Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLWC Game 9 : Scotland V Fiji *spoilers*

dogz08

Pretty mean fight, can't believe both players got to stay out on the ground do

macavity

Fiji is my team in this WC

but I am finding myself almot wishing for a Scotland upset - they deserve it, and have never won a WC game before..

God-King Dean

The ref blew time off for Scotland because Fiji threw it away. :lol:

Hayne... I'm sturggling to think of a bigger tosser in the game.

yakstorm

All over Scotland win 18-16, great game, France end bottom of the pool, wow :lol:

Pretty amazing Samoa and France finished bottom of their groups, right up until Saturday they were the favourites to finish top.

Goes to show in such small groups you can't afford to have a bad game.

DINGb@T

Interesting game. Bit like Tonga/Ireland- footy wasn't too good but there was plenty of drama to keep it exciting. An upset, a first win for Scotland and now a whole lot more uncertainty as to Fiji vs Ireland. Another good result for RLWC08 :)

I wonder if anyone put money on Scotland to win. Anyone know what the odds were?

LeedsRhinos

Interesting game. Bit like Tonga/Ireland- footy wasn't too good but there was plenty of drama to keep it exciting. An upset, a first win for Scotland and now a whole lot more uncertainty as to Fiji vs Ireland. Another good result for RLWC08 :)

I wonder if anyone put money on Scotland to win. Anyone know what the odds were?

I had a cheeky 10er on for entertainment purposes when it was 12-8 Scotland (kick to come) and they were still 5 on Betfair and that was with the lead, they were a double figured price at KO the handicap was like Scotland +20.5 at KO time.

scofijibd2.jpg

Coastbloke

I was there (Bay 49 East stand) and it was a cracker...

The crowd (9700) really got into it...

BTW, It looked more than that. It looked a 12,000 crowd..I've been to see matches there for Knights and Roosters and that was NOT a 9,700 crowd....!!

When I heard from the ground announcer that Ireland beat Samoa, i'm thinking what a beauty...

roopy

I was there - i agree it was more than a 9700 crowd.

The skills weren't great, but the intensity was NRL level at least, and the effort the boys were putting in (both sides) picked up all game.
I don't think more than a few of the guys on the field had played at that level of intensity before, and all will be better players for it.

As others have said of WC games, the crowd loved the game and had a fantastic time. I've been to maybe 20 games at Bluetongue and never had a better time, and that was supposedly the smallest crowd i've been in.

skeepe

boy Ashton sims sure took some angry pills. What a wanker.

Seriously how weak is that referee? The Fijian should have been sent straight away for that deliberate trip, and Henderson and Bukuya both should have been in the bin, along with Sims for his constant dissent.

Just got home. Was a good game again and a great atmosphere. Bit like Ireland/Tonga - plenty of Islanders making a lot of noise and plenty of Aussies/poms going for the Celts, although this time there were more neutrals siding with Fiji. I thought Fiji had it won with that Tadulala try but they blew it. Still it's not a bad result. It means that in both pools each side had a win. It is also Scotland's first win in a WC finals from memory whish is good for them but Fiji go through which is even better.

nadera78

boy Ashton sims sure took some angry pills. What a wanker.

Seriously how weak is that referee? The Fijian should have been sent straight away for that deliberate trip, and Henderson and Bukuya both should have been in the bin, along with Sims for his constant dissent.

Two's a fight, three's a brawl. I 'd hate to see two guys sent to the bin for ten minutes just for throwing a few punches in a test match. Let them get it out of the way and then play on. If a third man jumps in then fair enough ping him for it if you want to.

Agree about the trip though, that can be very dangerous.

Sensational advertisement for Rugby League, a really good game that put paid to the suggestions the WC would be full of blow-outs in the lesser games.

The crowd was easily 11/12k, not 9720. They must have fudged the figures IMO, there were more for the game last night than were at the Mariners/Jets derby last week.

Anyhoot.. well in Scotland... definitely the underdog at the ground.

On a side note, I object to little sh*ts sitting down during anthems and talking loudly. I told them to shut up and stand up, little cretins :x

Big Pete

^ You're now a anthemn cop. ;-)

Well in Timmah, some people are just beyond disrespectful.

Can't believe I missed this match though sounded like an absolute ripper and honestly the ARL/Organisers have really shot themselves in the foot with their second rate publicity.