Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'Dogs sack absent Maitua - now he wants a payout

Charlie124

The dogs will finish top 8 with no problem.

Spoon ===> same old souffs (although the Tigers might give them a run for their money)

legend

The Dogs have some made some solid signings but I still think they'll struggle in the halves and seem to be thin out wide.

To me they'll run out like this:

Patten
El Masri
Morris
Idris
Utai
Holdsworth
Kimmorley
Te Maari
Ryan
Kouparitsas
Hickey
Ennis
Hannant

Sullivan
Briggs
Kite
Armit

Weak 17 if you ask me.

G'day Lege.

Yeah, there's a few weak spots in that top 17... El Masri & Utai getting on, Holdsworth/Kimmorley/Sullivan, forwards look a bit weak.

They might avoid the spoon, but I'm puzzled by the top 8 for sure comment.

Charlie124

Serious? What's different this year, to replace the abject lack of passion we saw from them last season? Kevin Moore :lol:

for starters...

Brett Kimmorely - laugh all you want, the guy is a good halfback
Josh Morris - dogs have lacked attacking flair in the centres for a while
Ben Hannant - nothing flashy but certainly a massive improvement on what they had
Michael Ennis - complete wanker but good hooker none the less.

add to that they have the motivation (a very underrated factor) to make amends for their worst season in decades and start afresh with a new coach, new players and a new attitude.

The only thing that will hold the dogs back from a good year is the inexperience of their coach.

Fair enough points C124... I just don't think they'll get above 8 other teams on the ladder if that's all they have going for them.

Dunno if it's been mentioned but I heard on 9 that the NRL is unlikely to register a new contract. Whether that's the end of his current contract I dunno but that's what I heard.

If that was the case I'd havemammoth concerns for the NRL. Fair enough in teh case of Carney who constantly broke the law when on the piss, or SBW who cheated on a contract in a massivly damaging way. But what's Maitua done to damage the code, apart from be a troublesome contractor at a club?

We have enough problems with player drain without giving players another reason to look elsewhere.

Charlie, you might be right about Reni going to Townsville. Good buy IMHO with the right mentor.

legend

The dogs are one injury away from consecutive spoons and have little to no flair or grunt in their side.

Gday Bart, how's things mate?

ByRd

The Dogs have some made some solid signings but I still think they'll struggle in the halves and seem to be thin out wide.

To me they'll run out like this:

Patten
El Masri
Morris
Idris
Utai
Holdsworth
Kimmorley
Te Maari
Ryan
Kouparitsas
Hickey
Ennis
Hannant

Sullivan
Briggs
Kite
Armit

Weak 17 if you ask me.
Our team will look more like this imo:

1. Patten
2. El Masri
3. Idris
4. Morris
5. Utai/Nanai
6. Barba/Roberts/Holdsworth/Groom (up in the air)
7. Kimmorley
8. Hickey
9. Ennis
10. Hannant
11. Hodgson
12. Ryan
13. Te Maari

14. Koups
15. Kite
16. Armit/Gordon/Leano/Worsley/Conrad/Morrin/Harrison (spot up for grabs)
17. Groom/Barba/Roberts/Sullivan

There are a few spots up for grabs and pre season will decide who wins out. Our depth isnt that strong but our 17 isnt too bad and should contest but if serious injuries hit, we are in trouble

Spoon favourites? :lol:

We're nowhere near the spoon in market betting.
Am trying to find a spoon market... all I can see at Sportsbet is that dogs second last in the market to win the comp:
Canberra Raiders 26.00 Wests Tigers 34.00 South Sydney Rabbitohs 34.00 Canterbury Bulldogs 41.00 Penrith Panthers 51.00
That'd have to equate to being pretty close to being near the spoon in the market?

Market is framed not on probability, but on the money flow. Is I put $10 million on the dogs to win the comp, their odds would shorten and they'd be favourites.