Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bears Confirmed & Rumoured Signings

Saw the launch video of the logo etc. Feels to me like they are focusing too much on the Nth Syd aspect and not the Perth base. Rusted on Bears fans will support them no matter what. The focus should be on appealing to new fans in WA, none of them give a shit about the Nth Syd history and a club thats been dead for 25 years.

Wb1234

I like Wishart but like you said. He isn't a proven starter week in and out.
Apparently they spent 900k on him..

If you think about it, they've actually spent a fair chunk of their cap on players who are fringe first graders who are tapped out for potential.
900k a year ? No way

Iamback

players break contract and exit or are released early every year.
last year nas, paps and lomax all broke contract or were released early.
year before that it was ben hunt.

this year could well be burto

I will use this example because you used Burton.

He has a toddler, His partner is local

For him to go over there, he needs to convince her to leave her job, leave her friends, family and support network.

Especially over there where players will be away for longer and more than he is now.

Dragons for example are closer and have cap space to fit him in.

They really needed to find a way to help them get players over there

Gobsmacked

shibaski was tapped out fringe first grader 1 year ago.. makes origin and roos.
jenkins was tapped out fringe first grader 1 year ago.. was panthers best backline player for majority of 2026.
I never thought Shibasaki was tapped out. Not sure who did. He's a big body, all he had to do was train hard and use it.

I will use this example because you used Burton.

He has a toddler, His partner is local

For him to go over there, he needs to convince her to leave her job, leave her friends, family and support network.

Especially over there where players will be away for longer and more than he is now.

Dragons for example are closer and have cap space to fit him in.

They really needed to find a way to help them get players over there
is this any different to corporates who move city for work? at least burto would be getting paid handsomely for a few years for it. theres corporates who do this for $240k.. not $850k
its life these "challenges" arent unique to footy players and people manage it all the time. i think its being over thought. im not saying it isn't a challenge, you are 100% correct it is but its also manageable

I never thought Shibasaki was tapped out. Not sure who did. He's a big body, all he had to do was train hard and use it.
every club prior to him landing a train and trial and broncos did hence he was on a train and trial and not playing nrl prior to it.

Gobsmacked

cmon then mate, ya seem to downcast anything bears do. get ya crayons and design something better.
Can I borrow the crayons they used?

Seriously though, I 100% could not do better. It's a job for 1 or more professionals who spent months on it...
Sorry if I'm not impressed.

Iamback

I like Wishart but like you said. He isn't a proven starter week in and out.
Apparently they spent 900k on him..

If you think about it, they've actually spent a fair chunk of their cap on players who are fringe first graders who are tapped out for potential.

Wishart probably walks into most sides as a 14, balance wise should of played Origin last year.

So he is decent enough in the role he is in.

We offered Henry $300k - seems reasonable for where he sits. He is getting double at Perth.

I doubt it is a 1 off.

The poms would be cheap enough because their cap over there is so low, The NRL guys that have no way

900k a year ? No way
doubt it, he went from $350K to $900K. its the 5 years which build the worth for wishy due to security for half a decade. he is likely closer to 650-700k.

need to remember cap is increasing due to new tv deal in 2 years too so 650-700k now is like what 450-500k was 5 years ago.

Can I borrow the crayons they used?

Seriously though, I 100% could not do better. It's a job for 1 or more professionals who spent months on it...
Sorry if I'm not impressed.
you have the crayons already, just remove them from ya ass.

your not impressed with anything bears do yet spend a shitload of time on this very subforum. even when ya claimed ya were leaving ya came back. thats unhealthy, go chat about things which do impress ya.

Saw the launch video of the logo etc. Feels to me like they are focusing too much on the Nth Syd aspect and not the Perth base. Rusted on Bears fans will support them no matter what. The focus should be on appealing to new fans in WA, none of them give a shit about the Nth Syd history and a club thats been dead for 25 years.
logo was always gonna be red & black and more inclined to the traditional bears stuff. this has been known intent since may 2025 and @Red&BlackBear has been hammering this is what it'll be since november 2024. he even showed the logo over a year ago here, its no surprise.

lots of west aussie loving it on socials. this is THEIR logo now.

Iamback

is this any different to corporates who move city for work? at least burto would be getting paid handsomely for a few years for it. theres corporates who do this for $240k.. not $850k
its life these "challenges" arent unique to footy players and people manage it all the time. i think its being over thought. im not saying it isn't a challenge, you are 100% correct it is but its also manageable

No it isn't but I doubt there are many who move for the same situation.

I mean if Westpac - I will use a sponsor of the game for this example

Were to get a manager from QLD and offer them a job an executive job in Sydney.

They can pretty much offer anything they want. I know of people moving and have school fees, Jobs for partners etc being thrown in to make the move smoother.

The Bears can only work in rules, including the same cap as the other teams do.

Gobsmacked

Wishart probably walks into most sides as a 14, balance wise should of played Origin last year.

So he is decent enough in the role he is in.

We offered Henry $300k - seems reasonable for where he sits. He is getting double at Perth.

I doubt it is a 1 off.

The poms would be cheap enough because their cap over there is so low, The NRL guys that have no way
I argued that they would struggle at the beginning of the thread. The slack in the player market isn't what it was when the Dolphins came in because obviously..the Dolphins came in.. Hoovered up 30 players!
I was told, I have no idea by the famous Red& Black Bear.. he said no! There's heaps! No different.. the talent had risen to that surplus the Dolphins experienced.

And here we are..12 signings and half of those are SL...

Gobsmacked

you have the crayons already, just remove them from ya ass.

your not impressed with anything bears do yet spend a shitload of time on this very subforum. even when ya claimed ya were leaving ya came back. thats unhealthy, go chat about things which do impress ya.
What's the big RL News today? The Bears.
I'll discuss either way, I call it for what it is.
If it was a really cool logo, I'd say so. It's not and outside of the eco chambers, most wouldn't be overly impressed.

Ashburn

You’ve got it the wrong way around bruh.

Perth get a new club no matter what. The logo needz da be recognisable as a continuation to of the Bears to bring the old Norths fans along for the ride. Otherwise the Perth team should have just been the Pirates and be done with it.

What's the big RL News today? The Bears.
I'll discuss either way, I call it for what it is.
If it was a really cool logo, I'd say so. It's not and outside of the eco chambers, most wouldn't be overly impressed.
most are impressed though, its been overwhelming positive reception.
again you = minority without a clue.,

Ashburn

I'd like to see it on an actual jersey first but yeah .. amateurish. Is it the outline? Something is off about it to me.
I'm glad you like, I hope everyone does, I just think they could do better.
bruhhhhh …. Seriously?

I haven’t seen one neg comment since the logo dropped on any social media platform I use. The general RL fan community consensus has been overwhelmingly pos.

begs the question man, are you pos on anything this club does? I just see a hater hating bro.

It's not and outside of the eco chambers, most wouldn't be overly impressed.
trash bro. It’s clear your opinion isn’t the “most”. Wise up. Be better bruhz