Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R 22 v Raiders Sat 2/8/25 5.30pm

Kit Kat

It was a gutsy win but let's not kid ourselves, we didn't offer much in attack. If the Raiders were on tonight, those 2 kicks for goal in the first half demonstrated we don't have much attack to strike fear in opp teams. That's the brutal truth !

That spirit & defence in the 2nd half will do wonders if we had a proper 7. Yes, KF did an amazing job with the goal kicks but let's not get overly carried away. We got out of jail b/c the opp dropped the ball at critical times.

Take another sip and savour the moment but don't pop any bubbly b/c we're not playing 'champagne football' by any stretch of the imagination

matPORTS

Mentioned in the 'signings' thread - as long as he wants to keep going, we probably need to sign Klemmer for one more year at least until we see how the juniors progress and who might come onto the market. A leader and invaluable experience.

Hamish Stewart gets a big tick from me as well. Great first season in the top grade.

All in all - it's just good to get the win against a top team, who we did ruffle the last time we played them as well. We haven't been that bad and kudos to the whole team for hanging in there all year. It's been tough, but fingers crossed we do start to reap rewards of all this in the coming years.

Now - time to break our duck against the Sharks next week. See you all at Kogarah !

I'm Hornby

Great to get a win tonight and we executed the game plan which suited the conditions, got lots of repeat sets which meant we dominated field position and made it hard for the Raiders to get back in to the game.

Corey Allen had a great game especially his catches and second half try, so well done to him.

It's a shame this win comes after such a poor season and for me it doesn't change anything about needing to get both Flanagans out of the club ASAP, but always nice to get a win regardless.

Cheers everyone 😍

Texmex

It was a gutsy win but let's not kid ourselves, we didn't offer much in attack. If the Raiders were on tonight, those 2 kicks for goal in the first half demonstrated we don't have much attack to strike fear in opp teams. That's the brutal truth !

That spirit & defence in the 2nd half will do wonders if we had a proper 7. Yes, KF did an amazing job with the goal kicks but let's not get overly carried away. We got out of jail b/c the opp dropped the ball at critical times.

Take another sip and savour the moment but don't pop any bubbly b/c we're not playing 'champagne football' by any stretch of the imagination
Wow - maybe some of the dropped ball was due to tackle pressure. Beating the team coming first who are going for the tenth in a row with heaps of our team out… still not satisfied!

Spazer

That's wet weather footy for you. It's always going to look ugly but I thought KF played to the conditions well and outplayed fogarty in most aspects of the game. So did king-togia with the forced dropouts and flat passing.

Lovemedragons

Well said.
And credit to coach Flanagan who has kept his squad keen and up for games despite a season of injuries and heartbreaking losses. He has persisted under a lot of criticism, he does have a problem at 7 he seems to have a blind spot on, but all credit to his ability to get this team competitive most weeks, he certainly hasn’t lost the dressing room where a lesser coach certainly would have by now.

Illusion

Agree with all of this , but it's good to get a win anyway we can ........

Texmex

I knew t
Well said.
And credit to coach Flanagan who has kept his squad keen and up for games despite a season of injuries and heartbreaking losses. He has persisted under a lot of criticism, he does have a problem at 7 he seems to have a blind spot on, but all credit to his ability to get this team competitive most weeks, he certainly hasn’t lost the dressing room where a lesser coach certainly would have by now.
I Knew there’d be a jibe at no7! Not many make that kick tonight. Give some credit

Kit Kat

Sometimes you need to change/swap players with better ones to get better results ! That's what the Dogs did with Galvin > Sexton and good on them for doing it. Same with Ryles, dropping Dylan Brown with a player who's going to be there for the long haul is going to pay dividends in the long run. These are important decisions that need to be made by the coach, who is the leader of the football team, to keep winning.

Flanno lacks the courage to do this, which says a lot about his character and demeanour. There's always an opportunity cost with every decision he makes. By selecting player A over player B, can limit our team's ability to win. Also inserting the right player at the right time also influences the flow and outcome of the game. Tonight was a good example of this with Liddle coming in late. Since the team won, these will be glossed over but these points are critical indicators when assessing how he's travelling as the HC.

I'm pleased we won with the desperation defence we displayed but it's uninspiring football !

Texmex

Sometimes you need to change/swap players with better ones to get better results ! That's what the Dogs did with Galvin > Sexton and good on them for doing it. Same with Ryles, dropping Dylan Brown with a player who's going to be there for the long haul is going to pay dividends in the long run. These are important decisions that need to be made by the coach, who is the leader of the football team, to keep winning.

Flanno lacks the courage to do this, which says a lot about his character and demeanour. There's always an opportunity cost with every decision he makes. By selecting player A over player B, can limit our team's ability to win. Also inserting the right player at the right time also influences the flow and outcome of the game. Tonight was a good example of this with Liddle coming in late. Since the team won, these will be glossed over but these points are critical indicators when assessing how he's travelling as the HC.

I'm pleased we won with the desperation defence we displayed but it's uninspiring football !
KK you need a break!

Chook99

Is that you I'm Hornby? Just checking on your health

TheRev

as long as he wants to keep going, we probably need to sign Klemmer for one more year at least until we see how the juniors progress and who might come onto the market. A leader and invaluable experience.
Although I would have picked Jack x5 over Klemmer in terms of a Top30 spot.. Jack probably wants 500-600k+, Klem (if we have a free spot) probably comes in more like 300-350k.. so there is that.. Personally if we could find a way to offload a couple early and keep Klem as a cheapy.. id be happy..

The Jury is still out.. Daniel & Tim out there trying to get us 2026 upgrades.. if they succeed then maybe we dont need Klemmer.. but if they dont.. and weve tried and missed so so so many players.. maybe he stays on..

I did enjoy Klemmer laughing at Tapine who was carrying on like an absolute pork chop as always.. was it him or Hudson who were pretending like they had a crusher tackle, but they were the one that had made the tackle.. next level cats those 2.

I'm Hornby

I’m not lost for words.
Wheres that prick, IM HORNBY now?
Lol, I see you've made 6 posts in 6 months or something mate. So either you're someone else's duplicate account or you're not enjoying the season that much this year that you feel inspired enough to post with your fellow dragons fans.

I am here win, lose or draw each week, after all this incompetent coach needs to be held accountable amongst the supporters.