Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Eels shouldn't be in the grand final

Parra Steve

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/...e-in-the-grand-final/1637365.aspx?storypage=0

The Eels shouldn't be in the grand final

The fact that Parramatta is in the grand final on Sunday is proof to me that the NRL's finals system is wrong.

Put simply, the Eels shouldn't even be there. And the reason they are is because of a big fault in the McIntyre Top Eight.
The McIntyre system has been hit with criticism this season, all of which misses the point. It's not the "Top Eight" part that's the problem.
That's just too many teams.
I know why it exists - and it's everything to do with revenue and nothing to do with what's best for footy.

It exists because it keeps more fans interested in the finals chase for longer. Then, once the final placings are decided, it means there are eight groups of supporters to sell finals tickets, T-shirts and whatever else to.
But a top eight means that, in any given year, half of the competition makes the finals (or more than half in years we only had 14 teams).
The finals are supposed to limited to the best of the best. They're supposed to be something to strive for and it cheapens that aura somewhat when the league lets in half the teams.

It cheapens it more when some teams who make the finals have an ordinary win-loss record. By ordinary I mean a team that lost as many games as it won. I think we can agree that a team with a 50-50 record or worse has no business even thinking they deserve to be in the finals.
Yet, since we got rid of the top five in 1995, an ordinary team has made the finals in nine of the 15 seasons. Even worse, a team with a losing record played finals footy in six of those seasons.

Particularly embarrassing was the 2002 season, where three teams - Canberra, St George Illawarra and Parramatta - all had losing records yet all made the finals.

What a joke. The finals shouldn't be about rewarding mediocrity, letting teams stumble into eighth spot like a drunkard trying to make their up the front steps to their front door.

What we should have is a top five - make a finals position actually mean something rather than giving them away to any team that wants one. It used to be good enough for the league - from 1988 to 1994 we had a top five with a 16-team comp.

And I bet it's no coincidence that that brief six-year window gave us arguably the two greatest grand finals ever - 1989's Canberra-Balmain match-up and the 1991 Canberra-Penrith game.

So, if we'd done the right thing and had a top five this year, the Eels wouldn't have played finals footy.
But there's another reason to punt the top eight. It rewards hot streaks over consistency.

The Dragons and Dogs were the two most consistent teams all season, yet they dropped a few games and they're gone. But a team who was absolutely bloody awful for most of the year, who was in 14th spot going into Round 18 on five (yes, FIVE wins) is playing in the grand final.
Jeez, if a grand final berth is the reward for stringing together a few wins late in the season, what's the point in anyone busting their backsides between March and June?

Might as well start the comp in July

:lol::lol:

Mickyd39

that so called journalist must be on work experience.

they have told him to write something because they needed to fill some space in that paper and that is what he has come up with.

FMD

Freak2

Actually agree with a lot of what he says but printing this week just looks and feels like sour grapes!!

fish eel

I dont care what team it is.

If you are good enough to beat teams 1, 2 and 3 in the finals, you are good enough and deserve to be in the GF. End of.

$20 says this clown wouldnt have writtent this if his mob didnt choke.....

hilltop hood

The Ole Red and White heh? They just can't let it go can they?

It is their God-given right to be there after all.

:roll:

natheel

lol the mercury are still writing articles about the dragons and today had a two page spread interview with bennett on 'what went wrong' and the only coverage of the gf was this dribble and a little article on the storm lol

natheel

Just ask Media Watch what they think of the Mercury.
Worst print in the country.

totally agree!!!

i live down that way and it is absolute sh*t, it is always still on the shelves by the end of the day in the newsagencies etc our local kiama paper the kiama independant sells better on the one day it is out (wednedays) then the mercury does

born an eel

and this is why we wont get any of the 50/50 calls, The officials will be under pressure to make sure Melbourne have an easy time.

He was right about one thing, the dragons are consistent........... at choking.

fanool

I now live in the Illawarra. And I would just like to say how DARK the Saints supporters are down there. It's so bad that I don't even have to say anything, you can just see the pain they are suffering.

Every night in the news there is something about the Saints.

I am just in heaven. It really doesn't matter what happens from here. When I go to the mechanic now, he's got nuthin to say. The bottle shop now has a FFMM poster and I am their fav customer as they witnessed my despair earlier in the year.

We pumped the Saints and stuffed their whole season
We pumped the Bulldogs
We caused Manly to get bundled out
We flogged the knights
We flogged the Tigers

All the teams I hate as an eels supported have been and will remain scarred by the eels.

Melbourne would be a bonus though.

84 Baby

When did Gould start writing for the Mercury?
So Week 1 - Dragons have bye, Bulldogs v Titans @ ANZ, Melbourne v Manly @ Melb.
Assuming same results as this year (bye bye Manly... again):
Week 2 - Dragons v Bulldogs @ ANZ (where's minor premiers home ground advantage?), Titans v Melbourne @ Melb (what's the advantage of finishing 3rd if you play 2 consecutive elimination games away from home?) - Dragons & Titans both lost in Week 2 this year, so:
Week 3 - Bulldogs have bye to GF, Melbourne v Dragons @ Melb (still no home ground for minor premiers?) - Melbourne won their prelim last week:
GF - Bulldogs v Melbourne @ ANZ - which it would have been if we didn't beat the Bulldogs.

This crap about starting your run late because the system rewards mediocrity is rubbish - how come only 2 sides outside the top 4 have made the grandfinal since its inception?

Sparky 74

What a w*nk*r this fool is,

Having Parra or hell even a western sydney team in the NRL GF

makes it worth watching Western Sydney is the true heartland of RL

agree with Suitman, natheel and fanool

Living in the illawarra myself, the mecury is a disgrace.
I dont buy it or read it online for the simple fact its a massive wank fest over the dragons. I dont mind that they have the extra print, cause it essentially an illawarra paper, but the t crap written is comical and amateur

Having said that, Been wearing my gold "eels 47" tshirt and parra jersey everywhere and still havent sighted a dragon jersey for weeks now. I wish they would report that :D

muznik

Im loving this crap.

I probably agree that having a Top 8 is a bit silly in a 16 team comp.
However we can only play to the rules, should the Eels turn around and say "Nah we're not gunna play cause some w@nker at The Mercury thinks its unfair.
Give it to the Storm or ring the Dragons & see if they wanna play"

Up here in QLD they're mostly going for the Storm cause of all the QLD'ers in the team and the fact Hayne & Keating only got Grade 1's (read "got off" to QLD)

Its just going to make it even better if we clear the last hurdle !

Most of the noise is coming from Tiger, Saints, Manly or Dog fans which funnily enough we had a part in them heading off for Mad Monday!

Is it the weekend yet ???