Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What a ride

Kilkenny

The Moyza show baby. The most talented ballplayer I've seen in a Panthers jersey....what could have been.
The Matt Moylan viewpoint is the most over hyped position on our key playmakers in my opinion. He had his moments of brilliance no doubt , won us games, here and there but consistency was not his strongpoint. The Moylan show was in one season, 2016, other that one glorious season he flattered to deceive.

Chins

The Matt Moylan viewpoint is the most over hyped position on our key playmakers in my opinion. He had his moments of brilliance no doubt , won us games, here and there but consistency was not his strongpoint. The Moylan show was in one season, 2016, other that one glorious season he flattered to deceive.
Utter nonsense

Kilkenny

Utter nonsense
Your man love for Moylan is well documented.

89 games for the Panthers across five seasons he played more games for the Sharks.

Seriously he was a defensive liability, had a very limited kicking game, and only ever delivered against the lesser sides.

I think Matt Moylan undelivered on his natural talent and that is on him, he didn’t possess the professional attitude necessary to take his game to the elite level.

You put him on a pedestal that he simply didn’t ever deliver on a consistent basis.

Fangs

He was very enjoyable to watch. Very silky hands. My memories of Moylan are only fond.

I wanted him to be a player that he didn't want to be. So did Gus trying to give him the captaincy in the same way the Cowboys gave it to Thurston. It didn't stick. Played some decent football for the Sharks then faded away.

Didn't fulfill his talent that's for sure. Only has himself to look at.

Chins

He was very enjoyable to watch. Very silky hands. My memories of Moylan are only fond.

I wanted him to be a player that he didn't want to be. So did Gus trying to give him the captaincy in the same way the Cowboys gave it to Thurston. It didn't stick. Played some decent football for the Sharks then faded away.

Didn't fulfill his talent that's for sure. Only has himself to look at.
Gus is a clown and anyone who doesn't get along with Hook has to be a good bloke so Matty is alright

Fangs

Gus is a clown and anyone who doesn't get along with Hook has to be a good bloke so Matty is alright

I'm sure Matt is a good bloke. Good for a dart at the pokies.

The maturity didn't come to him like it does to other players.

Stinkfinger

From the time he first appeared in first grade in '13 he lit up our team. Wasn't even in the top 25 but was our best player. It bit us on the bum when the NRL ordered the club to play Wes Naiquama against Wests Tigers, a loss that cost us a finals place.

By the back end of his time with us Moylan had developed a habit of not getting into games until almost too late. Comebacks were the order of the day.

Chins

From the time he first appeared in first grade in '13 he lit up our team. Wasn't even in the top 25 but was our best player. It bit us on the bum when the NRL ordered the club to play Wes Naiquama against Wests Tigers, a loss that cost us a finals place.

By the back end of his time with us Moylan had developed a habit of not getting into games until almost too late. Comebacks were the order of the day.
The Hook era. The boys would play to his game plan until down by 14 then play footy. That incompetent prick was truly hopeless

Pantherjim.

What a ride indeed!

But despite the fact that we’ve had to temporarily step off because Brisbane and Melbourne are whinging that they didn’t get their turn, the ride ain’t over yet, despite Darryl Brohman’s protestations to the contrary.

I reckon there are big things in store for Penrith for 2026 and beyond!

The Realist

Your man love for Moylan is well documented.

89 games for the Panthers across five seasons he played more games for the Sharks.

Seriously he was a defensive liability, had a very limited kicking game, and only ever delivered against the lesser sides.

I think Matt Moylan undelivered on his natural talent and that is on him, he didn’t possess the professional attitude necessary to take his game to the elite level.

You put him on a pedestal that he simply didn’t ever deliver on a consistent basis.

Moylan was an unbelievable talent with poor attitude. I have seen many people like him. Blessed with natural talent and good looks, they develop a huge ego and that leads to a lack of character. They are lazy at training and don't put in when things get tough because they feel that on-the-whole their positive attributes outweigh the negative. What is worse is they are RIGHT but that also it's not a good attitude to have around a healthy high performance team, or to actualise their full personal potential.

Moylan was actually a decent defender for us and early in his Sharks career. It is highly ironic that it was the Panthers, in particular Liam Martin that exposed him in this regard.

Luke Bowden

Moylan offered so much and provided so little. Imagine if he had any sort of work ethic.

I can’t see us moving Scotty Sorro on this season, I think we are short an edge back rower. Unless we play Paps there.

Chins

Moylan offered so much and provided so little. Imagine if he had any sort of work ethic.

I can’t see us moving Scotty Sorro on this season, I think we are short an edge back rower. Unless we play Paps there.
He's too good in the middle to move

Yeah I don’t disagree, but he’s an excellent edge and could form a great combo with Blaize. Ice runs great lines.

Petea could take that middle spot on the bench.

That excites me more than any other of our current options
We are pretty stacked at prop. Ice in the second row with Sorro and Patea, Henry and Garner on the bench offers a lot of flexibility.

I’ve said it before if Cole could demonstrate that he can play 60 mins of serviceable dummy half that would make an awesome bench!!

Luke Bowden

We are pretty stacked at prop. Ice in the second row with Sorro and Patea, Henry and Garner on the bench offers a lot of flexibility.

I’ve said it before if Cole could demonstrate that he can play 60 mins of serviceable dummy half that would make an awesome bench!!
I’d love Cole on the bench, he’d be my pick everyday, but Ivan doesn’t seem keen. Hopefully that changes over the preseason

Won't rule out 2026 because we are an incredible team. But it will be very tough just like this year. Even with a better off-season we should see other clubs improving too. Depends on the strength of the top 30 squads across the board.

2027 my crystal ball says yes. Our recruitment needs to be shrewd however. Team 18 will arrive and they will siphon plenty of talent. Hopefully from our main competitors.

2027 also because we will have a new home ground. It did wonders for the Parramatta Eels when Commbank arrived.
Like that