and the Broncos, so it's not panic stations yet. But there will be a magnifying glass on how Galvin goes.

Blair

Genuinely excited to go to the reverse battle of Brooky on Saturday night. I'm getting some practice in now

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

BoooooOOOOOOOOooooooOOOOOOOOOO

BOO! BOO! BOO! BOO! BOO!

Trying to settle on which one will be most effective.

You need to print up one of those 'I support the Warriors and anyone who plays Melbourne' tees. Make it big enough to wear outside some warm clothes.

Blair

Lions rugby tours are always big events. I'm watching with interest but the Wallabies look a bit behind the eight ball, unfortunately.

First test in Brisbane Saturday night.

Don’t forget the “Forty - Nil” chant
Oooh good point.

I'm sitting in the away fans section, with either myself or my daughter in a Warriors beanie (she'll take it, no doubt)

Might also throw in a 'COME BACK ELI WE MISS YOU'
You need to print up one of those 'I support the Warriors and anyone who plays Melbourne' tees. Make it big enough to wear outside some warm clothes.
Hahaha the thing is, that's actually what I do. Anyone who plays Melbourne is my friend.

Reactions: JJ
Oh, I had assumed like most sane individuals he was just booing both those sides
Haha no, I have nothing but love for Manly. I admire that they're an absolute basket case at Board level but still manage to soldier on. I won't find it at all hard to support them. I'm not a massive DCE fan but I love the Turbos, still a Jazz fan etc.

I may have to endure a bit of throw up in my mouth at the thought of it, but might buy a two-game Storm membership in case there's a Warriors 1v4 or 2v3 final here

Blair

Haha no, I have nothing but love for Manly. I admire that they're an absolute basket case at Board level but still manage to soldier on. I won't find it at all hard to support them. I'm not a massive DCE fan but I love the Turbos, still a Jazz fan etc.

I may have to endure a bit of throw up in my mouth at the thought of it, but might buy a two-game Storm membership in case there's a Warriors 1v4 or 2v3 final here.

Manly's last game of the regular season is against us, Jazz's last possible game in the NRL is against us, we may need to win to stay top-four or, hell on earth, stay in the eight.

So many spooky scenarios, no room for sentimentality, sorry Jazz!

I may have to endure a bit of throw up in my mouth at the thought of it, but might buy a two-game Storm membership in case there's a Warriors 1v4 or 2v3 final here
I’m picking you’re going to see a rather large score rattled up Saturday night

I’ve only just got home, but Payten must be close to dead man walking territory now looking at this score

The Wayne curse is well and truly over as the Dolphins surge and he plummets

Blair

34-12 at the moment. Way too many points racked up for a NQ comeback. They can comeback in general, but not by that much.

22 mins left...

Blair

WTF is going on here lol, bang bang bang.

34-24, 13 mins left! But, the Cows have to be the ones scoring. One Dolphins try ends it...

And they score a penality, a converted try and a field-goal to blow it out and put Payten on death-row.

43-24, Dolphins. Final.